Marina Mandarin Singapore

rodrigue

WOw.. so many pple signed up.. Seems like it's hard to negotiate with Fiona? haizz... my coordinator is her.. meeting up with her tmr..

yingshan, when are u meeting your wendy?

kitlovestar

The bridal suite was opened house during the bridal show. Not say very very nice..coz it' made up of 2 rooms that can link to each other. so one room is the bedroom, the other is the living room loh...

clesias

I just placed a deposit with MM. Im MM btb.
I didnt manage to nego for another barrel of beer. In fact i forgo helpers room for addtional night stay. so sad =(
Anyone did not forgo helpers room and yet get additional bridal suite night? Pls share.

muddpie

hi ...i'm also MM bride....just place my deposit last Fri....but AD is Jan 08

Yaya....Jenny is right...their 08 prices already release...so now they are able to take 08 bookings..my booking is based on new pricing...increase of $30/table for weekend...my coordinator won't allow me to use the 07 package price even though i went to see her before their price increase...so sad u noe...

hope my info helps...

MM is very rather strict on wine & beer
perks...I also tried many times but if is weekend date...they seldom allow these perks lor...if weekday they will probably agree....
Congrats to MM brides...

Clesias...when is your AD? & u use Vanda or main ballroom? is your coordinator Wendy?
I also forgo my helpers room too for additional nite stay...but subjected to availability during my AD period....I also tried without to forgo my helpers room...but they didn't agree too....but since place deposit liao...shld be happy tat now our wedd venue is confirmed....& to prepare ourselves for the AD to come....hahaha...

tearybabe

din manage to go to the bridal show. Coordinator says that its a deluxe suite, anyone got a premier suite? I also forgo my helpers room for additional night stay. So you got additional night at bridal suite? Initally they only agree to give an additional night at the deluxe room.

jaslyn_82

Cheryl..urs is sat or sun??
so good u manage to get the additional night stay..
that time I ask they ask me to top up if I forgo my helpers' room... or like Joyce they only give me the 2nd nite at the deluxe room lor..

Joyce...
think if want to have premier suite.. must top up also.. dun think they will give u the premier suite just like this..

muddpie

Err....actually i oso not sure leh...cos when i told my coordinator i wanted 2 nite stay...so she said unless i forgo the helpers room...but also subject to availability...if not it will be an anniversay nite stay...so i pressume is at the same suite....hmmm now you ladies mentioned...i think i better check with my coordinator again....
last weekend when i signed up with them i wanted to view the suite...but they said due to high occupancy...not able to view....hai....

Joyce, when is ur AD...u signed up with MM already?

Jaslyn, when is ur AD too....? mine is a sunday...

anqi

hi galsparkle,

my wedding date is on Wednesday and i signed up with them during the previous wedding show.
so my perks differ from the one your mention.

jaslyn_82

oic.. Cheryl...
mine is on 1st Dec 07... Sat..

ya.. u better ask properly...
u never ask ah.. later they ask u to move the next day very troublesome...

ednamode

hi jenny_ang, i got experience with some of the hotels ( those i went to see or talk with) ,that they are increasing the price. some agreed to stand by their price..some said they have to check back with their management.
right now, i am still sourcing for venue....Mertius mandarin not able to take in March booking.if want them, also need to be right after CNY during the month of Feb..-.-''

anqi

galsparkle,

the perks are the same as in 1 bottle of wine per table, but i don't have the free table.

i think the price for the table is different. mine is only 8 dishes and the price is around $700.

what about yours?

anqi

i think the 2nd night in suite should be ok, as long as it's not high occupancy period during our wedding.

Wendy is my co-ordinator and she is quite flexible, as long as it's ok, she will arrange for us to have 2 nights stay in the same suite. so we are going to forgo the helpers room, i guess.

but will discuss with her again when we meet to collect the wedding invitation cards.

clesias

Hi Cheryl,
My AD 17sept. using the main ballroom. mine is a monday but not able to get additional barrel of beer.

I've check with Fiona, to upgrade to the premier suite depends on AD occupancy rate. if all the delux suite is occupied, they'll auto upgrade u to premier suite. however the banquet side has no decision to do that, only the accomodation side. so just hope and pray that my AD has high occupancy rate. =)

corsage

MM brides-to-be or previous brides, could I hv some advice/suggestions about the menu to choose pls? No time for food tasting

Which options should I choose for
- Chicken
- Fish
- Prawns
- Carbo Dish (Noodles/Rice)
- Dessert
?

Would welcome any comments
Many thanks!

anqi

clesias,

i'm also a weekday bride, no additional barrel of beer too.
they gave us 1 barrel only but share with us that it should be sufficient for weekday wedding.

as for suite, normally should be able to upgrade to premier suite because if occupancy rate is low, they have a lot of empty rooms can also let us have it ba. hopefully, haa.

jasmine0407

MM is my choice too!Mine is a weekday package. I will be making the downpayment next week.
Ya. ceiling is low. but i tink the lightning n design looks cosy. well, definitely that depends on individual!
I commited abt 45 -50 tables.
therefore, I could get free flow beer and wine corkage waiver and 1 free table Everything was good. Except the bridal suite.
I was told, even if i forgot my coordinator room, i ahve to top up addition $200 if i wish to stay at the suite on my 2nd night. Otherwise, i wld have to shift to a deluxe room on the 2nd day... So far, this is the thing that i cld not get on my list!

fionnaalex

I haf read through e thread & was shocked to see comments tat fiona isn't accomadating.

To share wif MM BTB, as for my case, besides taking into consideration of e hotel food and ambience, 1 big reason tat I sign with MM is bcos of fiona. Initially, my FH & myself r considering Swissotel Raffles. We were thrilled as it was our 1st choice date, Swissotel's ambience is realli good, nice bridal suite & etc. E negative part is tat Swissotel's wedding coordinator was not accomadating at all.Thus, we KIV Swissotel & went scouting for hotels till we met Fiona from MM.

Personally, I feel tat one has 2 b comfortable with the coordinator as she will be liaising wif e couple for a few months until the couple's big dae...

On my 1st discussion, she was very accomadating & sincere. She threw in 1 30L barrel of beer on top of the usual package & gave mi 2 nites stay at the bridal suite.. plus abit of perks like reducing the printing cost & increasing carpark tickets.. complimentary LCD usage and waiver of all wine..

Abt a week later, I got back to her & paid the deposit for securing 4 nov, sunday @ the grand ballroom.

yingsan

Hi Rod

I met wendy yday, nice lady. I will be signing with her by this week as the additional perks will end on 11/2. I din ask for additional barrel of beer as i tik one barrel is more than enough, somemore there are wine and hard liquor. Most of my guests will be driving so dun tik they will drink that much and somemmore next day is still a weekday, need to work. :p

Wendy is very flexible, she gave me the max quantity of invitation cards and carpark coupon. She is giving me additional nite stay at bridal suite but i forego coordinator's room lor.. and also she throw in solemnisation room for me.

rosel

<font color="aa00aa">hi guys, i'm oso a potential MM bride. went viewing wif my HB last sat n met up wif fiona. she is only giving me the usual stuff as per the wedding show promo but i haven been able to further negotiate yet.

i have an estimate of ard 30+ tables (prob less than 35) and wld like to have my banquet in the grand ballrm cos it can comfortably seat my guests than vanda. however, i was told tat the date im lookin at (17 dec, mon) is currently tentatively booked. i wonder if fiona is willin to lower the min tables for grandballrm. anyone here who managed to do tat?

i was oso informed by frens that the fish served is fishy. wonder how true is tat?

rosel

<font color="aa00aa">hi fionnaalex, i wonder how many tables do u have? cos i find tat d perks u have r quite attractive. wondering if its due to a large number of tables tat u r taking, so tats y u have greater bargaining power? oso how much r paying per table-is the same px as the wedding show promo?</font>

jasmine0407

Hey Rod,

You've managed to get a 2nd night suite and solemnisation room! May i ask, when is ur solemnization? Also, how did u managed to get 2nd night suite? I was told i need to top up the balance to upgrade from Deluxe to sutie lei!!

fionnaalex

Hi Rosel,
Welcome! Are you sure tat the fish is fishy??? My family &amp; friends commented that MM food is good. Was surprised when u mentioned tat. E only minus point abt MM is their bridal suite... hee

mine is abt 40 - 45 tables @ the grand ballroom, abt $928 nett per table. As for the perks, we did not bargain much with her. She was pretty forthcoming with the perks during the 1st discussion.

Well, I have gathered from her that for the week day package, there's 1 complimentary table per 20 confirm tables. PLUS! If I have not remembered wrongly, it's a complimentary bottle of wine per table.

Do check with her on what is the current package for week daes, I am sure tat they are much more flexible for wk daes.

rosel

<font color="aa00aa">fionnaalex, i heard tat (d fish is fishy) fr 2 frens leh. but they did mention tat the wedding they attended was quite some time back so tats y im checking wif u gers on the feedback since u've held ur weddings lately. by the way, is the food portion generous?

i've juz signed up wif MM today! i managed to get the marina mandarin ballrm.
apparently, i was told tat d coy who was holding on to the tentative booking gave it up. fiona reassured me tat we will get down to the details abt 1+mth prior to my wedding and its a lil 2 early 2 talk abt all these now.</font>

rodrigue

we'd been quite busy lately...

Yingsan, thks for sharing your details with us!=)

Jasmine, my case is quite similar to yingsan, we gotta give up the deluxe room for 2nd night though the 2nd nite was subject on availability too.. hehe

rosel! congrats on settling one of your 'big' milestone now! feel happy for you n ur FH! =)

fionnaalex

Rosel, hmmm.... my AD is this yr 4th nov... hee... just like you, BTB.

Thus, won't be able to give you the comments now. Anyway, the comments from my side so far has always been two thumbs up. so I guess we can rest assure tat everything will be fine.

btw... would like to check with all, any one has any suggestions on march in songs??? I am thinking of jazz, but am totally cluless. Anyone can help???

yingsan

Hi Rod

Ur 2nd nite is subject to availability?? I was not told leh.. my contract stated two nites stay at bridal suite.. so i shld assumed they will hv to reserve for me rite?

Btw, any of u allow to swop dishes from other menu at no extra cost? even the fish?

Oh yes, MM is going to change their wedding themes..

rodrigue

Hi yingsan,

The contract i suppose will write 2N stay but i was told verbally that it was subject to availability. Anyway my 2N stay is on tentative as i may need the deluxe room (to be decided when the date draws nearer) If the 2nd nite suite is taken up then i'll be offered a voucher for 1N stay suite to be used within a year ba..

yingsan, i think change of fish will need to top up $30 per table.. =)

jasmine0407

Hi Fionaalex,

You mentioned tat the only thing is abt the bridal suite. You mean??
I wil be having my wedding dinner in MM. Feel Nice to hear that the food r nice.
How about the service?

My wedding is in october. But still have no idea on BS. Have only settled venue... Any reccomendation also?

rodrigue

hi jasmine,

i believe she meant the the bridal suite is quite normal looking ba..

Anyone has any idea abt the dishes of the menu which are nice?

oh jasmine, if u wana have a rough idea on the package of a BS, i have a few deals from some bridal if you need for reference. jus send me a pm! good luck! =)

fionnaalex

Hi Jasmine &amp; Rod,

yup, the bridal suite is just 2 normal standard rooms linked up together. noting to wow abt. As for the service, heard comments tat it is good. As for bridal package, i'm with mr &amp; ms wedding. They are known for their photography...

fionnaalex

Hi Rod,

in fact, i didn't stress much to my coordinator on the bridal suite... but i noe it is 2 standard rooms being joint together, which is deluxe room lor

rodrigue

Hi Finonnaalex,
oic.. hopefully we get free upgrade to premier suite hahahaa.. actually im quite fine for the suite too.. it's the last thing on my mind to consider abt =)

sereneczb

I m a potential MM brides, almost signing the confirmation. But I still have abit of doubts on their grand ballroom, can anyone share the pictures of the grand ballroom please? =)

rosel

<font color="aa00aa">hi snowie &amp; sereneczb,
kao_welcome2.gif

snowie, my AD is oso in dec 07 and i've juz joined the dec brides thread.

sereneczb, tis is d pic of d grand ballrm given 2 me by MM.
455487.jpg

jasmine0407

Oh. but still tink wld be good to get a 2nd night. n no need to shift to another room on the 2nd day!

Also, I will be holding my solemnization just b4 the dinner... duno if MM can get a table set up for this anot.. hehe.. will be discussing... hope its ok...

Am glad to hear service and food is okay. Parents focus on this ..more on the food!

Ya. and also. will ask the bridal suite is what room!

Serene, think you should take a look at the ballroom on the day there is a weddng banquet.. i went... and i felt its ok. you shld see it.. its the ambience...cant really see from photos.

rodrigue

Hi Yingsan n Jasmine,

I'd jus send you an email!

Oh Jasmine, yup it's better to confirm your suite.. i didnt get to confirm yet as well...

good luck!

sereneczb

Hi Rosel,

Thanks for the pis! Appreciate..strange that other threads (on other hotel banquet) have got pics on the ballroom, i wents to all archieve, cant even find one, so i m starting to panic..hahaha..this pic looks great!

Hi Jasmine,

I agreed, I m a lazy pig la..kekek, guess i should go down and check it out on actual banquet day.

liesth

Wow! so many MM brides to be here! I have also signed up with MM, my coordinator is Fiona. She is very nice and accomodating.

Hope all of you have a great wedding!

jasmine0407

Serene, Ya. I had my reservations like u too. i was looking at swissotel and deciding between swissotel n mandarin.
My hubby like mandarin...
I like swissotel....both hotsl got pros n cons n so had difficult time to really decide.
but when i went to mandarin. i felt. yes. its fine. and tats it..
which is y... cannot be lazy ok... i am also lazy person. but its one of the important thing.. So.. just do it n check it out!
Hope u will like it then!

celestine

Hey folks!

I am also a MM-to-be bride, going to sign contract with Wendy tomorrow.. Our AD's on 18 May 08.

Liked the Vanda ballroom cos it's exclusive and we liked the layout..

Congrats to all MM brides! =)