Mcnair Rd new flat owners??

fay

hi Ling,
hey if you're on 8flr 108B, then you're same floor and blk as me! i'm 4rm though... so qiao to meet an immediate neighbour here! nope, we've not gotten our keys yet, will only get them in july but have not heard from HDB on the exact date yet. can't wait though, cos am getting very excited about going into the house! so far have you spotted any problems when you went into your place? well, guess from deer's posting, all of us should be looking out for water seepage problems from the window areas i suppose.. but unfortunately these few days are very hot and not rainy at all...

how do you and bearyhugs know each other huh? friends, classmates, colleagues?.... ? sorry, i kaypoh.. hehe.. wah next time really can have big housewarmings and welcome parties already...

blurunicorn

Fay:
Yah .. Thank goodness we got the unit ..
Lately the weather is very hot ..
Perhaps it will rain heavily on one fine day ...
Then I'll be able to see the severity of the seepage problem ..

sunnysummer

Hi Fay
Actually I’m one floor down (not immediate but still ‘close’ neighbour)

Ya I waited for about 2 months (or close to 2 months) for HDB’s notice to collect the keys. It was quite nerve wrecking cos I have this paranoia that something might have gone wrong with my application or documents etc…

So far no major defects detected yet (my cousin told me there were cracklines on his walls when he went to his!), but had difficulties locking and unlocking the windows – could be due to the fact that they were left unused for quite a long while, so this weekend, will be oiling the hinges/latches. One of the windows in the living room seem to have a faulty latch, will be trying again after oiling them. The taps all seem to function ok, I just need to test the powerpoints this Sat as well. I’m quite worried about the water seepage problem too, but there is simply no way we can tell at the moment.

I think generally the units in both blocks should be quite ‘defects free’ so not to worry about your unit

Strictly speaking – its more correct to say that my mom has met Bearyhugs (but I haven’t yet) so Fay none of your guesses is right ;P But we all live in the same Whampoa neighbourhood currently.

Hi Unicorn
Have you collected your keys yet? If you’re staying on a high floor – the view is great from your block and also very windy. There is this lady who is staying on the highest floor on block 108C who showed me her flat – wow the view is fantastic (I can only see the CTE from mine). Unfortunately since I only got mine through ballot, all the high floors were taken in both blocks.

blurunicorn

Ling:
Mine is on the 8th floor ..
So can only see the greenery ...

The weather seems to be quite dark at the moment ..
Dunno w/r it will rain or not later ..
If later rains, coz also too dark to see the seepage area ..

sharlene

U staying at 7th floor or 8th floor? I abit blur...

Hi bearyhug, like you, initially we also wanted 4 room but later wants to get higher chance for the flat thus choose the 5 room instead. My FH stays at the Farrer Park there thus prefer these 2 new flat as near to his current house. My FH love these 2 flats alot, he always says it looks like Condo!

Guess most of you are in the priority least except me.......

Hi ling, Just curious how old are you? My ID also very good, sincere also, at Potong Pasir near Jackson place there, if u interested, I can email you the ID firm name as can't post it here.

fay

yah cos i insisted that i didnt want to get married with a "shall we apply for hdb flat??" type of proposal... no matter whether we were desperate for the flat or not. hahaha...

ling, that means i met your 7 flr neighbour.. cos i went to the 7flr unit directly below mine to see the place... that's when we found out to our relief that the bathroom and kitchen wall and floor tiles are in beigy peachy colour...

blurunicorn

Sharlene / Fay:
My FH proposed to me ard a mth plus before the ballot was announced ..

So it is not those "shall we apply for HDB flat" thingy ...
Then viola !!! We decided to get married this yr ...
Hence, everything seemed to fall into plan unknowingly ..

Gals:
Btw, HDB will wipe out whatever u 2 have in your CPF account despite the MCP scheme ..
So the payment is definitely more than 10% of the price ..

fay

yeah heard abt that too, but when will that happen? is it like immediately after collecting keys?

sharlene

But i find it ok, in that way, ur housing Loan won't need to take so high...anyways funds inside cpf can't take out to use anyway.

Will deduct on the day we collect keys.

bearyhugs

Been busy sourcing for hotel venues for wedding banquets. No luck with Marriott and Regent as the dates we were looking at initially were taken up at these two hotels. So sad....

Hi Ling, yeah, I've seen your mum and she's taken a ride in my car too during your cousin's wedding. My FH is your cousin's buddy mah. They've known each other longer than our courtship! So besides the window latches being too tight, anything else like cracked walls? My ID told me tat the bathroom tiles were stained and some cracked too. Is that true? So what's your bathroom tiles color?

Unicorn, so u r staying on the 8th floor. Then which side is yours facing? Did you say yours was facing the green field? Sorry short term memory loss.

BTW, my FH had not proposed yet!!! So very slow right... Am still waiting..... waiting and still waiting... : >

bearyhugs

Update of details:

1. Bearyhugs (Blk 108B - 10th floor, 5 rm)
ROM - Dec 2004. AD - May 2005
2. Fay & Greg (Blk 108B - 8th floor, 4 rm)
ROM & AD - Feb 2005
3. Deer (Blk 108C - above 20th floor, 4 rm)
Happily married and pregnant now.
4. Sharlene (Blk 108B - 27th floor, 5 rm)
ROM - July 2004. AD - June 2005
5. Unicorn (Blk 108C - 8th floor, 5 rm)
ROM / AD - Oct 2004
6. Ling (Blk 108B - 7th floor, 5 rm)
ROM/AD - ???

blurunicorn

Fay:
Yesh .. On the day of keys collection ..
But if both of ur CPF balances r enuff, then u can even get back ur initial deposit of $2k ..
We din get any investments, coz we felt that we wld rather clear the loan .. Juz my cents of tots ..
Then u also need to pay the maintanence fees + registering for the utilities ..

Bearyhugs:
Yah, our hse is facing the green field ..
First thing we see when we wake up ..

sunnysummer

Hi Sharlene
Great if you can share your contractor’s contact with me. Can email me at [email protected]
I’m 29 this year. Old liao hor

Fay
I think my mom also saw that neighbour too. But he was alone that time. If not mistaken it was an Indian guy?

Think the colour scheme was ok except that didn’t really fancy basins in both toilets to be pink!

Just worried about the water seepage problem….

Bearyhugs
The walls are ok but I haven’t checked the tiles and the elect sockets yet.
In general, looks ok. Will be going down this weekend again for final check.

fay

hi ling, you referring to the 7flr 4rm neighbour? not indian... the one i met was a young chinese couple also going to get married soon. think they are also around the same age.
yah i agree abt the pink toilet basins and wc. but it's already better than i expected cos i remember visitg one unit in 108C that had pink wall and floor tiles! dont know if i remembered wrongly, but i was really worried that ours would be pink too..

hey bearyhugs, maybe your fh is just waiting for the right time, or the perfect diamond ring..

deer_deer

Hi BearyHugs,

I was on MC yesterday, got diarrhea. Think my immune system is a bit weak, esp after 2 weeks of cough. I am constantly feeling tired also, so i dont think i can invite all of u to my place at the moment. Really sorrie abt it.

Hi Ling, my baby will be due in Nov. My hubby and i r looking forward to it

I feel kind of out of place here, when most of u r discussing abt wedding and renovation, which i have already passed that stage.

Maybe i can offer some advice of wedding prep also. Actually i have a rather smooth prep for my wedding becoz i have very good and responsible banquet manager and wedding gown designer. The only problem tt i encounter is with my photographer. I signed up my wedding package with The Wedding Present and i took Imagegarden as my photographer. Initially i thought the photographer and his wife r easy to get along with, and i like their photos, but later after the photography sessions, we have some unpleasnat encoutners with them. Think they r quite cost conscious until they disregard the customers welfare and feelings. So i wont recommend u to Imagegarden. They tied up with quite a no. of well known bridal shops, choose other photographers if u can.

blurunicorn

Ling:
Duh .. Mine is peach leh ...
Difft blks difft color meh ??
Btw, did u see any water seepage ??
I din manage to go to my flat coz the hse keys are with my FH ..

fay

ling, i know the sinks and the WCs are in a pinky colour... but i tot the floor and wall tiles are a beigy brown type of color? oh no.....

hi deer, i actually considered The Wedding Present for my BS too! think they have quite nice gowns.. but i went to Silhouette and liked their stuff too... and also felt very comfortable with the designer at sil so decided on them instead. yah i have heard of imagegarden as well, they are quite popular especially in all those bridal mags. well i guess they might have become too preoccupied with making money that they forgot to practise good customer service... where did you hold your banquet?

sharlene

Actually your ID should check for you the house whether got any defects or not. Defects can be reported more than 7 days as long as you had not start renovation yet. Also make sure to get your ID to check the house again before the reno commence.

I think five room and four rooms color are different.

Hi deer,
When did your get married? Which hotel u had your banquet?

Bearyhugs,
Same as you, my FH also not yet propose to me...I hinted him, even tell him many time leh..but he just replied that where got need to propose....sigh!! Did you do tentative booking on your wedding date when you enquire from the hotel? I will advise you to do tentative booking of the date first then source around, at least u know the hotel you want till not be taken by others yet. Did you check out Pan Pacific and Marina Mandarin? Find these 2 also not bad

bearyhugs

Hi Deer,
One of my best fren's BS photographer was also image garden. It seems that she was quite happy with their service leh. But she did tell me tat she had a hard time bargaining for more photos and both she n hubby spent few hours at their shop deciding till abt midnight! Selecting photos I mean. Sorry to hear that you had diarrhea. So any medicines that the Dr gave? Think you need to drink more water to replenish the fluids lost. If you don't wish to take oral replacement salts, take some 100plus. It helps.

Oh no... pink color sink? Can't imagine.

Heh, great singapore sale on tmr. If got any good lobangs for furniture or household items, rem to update us at this forum huh?
Esp resort style-like household stuff like vase or flowers etc..... I'm going to be very busy at work in the next few weeks, may not even have time to shop. More and more patients seeking specialist's care, so business very good. : (
No time to eat lunch either; my lunch is usually only 30 to 45 mins. So sad right....

blurunicorn

Bearyhugs / Sharlene :
Dun worry, your bfs will surely propose to u ..
Hint them more often lor ..
Like my FH said b4, he dun really like to walk thru CityLink or Wisma coz there are alot of jewellery stores .. Then I sure wan to take a look ..

So mebe he took my hint and got me a ring secretly ..
Now got Great Singapore Sale .. a good chance to visit these stores ..

Bearyhugs:
If u really wan resort-styled items, it will be best to get it from BKK ..
Good and cheap .. got a couple of display items from there ...
From display plates to pillow-cases ...

fay

hey did anyone go shopping today? start of great singapore sale... wah it was very crowded leh, esp at tangs and taka area... didnt seem like a weekday! think people all took leave to shop!

hey bearyhugs, yah must take care, don't neglect your meals...

fay

bearyhugs, booked your banquet venue yet? better faster leh, cos hot dates run out fast! dun mean to stress you, but you will feel much much better once it's confirmed.... believe me... at least you wont have to think about it anymore...

bearyhugs

Thanks everyone for all the concern. So very touched. Don't worry. My digestive system has long adjusted to the rush lunch hour n pls! I'm not that skinny as what you all thought. Still got a couple of kilos to lose before I reach my ideal wt. Flabby arms and of course the tummy too. Big body frame to start off with. Heh, Fay, just seen your foto with Greg. U sure look pretty.

Unicorn, where's BKK? Fay, is the place u mention behind Balestier Shaw plaza open on weekends too? Thinking of going to take a look at the resort style furniture.

Oh for wedding banquet venue, so very vexed! Still can't decide. Our top choice of Marriott had been taken for our choice of date. I'm looking at 20/05/2005. That explains why it's such a hot date. Regent our second choice also taken! So very sad again. Managed to make tentative booking with Merchant Court, Grand Copthorne, Sheraton n Orchard Hotel. Any comments from you all? We going down one last stop to Marina Mandarin before deciding this weekend. Unicorn, heard that yours is at MM right? How do you find their service so far? Their promo package now includes $38nett off per table. Any comments on their food?

Deer, hope u r feeling better. Rem to drink more water.

Thanks all again. I still have to work tmr. Giving a public talk tmr. Got to sleep early today. Sweet dreams all.

sharlene

Hi Unicorn...
I really hope I will get a surprise...

Bearyhug,
Food in Marina Mandarin was very good!! thumbs up, best food I had eaten for far for wedding banquet and the service staff very good also. But did heard some people commented that their wedding planner not that good. Sheraton quite romantic too
Heard alot bad comments on grand Copthorne too but ballroom is very nice.

Hey, how you manage to see greg and fay's photos?

Fay and Greg,
can share you photo with me too? can email me at:
[email protected] ?

blurunicorn

Bearyhugs / Sharlene:
Heard that the food at MM is good ...
Also true that the wedding planner got attitude problem ..
Not easy to negotiate with her ..
Anyway, try to get those ballrooms that are pillar-less so that there will be no blockage ..
Have a talk with your BF so that u can get the bqt settled asap ..
Btw, I believe that ur BFs are planning something special for the proposals ..
So dun worry so much ..

Bearyhugs:
BKK is meant for Bangkok ..
We were there in Mar04 and got a lot of stuffs from there .. Cheap and good ..
Planning to go there after our reno to get somemore stuffs and to relax b4 the big day is coming ..

Espy since the air tkts are very cheap nw and hotels in BKK are not expv oso ..

Fay:
You muz be very pretty ..
Care to share ur foto with me ??
[email][email protected][/email]

bearyhugs

Thanks, Unicorn n Sharlene,
Another disappointment. We went down to MM today and the date is booked already just within two days! I called them up on thursday n they were still available! So fast taken and the wedding coordinator got to say things like "U did not tell me over the phone that u wanted tentative booking so I gave it to the couple this morning." Duh..........
Guess it's just not fated. May have to settle for the hotels tat are our 3rd or lower choices already unless we change dates. Think this wedding banq thingy is causing such a headache tat I can't even concentrate on my work. Nearly dispensed the wrong medication to patient the other day. Need a break from work really.

Heh, Unicorn, I've also heard that things in BKK are cheap esp household items. Care to share which shop u went to at BKK? Thinking of going there maybe in Sept this yr.

Oops. Fay did I get you into trouble? So sorry, think you might hav to let everyone catch a glimpse of you two before we meet up. Hope u don't mind.

Went to catch Shrek II just now. Real stress-reliever. Was laughing throughout! Strongly recommended.

bearyhugs

For any of you out there who haven't gotten their wedding bands or proposal rings, Soo Kee havig 30% storewide, Lee Hwa having 20% for their wed bands. Goldheart not having any promo for their wed bands.

Hope this is useful.

sharlene

Hi Bearyhug...
Don't be dissapointed. Did you check with these hotels the dates that were book is it confirmed by the couple? Coz, if its not yet confirmed, and u are really interested to pay the deposit to secure, they will pressure the tentative book couple to decide with 1-2 days, if not, they will give it to you...thues try calling Marriott, Regent and MM to check again

I bought my wedding bands from Lee Hwa in April, that time they were having 25% discount, and one day after I bought, they reduce to 20% only..

U must be very stress, take a break to relax...

Wah, Unicorn,

U so fast buy so many decorative stuff for your house already ah?

fay

got lobang for custom made wedding bands. can do whatever design you like and at lower prices than what is offered in the shops during sales. if you interested, i can email you the contact.

hey better still , why not we just arrange to meet at mcnair when one of us gets our keys, then no need to send photo here and there... heehee. so who will be getting keys next and when???

oh yah, agree that BKK is a good place to get stuff... if budget permits, will be planning a trip there at the end of the year to buy household decorative items too!

bearyhugs, think you should take a short break and just relax.. even if it's just a friday or monday so that you'll have a long weekend.. then can also make use of the time to settle your banquet stuff..

blurunicorn

Bearyhugs / Sharlene / Fay :
U really deserves a break ..
Dun be so stressed over the bqt ..
Juz list out all those hotels that u want and called them up tomolo ..
The last time, I actually called up to 20 hotels in a day and made alot of tentative bookings ..
Juz whacked watever hotels that I can think of ..
Something like I started from one cluster to another, from the first hotel of Orchard rd in to the last one in marina ..
Coz my FH was in reservist at that time, so no choice got to do on my own ..

Yah .. BKK is a good place to shop ..
We went to Chutuchak mainly to get those display items and we even got our utensils fm their shopping centre (Central dept) ..
Also got our stainless pots from one of the warehse ..
Of coz we got all these on difft trips lah ..
But we are still planning to go over and get some more stuffs ..

Imagine a Thai silk pillow case that costs S$4 there is selling at S$ 20 here ... Wat a mark-up !!

We got our custom-made rings from Fariy Inc and I dun supposed they will take part in GSS ..
Will be trying out our rings next week before they set the design ...

fay

We went to Fairy's Inc also to take a look. Must say that their wedding band designs are really unique and very different from the common ones you'll see in other shops. really like their stuff.. but they are a bit more ex than the rest lah. guess you pay for the design and the excellent service they provide also.

Yah Chatuchak is great for display items... i remember seeing those mango wood stuff like vases and bowls/dishes/trays in many small shops there and they cost less than what singapore shops here are selling them for! really dont feel like buying anything from shops here after i came back... imagine they are making about 200% profit leh. but Chatuchak is really hot leh... couldnt tolerate the heat...

hey gals, am in towner road now and the rain is super heavy... wonder how the seepage problem is... or if there is any...

bearyhugs

Thanks Sharlene, I've checked with the hotels already. Our first choices of Marriott and Regent have our dates confirmed by other couples already. Looks like that date is real hot man.
After some thoughts, may have to settle for either Merchant Court or Sheraton.

Fay, can email me the contact of your custom made wedding bands? So did u make yours from them? Is it supposedly cheaper? Do I have to say that I've been recommended by you?

I think Sharlene should be the next one to get keys right? My date had been scheduled to be on 17th June.

Anyone went to see the Duxton flats?

Went to Amore Gym this morning and Gosh, Orchard is real crowded packed with shoppers. Mphosis having 50 to 70% sale and G2000 also up to 50%.

sharlene

hi Bearyhug,
U are Amore Gym member? Which classes u took up? Thinking of signing up too....but work very busy.

Collecting my keys on 7th June but will be on weekday afternoon and my mum, my sister and my sister's MIL will be there to assist to pray for me for the open door ceremony, then my ID will come to take measurement and check the defects.

I wanna go see the Duxton flat too...my FH always joke that since we not yet collect keys, can give up the flat ehhehe

Never seen from Fairy Inc before, where are they located and what is their price range like?

BKK things are cheap, but wouldn't it be incovenient and bulky to buy these decorative things back?

Hi Unicorn and Ling,
Manage to go Mcnair today, any seepage problem?

Hi Bearyhug,
U stay 10th floor right? My ID told me that your neighbour had started renovation already and had also seen their design, their's is comtemporary with bright colors.

blurunicorn

Dear gals,
We went to our flat today after the heavy rain ..
No visible water seepage ... But I duno whether is it becoz of the wind direction ..

The wedding bands at Fairy Inc cost ard S$ 500 - 700 each .. depends on wat type of material u want ..
We got ours for ard 1300 ..

Chatuchuk is very very hot ..
And stuffy as well .. Kept drinking water there ...
Each time only managed to shop for 3hrs max ..
The whole place is like a furnace ..
But it is more jialat when it rains coz the place will be flooded ..

Sharlene:
Can share ur ID with me ??

bearyhugs

Hi Sharlene,
Nope, Me not Amore member. Made use of the free passes from Lady's card, so no need to apply for any membership. U can go for their weekends classes or gym sessions free if u are a Lady's card holder.

So my 10th floor neighbour had started reno already? Did your ID happen to tell what kind of ppl they are? I mean like friendly? Just curious to know abt my direct neighbours. : >

So sharlene, would it be convenient to go see your flat the weekend after u get your keys? What do we have to do before we enter our new flat huh? I also heard abt the praying part. Can share share?

sharlene

Bearyhug,
My ID told me the couple abt 30+plus.....forgot whether did he mention if they have kids or not.

My FH was asking why not ask u all come over to our house after the Reno completed since most of us getting keys soon? Actually I also not sure about the praying part as I and my FH are not superstitious, but my mum, sister's MIL and sister keep insisted me to do so thus they will help me as I dunno anything also...heard frm frens and colleagues need to buy pineapple, some rice n salt...to pray pray..

Unicorn,
U found ur ID yet? Just PM you.

blurunicorn

Sharlene:
Got your pm liao ..
Juz wondering how much did your ID charge u for your 5rm flat ??
And how long they will take to reno your flat ??

We din really have any "opening door" procedure ..
Juz brought my FH's nieces and nephew there lor ..
Heard that once kids feel happy and joyful in the hse, then the hse is okie ..
Espy when they like to run ard in the flat and not afraid to walk into the rooms ..

So far, we've been there several times but still din manage to see our neighbour ..

sharlene

Hi Unicorn,
Depends on what you intend to do, for basic package are quite cheap. We did alot of carpentery thus more ex. The ID will check with you what u require and work from there and also depends on your budget. They need at least one month to complete if its a basic reno, however if u intend to do carpentary, may take slight longer like 6-8 weeks...depends on how fast u want them to complete. When u intend to shift in? If u not rush, would suggest u let them have longer time to do so that workmanship will be better (my personal thoughts) if u interested, I can PM you my reno ID designer's name and contact. U can just give your floorplan for him to take a look and propose.
U have in mind what theme u want?

Unicorn, ur neighbour already shifted in yet?

blurunicorn

Sharlene:
We dun really have much theme ..
Juz wana to do the basic first, such as the painting, flooring and the cabinets ..
Perhaps a walk-in walkrobe for our bedroom ..
We intend to finish the reno b4 lunar 7th month, that's wat the old folks want ..
No idea abt the neighbour coz their place looked renovated but always empty ..

bearyhugs

Hi Sharlene, Unicorn,
I thought abt the Lunar 7th month too. That's why I'm taking my time to do the reno design and intending to start after the lunar 7th month.

Unicorn, do u want contact for my ID too? I posted in the earlier msgs that it's Darwin at Bendemeer. No harm also going down with the floorplan and get quotation too. If u need, I can PM you my designer's contact too. My quotation was ard 30k for 5 rom too. They are good as they offer parquet flooring (Burmese teak) for abt 2.6k for 3 bedrooms. I think that's quite a good price.

Sharlene, then we shall wait till you finish your reno. But if you happen to be there during the weekends in June, maybe we can sms each other to find time to see see look look. I will be getting my keys on 17th June. PM you my contact no. too

fay

sharlene, Fairy's Inc is at Delphi Orchard, opposite Forum Galleria. It's in the same building as Bridal Veil and Blush Blush (the bridal boutiques). Think they are on either 3rd or 2nd floor... not sure, maybe Unicorn can confirm. Yah their price ranges from $500 - $800 for each piece depending on whether you choose white gold, platinum or gold, and whether there are any diamonds on the band. Think they also carry this special range called champagne gold if i'm not wrong... have not seen it in any other shops. The owners of Fairy's Inc are 2 young ladies who also opened a shop called Olive Suite opposite to Fairy's Inc that sells OTR tea dresses.. very nice!!

bearyhugs, will email you the contact for the custom made wedding bands. have not bought our wedding bands yet but intend to get from them, cos have already asked for a quotation based on our intended design and it's cheaper than the original that we saw..
actually greg got my proposal ring from them and he said it was a really good deal. dun know how much he spent lah, but he mentioned that it was a lot less than what lee hwa was offering for the same specifications of diamond.....

fay

bearyhugs,
think your house and mine will be renovated around the same time. cos we also intend to start reno only after 7th month. sure will see you around the blk then...
have emailed you the contact already.