Marina Mandarin Singapore

libragal80

Hi Meiling,
Actually i got the same idea with you to hold it at the poolside too..I will check with my Sen but i know there is additional cost to rent the poolside

wenwen2112

Hi Libragal80 & Meiling,

I have checked with Sen abt holding the solemnisation at the poolside b4 the banquet. It is free, and they can arrange some simple flower deco for the solemnisation table if need be. You may check with Sen, but think she is on marraige leave till 6th Dec. No food will be served. IF you need food for the solemnisation, then it is quite costly. Think is abt $30plus - $40 per pax.But the solemnisation area is quite limited. Not for all ur guests, only the relatives and close friends only.

Hi Ladies, I have viewed the bridal suites. Mmnn.. new, but not v nice cos is like 2 adjoining rooms, with a centre small door to link it. But is new condition. ;)

~sblbee~

hi libragal80,
jialat...have u asked ur coordinator if there's additional charges for using poolside as a solemnisation venue? i'll try to call wendy n ask her at d same time...

wendy,
thanks for sharing dat using of poolside as a solemnisation venue is foc...smtimes it's like every coordinator telling us different things n it's different stds :p
i juz need d set-up as it's juz b4 my wedding banquet :p

~sblbee~

hi yan zi,
vanda ballrm is a small but cosy place, ideally for 25-28 max, 20 min...it doesnt have long march-in, but d food at MM is yummy, have tried them personally

karenchansecret

Phew... I love the roasted chicken too... yum yum ... feel like eating it now...
I love the mango sago with ice cream too..
I agree with meiling the food really yum yum....

i am wondering... if i have extra table on the actual day and its not reserve table.. What abt the food can da bao har....

amari02

We just had our FT last week, overall the food is not too bad. The shark's fin is thick and nice! We just hope that the standard will be maintained. And yes, both our parents love the mango sago dessert. However we felt that the fish had a slight mud taste that day.

We've not view the bridal suite before, anyone has a pic of it to share?

Our AD is in Jan at the main ballroom, getting more and more 'kan jiong' already.

libragal80

Hi Wendy,
Thanks for the information as actually i intend to hold it on the poolside as well...

Hi Meiling,
That time i ask Sen, she told me got a rental charge to use the poolside..mayb i will double confirm again

amari02

I've heard from a friend that she attended a wedding where the groom and bride 'marched in' in a trishaw! Of cos the groom was the cyclist lah. Something new to me.

~sblbee~

libragal80,
mayb when u double confirm wif sen again, can let me know if thre's additional charges for using d poolside for solemnisation? thanks!

kwoni n amari02,
i was q surprised when my jc fren told me dat he saw a couple singing n d groom ferried d bride on d trishaw at d same time...hehe, guz more n more creative ideas will be used, for me, i havent tot abt it yet :p guz my fh n i r not so creative ba :p

wizmilo

HI,

Just a few tings to share coz i met my coordinator for final discussion.

With regs to the hiccup in AV, understand from my coordinator that that couple prob was using laptop to play their montage. Her advise is to burn all CDs in audio format and the visuals in DVD. We tried our dvd n cds that day and it seems ok.

As for solemnisation room, the solemnisation room will be plain leh. No flowers wo... Don't even have pen stand leh. So gotta buy on our own. =)

micmattina

Can I check with you gals some thing? I read the archive post and I remembered one of the BTB saying that there is a piano in the reception area and apparently MM also provided a pianist for her..the pianist played till 8pm...

But I just liaise with one of the coordinators and she said music is not encouraged at the reception foyer of Vanda Ballroom as we have a live band playing at the lounge from 6.30pm onwards.

Is it true????

wenwen2112

HI Mich, MM does not provide pianist for individual brides, according to my understanding. If you using Vanda ballroom, its just above the piano level, so can have the enjoyment of the music from lower level. But if you using grand ballroom,then you will not have loh. But if u have a pianist, think you may wanna arrange with ur co-ordinator to place a piano inside. I have a friend whose hubby is a pianist, so he performed in the Grand Ballroom..
When is ur AD ? Who is ur co-ordinator ?

~sblbee~

hi mich,
yah wat wendy said is true...cos i attended my fren's wedding at vanda ballrm n there was live music at d lounge on level 4 during d reception
when's ur AD? who's ur coordinator? u using d vanda ballrm?

micmattina

Hi Wendy and MeiLing,

My tentative AD date is 20th December...I liaised with Kaylynn and need to sign by this weekend to enjoy the perks... Yap I am planning to use the Vanda Ballroom....

Thank you both for clearing the air....

Intially I wanted to hold it at Grand Shanghai but I am too late coz the weekends for the month of December is booked up...

So I am paying the price of being so last min in sourcing the venue...

So if we have sufficient number of guest who are vegetarian or muslim we can form a table then no need to top up additional charges is it? Sorry if I am asking a silly question but I have gone to any other hotels to recee or ask...So far I only did my homework base on reading the forum threads...

I am sooooooooooooooooo stressed!!!!! Hence pls be a dearie and advise!!!!

amari02

Just wondering ...for the audio CDs and DVD, do we have to designate a friend to take charge of when to play what? Or a hotel staff will do it for us?
My coordinator, Sen, is still away from office, so i thought can check with you ladies. Then I can think of which friend suits this role, if we have to do it on our own. thanks!

micmattina

Meiling,

Hahahaha...Erm...I am going to see the Vanda ballroom this Sunday ( for the first time) then have to decide on the spot whether or not to sign up with MM.....

micmattina

Erm the other thing is can someone explain why MM can offer free flow of beer for weekdays package but not for weekend packages??

wenwen2112

Hi amari02, there will be a person controlling their main AVA system. Are you using powerpt / pc for your montage or video highlights ? I would suggest that you burn them into DVD so you can ask your helpers to pass them over to the AVA operators to play at the timing you want. I would advise that you use DVD cos the resolution will not be sharp when its blown up on the screen. WORST part is, if play from the laptop, there is a tendancy that it will hang. My frend held it at MM and the montage was hanged as it was played thru the PC. Ended up, there are commotions here and there, not so nice. My advise lah. Get someone who is sharp on timing so he can give the right instuctions to the AVA operators to play the songs and DVDs at the RIGHT time.
Ya, my co-ordinator is Sen too.

Mich, if I am not wrong, for changing it to muslim or vegeterian table, there is definitely a top up, irregardless of the no. of sets. You may wanna check with your co-ordinator. Most hotels offer free flow beer only on weekdays, not only MM. Cos ppl working the next day, so the amount of beer consumed for the banquet during weekdays will definitely be lesser as compared to weekends. Think carefully b4 you commit. Its a once in a lifetime affair. Dun hurry in signing the contract cos all co-ordinators will "pressure" you to confirm the deal asap. I also took some time to think over. Hv you finalise on your bridal studio ?

Meiling, long time no chat on your progress. How is your progress on your BS and your wedding prep ?
I have finalised on my MTM gown finally. Is in the process of doing now. heehee..Will be ready for 1st fit end Dec. 1st fit is without the embellishments, laces, crystals etc...

~sblbee~

mich,
gd luck n do hope to hear g news frm u soon...den u can offically b a MM bride

wendy,
wah...yah lor, long time no update, glad dat u've made such progress
hope do remember to take some photos to share ok?
oh, i went down to my BS, told them i intend to chnage all my mtm to exclusive le...den shd b going down again to choose d newer gowns as promised by my coordinator

micmattina

I am pleased to announce I am offically a MM bride...We signed up today....Really like the ballroom and the reception area....

Wendy,

My BS is Blumesh...My ROM dress was made there as well.... =)

wenwen2112

Hi Mich, welcome !!
you signed up for which ballroom ? Which theme you choosing ? your AD in Dec 07 right?

Meiling, what is the difference with MTM & exclusive gowns?

~sblbee~

hi mich,
welcome to being an official bride at MM!

wendy,
mich's wedding shd b in dec 2008, not 2007
oh, actually if i dun wana to mtm, i can take d exclusive range...those gowns r featured in d wedding shows...so it's equivalent

wenwen2112

Meiling, oh issit... cos Mich mention that she is late in sourcing the banquet so I tot is this yr... Oh ok... actually you have plety of time in choosing so dun rush ok. Cos I have seen my frends deciding earlier and ended up not able to choose newer range...

~sblbee~

wendy,
yah true, dat's i decided to go down in jan n see, tentatively book n den go down again in mar/apr to re-select...hopefully got newer gowns for selection

menthola

Hi Wendy

Sorry for the super late reply

My AD is on the 6 Oct 07.Ya, i hope the cards can change abit here & there...

Can i check with u ladies here? Where u all buy your shoes ah? My WTB having some problem... searching for silver color shoes.... hehee maybe plan wear 1 time & dun wan to wear liao can help help?

I saw u all toking about ROM Venue ah?...
Can change Poolside for FOC ah? Cos i be using level 6 meeting room ley ....

menthola

Whahahhaah sorry sorry my AD is 6 Oct 08.
Actual day when we had being together for 4yrs 9mths & also a good day for both me & my wife after TONG SHU advise heehee

wenwen2112

Hi Kiang, my BS customise shoe for me. I dun have to buy. YOu can try Far East Plaza. Think they have quite alot of reasonable priced shoes. If you have more budget can try Leapin Lizard. They are specialise in doing wedding heels.
But your AD is still v far, no need to buy now ba. YOu can decide on your BS and gowns b4 u buy. In case the colour not matching. Will ROM be earlier than the wedding ? Cos for mine, my solemnisation, holy matrimony all falls on the same day. No need to go ROM.

~sblbee~

Kiang,
i'll b getting my shoes nxt yr frm loe and behold
i saw some nice bling bling shoes at metro paragon, takashimaya ladies shoes dept n anna nucci at far east plaza

i agree wif wendy dat u gotta see ur gowns b4 u buy ur shoes...dun rush, smtimes when u buy ur shoes too early, it'll spoil if u dun wear :p
i guz d poolside venue is not FOC afterall...i havent spoke to my coordinator but i heard tis feedback frm some btbs :p

yingsan

hi my wedding was finally over! we had a great time, tiring but enjoyable.. We played our montage using our laptop and it went very smoothly.. so no worries.. our guests commented that the food is good and big portion.. i like my ballroom too! cosy and romantic with music from Level 4.. all thanks to MM, our coordinator Wendy lou and her service crew.

menthola

Yup we had spoken to our BS liao & need to get silver color shoeZ...

I heard about Leapin Lizard too but my gal say she may not be wearing it often & scare the shoe spoilt & waste the money...

Yup Yup ROM & wedding dinner same day ... everything in 1 day lor.... easier heehee

muddpie

hi ter....
went for food tasting yest nite...great...both parents love it...& their setting was gd too...=)
service thumbs up =)

yingsan, congrats...did u use vanda or main ballroom?

yingsan

hi meiling

u will also have a wonderful wedding since u hv been planning so early... mine was quite rush as one day before we are still finalising our guest list and seating arrangement, glad tat wendy still allow us to make necessary changes on the eve of our wedding.. hehe..

~sblbee~

yingsan,
thanks, hope dat my wedding will b a smooth n hassle-free one. wah, gd for u....at least u can still make changes, hope dat my min no of tables can b able to make it :p i sorta stop planning as it's q a peak period for me during tis time n there r so many changes in my wkplace

~sblbee~

hi nec,
fancy seeing u here, r u considering MM as 1 of shortlisted hotels? hehe...hope to see u here as a confirmed BTB real soon

~sblbee~

nec,
yes i took MM n wendy's my coordinator...go according to ur needs cos different ppl have different needs, cos she's 1 person who's q flexible
but hor, usually if u ask for 2 nite's stay have to forgo ur day room n there's no free flow beer during wkends

guz u'll need vegetarian menu...so do ask her to send u d menu ok?

benbenfish

We are new here. Would like to check with u (those couples who signed their wedding packge during the wedding show). Is the package attractive or are they giving alot of offering? Mind to share with your packge with me? My email is [email protected]

wizmilo

2 wks to my big day at MM.. kinda excited.
Any tips from Brides who already had their dinner at MM? Rehearsals, Briefing with AV, etc?

~sblbee~

yoyo,
no wonder u MIA for so long....tot wat happened, congrats to ur upcoming wedding! do update meon MM services after ur AD ok? thanks!

woodpecker1981

Hi Meiling! (**Wave**)

Decided to pop by here.... My coordinator's Kailyn (if that's what her name is spelled)

FYI: Bridal couple geets a meal from room service before & after wedding dinner FOC. And MM gave me $100 crdit free can use to order room service or offset from wedding bill.

Guest commented that food portion was generous, roasted chicken (but each piece was too big for ladies) & oatmeal prawns (huge prawns) are delicious, the imperial seafood soup is better than having sharks fin soup.

Hi Kiang,

Interesting to see a grrom in here =) I bought my shoes from Tangs at Vivo City for $69.90. IF your wife is not too picky, can just buy from most stores like Tangs, URS, Prettyfit etc. Else it's Leapin Lizards liao.

Hi Fish Hu,
Your husband-to-be is surname is not Toh by any chance? My neighbour just ROM to a lady named Jiajia.....