Mattress

och

hi belanda,

i've read that westin uses the heavenly beds n these beds r customised pillow top simmon mattress set. the comforters used r down comforters, dun know which brand, but i think u can buy the comforters n bed linens online.

belanda

hi och,

thanx for your info...but mmmm..Is heavenly the model of the bed from simmons ? And any website you can recommend ?

peaches

Hi Belanda,

Marina Mandarin suites also use Simmons.... but it is an inhouse brand that is specially customised for MM by Simmons. You will not be able to get it off the open market.

For your info, though, that inhouse brand falls under the Simmons BeautyRest range.

jes

Blk 501 West Coast Drive #01-300 sells cheap mattresses, i got my King Koil Queen size at $650, a good buy.
they are selling assortment brands but not Simmons though. you may call 7730322 to enquire

ignorant

Simmons mattress sounds good, can anyone advise if there is any sale goin on now? or soon?

crackle

Hi ignorant,

I think Simmons is having a promo now... at Homemakers Exhibition over at Suntec... most of the mattresses on offer are under $2K. Do check out the press esp Straits Times.

liza

Hi, just wondering if anyone has problem adjusting to those firmer kind of mattress. Ever since I started sleeping with my hubby on our new firm pocketed spring mattress, my body has been aching every now and then. I wonder is it due to the lousy quality of the mattress or is it because of our new sleeping postures (hugging each other every now and then). Anyone with the same kind of experience?

jes

liza

i guess its just a matter of your back is not used to the firm mattress. for me, i prefer a little 'softer' mattress, so when i sleep on firm mattress, i didn't get a good sleep and my back does ache.

happy98

hi jes

me looking at king koil mattress. may i know what kind of mattress did u buy, eg pocketed spring, etc??? hv u checked with the others to compare? me checked a few and the cheapest for king size is $850 pocketed spring and extra firm.

jes

hi happy98
i am using king koil queen size pocket spring mattress, are you refering to King Koil King size model 'Mr America'? you can get it for $750.
where did you check the price $850?

happy98

Hi jes
i'm referring to King koil king size. are u saying that $750 for King koil king size pocketed spring extra firm? is the px inclusive of delivery and GST?

actually, i think sometime it is quite difficult to compare cos king koil has too many models for extra firm, pocketed spring mattress. i tried at diff places and all gave me diff feeling for extra firm mattress. the 1 i quoted u is from IMM and so far is the one that gave me the best feeling! ; -)

hv u asked around other places? i saw a few on the paper and thinking of going down to see. actually i saw one located at west coast in the paper, wonder is it the same as the one u mentioned???

jes

happy98

yes i am refering to the King Koil King Size pocketed spring extra firm. price include delivery and gst, difference of $100 which you are quoted in IMM.
i dunno which advertisement you refering to, what is the shop name? you may go to Blk 501 West Coast Drive #01-300 to hv a look, they hv quite assortments of mattress for you to try on including King Koil, Dunlope. price wise they are relatively cheaper.

happy98

hi jes

hv been very busy recently. yes, it's the same shop and it's called sleeppost or sleepland. actually, i think they hv one shop at IMM and i think it's not cheap. will check that out.

happy98

hi jes

i was at Balestier and just went to take a look at the Mega Mattress. price not very cheap and i dont like that sale lady attitude. although we were her only customer there, she did even make an effort to introduce the products to us. and when we ask her qn, she just ans briefly.

jes

happy98

no its not the same shop that we are talking abt.
the shop name is Rolands Furniture located at west coast drive, they hv assortment of brands and reasonably priced.
the shop sleeppost in IMM is another shop, dun get it wrong. ;p keep me updated

coco

HI Can anyone tell me if simmons sells mattress protectors and whether the protector is thick or like those departmental store ones? i am looking for a thick mattress protector...

hazel

Hi coco,

Simmons does carry mattress protector... wat is the thickness u're looking at ? I can measure my mattress protector to see if it matches ur criteria...

Personally, i find the mattress protector from Simmons diff. from others in dat it actually has a additional thin layer to 'wrap' the mattress... the others i've seen all use bands to fasten the corners of the protector to the mattress oni... hmm. hope u understand wat i mean...

coco

Thanks Hazel,

I understand what you are refering to! the bands and the Simmons mattress protector. I guess the simmons mattress protector is similar to the normal ones except for way it is attached to the mattress. I wanted a protector that is like an extra padding, maybe like two inches or more but i dont think they have it right?

yah, and how much is the matt protector?

hazel

Hi Greenhorn & coco,

I bought a Queen-sized mattress protector from the Homemakers' show, I think the normal price is betw. $110 - $120.

coco, u're rite, the simmons protector is definitely not as thick as 2 inch.. guess it's oni abt. the same thickness as the others..

happy98

hi jes

yap, gotten my king size mattress from them liao. actually, they only hv 2 models for kingkoil, i think. i didnt really like them, but in the end still got one of them cos no much time left to shop around liao. actually preferred the one they recommended but it was abt $200 more. btw, they charged me $780 instead. ;-(

jes

happy98

where did you buy the mattress from?
the blk 501 west cost drive? has the mattress been delievered to your house?
which is the model that you like and $200? why dun you get the model you like then?

happy98

hi jes

yes, blk 501 Roland's. oh, i bot it b'cos i've a tight budget. the one one i like was Dunlopilo (i think) and it costs $1100 for king size. yes, they hv delivered to my place liao but my hubby dont allow me to sleep on it until after customary! didnt want to get Dunlopilo also b'cos i prefer Kingkoil and i hv the impression that there's one model i saw at beach road furniture mall hv'g the same qlty as the one recommended by them and cos abt $1k+ also. since i didnt get it that time b'cos of $$$, so decided not to get this one also lor. funni reasoning right? ;-)

jes

happy98

oh maybe i know the sales person very well so they give me special price. can you email me at the email address in my profile?
they hv full range of king koil mattresses but usually they will recommend according to our budget.

you put the mattress on the bed already? i thought 'an chuang' then can put the mattress on the bed?

happy98

Hi jes

thanks for your offer but i guess we are not going to pursue for the difference. We are happy with the product and svc. it is very common that different pp will get different quotes, depending on your r/s with the shop, whether the owner likes u, etc.... thanks for your recommendation.

jes

happy98

no problem happy98, as long as you are happy

piss

I recently bought a bed with king coil mattress from New Life and I felt really cheated. Not only their service sucks but their attitude is outrageous.
Cost me about S$1800 to buy the bed and mattress. When I bought the bed, the salegirl told me that the side table was included but upon delivery I realised that it was not included in. Not only that, they had 2 seperate delivery, the frame and the mattress was delivered seperately having a 2-3 hours interval between the 2 deliveries. Their attitdue was nasty and so unoganised. My advice to all is that if you are purchasing from 1 agent, make sure that you are getting from the direct one source rather than 2 different agent.

jazz

I'm currently looking for a mattress for my bed. Like to seek help on where are the possible places that I can shop around for affordable and good mattress with price ranging from $1k to $1.5k.

Thanks very much for your help!

neonstar

Hi Jazz,

The price of the bed depends on a few factors: size of bed( Queen or King), special features eg storage function or normal drawers, type of mattress eg pocketed springs, high density foam or latex, etc. Anyway, if u have no idea on what u want, u can try to talk to the sale people and must try out the bed b4 buying ie u must at least sit or lie down for a while to try out the firmness. U can consider some shops along Aljunied Road. Saw some mattress companies during exhibition in expo. Hope it helps.

jazz

Hi Neonstar,

Thanks for the info! I'm looking for King size bed, and heard King Koil, Simmons etc is good. But the big headache is I do not know where to look for.

Do you know which part of Aljunied Road will that be? Thanks!

robinson card holder

Hi jazz,
Robinsons have both king koil & simmons. If u have robinsons card, u can get further 5 % discount. If u can wait for their sale, there will b a 15% n then further 5% if u are a robinson cardholder. According to the promoter fr Robinsons, the model for simmons n kingkoil that u can see there are exclusively for sale at robinsons.

neonstar

Hi Jazz,

There are a few shops along Aljunied Road(u can walk {abt 500-800m} from Aljunied MRT; u can try the SCN centre along Aljunied Rd). Btw, if u r getting a King sized bed, can ur lift accomodate the mattress?
To me, the diff. brands of mattress is equivalent to diff. brands of cars. Some like Merc, others BMW or Toyota. What matters most is the quality of the mattress and your needs. U should try out different brands and their models and get one that is w/in ur budget 'cos u oso have to worry abt other needs eg reno,etc. Anyway, for ur info; u can ask the sale person how long can the mattress lasts or how long should u change ur mattress? The typical ans is 10 yrs (regardless of the brands). Hope this helps.

delannie

Have anyone heard of Simmon - Harmony mattress?

Is it good? How much does that cost?

Z

z

Hi Delannie,

Simmon mattress are more comforty, but usually more pricy. Suggest that you visit a showroom to test it yourself. Coz different range have their different firm-ness. Some maybe too firm, you may not like it.

If couple is heavy weight, then have to buy more firm series. So depends on body weight as well.

Impt thing u must lie on it and feel whether you personally like it.

z

meadow

I have bought a King Koil mattress (abt $1200), and after using it for some time, I am starting to have backache. I don't get these aches when I sleep on the floor.
I was told King Koil is good, but probably the model I chose is not suitable for me.

Does anyone knows if I can return the mattress, or perhaps exchange for a more firmer mattress ?

sleepwell

Actually Four Star has a wide range of mattress suitable for everyone.

I think recently they have launch a Detense series which promise to provide better sleep.

Meadow, if you have backache after using the mattress, it is better you stop sleeping on it incase you develop serious back problems.

cakey

We tried some mattress at the Simmon shop at marina sq. the lady's attitude quite good. And as it's near closing time and wkday, not much pple around, thus we lie down on the mattress to try.
Otherwise quite 'peiseh' to do so at those exhibition with so many pple walking around... hehe..

sleepwell

Hi hazel_t, I think the king size pocketed spring from "Four Star" range from $800 plus to $2000, it depends on which quality you want.

sunnyday

Dear all, has anyone bought Dunlopillo SP Latex mattress before? Maybe you can share your experience on the mattress. We are thinking of buying because my hubby doesn't like spring mattress. Thanks.

askabride

Any1 who has purchased bedframes/mattresses from Roland's before and encountered any good/bad experience? Could you all pls share?

We were actually wondering how reliable this shop is in offering/delivering the goods.

Also, are the bedframes also original from King Koil like the departmental stores?

Would appreciate all your comments, thx!

carebear

hI askabride

Yes, I have purchased a mattress from Roland before. Service is pretty good, they also stick to their delivery time range, but that was said bout 5 months ago.

carebear

askabride

Thx carebear for ur reply.

Does any1 else bought any bedframes from them too? Do they really carry the kingkoil original bedframes as well at reasonable prices?

Another question, besides those Simmons Galleries, any where else carry Simmons bedframes and mattresses at cheaper prices?

Thx!