Melbourne anyone??

trihok

Hi! planned to go Melbourn for honeymoon and intend to DIY. Can anyone provide me more information & provide me some local agency overthere??

catz

hi trihok,

melbourne is one of the best-planned cities in the world.. so you don't need a tour agency over there unless you wanna go out of melbourne city area like to mt hood/buffalo or the other mountains. but then again, the train services are pretty ok so i think you could manage without engaging any tour operators.

for food, muz visit the various 'ethnic' quarters... chapel rd, lygon etc...

kraziee

hmmm....i'm a melb boy.....LOVED THAT PLACE....

well chapel is a place where u see nice cars on fri and sat nites....up mkt clothes...nice cafe..try cafe greco...well i think they have one in crown casino..

go get some authentic viet food in richmond....and yeah bridge road in richmond has some cheap warehouse clothes...depending on the season coz sg is hot so the thing the have might not be suitable....

i agree with catz that it is not necessary to get an agency....can take local day tours to great ocean road...view is GREAT....phillip island for penguins...hahaha those u see in mrt advert now...
oh a bit of western in ballarat....there are more...visit vineyards for some wine tasting perhaps.....hmmm....how i wish i am back there

transportation is general are quite convenient in the day...at nite if u r travlleing ard city, trams are not bad but Xpensive...or get a map and walk

btw when do u plan to go down??

orchid

I studied in Melbourne. It's one of my favorite cities in the world!!!!!! I really miss it!

And i'm intending to do a Melbourne-Tasmania thing for my honeymoon.

In fact, I just sent my friend a whole bunch of stuff on Melbourne. I'll email it to you tomorrow at the office.

angelia

i oso studied in Melbourne, though i dun frequent the city often, i love it too... and like <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Orchid</FONT>, i really miss it!!

hey, me oso deciding between going to NZ or Mel-Tas for honeymoon cos wedding in end Nov, and Dec go Tas juz nice.....

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Orchid</FONT>
can u email me the info as well?! been back for 4 yrs liao, so memory a bit vague, too.... thx

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Orchid</FONT>

thanks!! got ur mail..

think i missed out quite a bit of interesting places during my 1 yr there leh....

but hor, the penguin island one, i dun like.

trihok

Hey! Thanks for ur reply, is really useful especially mail from Orchard.

Kraziee
will be going there on June for HM. Heard is winter over there. It is cheap to book thru the local day tour over there?

orchid

Hi Trihok,

You're going in winter! lucky you!! you can book a skiing tour to Mt. Buller. Just drop into any travel agent and ask about their ski package. it's abt $99 for a one-day tour - comes with all the gear.

Since it's winter. you should be prepared for lots of wind... and don't let the sun fool you. really big sun but very cold.

Have a great honeymoon!!

Karen - will mail you on Monday ok?

crumpet

If u r deciding to go to Melbourne, make sure u do not miss out on the Great Ocean Rd (where u see the 12 Apostles) and also Mount Dandenong.

The Great Ocean Rd is SPECTACULAR and takes your breadth away. Try not to join the 1 day tour, as it is very 'rush' and does not allow u to enjoy the sights at your own time. Rent a car and drive up, my and my BF spent 3 days 2 nites driving fr Melbourne to London Bridge and back to Melbourne. Very relaxing and allows u to appreciate the grandeau of the coastline. Prob can do it in 2 days....

Mount Dandenong was very nice too, went there around Oct when the flowers were blooming.... very romantic... also, don't miss out on the wineries.

But depending on the season u go, might hit the rainy season, so be prepared. When I went in Oct, it was raining quite frequently, got drenched at Philip Island standing in the rain waiting for the little penguins to come home!

Don't worry abt navigating around Melbourne, what I did was just to book the flight, first 2 nites accomodation in Melbourne and only took care of the rest when I reached there (e.g. car rental, book tours etc).

All in all, Melbourne was really fun, and u r sure to enjoy yourselves! I myself is thinking of returning there in the near future!

karenkong

You may want to visit http://www.visitvictoria.com
Highly recommended, informative.

Go to "Personal Planner", then "How do i get to", it gives you detailed direction from places to places.

I did my DIY in Melbourne with lots of help from this site.

bleuz

hi orchid and angelia,

i'm so glad to find you guys here coz i'm planning to go melb/tas too for my honeymoon in sept.

i studied in melb some yrs back and miss it sooo much!! so i'm gonna bring my fiance there with me this time round!! :eek:)

maybe we can exchange notes with each other on these 2 places? we're planning to go F&amp;E... how abt you two?

you can drop me an email at [email protected] and we can continue our discussions from there?

orchid: do you think you can email me what you have on melb as well?

thanx

orchid

Hi gals...

Was going to email you the info today but i fell ill. on 2 days MC. I'll mail you when I get back to work on Wednesday OK? The file is in my work computer.

Bleuz - ya... Melbourne is one of those places that i'll never tire of. I think maybe it means more since we've studied there. brings back memories.... jam doughnuts, 24hr cafes... and best thing was, I stayed just at the start of Lygon St!

kraziee

Talk about melb....makes me wanna just pack up and move back.....

i dunno if it is just me or maybe the env here...coz every now and then i thought of going back but since i just got my flat i guess i will have to stay put for the next few years....sigh...

i believe you gals or guys would have also visited some other states rite?? wat do u think of the rest? personally btw syd and melb i LOVED melb more, u get to feel more culture then syd. and qld is more of tourist attraction. hmm....as for wa and sa, have not been there...but gut feeling tells me that sa is quite dead...

orchid

K. i've sent out the melbourne information.

Yeps, SA is quite dead. My cousins said that it was REALLY Ssslloooooww.

WA is really good if you're going for nature. Did a self-drive up from Perth to Monkey Mia. Fantastic nature stuff - we saw like a whole school of dolphins, went on a dugong cruise, sea turtles, baby sharks, stingry... very beautiful waters. Went fishing.

At Monkey Mia, the dolphins naturally swim up to shore to play with the humans every morning. Kalbarri is also great for fishing, and there's the DEEP &amp; HUGE gorges. rather majestic.

abc

Kalbari is great! I love it! Actually for Western Australia, provided that you do not stay in Perth, is a great place. You've got the greens and the browns (desert).

Melbourne is fantastic too. Was there for my undergraduate study and did intense travelling around Victoria. I stil miss that place a lot. Love the cafes and the italian food which costs probably only half the price of Singapore's. Some cafes are open 24 hrs and latte and cappucino are only 2 dollars net! Best of all, there are lots of unrunined nature to explore and the weather is cooler compared to Western Australia (though it can be quite erratic and disturbing sometimes).

happy

Hi Orchid,

I am planning for my honeymoon to Melbourne in early August too. May I have the info too?

You can drop me a mail at [email protected]

By the way do you think 11 days in Melbourne is a bit too much? Have you ever been to Tasminia?

orchid

Hi Happy...

I've never been to Tasmania but my uncle has. I saw his pictures and it's a "DROOL"... it was very very beautiful. especially this lavender field over the bridge.

11 days in Melbourne is not much if you want to go on side trips eg. to Great Ocean Rd (stop along the way 2-3 days), Philip Island, Farm Stays.... etc. I was there like 6 mths and I never tire of it.

Karen - Just sent the melbourne information again.

cody

Enid, i've sent you an email on melb. Hope it helps.
The Taz email will be later ... haven't gone home to get the stuff for you yet ...

Hope you find it useful !

enid

Hi Cody,

Thks for ur info. Very helpful indeed. Hv send u another email for some queries. Hope to hear from u.

poohbear

Hi Orchid &amp; Cody,

We are thinking of having our honeymoon in Australia too - F&amp;E. Perhaps Gold Coast, Sydney &amp; Melbourne. Could I have some info too?? Pls email to: [email protected]

poohbear

Hee hee,

email should be [email protected]
Pai seh pai seh....

==========================================

Hi Orchid &amp; Cody,

We are thinking of having our honeymoon in Australia too - F&amp;E. Perhaps Gold Coast, Sydney &amp; Melbourne. Could I have some info too?? Pls email to: [email protected]

tour

hi orchid
i would really appreciate it if u can email the info to me at [email protected]
thks in advance!

ohhh just hearing you guys talk make me wish that i'm there now...

anyone can advise me whether it's too hot to go melbourne and tasmania in dec pls?

cody

alamak, suddenly there's an influx of people asking for details.

Gold Coast: been there about 6 years ago. Info not updated, sorry can't help.

Sydney: i contributed quite a fair bit in the "Sydney: F&amp;E or packaged tour ? " thread. Pls read from there.

Melb: i just prepared a lengthy one for another one of the brides here. It includes Tasmania as well. Most of the info is there, just that i personalised the email to that bride, hope you dun mind.

Have fun!

orchid

Hi tour,

generally the weather starts getting warm at the end of November. you can go in the beginning of Dec if you don't want it too warm. But since Tasmania &amp; Melbourne are very windy places, you might not even feel that its too warm.

The rest - just emailed you the stuff. *s*

esther

Hi Orchid,

Me too .. planning for honeymoon in end OCT 2002 too... could you send the info on Mel and Tas too. Thank You.

esther ..

as

Hi Orchid &amp; Cody

I'm thinking of going to Mel. in mid October.
Would request info. from you.

Thank you in advance.

enid

Anyone know any travel agency in Melbourne that do tour in Tasmania ? We are not driving in Tasmania, so thinking of looking for a tour package to Tas when we reach Melbourne.

Thks.

icemilo

Hi enid...

You can try ExtraGreen (a travel agency, it located in Swantson Street), they are know for cheaper airfare/day tour. If not, you can try the one at Melbourne Central, located at Level 1/basement. (sorry, can't remember the exact floor)

tasi

Hi enid,
do you or your spouse have driving license?
It will b a waste not to drive in Tas. It is very diff if u were to join a tour.

tour

hi Cody
i've received your email. really appreciate your help. Thanks!!!

orchid

Hi icemilo,

i think you're refering to EverGreen??? hehe...
yes, they have good rates for day tours and trips to Mt. Buller and bus fares to Sydney.

angie

Hi Everyone

I just read this thread. I'm also planning to visit Austrialia Free &amp; Easy ,for my honeymoon. Heard so much about Melbourne and would definately not want to give it a miss.

I will be going during end Nov and Dec period. Can anyone provide me with more information about Melbourne? We are on budget, so we are just looking for simple yet nice lodging. Would appreciate if anyone can give me as much info as possible so that I can plan my iternary. BTW, we plan to spend a week in Melbourne. Should be enuf to cover most of the places of interest right?

Million Thanks

Angie

cody

Angie, i'll mail you some info on Melb shortly.
Have fun!

BTW, i read from another thread that you want to spend 3 weeks covering 4 cities. There's actually alot to do within each city &amp; and its surrounds, you may want to consider spending 3 weeks on 2 cities rather than 4.

Brisbane itself has nothing much ... to me, its where you start your journey towards Gold Coast.