Marina Mandarin Singapore

harlowpiglet

Hi, I am new here

Could someone please send me some photos of the Vanda Ballroom? My email is <[email protected]>. Thanks.

Btw, how are the comments for MM and also the Vanda Ballroom? MM is one of the hotels I am considering but I haven't heard any comments about it yet.

pinkfurry66

camy, thanks! do u hvpicts? i think the teddy bear handphone clip shd be the same one meritus mandarin gave out. tt day i attended a wedding there and i got that!any other favors? how do u find the new cards? nice?

camiberry

hi pinkfurry,

i've pix of the teddy bear. as for the cards i'll take some photos &amp; send to u. what's ur email?

the 2 new cards r pretty nice. hmm...the pink card is actually fusia pink (metalic pink). quite unique but may not appeal to some ppl. most of my friends like it. i grew to like it too. the ivory one is simple &amp; elegant, a little too common i think.

so far mm only have 3 favours - teddy bear hp clip (doesn't come in pair but have option of groom &amp; bride), pineapple tarts &amp; chocolates.

vinmei

Hi AiLi, Camy, ddreamer &amp; fuyutsuki,

Pics of MM sent.

The new bear is cute. Personally, I liked it very much. Too bad that I dun have the chance to used their new cards.

Hi Elcy,
All brides are pretty. hehee
Yup. I think the lights are great and good for phototaking cos my photos turn out nice nice cos of the light effect leh.

Overall, everything went well that day. My advice is to bring ur song down to MM to try few days before ur AD. And pls used original CD if possible. Download or burn songs may not be too good. This is what I did. I went to buy the CD for them to play.

camiberry

thank u tweetytwee!! wow, the ballroom was really nice. i'll be using vanda, not sure if it's going to be as nice...

yeah, the teddy bear clip looks cute but my mom prefers the pineapple tarts. i'm in a dilemma...

btw tweety, i heard u custom made the 'just married' signage with embossed.com, how much did u pay for it? if the price is reasonable i'm thinking of getting one too. hehehe..

judebabe

thank u tweetytwee.

i think the layout looks great.

Like camy, i will be using the vanda.
Hope it turns out just as pretty...

elcy

Hi Camy!
Can you send me the pics of the bear clip and the wedding cards, please? I can't imagine how a teddy bear hp clip looks like and the idea of a metallic wedding card sounds impressive! hee :p

Hi Vinmei!
What if the different march-in songs are from different orignal CDs and the rest of the banquet played pieces are from another CD again, wouldn't it confuse the AV manager? By the way, where did they control the music? Is it in a music control room beside the ballroom or within the ballroom?

elcy

Thanks, camy!
The bears look so cuuuute!! I hope they come in a pair ... but I still can't imagine how to clip it to the handphone ... heee ... and oh, the fusia pink wedding card still look kinda red to me. :p

camiberry

hey Elcy, i asked my coordinator already. one guest is only given 1 bear (either the groom or bride bear) not a pair. =(

hehe..the pink card has 2 tones with a shiny metalic feel. hmm...must be the lighting in my house. i didn't use flash coz of light reflection... definitely not red colour. =)

elcy

Huh? Either the groom bear or the bride bear only? Aiyo ... like that not very nice leh. For wedding ocassions should come in a pair. Last year, Pan Pacific had a pair of bears hugging together. Very sweet! Not sure if they still have that.

pinkfurry66

hi camy, thanks for the picts. i agree with elcy, like not v nice hor..doesnt come in a pair. the bears so so cute...so much nicer than the ones i got from meritus mandarin that day.do u think we can request from the hotel to give a pair? wonder how much it cost...but then if a couple comes together, they will get a pair lor..ya agree with elcy..the metalic pink one looks red..from photos prefer the other one tho kinda common la.anyone going to the MM wedding show? do u know when is it and how to register?

vinmei

Hi Camy,
U heard from who?
The embossed thinggie is not too ex. I paid $30 for it. Depends on the size and wordings u choose. They are web-based. You can check it out from their website.
www.embossed.com

Hi Elcy,
I have one english &amp; one chinese song. The English song, MM have the original so I did not buy. I bought the chinese one only.
The AV manager is very experienced guy and nice. Till u meet him and he will share all his experience with you. Their music room is in the ballroom on the top. Just like a cinema which u will see.
The AV manager brought us to see their room as well. Try to meet up with them b4 AD to discuss if possible.

Hi harlowpiglet,
U've mail!

I used the main ballroom level 1.

camiberry

hi tweetytwee,
hehehe..from one of the brides in multiply.com. few of us were very interested in getting the 'just married' signage. we were exchanging info. hope u don't mind. =p

$30 is very reasonable. thanks sweetie i'll check out embossed.

vinmei

hi camy,
ic ic... hehee
No worries. Good things are meant to be shared.
The sign is good to have and as a keepsake. Now it is stick on the wind screen at the back of my car. Some pple will see it when they walked pass our car or while driving. hehee

leah

I have got food tasting next month, but will get to eat tomorrow too cos I am engaged as an Emcee for a couple tomorrow who is also getting married there!

And I want to watch the DANCE too...so to at least know how my wedding is going to be like!!

leah

I was the emcee ofor the wedding dinner last sat and I must say the dance was not too bad. Although it was just a simple side step dance, it caught the attention of the guests and everyone clapped and cheered. It was great fun.

As for the food, it was great too. We had tiramisu for dessert instead of the mango pudding ice cream, their wedding favour of the pineapple tart is very very nice. Oh and don forget to about the tea duck pancake, glorious!!! It was fantastic!

My food tasting is only 2 weeks away but so far from what I have tasted, I am pretty happy!

donaldaisy

I am looking into 60 tables. But I'm kinda worried that it might be a little crampy and isn't much walk space when we go around for photo-taking. Anyone hold a wedding with such capacity at MM? Can share your photos and experience pls? My email add is [email protected]

leah

Hey Happilyeverafter,
I was at a wedding last weekend at MM which was 60 tables. It was still quite nice and cosy. Its not exactly very cramp.

bluetomato

Hi leah,

I saw that you liked the dance. Can you kindly describe to us what it is like? For instance, do they go on stage and what kind of music is it etc?
Is it tacky? I'm just afraid it will be quite cheesy.

leah

hi ICW,
the dance is not tacky. Its actually nothing WOW and fantastic abt it, but I must say it is very fresh and the guests like it. I was the emcee for 2 weddings at MM already and on both occasions , the guests would laugh and cheer at the end of the dance. It was good fun.

It really depends on the music actually. The first one that I saw used the " yellowpages" music - the one that people on yellow shirts with words on it run around? Yeah, that song was played and so the dance felt comical. The second dinner that I went, that played Mambo, so it was a total different feeling. They did only a normalside step dance cos they have the huge plate in their hands. You can't expect much from them. But it was neat and I must say, the guests appreciate their efforts and know how tough it was to dance with a huge plate on your hand. So it brought a lot of lifts to the dinner.

friend

Can someone share some photos with me too. I took the cards 2 weeks back. Red or Ivory cards but no pink. Is that the new or old cards??? I am taking the ballroom at level one. Going for my food tasting on Wednesday..

elcy

Sounds interesting! I wonder if the song is chosen by the couple or there's a fix list to match the song with the dance. I mean if the song is a slower-pace kind, it wouldn't have matched the bubbly dance steps, isn't it?

leah

I was thinking of picking some funny song for our wedding dinner too...Don want some romantic song, we thought funnier ones are better! Actually i think the madagasca song sounds good!

donaldaisy

Hi tweetytwee,

Guess your pictures are really in high dd... perhaps you can upload on website or in your blog if you have any... Otherwise can you please send me the photo of your wedding day at the ballroom on level 1. I'd love to receive it. I was worried that the "smart lighting" effect may not turn out to be good. Anyway my AD is Jan next yr, holding in the grand ballroom and about to sign the contract. My email address is [email protected] Thanks lotz for sharing with us all. =)

tcy

Hi TweetyTwee,

I'm also having my wedding at MM at end 2006. Can send me the pics too, [email protected]? Between, I remember it's a very short distance between the entrance &amp; stage. How much time you took for the march-in, a quick one or a slow walk?

leah

the walkway is very short, it will take no more than 15 secs. My hubby and I are thinking of coming from the 2 doors from each end then hold hands when we meet in the middle then walk down together. So the walkway will be "longer" haha

worry

my first dish song is the song that has
"When marimba rhythms start to play
Dance with me, make me sway
Like a lazy ocean hugs the shore
Hold me close, sway me more" etc. u know wat is it? Is it call "sway" by michael buble?
that one also banquet manager choose for me one. so when the waiter dance, the song match the dance.

tcy

Agree, most songs doesn't reach the climax/melody at 15secs. Haiz... Cracking my brain of what song to use as well! Anyone has recommendation or can share the song that you used for march-in?

weddinstory

i was thinking maybe ok even if song hvnt reach climax cos song will still be playing when the couple cut cake for first march in and pour champange for second march in. what do u think girls?

cottoncandy7681

I dont think it only takes 15sec. u have to walk slowly for ur videographer n photographer to catch that moment.
hope its help.At least got 30secs.