Marina Mandarin Singapore

corsage

HappyTea: Nope, they themselves asked if they could bring their own hard liquor! Hehe...they have their own collection already..

Leah: Mine's on Sunday too! Have fun with the decorations!

Aspialle: Sounds great! Could you share the contacts for wine? I was thinking of getting from Jasons - but I've yet to check the price.

donaldaisy

Yin Yin, i'm also having my AD on the friday too.. Was quite reluctant though but was given this date so no choice. Thot it's kinda troublesome for jie mei, xiong di and relatives as they'll need to take leave for that day...

I expect dinner to start on time since it's on friday so guests can come straight after work. But now kinda worried upon hearing the late comers and having to start dinner really late. Anyway, guess i'll remind the guests to be on time especially when i have 50 tables to go around for phototaking!

Tonomi: How i envy ur fren... I hope to get the 2nd nite stay in the bridal suite in exchange of the guests room. But WC disagreed... I am about to sign the contract.

friend

Hi, anyone has problem on the card printing?
We have chosen 2 different types of cards. Red for our parents and white for us.

A ribbon ties the insert to the white card hence there is 2 holes on the insert.(Means both father's name cannot be seen. Unless we print the english wordings on top)

Now that we have printed the english on top and chinese below, we have another problem. When we put the insert into the red card, you can't see the Chinese section unless you pull it out. Our parents are writing only on the Chinese segment. It looks like an unwritten card if you do not pull out the insert. (Some people might not know that they have to pull out the insert to see the chinese words) Overall, it looks weird.

We are allowed to choose only one type of format for both cards. After discussion with both parents, we decided to pay the extra to reprint all the inserts for the red cards. Should have settled with just one type of card in the first place..

Anyone with same problem?

donaldaisy

Anyone of you seen the wedding cards provided by the hotel? Don really like the 2 design and color.. Wondering if there are other designs for us to select from? Anyone has pics of the wedding cards (old /new) to share? My email address is [email protected] Thanks!!

asura

Hi HappyTea,

Heard that they would be in the individual servings but would be laid out to fill the whole table cos 9 plates each.. haha.. Not sure if they changed liao.. cos that's what my colleagues had in the past.
just dont worry, you would get your share of the expensive dinner at the end of the day.. hee

leah

Happilyeverafter,
I didnt like the wedding cards too. Very boring rite? I went ahead to print on my own. You can do so too and then trade in for more wine or another room stay for the AD.

aspialle

Yun wat colour is ur wordings? i used both the white and red cards, red ones for those older generation and white ones for younger frds. The inserts, i select wine colour wordings (a bit purplish) thus it goes well with any of the cards

aspialle

Sharon sorie for late reply u can approach Adam@93885419
i usually message him the quantity i want, ask them send to hotel , if there is any returnables, u can do that after ur wedding

Address:
Le Raisin Trading at 1 Coleman St #04-45 The Adelphi

friend

Hi Aspialle, I used the same colour font as yours.

So did you print the English wordings above the chinese or the other way round?

corsage

Thanks a lot Aspialle!

Am glad to read about the invitation cards, coz I don't like them much as well
Will be glad to hear what creative ideas you all have!

asura

Hi Yun,

I also chose red for parents and white for us..
For the red cards, we are going to glue a part of the insert on the insert part.. so that the whole thing is folded.. Not sure if you know what i mean.. Yah.. i think the whole idea of inserting half the insert into the card is stupid.. the only advantage... those whom i am giving our wedding photos, get the photos sloted into the back of the card.. (since it is double-sided to begin with)

aspialle

hi winnie, my wedding is over 1 yr liao haha
mine is wedding lunch at level 5 vanda ballroom on sunday aftn. we love the atmosphere as the guest are not in rush so most of them finish the last dish.my hubby and i can even go shopping at marina square at nite cos we are not that tired. hehe.

friend

Hi Asura, finally someone understand my pain..
we thought of using string or glue .. But it seems to defeat the purpose of having the pocket (Can easily tell that is not the correct way).. Having photo in the pocket is a good idea..Just wondering what will happen if the guest did not flip up the inserts and do not realise there is a photo in it.. I have 200 red cards. 200 photos is a lot of $$$

Reprint cost is $45.. Very upset . Got to delay sending the cards now.

Btw, may i know if anyone used the candle theme for level one ballroom? Does it blend in well with the ballroom?

asura

Hi Yun,

We are only going to give the photos to the elders. Shall not bother with the rest. Thought the inserts look better if it is glued on... String on would definitely look funny.. plus got to spend money on buying the string.
Dont worry about not realising that there is a photo cos we experimented and thought the photo would be pretty obvious.
What we would do is to cut 4 corners on the double card part.. and slot the photo in.. should be okay bah..

Dont worry about delay in sending the cards. It is still early to send out now... unless for overseas guests. Most appropriate time to distribute is 5 to 6 weeks before wedding. But you got to spread the news of your wedding date ard before that.. heh.

friend

Thanks Asura. Will consider your method. Just got to know from the printer that it cost $75 to reprint with Chinese format on top.. Not $45. Don't find it worth to pay so much extra..

corsage

hi, have any of you MM brides used their florist for other flower stuff? (eg. hand bouquet, church decoration etc)? Can share your experiences if you have?

ysilveer

Hi Aspialla,

Mine should also be at level 5. Was also thinking on going shopping after that. Was your customary the same day as your lunch reception?

leah

I am already sending out my invitations altoght the AD is 18th June. its the holiday period, very scared my frends go overseas.

aspialle

Hi winnie
u r rite , all in one day, the wedding sit down lunch finishes around 3 pm and we went upstairs to count ang baos.Hehehe

corsage

wow, having a lunch reception sounds like such a good idea!
Eeep..too late for me now, already signed for a dinner package =p

aspialle

its cheaper also, mine was held on sun aftn, the guests are more relaxed and atmosphere is great...saw the vanda ballroom after the renovation, not much difference...at first was hoping they place some crystal lightings inside cos they have removed the old ones in the lift

jaslyn_82

Hi Hwee Peng,

Welcome!!

My AD is on 1st Dec 07...
abit kiasu hor.. hehe
but scared got no place..
so decide to book early..
I am meeting the coordinator tomorrrow..
Will update you on my meeting..

hwee_pheng

jaslyn,

how was your meeting with the coordinator?? i went down on sat to crash the ballroom b4 the dinner haha.. wanted to take a look. quite big and nice!! but then i heard the min tables is like 40, and am apprehensive now coz dunno can get so many tables or not.. sigh.

jaslyn_82

Hi Hwee Peng,

So sorry.. very busy during the weekends..
ya, the ballroom is very nice.. min is 40 tables for wkends.. u having ur AD on wkdays or wkends?
u can try another ballroom on level 5 which need lesser tables... how many tables do u have?

When I went on friday got no dinner but get to see the whole ballroom not with the deco for a wedding..
I did not get many things as the coordinator says I am booking too early..
but I find that she is very friendly..
mostly prob. will take their ballroom..
u?

leah

hey girls,
did your get wine from the hotel huh? My coordinator giving me 30 bottles of Wolfblass EagleHawk Cabernet sauvignon. Anyone knows who the ditributor is?

corsage

hi Hwee Peng, the Vanda Ballroom on level 5 takes a min of 20 and max of 30 tables for weekend dinner
Just some info you may find useful. I'm using the Vanda Ballroom

All the best!

hwee_pheng

Jaslyn and Sharon, i'm considering 30-35 tables. Definitely don't want to get room with max 30, coz it'll be very squeezy. But min weekends for MM is like, huh, so many??!

Now considering MM weekdays and other hotels lor... Wanted to call coordinator to ask if my dates are available, but she's always not at her desk

springaling

Hi Leah Keh, u mentioned your coordinator is giving u 30 bottles of wine FOC?? Wow.. thats a great deal! May I know if yours is a weekday packg or weekend packg?? I booked a weekend packg and they DIDNT give me any free wine..

jaslyn_82

Hi Hwee Pheng,

R u looking for Sen?
I have her h/p no. if u want i can email to u..
it will be easier to contact her..
or u can email her.. she will reply..

if u dun have so many tables, then better dun take the ballroom.. cos u may end up paying for the empty tables.. this is what Mertius mandarin coordinator told me.. cos their min is 55 for their ballroom

jaslyn_82

Hi Wendy,

I also looking at the wkends package and the coordinator also never not give me any free wine..
she says its the time when we book our dinner..
if its near they will give us more things..
if its too far like mine in Dec 07.. they cant give me anything..

springaling

Hi Jaslyn,

Oh, really? but mine is in sept 06 and they also didnt give me free wine.. I think i will nego for free beer then... But the coordinator is quite nice and flexible on other items.. Have u seen the ballroom when there is a wedding on?

jaslyn_82

Hi Wendy,

ya.. when u book for ur dinner?
like mine if I book now and my AD is in Dec07.
they say its too far.. so cant give me anything..
If u sign the contract already.. then i dun think can ask them for anymore things..

I havent seen the ballroom when a wedding is on..
u?
But even without the wedding is on I find it nice and cosy..
therefore most prob when take their ballroom..

corsage

Hi Wendy I asked about the wine. Apparently we can't get wines for weekend weddings. It is the weekday weddings that get more stuff thrown in. That's why I also couldn't get my 50% trial dinner waived.

Jaslyn, I was also told that if we book closer to the date, it is easier to get more stuff, but if we book much earlier, there's no incentive for them to give us more stuff, coz if we don't take up the package, there'll be time to get another couple who will.

jaslyn_82

Hi corsage,

ya lor.. thats what my coodinator told me too..
so i think I will take up their package..
I got free for trial dinner..

corsage

Yes, I was quite upset at first, but my fiance told me that we should not be out to get the BEST deal, as long as we feel it is reasonable, and we're happy with the place, we should go for it
After signing, I felt a great sense of relief! Now I've been thinking about wedding ideas/themes/colours etc etc etc
It's fun!

corsage

Hmm..I booked a few weeks ago, can't remember exactly when
I did everything in one weekend.

Nice date! First day of the last month of the year. Easy to remember. You have lotsa time to plan!

jaslyn_82

Hi corsage,

oic.. very fast ah u..
i still like think so long..
haha..

I also did not expect to get this date..
My MIL went to the temple and they gave her this date.. so have to take it lor..
ya lor.. have the time in the world to plan..

corsage

Yeah, since you have so much time, you can browse through bridal shops and view photographers/videographers and then sign up at wedding shows where there are discounts
That's what I did anyway! Saved lots of $$

jaslyn_82

hi corsage,

wah.. thats gd.. can save $$..
have to know when the BS that I want will have wedding shows...
started to look at gowns liao..
but also must go on diet.. haha

u sign up with which BS and photographers/videographers?

corsage

hi jas, Yes, actually if you are sure which ones you want to go for, signing up at shows can really help save $$
I signed with Sattine and Imagegarden (for AD photography and videography). I didn't actually visit so many places, just went by recommendations by 3 very fussy brides (my friends! haha) They are even more particular than me about service and quality, so if they had good experiences, they must be pretty ok! hehe.

jaslyn_82

hi corsage,

oic.. thats gd..
i am the 1st one among my friends to get married so i can only rely on my cousins and u gals..
i will go take a look at ur photography..

happytea

hi Jaslyn, i am also the first among my frens to get married, same situation as you, got no close frens to refer to, but its great to learn more from here

hi corsage, how much does Imagegarden cost for AD photo and video? i am looking for one too. or you got their website to share?

my AD is Dec06, wkday, so i managed to get the wines too.