Marina Mandarin Singapore

mary_poppins

Hi Y Kim, not to worry about attendance. Just make sure all the guests are informed that it is LUNCH not dinner. Unless you or your HTB's relatives, friends and colleagues are working on saturday or on shift, otherwise attendance should not be a concern. Lunch is also becoming more common nowadays. You might need to check with both sides parents whether they are agreeable to it or not. I personally will prefer to attend wedding lunch/dinner during weekends cos if it's weekday, need to work the following day. As for EG, I will still choose an elaborated one since inside the ballroom, you cannot differentiate whether it's night time or day time. With regards to the number of table, my HTB and myself started with 35 as well. Now we are looking at 40-45 after listing down the guests we would like to invite (then have to discount about 10%).

Hi Meiling, like Y Kim, I am also curious to know where to pull in the mirror?

Hi sunqian, I like the view of the lounge as well. Use to hang out at the lounge once in a while with my friends.

Hi Wendy, so are you pleased with the yam paste and butter prawns with garlic?

~sblbee~

mary poppins,
wah...i havent tot abt dat yet...have to discuss wif my coordinator since she was d one to suggest d idea to me...but ultimately i'll still go to d washrm to look at d mirror ba :p

ykls

hi meiling, ya lor initially I wanted sat lunch but both side parents a bit reluctant so unless manage to convince them. Was thinking maybe come up with a silly excuse like all places fully booked already haha.

hi marry_poppins, mine is small about 20-22 tables.

I was thinking of upgrading the menu and taking 23 tables for weekday, do you all think they can then let me get the grand ballroom? Or anybody manage to get weekday ballroom with less than 25 tables?

wenwen2112

Hi mary poppins, I like both the yam paste and butter prawns. I like thick yam paste..and the food tasting yam paste is reali warm, smooth and thick....hope their standard will remain for the actual day. Cos I have heard many stories of food tasting quality is normally very impressive, actual day food don't turn out as nice...

colt_26

hi wendy,

if that is the case during AD, then its beyond our control. so we shouldnt fret over all these ya.

i have asked for yam paste and prawn with oriental sauce for food tasting. not sure if the prawns be nice. i have asked them to de-shell the prawns as well, just leaving the head and tail. easier to eat. :p

octo

Hi Wendy,

How does the mee sua look like? Is it those soupy type of mee sua? Or is it fried like ee fu mee?

~sblbee~

y kim,
oh usually d elders wld prefer d traditional wedding dinner rather than lunch...y dun u chk wif ur coordinator, if d date is still available n there's no one who's bking it, im sure they'll b glad to release d date to u rather than to leave d slot empty....at least it brings in revenue for them

colt_26,
d oriental sauce prawns is still ok....tasted similar to bbq sauce...hmm, u mean can request for them to de-shell every prawn for d whole banquet w/o any charge? if so, it wld b gd at no additional charge

mary_poppins

Hi Y Kim, you can try to ask. But will 20-22 tables look too bare for the grand ballroom? There will be a lot of empty space. So you might have to think of how to fill up the empty spaces should they allow. Not too sure if your date is a "hot" date? If it is, they might not be so willing to release the grand ballroom for you.

ykls

hi meiling and mary_poppins, thank you for the advise. Will ask her tomorrow, also now my FB suddenly say maybe we look at sat lunch including different venues haiz.. make me all confuse so will talk to the coord again but I really like MM decor inside the hotel. Looks nice around the elevator area.

~sblbee~

y kim,
no prob...juz hope dat ur prob will b settled soon
true, when i stepped into MM, i was captivated by d nice ambience esp d elevator area as well as d lounge at level 4, it wld enhance d reception area at d vanda ballrm for u given dat there's live music ard evening time

colt_26

hi meiling,

i ask them to de shell for food tasting. no charges i guess since only one table. but no sure if actual banquet will have charges. got to check with them.

~sblbee~

colt_26,
if u intend to find out frm them regarding tis, can let me know if they do charge us extra as well cos i wont b going down so soon for d food tasting, most prob...shd b in jul or even sept :p

colt_26

hi meiling,

sure. will let you know after i check with them.
your wedding is in oct right? think better go for food tasting 2 months before if not will be quite rush to do things too near to your wedding.

i feel that things that can settle early better to settle fast. taken your PS?

colt_26

hi meiling,

i intend to ask MM when i go for my food tasting but they happen to call me just to ask me something. so i take the opportunity to ask about charges for de-shelling.

they say no charges even for AD.
now you can consider that too. easier for guests.

~sblbee~

colt 26,
yah my wedding is in oct, gona take my PS in jun, im gona choose my gowns on tis sun...hopefully can get a few gowns tis sun...will keep u updated after my fitting

omg, im so happy to hear tis pc of gd news frm u...thanks! thanks! easier for my guests to eat...so which prawn u selecting? oriental sauce? im gona try butter n garlic...

necrosis

hi winnie,

each setting for a veg menu is an extra 99.90 or 98.90 ...something like that.
but if you have 1 or 2 only, they'll set a larger table that can take 10 normal menu + 1-2 veg (indiv servings)

or if you can form a table of 10 for veg, then normal menu price.

i believe no pork products are used, but the food is not Halal.
so depends on how strict your muslim friends are.

~sblbee~

winnie,
hmmm...wat nec said is true but do take note, for fewer pax, they usually offer only d 6 course mennu, do try to bargain for 9 course wif ur co-ordinator ok?

yongyong

Talking about Halal food, my AD happen to fall within their fasting period. Oh, and mine is a Lunch so they haven't break fast yet. I dunno whether or not should I still invite them? I mean out of courtesy...it's not tt nice if you invite everyone else but just assume the Muslim friends can't come coz they are fasting rite?

~sblbee~

stir,
wah...dat's q a fix...i think i'll inform them of my wedding but mayb u can make it up wif sth else, like cakes or dining voucher for them as gifts, not too sure but u can try

winnie,
no prob...yes, it'll b stated in d contract n oso d proposed no. of pax

happy_ting

hi i am new here.

I have just signed up with MM last sat and now I am a MM BTB! Anyone has Sen Ng as her wedding planner here? Is she good?

kazooie

Hi Meiting,

Yes, Sen Ng is a good coordinator. She's been with the MM for many years. You are in good hands. I just had my wedding more than a month ago (Vanda Ballroom, luncheon). It went really well even though I was as anxious as the rest of the BTBs on this forum. As every bride has different preferences, it's better to list down the things you need and discuss with Sen. Coordination efforts must come from both the Hotel and Customer. She'll try her best to get it done for you. Given the chance to choose the venue, coordinator, food, etc, I'd pick MM again for sure. Good luck.

happy_ting

Feel so relieved after hearing the comment from 010109 & kazooie, thanks ladies. Everyone seems to be praising the planner "wendy" so i wonder if Sen is as good. My AD is 15mar09. Actually wanted 15Feb09 badly but this date is already taken up
i am taking the grand ballroom, although many ppl comment about the low ceiling, but i personally dont find it an issue and i really like the decor set up. I am glad I have chosen MM instead of SMC

mary_poppins

Hi Meiting, I think MM's coordinators are really good. Every coordinator are organised and professional. I have come across hotels which lack this aspect during our search for banquet location. At least we don't hear horror stories about MM in this forum. You can be assured that the service level should be of good standard.

mary_poppins

Hi II, I asked the room rate for overseas guest before and the reply was "tentatively looking @ $350.00 ++ per room per night (room only)". Very costly... Unless the extra room is in your package. Not too sure if the room rate will be different if they only check in at night?

happy_ting

yes i agree, Sen is definately more helpful than SMC's planner that i had met up. I am glad all the reviews here on MM are positive. anyone seen their bridal suite before? I didnt get to see it as they were all fully occupied last sat.

~sblbee~

nec,
did u manage to get wendy? have been trying to call her but she didnt pick up....it has been like for d past few times i called her...actually got some qns for her, kinda disappted wif d treatment though initally she was really gd...wonder if she's busy or wat?
sigh....

kazooie

Hi Meiting,

Yes, the bridal suite that we were given was very spacious and tastefully decorated with your wedding flowers. It was 2 connecting rooms; one sitting/ lounge room and a bedroom. Modern amenities and what I liked were the large TVs in each room, nice solid king size bed to ensure a good rest after your wedding day.

kazooie

In fact, I believe it was more like a super king size bed. But the rest was pretty much what you could expect of a 5 star hotel suite.

weddingll

hmm, really costly. Maybe i shall put up my guest at a more budget hotel.

They mention will serve food to our room. Would it be the same food served during the banquet?

~sblbee~

nec,
so happy dat wendy got back to me yest, she was on leave...guz wat? d coordinators of mm actually do read d posts here...she told me her colleague told her abt my post :p

necrosis

oh, meiling, i usually email wendy one...hardly call her, in case she's busy or something..and i also don't have urgent enquiries lor...

you know, my FH mentioned that of all the wedding personnel we've met,
including photographers, videographers and florists etc, wendy is the best in terms of relating to the client, of putting us at ease...
piang, i can't believe my FH said that!!
he's usually so boh chap and chin chye...
must be wendy really left good impression on him (and we haven't seen her since we signed ;p)

Hi,quite new here, since i had just finish my ROM 2 weeks ago and now looking for AD hotels. MM is one of my choice. Does anyone looking at lunch package here? Other than price, any diff in food?

mary_poppins

Hi star, I am doing lunch also. Lunch is 8 course and does not include suckling pig slices for the first course. If you would like to have suckling pig slices for the first course, then have to top up, which we did. If not, they have two different packages for lunch. You may request for the package via email from MM. Very close to weekday dinner but without the suckling pig slices for the first course.

baylee

Hey Girls,

I read from The Feb-July 08 Blissful Magazine, one of the bride featured also held their wedding at MM.

She has 2 effects during March in..dry ice and bubbles..and her duck dish is changed to braised duck and sea cucumber..

Does any of u girls also have 2 effects for March in?? Hmm i am tempted to ask Sen if i can have it too haa..

~sblbee~

nec,
yah wendy is really nice n left a deep impression on us after dealing wif a few other hotel coordinators, btw, do u have any idea on how much will it cost to have 2 effects for march-in?

necrosis

meiling...
why ya want to hve 2 effects for march in?
bubbles and dry ice?
i think have extra $200ish ah...

actually, what do you intend to do for a march-in?

octo

Hi Amanda,

I had not seen their bubbles effects. Dry ice effects should be the same as the rest of the hotels?

I wonder if there is dry ice which is the smoky thing, will it cover up the bubbles? Maybe I will get 1 blissful magazine to take a look.

~sblbee~

nec,
i've got no idea on my march-in dat's y was thinking of using d effects...will discuss wif my fh when he's back...it's juz one of my options, wat abt u?