Mcnair Rd new flat owners??

sharlene

Unicorn,
Is that the same set on offer at Isetan previously or different set?

U not working tdy?

Bearyhug,
Ya lor....oh...can see ur body hv some changes already...exciting yah!!

pinkimi

sharlene & unicorn,
i also saw the taka pamphlets. saw the WMF set. but now i am thinking of getting the gargemel black pot. probably will go to the Taka sales on saturday. how about you all?
sharlene, the Taka one is a different set from the isetan sales one.

gals,
wanted to watch da vinci code at PS yesterday, but the tickets for all three 9+pm show were sold out, except for first row. the show so hot huh.

unicorn,
you feeling better? me having sorethroat and block nose... sigh...

hi all.. finished one paper yesterday, didn't do too well because not enough time to finish.. my last one is tomorrow, can't wait.. i'm going to be celebrating my freedom this weekend. anyone interested in ktv this friday?

btw, came across this website: http://www.tobiasmayer.com/
its selling birkenstock/papillo sandals at quite a cheap rate.. if buy 7 pairs, can get free express postage. anyone interested?

sharlene, any idea when the next orders for OPI will be arriving, is there stock for the designer series?

misspink

where did you spend your honeymoon? my HB and i are planning for ours this october....so i am supposed to gather some info on various destinations while i am still free ;P any recommendations?

blurunicorn

Marathoner:
Our honeymoon was in early Nov 04 ...
We went to London and Paris on a free and easy tour ..
So we pretty much took our own sweet time there ..
I think we went for 14 days ...
Nice weather to go to europe at tt time ...

sharlene

Marathoner,
I went to Europe for 14 days tour, its grp tour, went to 7 countries, went during June last yr.

Gail,
Not sure yet, emailed the in charge but no response, thus i guess the DS series stock not yet arrive.

Pinkimi,
How are u? betteR?

joia

Just 8 more days to our big day. Stress level is indeed running up. Gotta keep reminding myself to rest more, be less stressed

Hi marathoner,
Me and hubby going to Melbourne for honeymoon after the wedding. Will be going for a week. I have been there before 2 years ago but love the place very much. Plus it will be winter so good for snuggling
haha

woohoo... exams over.. i'm finally free..

bearyhugs, my HB finishes his exam today so TM can jio him already.. any new shows to watch?

sharlene, okies.. those who bought the designer series, is it good? can get my fashion 70s from you?

marathoner, i would like to go to hawaii for my honeymoon.. can get my kim sam soon and shape magazine from you this weekend? at the moment i only have 'A love to kill' which starrs Rain (the guy from Full House) but the English subtitles are not very good.

pinkimi, you sick? how are you feeling? is it your stomach again. Was reading an article in Today newspaper, mentioned that TCM can cure IBS.. i thought of trying it...

pinkimi

morning all.... the weekend is finally here.

sharlene,
yeah, feeling better. back at work. just took the medicine, think gona doze off soon. hehe.
gail,
i am having sorethroat and stuffy block nose.
you know of any reputable TCM clinic? maybe we should give it a try.

susan,
so fast, can start to countdown to your wedding. now just try to relax and rest more. ready to be a meimei bride

supposed you will only shift in after the wedding?

misspink

thanks for the info on your honeymoon =)

sharlene,
how much you spent on ur 14-day europe trip? did u go italy? and i don't have ur hp no. leh, but i pm u mine oreadi.

hey gail,
congrats, exams over liao =P yes, yes, i've been wanting to return the shape mag and kim sam soon to you....will sms u today or this wkend to go return u ok? haven't finish full hse though. erm, any korean drama featuring that guy (can't remember his name) in kim sam soon? i wld very much prefer him to Rain...hahahahah ;P and yes, we are considering hawaii too.....but it's kindda expensive to fly there

fay,
i remembered u just went japan right? which part did u go and approximately how much u spent huh?

hi susan,
hope everything is going on well as planned for your wedding and house =) relax and enjoy!

fay

hi marathoner,
yeah spent 3 weeks in tokyo and made some side trips to kyoto and hakone. but in tokyo i stayed with my cousin so the amount i spent might not be accurate as an indication. but on average you will expect to pay about S$180 - $250 per room for accomodation in hotels. (and this is the lower end price lor...) you can try to book hostels lah... but not sure if you'd want something better for your honeymoon. food ranges from S$8 - S$14 for a bowl of noodles, which i don't think your HB will feel full after eating... (!) transport is largely by the Japan Railways trains or the subway. i can give you more info if you really intend to go

fay

marathoner,
oh and we went to new zealand for our honeymoon. spent 16 days there, self drive. lovely scenary... can also give you more info if you want

sharlene

Helo neighbours!
How's everyone, busy again i guess....

Gail,
Good that ur exam was over! Now its unicorn's turn.

Susan,
How's ur preps? Stressed? Must relax, ur big day tomr and congratulations and enjoy urself!!

Marathoner,
How's ur wedding preps? Decided on ur honeymoon already?

joia

Hi Sharlene,
Thanks. Yes, still thinking if missed out anything. But will remember to just enjoy the day. Been so busy preparing for it, glad that the day will finally be here tmrw

How's everyone? So quiet these days.

misspink

hey sharlene,

my wedding in october, seems like long time more, haha =P still working out the flower and decor theme with the stoopid Exxxxxx....they are soooo.... arrrgh!!!!! now we are deciding btw NZ and Japan for our honeymoon, think we want to rough it out a bit in whichever country we choose to go. fay, maybe need some info from you later =)

btw, still haven't borrow the korean drama from you coz still watching full house....but am at the 3rd last episode liao, so hope to get some new ones from you after i finish =D you watching any at the moment?

fay

susan, congrats on your wedding! hope it was a fun experience for you and oxy...

marathoner, sure no prob. just let me know how i can help you in your plans for those 2 destinations.. can send you photos to take a look too
personally i think you and your HB would enjoy NZ more than japan. more activities to do, like white water rafting, shotover jet, tree top sledging (dunno what it's called exactly but you get the idea), hot air balloon, sky diving, and of course, bungy jump.... fun! oh and not to mention gorgeous gorgeous scenary.....

bearyhugs

Susan, Congrats on your wedding too! The day has finally come! So I assume we would see you guys more often from now onwards here at our Mcnair neighbourhood. Welcome...

Marathoner, I've also been to both Japan and NZ. Agree with Fay tat NZ might be more suitable for honeymoon but I personally prefer Japan cos got more things to shop. Hehe... both me and TM prefer a good mix of shopping and sight seeing. Think Japan is able to provide that. All the best to your wed preps. When is it going to be? Care to share what happen at the Exxxxxx? :p

sharlene

Helo all,
Came back from wedding anniversary celebration this afternoon and after the buffet breakfast this morning, did not eat till ard 12 plus midnite then hungry and my hb called ordered mac n ended up had some unpleasant issues that after much complain, the food finally reached us at 3.20am!!! Almost 4 hrs after we ordered....long story....Sigh..just finish makan only.

Marathoner,
Oh sure, currently, I watching spring days, very slow at it....already 2 wks past and still stuck at th 4th disc only. :p By the way, I will be going HK this thurs thus if u wanna borrow, can pass u before that.

Susan,
How's ur wedding?

i'm so happy, finally get to bum at home...

sharlene, i'll also be going HK this weekend but I'm leaving on Friday. Where will u be staying? I'm putting up at Ramada Hotel. Btw, is my Autumn Shower with you?

susan, congrats on your wedding

misspink

hi fay,
will get some info on NZ and Japan from you perhaps later this week coz moved quite some things over from my parent's place yesterday, so wld be busy packing over the next couple of days. my HB been to NZ b4 so Japan is his first choice, and I don't mind either but I think Japan would be much more expensive.

hey sharlene,
I would sms to get the korean drama from you b4 thurs. lend me one that you don't need returned quickly coz think i might be slow at it too...well, unless got that Kim Sam Soon guy in it, hahaha ;P

hi bearyhugs,
aiyah, the florist engaged by Exxxxxx is quite sloppy and unprofessional lah, not to mention the person we are liasing with from Exxxxxx-- 1st, the florist sent us someone else's quote. Then he sent us a quote that ignored the fact that floral and decor is part of the wedding package we paid for with Exxxxxx (so apparently some communication breakdown btw the liason and their in-house florist lah). The final quote that was sent was none the more assuring to us that the price for our not-so-conventional theme has been offset against the package coz prices of certain items remain the same as the 2nd quote in which the florist clearly did not offset any item at all. This is among the few sloppy encounters we have with Exxxxxx e.g. the liason was late and unapologetic for our first meeting, send wrong quotes, etc. a bit disappointed with their unprofessionalism but still, we will not let this spoil our wedding =)

hi susan,
congrats!

sharlene

Gail,
Yes, autumn shower with me, but currently my mum watching though, U need it back tis week?

When will u be staying till in HK? I will be there for a week till next wed. Staying at Holiday Inn Golden Mile, what's ur itenary like? We thought of going to Macau n shen zhen for day tour too.

Marathoner,
Sure, take ur time to watch. U just sms me

Which florist are they tie up with? I know the hotel tie up with 3 florist.

Sharlene, no don't need it back this week but would like to get it before my hols end so that I have time to watch.

I'll be leaving HK on the 13th, my friend did ask whether we should extend for another day but we'll got there then decide. So far, we have no fixed itinery but I would like to visit Disneyland, Macau, Lantau Island, Stanley, Shen Zhen (I'm going to Shen Zhen on Sunday, another one of my friends is going over to HK to visit her boyfriend and he'll be taking us to Shen Zhen on Sunday, if u want u can join us)

Sharlene, is it your first time to HK? I went last June so roughly know what to expect so I don't intend to go for any tour this time round.

pinkimi

hi neighbours

susan, congrats to you. guess will see you more often now. when will you be leaving for your honeymoon?

sharlene,
shenzhen uses RMB although they also accept HKD. however they accept HKD same rate as RMB (1RMB=1HKD), so will lugi. think the rate for RMB is very good now.

sharlene

Gail,
Yup, my first time there. Other than day tour to macau n Shen Zhen, quite interested to go for sunset cruising and nite aberdeen fishing village tour with dinner onboard Jumbo floating restuarant and LEI YUE MUN SEAFOOD VILLAGE tour with seafood dinner. Yummy.....
By the way, do pple there wear bermudas? Was told that must wear nice nice there otherwise the shop owners will look down and won't bother u. Heard a number of pple told me that. And also I think i changed too much HKD if shenzhen uses RMB.....

Pinkimi,
ROughly how much RMB to bring if presume only will buy things at the Lo Wu shopping complex?

Fay,
U home tomr evening ard 8 plus to 9? Want to get my Nailtek Speed 10 back from u.

Bearyhug,
Can I pass u ur bodyshop shower gels tomr nite after 10pm?

pinkimi

sharlene,
think there is nothing much to buy at Lo Wu leh. there is another shopping area. we have books on shenzhen, can pass them to you. if you want, can take from us tomorrow night.

Sharlene, i have a lot of places to visit, don't know whether can accomplish everything in 5 days.. when i went HK last year, i wore jeans everyday because the weather was pretty cold (rainy season). I have not heard anything abt wearing bermudas but one of my colleagues did tell me that we shouldn't use mandarin to communicate..bcoz the locals will think that we're from China, its better to speak English.

Think I will go HK to change RMB..

sharlene

Gail,
Eh....do all pple there understand English? My cantonese are not vry smooth...haha... my colleague just came back said abt 30 degree celcius there now. Rainy...alamak, then sianz....
Where in shenzhem do u intend to go?

joia

Hi neighbours,
The wedding went well.We're finally married! The feeling on the day almost seems so surreal. Though there were some hicups, it was overall memorable. But surprising we were not as tired and the dinner ended before 10:30pm which is quite early I suppose

Will be going for honeymoon this tues. Going to Melbourne which will be winter season now. Will go skiing if it's cold enough.

Yipe so we'll see more of you guys around in the nedighbourhood too.

Sharlene,
The last time me and Oxygen went to HK, we went for a hike in Lamma island before having seafood at the restuarant called Rainbow. To get there, we took a ferry from Aberdeen. Should go to the peak too, the view is really nice provided it's not foggy

HK is especially memorable for us because it's where Oxygen proposed.

poohgy

Hi Gail,
Think you can speak chinese. Cos HK people love people who speak chinese. Whether you are from China, they can tell from your chinese.
It is because China people are the big spenders there now in fact. If you speak cantonese, then they will not give a damn thinking you are local. They will treat you better if you speak chinese.

blurunicorn

Susan & Oxy,
Congrats on ur big day ..
Glad to hear tt you 2 had a good time ..
Enjoy ur honeymoon ..
It will be one of those special holidays to reminisce abt ..

Gail:
Heard fm Ken tt he saw u at the market on sat ..
U really like the bubble tea hor ..

fay

poohgy,
since you mentioned that HK people can tell from our spoken chinese if we are from china, then they will obviously know we are not from china lor... so what then? will they be nice or not? although i am not going to HK lah, but i'm curious what you mean.... and anyway even if we speak cantonese in HK, they can also tell we are not locals cos accent and everything different.

poohgy

Hi Fay,
Got what you mean. Some people can really sound like hong kong people when they speak cantonese.
Some of my friends go and the locals thought they are locals when they speak cantonese.

But basically, a lot of hong kong people can speak chinese now. So no worry about language, but speaking chinese do get better treatment sometimes. Tried and tested.

unicorn, wasn't really at the market, saw ken on my way back from the mkt.. yupz, i love the bubble tea there.. the auntie just has to look at me and she knows what i want to order..

i will try a mixture of english and chinese when i'm there.. will do experiment and feedback to u guys when i get back

misspink

hi gail,
yup the bubble tea auntie is very friendly, just look at my HB or me and she knows what we want...hahah ;) ahh....so thankful her bubble tea store is here coz my HB says there is one near his workplace that is more expensive and got way too much ice and mushy pearls! Have a gd trip! Sharlene, you too!

bearyhugs

Sharlene, enjoy your trip at HK. Happy wed anniversary!

Unicorn, how's your exams preps? Din see you online for so many days. Must be really pin ming for your studying... Jia you!

Gail, enjoy your trip to HK. Few of my frens jus came back n they luv the shopping there. Hmm... which bubble tea shop r u gals talking abt? I've seen ppl carrying bubble tea cups back frm market but nvr knew where the stall is. What are their hot favourites?

Me on MC today at home. Felt so bored man staying home the whole day... Loss of voice only but can't work cos my area of work require us to talk round the clock. Hehe...so no voice equals no work...Now recovered almost 80% with a whole day of resting. Laryngitis.

fay

unicorn,
yeah been to HK 2x and have aunty and cousins living there. have you? feel like going also leh...

misspink

hi bearyhugs,
hope your throat is well. The bubble tea is some where opposite the gay wah flower shop, beside the newly opened herbal shop. My HB and i luv the honey red tea but they also got lots of other flavours =) go try it!

hey sharlene,
i am into the 4th episode of save ur last dance and so far, i luv the show (much to the dismay of my HB coz he thinks i am addicted to korean dramas now...hahaha)! hope you are having a gd time at HK!

pinkimi

morning neighbours,

unicorn,
had been to HK 4times.
now feel like going holidays, think anywhere also happy. hehe...

anyone heard a cat meowing away last nite 2am?

fay

pk, no leh, didnt hear any cat last night.. maybe can't hear from my side. but there was one time we heard a dog whining away for about an hour or so... machiam like being abused like that. sound very poor thing...

yeah me feel like travelling too... although i know i just came back from jpn not too long ago.. hehehe

sharlene

Helo pple,
Back from HK, bad weather there, especially disppointed with unable to see the beautiful skyline from the peak due to heavy fog twice. Then, also met their labelled "black storm" day when we were at disney. Practically no chance to take any pics with the cartoon characters!!!
During the coach journey back on the Qing Ma bridge, due to the heavy pour, can't even see the road ahead and lightning n thunder were flashing all over, I was so scared that throughout, just completely shut my eyes and dare not see.

Gail,
How's ur trip? Managed to complete ur iternary? Oh ya, did u buy any dvds? I bought quite alot new korean dramas. Also bought 1 at Ladies mkt at slightly higher price. When u home? Return u Autumn showers.

Marathoner,
Great to hear that u like the show
Its one of my fav too.

sharlene.. welcome back.. the weather was pretty bad when i was in HK but don't remember a 'black storm' day. whenever i went out it would drizzle. I managed to go Disneyland and it drizzled several times in the day but i still managed to take phoots with some of the characters... did u got to watch the 3D show? where you have to wear the 3D glasses. I came down with a fever on sunday so didn't get to follow my friends to shenzhen.. we also scrapped going to macau coz of the cost. i bought 5 shows - 3 from ladies mkt and 2 from fortress hill.. don't know when i'll have a chance to watch them.. maybe i'll get autumn shower from u tmw..

sharlene

Gail,
The black storm day happened on Fri, remember I sms u and u told me u stuck on airplane, I was in disney then. I din know abt it till the news reported that nite and heard the pple talking abt it the next day. After Fri, the next few days weather appears to be so much better to go disney as compared to friday...so unlucky for me. 3D show? indoor or outdoor? I only managed to caught the indoor golder mickey award show, the sq parade show at abt 3.30pm and the fireworks. It was still raining during the fireworks. I also down with fever since tue...now recovering, but still not well yet, seems now developed cough and flu as well and whenever I delayed my medication timing, the fever would come back. Now even hv slight gastric and last nite stomachache too, not sure if its caused by the antibiotics. Sigh, dunno why this yr my health so weak. I bought alot shows too, currently watching princess hours.

Now got phobia for medication when comes to medication time.