Mascara - Pls recommend your fav. brand

cefindre

Hi Mandy and Michelle,
u 2 have put me in a dilemma, I can't decide between YSL false lash effects and Anna sui super volume. I'm looking for the really drama queen sort of mascara, the very thick long black japanese doll/fake lash looking type. Are they both able to achieve that effect? Also curious, how long do they take to dry, for instance, if I want to apply 3/4 coats, do I have to wait really long for the first coat to dry? Sorry, alot of questions, thanks in advance girls!

forrestgump4

Hi Cefindre,

Are your lashes very full already? Mine are a bit curl but not full. I'm staisfied with just Anna Sui's Long mascara cos I feel that "volume" mascara in general make your lashes heavy and instead of curl up, it may droop lor.! So I opt for applying anna sui's LONG mascara twice.

Normally after my 1st application, I will do little things in between like drinking water, pack my handhtg for about 2 mins, then I'll apply the 2nd time lor... It would be not just long but thicker and with volume! So I dun really blame others loh.

cefindre

Hi mandy, thanks for the reply! wah, u really got me so tempted to buy the anna sui, lol. yeah, my lashes on the whole are relatively long on it's own, it's just I'm vain lah, want to achieve 'fake eyelash' effect without using fake eyelash. Just some recent craze of mine, I'm so in love with the fake eyelash look. Think I will head down to an AS outlet tmw and ask them to try the long one on one eye, and the volume one on the other. Thanks for the advice!

forrestgump4

Hi Cefindre,

You are welcome! I think if i'm not wrong, they may intro you their Lash Primer. Oh I was tempted to buy that product at first cos they say that can protect your lashes and prevent breaking of lashes and also to make your mascara last better, longer and hold your curl.

I bought it and I must say i'm very pleased with that result and "heng" I didn't regret buying it. But that tube cost about the same with those regular mascara, you consider if you want to buy lor.

Happy shopping!

caratsoup

I have used Shiseido and Shu Uemura which I think both is good and keep the lashes curled whole day but does not give the thicken effect.

For volume and curls, Chanel and Mavala from Sasa is very good. I think Mavala costs only about $11. My friend commennted that it looks good.

Anybody has feedback for ZA mascara and MAC pro lash??

babysheep22

I'm a relatively newcomer to mascara. Got a few questions, hope someone can help me.

1. Do u always need to curl your lashes with those eyelash curlers before putting on mascara?

2. Why is it that when I put on mascara, it has that clumpy look and don't curl up nicely? I am using maybelline's lash discovery.

3. i got very thin and sparse lashes. heard that loreal mascaras are good. which one is best for thin and sparse lashes?

4. Lastly, what is the technique to apply mascara? I always stain my eye lid! it is very frustrating...

hope someone can enlighten me. Sorry if i sound ignorant.

ohstrawberry

Hi, babysheep22

I'm definately can't live without mascara, everyday even going to the market, i must wear it, cause it'll open up your eyes and make it look bigger.
1) If your eyelash is kinda of curling up, no need la, but it's best to curl it first before putting the mascara, can make it look "qiao qiao", very nice.
2) It seems that u didn't remove the excess mascara first, always remove those excess with tissue paper before applying on eyelashes. If still abit clumpy, brush it with the eyelashes comb, to space it out evenly.
3)I personally liked Maybelline Lash Expansion, it's best of all i had tried. It helps to thicken and lengthen the lashes. Loreal mascara tend to be clumpy easily, dun liked!
4)Tilt your head abit, your eyes should look up and slowly brush the lashes. I personally like to start from the centre part lashes and touch up those corner lashes with the tip of mascara (also must make sure the amount is good enough and wipe off excess if u think it's too much cause tip area tend to gather more mascara.
Try not to blink before the mascara dried up or just blink very lightly. I will not suggest to put on the bottom part cause it's easier to smudge and will make you look like Panda Bear.

I dun think I used alot of brands of mascara. So far, Maybelline, Loreal, Estee Lauder(Volumize), MAC(Prolong) and Bourjois. I love Bourjois MOST! The white and black series. The white has fiber to lengthen lash and after that coat with the black. This will not clump my lashes together. Some brands I stated even I wait(in front of a fan) for 1 min+ for the first coat to dry, it is still so difficult. This Bourjois dries up quite fast...

pinkylove

For those using Lancome mascara, which series of their mascara is recommended?
There was once I was buying an item from the Lancome counter, the sales girl let me try the mascara, and she didnt crimp my lash with curler, but after applying their mascara, my lashes curls up and was fluttering very nicely. I forgot the actual series and there are so many series for them currently. Can help?

nicatan

hi angel,

they hve a few range... for volume its amplicils and hypnose
length - defincils, flextencils (curling too)
for color and length - magicils..

Ive tried all before and i find that flextencils works for me..

pinkylove

Hi syt,
thanks for your info..
so i believe the one they applied for me must be flextencils or definicils.
so flextencils works for you as in making your lashes curling? even w/o a curler?
Hope you share with me as well, why u choose flex instead of def?
sorry for asking so much, cos really want to know more before invest on it.
thanks~!

brumeux

I agree with syt.
My first Lancome mascara was flextencils.
Then have been trying Hypnose, as I was very tempted with the advertisement.
But somehow I prefer flextencils. Found that Hypnose does clump my eyelashes, even though I did brush them afterwards.
So have decided, the next one shld be flextencils.
IMO, flextencils dries faster than hypnose.
if you go for volume, then hypnose would be a better choice

nicatan

hi angie,

i use 3 macaras at one go cos ive got short lashes plus single eyelids.. so far i find flextencils lenghtens n curl my lashes... but i usually use eyelash curler 1st..
the other two im using is loreal panoramic curl for more curl and YSL false lash eye effects or waterproof mascara for volume which i ve using it for yrs... best volumising ive encountered so far

queenie30

Hi ladies!
I've tried many many diff brands of mascara like Estee lauder,bobbi brown,max factor,maybelline,shu uemura but my fave is Kose-volume mascara.Just like the Japanese ladies' lashes.Try & tell me wat u think or does anyone here use it too??

pinkylove

hi syt and misty,

thank you so much for your advise and sharing of your "ideas".. I am determined to get flextencil.
erhm.. as a starter, I am thinking of buying one (Gift with Purchase) GWP size from auction or from shops that sells trial sizes 1st before I invest it on full size one.
In you guys' opinion, what you think of those trial size? Have you tried b4? Does it work the same as those Full Size? * I heard some of frens saying that trial or GWP products are not good. Is it true?

bethany

hi Angie, let me go home and find out if i got any trial sized mascara for you to try try first, think I should have HR one, cannot confirm now, dun go and buy first, normally i dun recommend my friend to do so cuz GWP means it is free lor, no point to pay for it whereby pple can just get it for free, will let u know if i have any left (last time got alot but all gave to friends liao, haha)and post to u, hehee

pinkylove

Hi BeiBei,

It is very kind of you. really touched by your help.

cos i am now currently in australia, you may mind posting to me cos it will cost more. :S
But alot of ppl are buying those GWP from auctions or those shops that sells them.
Actually I had purchased a few GWP from the auctions too, and found that it is a way to save, as can try before buying the full size. ( haiz, due to my ignorance sometimes, i had used to invested on some full size and in the end, didnt suit me or actually i dont really like it..)

panicky

Hi ya'll,

Anyone tried Kose's new Mascara Fantasist?
I have thin and sparse lashes, so I need something that can curl and add volume at the same time..

Also, could you advise whether waterproof or washable mascara is recommended.

Thk Q!

bluesky

Anyone tried Loreal and Maybelline mascara before? The one with 2 aplication. One side with white fiber to lengthen and another side for thickening.
Which brand is better?

bluesmartie

hi all, a drugstore brand mascara which i think is fanstatic is Fasio 3D+. it is super water proof and holds the curl very well. they have both lengthening and volumising. i'm using the volumising one and am very satisfied with it. the lengthening power is really very very good. best of it, it only costs about $13.

caratsoup

Blue Sky,
I tried the loreal one with primer on one end and mascara on the other. I find that it doesn;t work for me. Doesn't thicken and doesn't hold the curl.

bluesky

anyone used the Maybelline one before? the one white one on one end and brown on the other end?
How is it? and compare to Fasio?
Appreciate if someone can advise me

bluesky

Dear Blue,

You mentioned you are using the Volumising version.... u mean it also helps to lengten at the same time?

I have short and fine lashes. so always not sure whether to get the volume or the lengtening version? Pls help

risen_devil

Hi ppl,

I'm using Fasio 3D Mascara and their Mascara base. It's really good and smudgeless. It definitely can hold ur mascara for the whole day. And I think they had won the title for having the 3D Mascara as the best mascara so far.

jen_ruh

Hi Risen, wats the effect after using?

I hope to have natural lashes curl. Wonder how those artiste apply, their eye lahes very.I like Jacyln's Tay makeup, face very fresh and mascara on the lash look natural and strand by strand. Anyone noe how to apply mascara so the lashes look long and strand by strand, not clump together? Help please

venusian

I guess in the 1st place, the mascaa wand play a big part cos if the wand is well design for such purpose to separate the lashes, then you need to try out if it is so.

So far, i feel that Anna Sui Super Long and Lancome's latest L'Extreme is very good. Eyelashes are curl and lengthen lor.

mudpie1222

L'oreal has this new range of mascara call Volume Shocking not sure if it's selling in Singapore, but it all over in Europe. Suppose to gives you 12x volume for your lash. It's selling at around euro14.00. Can go to the website to check it out.

samlicia

can someone tell me where else in singapore to get anna sui besides isetan at wisma? where do they have counters?
thks.

tayamanda

is there any mascara that is good for for oily eyelids? i noticed that whenever i wear mascara, at the end of the day, the bottom of my eye base gets smudges, not a nice sight. i wear waterproof mascara but effect is not as good. i am very close to trying out fake eyelashes!

pinkblusher

Lancome Hypnoses works for me previously... for a lower budget now it's gotta be Maybelline Great Mascara (waterproof version) or Lo'real Lash Architect

fcc

Hihi... wanna recommend this new mascara that is out in the market recently.

It a Japanese brand. The mascara name is called dejavu fiberwig. It adds volume & length. The best thing I like it becuase it doesn't smuge at all after one whole day of wearing. By the end of the day, when i reach home, I even tried to rub my eyes to see whether will be make my eyes bcum panda.. amazing it doesn't. And it is very very easy to remove, just normal remover will do.

It is now selling at Sasa for $24.

I'm using Anna Sui's Super Long mascara and primer. Excellent product with a slight rosy scent.

I've also just bought the YSL Faux Cils which is supposed to give u the false eyelashes look. But i've not opened it yet.

pppsj

Ya..i read the thread here and went to buy Lancome's Flextencils..its really really good..$40 and curls really well, even after a tiring day at work, it curls !
when I had to wash it off, it was easy as well, with waterproof eye make up remover..no hassle at all!
Thunmbs up!

luv4cass

i am using dejavu fibrewig..tried few brands before..love dejavu fibrewig very very much! it doesn't smudge..
and my eyes are sparkling..

sputnik

Yeah, agree that dejavu fibrewig is really good! The black colour was sold out at Sasa for some time until new stocks arrived earlier this week.

Bought dejavu fibrewig from SASA which they are promoting now($20+). Good! It will give a neat and open up the eyes look...

Another one which I tried before is the Bourjois, the handle is in black and white. White is the fibre and black is the mascara. That is good also.

To me what will make a good mascara, it will not clump. Solution cannot be too thick= will clump (cos later use curler, it will stick on the curler). Dry fast! Have been using non-waterproof mascara since years ago.

g00ber

YSL has a super masacara... can make fake eyelash type effect. =) I bot it and am using it when I am not so lazy.. ;)