Marriage not consummated

elizann

haha...no la, not intending to indulge in pre-marital sex....hm, true, will think about this agian in 5 years =)

Eliz, of course I can tell you are more than 100% committed to your bf, being always talking about your him and his children. Like I have said, five years is a long time and anything can happen during this period. Maybe you two may tie the knot sooner or you could go your separate ways. No one knows what is going to happen in future but it doesn't mean you are less committed to each other today.

If you intend to keep your virginity for five years, avoid dating at home. Get out of the house

Not true lah. It is not like couples will end up bed with every given opportunity right? It is not the lack of opportunity but their determination that will see them through their decision to refrain from premarital sex.

agree with milo. it all depends on their willpower and determination to stay away from premarital sex. me and my wife managed to resist temptations along the way haha

Actually I encourage pre-marital sex.. check the goods before committing.

Sexual compatibility in our society is not given its due importance.

But of course, if couples want to preserve their first time on their wedding night - it is up to them.. except that they will most probably have to accept or manage their incompatibility, if there is any later on.

This was an advice given by a Taiwanese celebrity couple who are Christians. They had abstained from premarital sex for more than three years.

I don't your point. Anyone could give that advise. Does them being celebrity or Christian has anything to do with it?

Like Thomas, we refrained from premarital sex during courtship of more than 3 yrs without needing to avoid being home. We spent a great deal of time at each other homes be it alone or not. It boils down to how determine the couple are to stand by their decision.

It was because they shared their story on TV that I got to know it. That was why I said they were a celebrity couple who are Christians. What's wrong with that?

"Does them being celebrity or Christian has anything to do with it?"

Don't ask me. I wasn't the one who made them Christians or celebrities.

I didn't say its wrong lah.
I just didn't know your context and why u would bring up that its was from some Taiwanese celebrity christians.

I find their advice valid and practical. Don't be near the places whereby you will be most tempted. Besides, outdoor dating is very healthy. Why not?

Of course their advice does not represent my view. It's in the context of the desire and determination to abstain from sex for five years when you already have a partner.

Them being christians and also celebrity was just a coincidence ba. Any religion or commoner can abstain from premarital sex as long as their willpower is strong, be it indoor or outdoor

no doubt if indoor and alone the temptations are higher lah hahaha...

"Them being christians and also celebrity was just a coincidence ba."

I didn't say that Christians and/or celebrity status makes a difference here leh. They could be a non-celebrity Christian couple or celebrity Buddhist couple, I would still repeat their advice here.

The guy also said that he had channelled his extra energy to bodybuilding, and that they avoided dating at home.

doll, that's what I wanted to say. it could be anyone in the street be it celebrity or commoner. just happened that the one giving the advice was a christian celebrity couple

anyway I dun quite agree with their advice also haha.

my opinion : if no will to restand the temptations, then let it be. I don't see the point of trying so hard when the couple has no will power to see through their conviction. A bit of the lost cause.

Its like having a partner faithful to us only because of the lack of opportunity to cheat. No point right?

Not hanging out at "tempting" places is part of exercising the will power. So as channelling the energy to bodybuilding or other activities.

Will power has to be exercised.

to me, its damn sad that staying at home has became a place of temptation. Why can't couples have clean fun relaxing in each other homes and rooms?

If the mind & body is this weak, then avoiding the home won't help. They would check in to hotels or do it in the car or parks.

If you and your partner decide to abstain from sex for five years, it makes sense to draw up boundaries. Part of resisting temptation entails we don't expose ourselves to tempting situations.

True, some boundaries should be drawn but avoiding the homes seems the wrong boundary to draw, hardly for long time solution. The solution should be focusing on addressing how to cope with their temptations and urges rather than avoiding situation where intimacy can occur.
Few reasons:-
1) Quite tough to sustain this way.
2) There are bound to be situations where intimacy would or could occur.
3) And it might not be good for the relationship. Cannot expert from 0 to full intimacy just in a wedding night. It just doesn't work out smoothly this way.

i.e. They should be avoiding getting way too intimate, raising the alarm bells before things get out of hand and other more influencing factors like getting drank.

To avoid homes, might as well avoid all intimacy, cinemas, and dating completely. Lagi will not get tempted.

I have said avoid hanging out at tempting places is ONE of the ways to resist or cope with temptation. I didn't say it is the ONLY way or the BEST way.

The celebrity couple did say more lah, just that I couldn't remember everything.

Avoid getting drunk is a good tip. Avoid touching the skin that is covered by clothings is also a good guideline.

Any other tips?

Not so many tips, just have the determination and will power to control themselves REGARDLESS where they are. And of cos, avoid getting so drank till their lost consciousness over themselves.

I don't believe its about restricting and avoiding too much, those guidelines should be the bear minimum. Instead, deal with it sensibly. To me, avoiding homes is being beyond minimum. Though possible, its not very practical. While you are thinking its one of the options, I'm thinking its a really bad option. It difficult to adopt, blocks interaction and bonding with future in-laws, limits the much required intimacy between couples. All these are reasons why I think its a bad suggestion.

Unless you have reasons to counter why its aren't a bad option, it REMAINS a possible but lousy one.

Aiyor, the couple before getting married were living on their own, individually.

I don't think it is a bad suggestion in the context of a dating couple who do not want to engage in premarital sex. I am airing my views in this context, not whether premarital sex is good or bad.

Their objective is clear: No premarital sex at all costs.