Marina Mandarin Singapore

wizmilo

Just had my food tasting last wk, hmm..food is great.. we had a good time. hopefully they will keep the standard. =)

~sblbee~

hi yoyo,
finally c u back again...glad dat d feedback is gd, so dat they can maintain d std on d AD

hi kiang,
vanda ballrm is nice esp when u have d lounge at level 4, can hear d pianist playing d music during d reception...nice atmosphere

there was a few wedding show dat passed recently, guz u've to wait a couple of mths more for more shows

colt_26

i just checked with MM on the favours and they confirmed that the glass coaster will be launched in Jan 08. There will be a total of 5 favours, including pineapple tart, chocos, bears and photo frame. The glass coaster and photo frame will come with organza bag.

Hope its some good news for 2008 brides.

colt_26

heard there is a cupid on the glass coaster as design. i have yet to see the actual thing as coord says the design not ready yet.

hope we can get a glimpse of it soon.

~sblbee~

colt_26,
wah, really looking forward to it. i heard dat there's a salt n pepper set but i wonder if it'll b confirmed as a wedding favour...i sure hope they will include 1 more variety to compensate in d limited choices in d wedding invites :p

wizmilo

Not sure if the salt and pepper set will still be available. Pending Wendy Lou to call me to arrange for final discussion...keep you gals update again=)

clesias

Hi ALL!!!

I just completed my wedding dinner on sept 07.
Everything went out very well.

If i have a choice again, i would still choose MM Vanda ballroom.

----------------------
CARDS,
I agree that the designs are awful, I chose the red card which i think many won't.

All thanks to my hubby, he thinks that its better not to slot the invitation paper into the pocket but tie it outside.
It looks good and thick. Making the invitation cards feel sturdy.
Guests like it.

----------------------
BALLROOM,
Initially we took the grand ballroom with 35 tables.
However, last min we received a wedding invitation from my close friend and its also held in the same hotel and ballroom.(earlier than us)

Since my hubby always wanted Vanda because of the majestic look & live pianist around & musical sound from live birds,
I agreed to it cos dun feel like clashing with my friend as we share some same guests.

My hubby is a perfectionist and dun wan it to feel squeezy,
we reduced the tables from 35 to 26.
He took out most of his friends (poor thing).
24-26 tables is perfect size i think.

----------------------
FOOD,
Fantastic.
Food are served at the right speed and the right temp.
Good portions.

----------------------
OVERALL,
All my guests find our wedding dinner very well planned and flow was good.
They love the food, the service, the pace, and the venue.
Many commented they feel very privilaged by the invitation as it seems like a very private function. (Hubby's intention)

Infact, on my AD, I told hubby that I've regreted for not taking the Grand ballroom but he proved me wrong.

He once advised me,
for ballroom - you can never have the grandest unless its the most expensive hotel.

for food - you can never have the best unless its from the top chef.

You can be the happiest bride IF
you can make all your guests feel special, relax, entertaining and happy.

I guess we've achieved that because although our last dish was served at 1010pm, none of the guests wanna leave.
We stood at the doors from 1020pm to 1050pm before the sight of 1st leaving guest.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
THANK YOU to all the staffs of Marina Madarin for making our wedding a memorable one to us and our guests.

yongyong

Hi Clesias,

So glad everything went well, and your hubby made a lot of wise remarks hor...haha

Ya I understand your rational, I'm certainly hoping none of my friends will be having their wedding at Marina Mandarin next yr...=) You mean you managed to change the ballroom after signing the contract? any penalty?

Wish you happy marriage ahead.

wenwen2112

Hi Stir and other brides to be,

Nope, the plates used in the wedding show are meant for VIP tables only. Actually, I would rather they not use these plates as they may look grand, but bit noisy when they doing the serving. Our plates are put on the glass coloured plates each time it is served, and causing the "clanking" sound whenever they change the plates. I find it rather noisy during the Wedding Show. So, for me, its even better that they do without the big coloured plates as our food plates will be placed directly on the table clothes, minimising the unnecessary noises.

As for whether can they served all the guest individually, sad to hear my co-ordinator say no. She say they do not have such svc. she mention that our hotels may serve food to all guests but their prices are also much higher, which I think is also true. Anyway, not all guest prefer served food, so lets just leave it this way ba.

Great to know abt the glass coaster ! I think it is something special as I have not gotten this wedding favours b4. Hope it will look nice !

Any new Themes for next yr ? Please update us if you have any new info ... thanks !

~sblbee~

hi yoyo,
hope to get ur update soon!

hi clesias,
congrats n have a blissful marriage life ahead! thanks for sharing all ur valuable comments! actually i was eyeing d vanda ballroom too but i cant take d ballroom as our guests add up to ard 35 tables, i find it hard not to invite my relatives n colleagues as my side takes up more tables than my fh

i sure hope dat no one will b holding their wedding at MM nxt yr...luckily, none of my close frens r getting married nxt yr...yah, abt d invitation cards, it's wise of ur hubby to suggest dat cos my jc fren did dat too...i'll b attending his wedding dinner tonite
sure look forward to it...

wendy,
oh, u mean they dun use d plates for d guests? aiyo, i think they have enuff to go ard meh...i must admit i was attracted by d setting initially so kinda disappted
oic, they dun serve individually? hehe...it's gd oso lah, ppl wont feel so restricted

hehe...i got a cloth coaster b4, havent rcv a glass one b4, let's see wat my fren chose for his wedding favour tonite :p i duno if there r any more new themes, i sure hope they have else i'll crack my head to think of one myself

~sblbee~

i attended my fren's wedding at vanda ballrm yest, it was great as there's music at d lounge during d reception...n food was served hot n it was yummy n there was even bubble-effect during d 1st march-in

ladyluck

after hearing many positive reviews of vanda ballroom, now my heart is more at ease liao. my AD will be held there too in abt half a year's time.

wenwen2112

Hi Meiling, ya, they use the colour plates only for the VIP tables cos they are bigger sizes and the VIP tables are normlly bigger size tables too. The normal guest tables are smaller diameter, can't put the colour plates to fit 10 ppl. Anyway, I dun find anything so special abt the colour plates. In fact, find it rather noisy for the food plates to be place on top the colour plates each time the plates were changed.

I will be attending a Wedding dinner next tue at MM Grand ballroom. Will keep u all update.

The glass coaster sounds presentable and nice. Hope it looks nice too.

~sblbee~

ladyluck,
dun worry, ur wedding at MM will b perfect!

wendy,
yah im looking forward to ur update on d grand ballrm...u see if got bubble-effect too? i wana get dat too but duno looks gd in d grand ballrm as d machine q small :p duno if it's a gd thing dat i havent attend my dinner there as it means wont have common frens holding d banquet there
i didnt notice abt d VIP setting...hehe, so blur :p yah i think d glass coaster is nice n sounds ex...hehe, my fren chose pineapple tarts :p he got rose petals...wonder if it's given by d hotel for 1st march-in?

hiyingsan,
d bubble effect is so dreamy as d smokey effect is so common, but for ppl like me who sits nxt to d machine, really got overwhelmed by d bubbles n had to brushed thme off my face but i guz it looks well for d vanda ballrm...not too sure if it'll b as nice in a bigger setting :p

yingsan

hi meiling, bubble effect sounds unique to me, but my bf choose dry ice effect wor coz he feel the bubbles will get into the faces of our guest who sit near to it.. btw, the rose petals will be given by the hotel.

wenwen2112

Hi Yingsan & Meiling,

What rose petals are you all referring to ? Sorry, dun get it. I have not seen the bubble effect. Think it will look magical but lose the grandness ? I will see it next wed if my friends choosing the bubble effect.

Hi Kiang, no news that the cards are gg to be changed.
When is ur AD ? If is 3rd or 4th quarter '08 maybe still have possibility. Think for mine that is in June will have no chance of getting new cards ba.

~sblbee~

yingsan,
true i like d bubble effect too cos it's different, think im gona use dat for my march-in, wonder will it look gd for a grand ballroom march-in as it's a bigger space
oh glad to hear dat d rose petals r provided by d hotel, no need to spend extra $ :p

wendy,
hehehe...i doubt so MM will change their cards though my AD is in oct 2008...hehe, so better dun pin my hopes too high...sigh :p

colt_26

ladies,

suggest use both effects. cos i should be doing that. bubble effect for 1st march in and dry ice for 2nd. can only use bubble for 1st when the food is not out yet so it wouldnt dirty the food.

should have quite diff feel.

kitlovestar

I intend to use their dry ice effect for 1st march in and at the same time ask the guest/kids seated by the sside to blow bubbles.....
you know we have to pay extra for their services if we want 2 types of march in effect from MM..think cost about 200 bucks

yingsan

i juz check my contract, it only states bubble / dry ice effect for 1st march in.. so i tik 2nd march in dun hv.. but galsparkle, its a good idea to get the kids to blow bubbles..
hehe

lililili

Hi ladies, may I ask how detailed is your contract? Does it state all the agreed items or just very general? Thanks for answering my queries.

~sblbee~

yah i agree dat using bubble for d 1st march-in is great as it's got a dreamy n fairytale like effect...esp when no food is served so wont affect d guests :p any special ideas of 1st march-in, im still cracking my head cos there r so many couples wif innovative ideas e.g sing duet (some in trishaw), salsa dance etc
didnt know dat can have 2 effects? juz discussed wif my fh n he dun think there's a need to pay extra for it...let him think of better ideas...:p
do u all think can do away wif cake cutting or champagne pouring? it seems so boring...i was thinking if can light up candles to form heart shape etc...

~sblbee~

lililili,
oh my contract is q detailed n it states all d agreed terms but some can b subjected to change

colt_26,
if u intend to chk wif ur coordinator, do let me know d outcome whether do we need to pay extra for d 2nd march-in effect? thks...

wizmilo

Glad to hear so many good reviews esp on the food..hehe...coz i personally liked the food and even my family commented the food is good but its coz its food tasting ma, so food def has got to be good. btw, they also let me try mango sago wif ice-cream tho yam paste wif gingko nut is in my menu. both are nice but still dec to settle wif yam paste...

btw, just check wif u gals anyone has used/seen their solemnisation room? just wondering what they have..still waiting for my coordinator to meet up leh.. usually how soon they will meet us for final discussion huh?

~sblbee~

hi yoyo,
is d yam paste gd? i heard dat it's not bad...lotsa gingko nuts
oh, abt their solemnisation rm, it shd b d function rm nxt to d grand ballrm, dat's wat my coordinator told me :p it's supposed to b d tea ceremony rm as well
im thinking if there's other possibilities, any idea if there's other places in d hotels dat can b used for solemnisation?
i guz it'll b q plain though 3 sash n a table wif a floral pc will b provided, wondered if i shd decorate d rm on my own but i guz it's a waste of $ cos i'll using d rm for less than 30 min :p wat abt u?

yongyong

Ya the Chef Joe's chicken is supposed to be famous. I've wanted to change to drunken/ herbal chicken at firsts, then Wendy the coordinator said the roasted chicken is actually one of their signature dish. i've tried it at the wedding show, quite tasty, though a bit too chunky, wish they've cut it to smaller size then easier to eat.

Can I chk with you all whether the use of the function room for tea ceremony is FOC??

wizmilo

Hmm..the yam paste is NICE... the mango sago ice-cream also nice but i feel the yam paste win handsdown. the chef joe tang crispy chicken is very nice too...i m someone who dun take chicken skin, but tis one is soo yummy. i just eat everyting (except the bones..hahah)

abt the part where its too chunky, my future fil also commented on tat..but i feel that bigger piece is more presentable, coz if its too small, the meat may fall apart..not very nice.

the teaduck pancake also not bad..very interesting but my grandma commented white white (the pancakes) like not v auspicious..but i find it unique. taste also nice.

yingsan

meiling, the other places tat can be used for solemnisation will be the vanda ballroom and the level 6.. which mine will be at level 6.. i personally did not see the room at all wor... kind of worry now.. but those function room besides the main ballroom shld be quite presentable coz tat time we went for food tasting, we are at one of the room..

wenwen2112

Hi Meiling,
you can consider using the poolside for your solemnisation. It will be more romantic. Think they can do some simple deco to improve the ambience. Think its free. You may wanna check out with your co-ordinator.

~sblbee~

stir,
d use of d function rm is FOC

yoyo,
really glad to hear dat d yam paste is yummy, hope my frens n relatives like it
generally i find d food at MM not bad...was really worried at 1st but after attending my fren's wedding, is more or less assured of d std

yingsan,
i was offered d function rm beside d grand ballrm for solemnisation...duno if i can change to another venue cos i'll b using d same venue for my tea ceremony if there's any? is d function rm at level 6 nice? similar to d one at level 1?

wendy,
oh really? how come my coordinator (wendy, not u) nv mention abt it to me...so sad, was wanting to do at a different place for a change :p duno if she'll make d arragement for me?

wenwen2112

Hi ladies, I attended a dinner last night at MM grand ballroom. Mmnn... have few disappointments abt the dinner function last night.

Firstly, the cold dish was presented to my table more than 5-6 mins later than the rest of the tables! My friends sitted on the same tables were looking ard for our food while the rest of the tables happily eating the food liao. Then the waiter was in a rush to bring out the presentation, like v gan cheong. Bit embarressing situation.
Secondly, the 1st few dishes have an interval of more than 15mins for the next dish to come. The dishes were cleared quite fast, keep asking if they can clear the food, but after clearing, the next dish dun come. It came only 10-15mins later.
Thirdly, the cordless mic is reali soft, the emcee voice cannot be projected and ended up the ballroom is still so noisy when the emcee is talking.
Fourthly, the couple cant come in cos the montage is unable to play! The slides were unable to open, and ended up the couples were stuck outside the door for quite awhile. Failing to rectify the problem, my friends marched in WITHOUT the montage.
The montage was tried several times b4 it was able to be played. It was played after the 2nd march in, after pouring of wine.
Lastly, the last few dishes were then served in rush cos of all the delays here and there. Think the waiters/waitress wanna rush home. The dinner ended after 11pm.

I am so disturbed after the entire dinner. I still to worry abt my banquet.

sereneczb

Dear Gals,

Good news for all MM brides, MM have renovated their bridal suite! Hope I m the first deliver the good new. As u gals know the old suite looks yucky. I havent had a chance to see the new suite yet as it had been fully occupy. Cheers!

~sblbee~

hi yingsan,
thanks for sharing~

wendy,
is it really dat bad? now im starting to worry liao cos mine is oso at d grand ballrm nxt yr...hopefully wont have such problems dat u mentioned, mayb have to communnicate n chk everything b4 d banquet commences

hi serene chua,
thanks for sharing abt d renovation of d bridal suite! my coordinator has told me n showed me d pics b4 we signed d contract wif her tis jul

colt_26

those who attended the June wedding show would have seen the renovated bridal suite as it was opened for viewing. i did and it looks great!

why is everyone so worried about what is going to turn out badly? why not think positively and imagine that it will turn out well and fine for our own wedding? dont tell me we all gonna worry from now till our AD. That is simply too stressful boy. How to enjoy the process then? Rather than worrying now, try to work out a plan to ensure that everything goes smoothly on AD.
Anyway, we have to accept the fact that hiccups will happen on AD no matter how well we plan so just take it lightly and it will not affect the whole event ya. Just enjoy, Ladies! Cheers!

yingsan

hi meiling, one thing to note, the function room at level one is nt sound proofed.. i tik it is divided by partition.. tat time when we went for food tasting, we can hear pple talking at the other function room.. so pls take note.. for level 6, im nt sure..

hi colt, yes u r right. it is really stressful if we were to worry this n that.. lets juz enjoy the process..
my AD in two weeks time but i hvnt feel the pressure yet.. wahaha.. worse is my bf hvnt give out invitation cards to his friends..

kitlovestar

Ha...me stress also...my in about 3 weeks time!!! getting anxiety ha..
need to test out the AV system before hand...
anyone know how long it takes to march in for the grandballroom? kinda short ...need to find a suitable song for march in...any suggestion??

wenwen2112

Hi Ladies, I shared my experinces with you all so you can foresee all these hiccups b4 your AD. I think my friend did not co-ordinate well with MM Banquet team and thats why so much hiccups ba. I reali hope all these will not happen for our big day. It will be rather disappointing.

Yes, galsparkle, you have to test the system b4 hand. It is reali impt to prevent any hiccups.You may wanna select your songs from this list. It's given to me by my gf.
hope it helps.... <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

songs titles.xls (39.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

~sblbee~

colt_26,
oh really? i havent been to look it d bridal suite personally, hope it looks as gd as d pics :p thanks for ur encouragement! luckily we always have u to cheer us on...btw, have u rcved ur PS pics alrdy, really look forward to vewing them...cos i was amazed by d shots :p

yingsan,
thanks, i'll take note...actually was hoping dat i can do it at d poolside but will discuss wif her closer to my AD

galsparkle,
congrats! it's q short...but longer than d vanda ballrm
wonder if it's possible to extend d carpet outside n march in to make d march-in longer when d doors opened up?

hi wendy,
no prob, at least u helped us to anticipate wat may go wrong on d actual banquet itself...so we can b more well-prepared if such things ever happen *wood touch, i hope none of us will kena* thanks for sharing ur song list wif us...it's helpful!

libragal80

Can i have the latest bridal suite photo as during the wedding show during June period , we see the renovated bridal suite but i not sure is the one which u all are talking abt ?