Marina Mandarin Singapore

wizmilo

hahaha...positive tinking, Meiling..=)

wow..ur AD exactly one yr time! ok, i will keep you updated after my final discussion wif Wendy. Mine's end tis yr.

~sblbee~

hi yoyo,
wah...yah lor, i was monitoring d weather today n hope dat d weather will b as gd as today

thanks alot! i was so worried, im looking forward to ur updates regarding d solemnisation in d function rm...mayb u can take some pics n show me

~sblbee~

yoyo,
i received another invitation card frm four seasons today, it's those simple n elegant ivory card...haiz, u mean wat i mean rite? :X
ok sure, thanks! do remember to show me d pics after ur AD hor, den i can give u my email address for u to send me

wizmilo

totally understand lor, Meiling..hahah...so coincidental tat we rec invites on the same day which adds salt to our injury..hahah =P
but from another angle, if the theme of ur dinner is v oriental, then prob the card will fit in nicely. unfortunately, mine is nowhere near oriental...
prob they will change the design closer to your wedding? not sure how long they change the design of their cards coz the previous batches are better. prob by time ur turn, will be so veli nice le? =)
but anyway, i hope tis is just a minor dissatisfaction. my food tasting's in a couple wks time. will keep u updated. =)

My fren's experience wif a certain hotel in cityhall tat has recently changed mgt is horrible. think both she n her hubby quibbling wif the hotel now for compensation coz there were alot of screw ups n her wedding is in a mth's time. poor gal.

~sblbee~

yoyo,
i certainly hope so, juz keep my fingers crossed n hope dat they'll come up wif new cards nxt yr n i can get to benefit :p i was juz wondering how come they dun give us a variety of cards to choose frm like d other hotels cos 2 types is so limited :p
nope i dun think my theme will b oriental :p yah lor, juz hope dat everything else will compensate tis minor dissatisfaction we have encountered n sure hope to rcv ur updates soon

yah i know which hotel u r toking abt...wah ur fren sure is a poor thing, must b feeling stressed now over d problems wif her hotel. juz hope dat she can resolve her problems soon as it's too late to change hotel now :p

colt_26

ladies,

dont you find MM is limited in almost everything? invites only 2 types. favours also. my friend from sheraton towers got about 10 favours to choose from.

feel like being short changed by a 5 star hotel!

~sblbee~

hi colt_26,
yah i agree wif u, i was wondering y too...they shd b able to provide a decent variety for us to choose frm...i saw d regent ones...they oso got abt 10 types of invites n wedding favours...in tis sense, tis is q rigid...sigh but wat to do? i tot by introducing new favours n invites means addition n not replacement but i was wrong

wizmilo

Btw, what are their wedding favors? I rem when i signed up mid tis yr, i saw quite a few leh. some are quite interesting one. plus the very nice Wendy Lou, tat's y we signed up with MM. I rem my fren's card (MM earlier tis yr also)not so jialat one leh..
I'm pretty sure *keeping my fingers crossed* they will do sth to improve after reading our comments, so if your wedding's next yr, dun fret yet k =) I will def give my honest feedback, positive or negative to the coordinators as well as u gals=)

btw, some of u gals attended the wedding show rt? How's the setup and first dish presentation n stuff?

~sblbee~

yoyo,
d wedding favours, they have choco, pineapple tarts n wedding bears, heard dat they have a glass coaster now...
really? wat did u see? share to care wif us?
yah lor, i signed up too bcos of wendy lou cos she's so nice...i hope dat they'll do sth abt it n we can get to benefit frm d feedback :p
i attended d wedding show in jul...d setup was nice n d food presentation was ok but not too sure abt d actual AD...will update when i attend my fren's wedding on 11 nov :p

princessxiaomei

hey meiling hello! come here kaypo kaypo... hahahaa....

i ate their pineapple tarts before during the wedding show... so nice.. hahahaha... the bear bear also cute.. i have one pair given by them...

wizmilo

i rem there was very nice salt and pepper set whereby its one couple hugging one leh. Got the old wedding bears (which they say they phasing out alr), the usual choco n tarts, cant rem the rest but i do rem i see quite a few, particularly the salt n pepper set which i like alot. choco n tarts n def out for me, unless the other wedding favors sucks... *must pray hard liao*

guess i m the unlucky few coz i signed up when they were undergoing changes...

is it still the lilac seat covers and gold sash? u got to see the bridal suite? tat time when i signed up, she said the bridal suite will be renovated in sept i tink so no pt showing me the old one lo.

~sblbee~

xiaomei,
hi hi *waves* glad to see u here....u where got kaypo? can come n give some constructive feedback oso gd...how's ur mariott thread?
hehe...same here, i got d pineapple tart n 1 pair of weding bears frm them at d MM wedding show :p

yoyo,
wah...dat's nice, if dat's d case den i'll get d salt n pepper set cos it sure looks ex as compared to d food stuff...if not, den i take d glass coasters :p
there shd b 2 themes. oh i saw d bridal suite when wendy shows me d pics of d renovated bridal suite when i met up wif her, mayb u can ask her to show u d pics too...

princessxiaomei

haha.. meiling, my marriott thread quite slow.. hahaha.. only our WL thread very fast... like bullet train...

The pineapple tart really very nice leh...

wizmilo

wa, got theme ma? i dun rem leh... wat are the themes?
ya, the salt n pepper is v nice leh... unique coz choc, fruit cakes too common n macam quite cheapo.

wenwen2112

Hi Ladies, let's not fret so much k. Having too much choices for the wedding favours is just a plus point. What's the most impt is having just 1 good and unique wedding favour. Sometimes having more choices not necessary be gd. Just 1 gd wedding favour is enuff. I looking forward to the glass coaster. Think it has not been finalised yet right ?

Since we have signed with MM, we try not to think of the neg side of things ya, it doesn't help but make us worry or upset. This is the least a bride wanna feel. So long as we are happy generally with their svc, food, themes etc.

I also wish for more new themes and wedding favours next yr. Think the card is v diff to change loh. If they really change, then good.

Add on unhappiness build up Negative forces and this will end up making the MM thread so miserable ! Let's have some Positive forces instead ! heehee...

* cheers *

~sblbee~

yoyo,
if im not wrong, there shd b 2 themes...hey u can leave me ur email? i shd b able to email to u if i still have d wedding themes...
yah i oso prefer d salt n pepper set as well as coasters :p

hi wendy,
thanks for d encouraging thought! we needed dat at tis moment

yingsan

hi, i went for the food tasting and tried the durian pudding.. all of us love it..
the chef also let us try the mango sago but we find it plain and not sweet.. no mango taste, only taste the vanilla ice cream.. mostly like we will be choosing durian pudding.. but i scare nt everybody like durian leh

~sblbee~

yingsan,
im a durian lover, actually i wld love to have d durian pudding when u mentioned dat MM has it, it's q unique as compared to d rest of d hotels but was skeptical as some ppl simply cant stand d smell of our king of fruits....sigh, duno wat to do?

wizmilo

Meiling,
Thanks! at least now we got an idea how its like =)

Yingsan, as for durian, i agree its quite subjective coz i have frens who can stand the smell.. u'd have to take the risk. Anyway,u prob wun get to enjoy the durian pudding on ur wedding leh=)

~sblbee~

wendy,
u mean only 2007 have got d choice of durian pudding? so disappointing, oic...i tot it's sth new on d menu, guz im wrong :p

kel,
u mean d 2 new card designs for d wedding invite? there's not much choice though, haiz...for me i think i'll get a mixture of both...

wenwen2112

Meiling,

Ya,I have checked with them. They do not provide this dessert starting from next yr cos the response not so good as Durian is v subjective. Some may like, some may not.

wenwen2112

Oh ya. Meiling, you engaged your VG and PG right ? Read that you signed up with Hilo Production. How is their rates ? Issit good ? Includes express video ?
You have done so much, girl. Read from your blog that you have completed most of the stuffs. Your AD is Sept 08 right ? you are reali efficient. hee..Think you must b a v excited bride

~sblbee~

hi wendy,
oic....wah, u called MM up to chk? no wonder we r not being offered d durian pudding but my 1st choice still remains as yam paste...
yes yes...i engaged my PG n VG liao...i've signed up christopher tay of hilo production...i was quoted d previous rate but i heard dat d package has increased...my package includes wedding summary, video express n montage etc...
i've 2 frens who used him for their wedding (1 last yr n 1 tis yr) n generally d feedback is gd...so i didnt bother to make any comparison n engaged him cos d price is reasonable wif such a comprehensive package - i got d premium package
but it's no longer available as d new package doesnt have montage anymore...mayb u can chk wif him...
my AD is Oct 2008...actually i still think i got so many things outstanding dat has to b done esp those work-in-progress items...im gona try to catch up during d sch holis :p cos i think nxt yr's gona b a busy yr for me at wk

how abt u? wat have u done?

wenwen2112

Hi Meiling,
I din call to check. Happen to talk to my co-ordinator abt foo. I also prefer yam paste.

oh ok. I have few VG recommended by frens too. Hv not done comparison on price and quality yet. Will do it next yr ba.

I have not done much yet. Just did a tentative guest list head count, book banquet and church. Will book my BS these 2 weeks. Most prob taking Wedding Present. Find the quality and designs v nice.
Meeting some tie-up PG to see their artwork and discuss the package b4 signing up with Wedding Present. Thats abt all. Have collected some contact no. of VG, florist for church etc but have not shortlisted or call them up to discuss the package. I have to settle my WG & EG design by end Nov. Will leave the rest one by one. You seems to do much more than me. Everything booked. heehee... I like to do comparison slowly and do 1 thing at a time.

~sblbee~

hi wendy,
no lah, im dat kind of lazy type so i dun go ard to compare, as long as i find smthing dat's suitable n i find d price is reasonable den i confirm liao :p
there's pros n cons, i do envy ppl like u who can go ard to compare cos im v impatient...hehe, wedding present sounds nice
hope u can confirm ur stuff soon...

wizmilo

hellos!
my first choice is yam paste too! n since my HTB is hokkien, my 2nd last dish is hokkien mee sua..hahaha..
Meiling, u got blog ah?

~sblbee~

yoyo,
heheh....im a hokkien but i didnt take hokkien mee suan cos i prefer ee fu noodles....
hmm...i dun have a blog but i do post some blogs in my multiply acct :p
u leh?

happymrskoh

My AD will be held at MM too .. 11 Nov 08.. Think I'm missing out quite alot already..

I was told the pineapple tarts are yummy but haven't got the chance to try it.. My hubby, I've ROMed, prefers the bears as favours cos he feels that it would seem more like chinese new year to have the pineapple tarts as favours.. :p Anyway, I shall have a taste of the tarts first before making a decision..

Anyone using the vanda ballroom? It's pretty small but I like the cosy feeling. But, I'm afraid it might be a little cramped if I increase the number of tables.. Any one has any idea of the max number of tables to have so that it won't look too cramped?

wizmilo

Meiling
i dun have le..i intend to start one like v long ago but dun have time to do it... =( when i have one i let u noe =)

as for the food tasting, i will try the mee sua see if its nice..keep u all updated in a couple wks time.

just saw the news yesterday, confirming that the F1 race will commence from 28 Sep 08, and the races will be held at night... was wondering if couples who are getting married during this period will be affected...

wenwen2112

Hi Ladies, there may be new favours. So, no worries for our AD next yr 08.

Hi HappyMrsKoh, how many tables u have ? If you exceed 33 or so, you gotta use the ballroom downstairs. Think the max tables for Vanda is 30. I think it shd fit well with 23 - 25 tables. Too many will look bit cramp, thats my personal opinion. I using the downstairs ballroom cos I need more than 30tables.

~sblbee~

hi happymrskoh,
i agree wif wendy dat vanda ballroom is better for tables between 20-25, d max is 30 (28+2) but it'll seem a bit cramped as there's v little space for movement if it's packed to d rim :p
i was having d same prob deciding between d 2 ballrooms, but finally i was able to confirm 35 tables so i took d grand ballroom

hi yoyo,
ok sure, i cant write well so dun think i'll set up a blog...u can add me on multiply, friendster or facebook at [email protected]
do keep me updated of ur food tasting...

hi jolene low,
i was told dat f1 racing will end latest in abt 2 weeks' time by my coordintaor. she's confident dat it wont affect my AD. so for me, my AD is on 17 oct 2008 so it shdnt affect v much...when's ur AD?

hi wendy,
so glad to hear dat there r new wedding favours nxt yr...any more new favours in d pipeline dat u know of?

~sblbee~

hi jolene,
wah...lucky u....dat period supposed to b a no-no period for me as there's always teachers' day dinner ard dat time :p

snowygirl81

I plan to hav my wedding here but i only have 30 tables, do u guys think that they will allow me to take to Grand ballroom for weedend wedding?

BTW, does anyone have the pic for the Grand and Vanda Ballroom pics?

~sblbee~

berryberry,
i dun think u can take the grandballroom wif 30 tables for weekend...
i have 35 tables n i took d grandballroom on fri

wenwen2112

Hi Berrybear,

MM will not allow Grand ballroom for 30tables. Weekday is already not possible, not to say weekend. Why dun you try to increase another 3tables and see whether your co-ordinator can compromise.
Who is ur co-ordinator ?

yongyong

our thread a bit quiet hor, haha..

can I check with you are the dishes going to be served to the guests individually? (i.e. the waiter will help u cut the fish and put onto your plates individually, same for vege, chicken, rice/noodles and dessert)?

wenwen2112

Stir,

ya...our thread is quiet cos all things to be discussed has been discussed. hee... no, MM do not serve all tables. Only for the red tables.

Libragal, you added it in ur multiply ? ok, wil go check it out !
how is ur PS ? enjoying ?

yongyong

Thanks Wendy,

oh...so it's different from the recent wedding show whereby all of us are individually served...huh, then will it b very messy if we take the fish ourselves, and the lotus rice, and my mango sago pudding...haha.

anyway, then i'm beginning to wonder if the set of crockeries will be the same as the wedding show
561652.gif

~sblbee~

hi stir,
yah i agree dat our thread is quiet, let's bring d thread alive! i dun think dat d food will b individually served except for d VIP tables...
some ppl prefer to b served, some prefer to eat on their own as they feel so restricted...i wonder can we request for tis service...

hi libragal,
i'll b attending my jc fren's wedding on tis coming sun at MM vanda ballrm...haha, but dun think i'll take pics like u :p

menthola

Heehee i'm actually the groom-to-be instead of bride-to-be. Had booked Vanda Ballroom as me & my wife feel that it's quite cosy.

Actually, when we booked MM,we had not actually walk into VB to take a look but juz having some peeping through the doors after few visit together with my wife.

On the recent wedding show,we at last walk in the room & we felt reali cosy & something like our own function, our own space...