Marina Mandarin Singapore

worry

Has anyone seen how MM use the spotlight as in how it will look like, etc? Whether can remove the chinese painting for the wedding then put back after the wedding?

babyjoyce78

Hi swinggal (swinggal) ,

My coordinator is meng wen. A very nice lady and happen to be a friend of my colleauge. I dunno when the table cloth will be coming in. You can call and check with them. My Ad is end of next year, so i hope they will have more changes coming up.

swinggal

Hey Kuopi, we have the same coordinator. Totally agree with you, she's very nice & friendly lady indeed. At least your AD is end of next year, hopefully by then will have more changes.

vinmei

Hi Elcy,

Thats great! :p
Me also want to go for the Wedding show leh... Who's ur coordinator?

Me going down to MM this Monday to meet my coordinator. :p They said so early also cant cfm anything leh. But I just want to be sure of everything lor. heheee

elcy

Hi Vinmei
check your pte msg. btw, when's your AD? Hee ... are you going to meet them to ask them to clean the chandeliers or buy a new carpet?

Hi sim
are the new lilac table cloths meant for both ballrooms? Sounds nice! Wonder if it's a light pastel colour or a strong lilac colour. Think must remember not to have purple evening gown in case we blend with the table cloths.

vinmei

Hi Elcy,

Recv with thanks! :p My AD is 25feb06. Urs?
Me just want to ask them something lor. I will tell them to wash if I can! hahaa:0

I pay so much $$$ for it leh. But it seem spend my time there all in one day! Aiyo.... :p

Must make my $$$ worth it. hahaa:0

elcy

Hi Vinmei
I see ;) Yours is coming soon in just a few months' time ... you must be getting very excited! Ours is still a long way to go ... next year Nov :p Hee ... I think you got a pretty much better deal on the bargaining of min tables as well as free flow beer on a Sat, so definitely worth it.

Remember to share with us the new updates that they will be incorporating in the grand ballroom when you meet him ok?

vinmei

Hi Elcy,

Yup....As it gets nearer, I am getting more excited leh... hehee
And me going to have my PS next mth! So fast leh... Really excited mann! hahaa:0

Sure, if I have any new information, I will share. But I think they cant rush alot of things by my wedding leh... So sad!

elcy

hi vinmei
with 4-5 months to go, I am sure the lilac table cloths would already be implemented? So how's your meeting with your coordinator today?

vallhs

Hi sim,
Thanks for your reply.
I think it's best not to put the red carpet.
Attended a friend's wedding in the main ballroom 1 mth ago. The red carpet was really in the way...
Hazardous...

elcy

If marching in without the red carpet, won't it lose its feel?
Like kind of less important & glam? Heard that they will be buying new red carpet. Maybe it will be better then. Wonder when it will be arriving?

vinmei

Me just met up with my coordinator! :p I think there will be some changes for them next year. They are trying to rush.

1) Wedding Cards (Hopefully by beginning of next yr)
2) Wedding Favors (Hopefully by beginning of next yr)
3) Light Purple Seat Cover (match with the floor)
4) Red carpet ( But not advisable to put cos they have an incident that a kid trip and knock down the flower stand)
5) Swimming Pool ready by end oct.

elcy

Wow, that sounds great!
So the lilac table cloth will be matching the lilac seat covers then I supposed?

vinmei

Hi Elcy,

Yup. This is what my coordinator said leh. :p
He also mentioned that the Ang Bao box and Guest book maybe changed as well.

I think all these changes is to cater for the new looks of the Hotel lor.

But I want them to do it fast to be in time for my wedding. But I think it is quite unlikely lor.

Only certain things they can only. But I think when it is ur wedding, everything will be ready! :p

swinggal

The Ang Bao box is still acceptable but not the guest book which is the size of A4 diary book. Lucky I went to ask my co-ordinator to have a look and was pretty disappointed with the guest book. Anyway I've sourced my guest book from this shop 'Prints' which carrys a nice range of guest books with personalised name tags attached to it.

vinmei

Hi swinggal,

Ya. Me dun like both their Angbox and Guest book lor. Cannot make it mann. :p

Anyway, I will be making these 2 myself so no worries for me! :p

elcy

Hihi vinmei & swinggal

Hahaha, aiyo, their angbao box and guest book cannot make it till what extent? U have photos of them?
By the way, are the angbao boxes for us to keep or must return after? If can, maybe can take them home earlier and decorate it first before using?

The guest book so plain ah ... wonder if it is too late to exchange for something else ... hee

swinggal

Hi Elcy

I didn't take any pics but the ang bao box is ok but i didn't take the guest book coz is like those big diary A4 size book. You can actually ask your co-ordinator to show u. Don't think they'll exchange for something else. Anyway, when's your wedding?

vinmei

Hi Elcy,

It is plain lor.... :p I think cannot make it leh. hehee

Me got no pics. But it is just a plain white box with some wordings I think.

elcy

hihi girls

vinmei, I see
so r u going to take it back to decorate it or make a brand new one?

swinggal, mine is Nov next year, more than a year to go ... heee

vinmei

Hi Elcy,

I am going to make a new one lor. :p Not going to use this. To me, I think it cannot make it cos it is like make of paper lor. Not hard enough. :p

But I think they are going to have new ones next year. Perhaps it will be better lor. :p

It comes with the ribbon cos I seen it before.

jessp

Just had my wedding at the Grand Ballroom last weekend. Generally, things went pretty well, but was disappointed by the bad co-ordination and quality of food. Hubby was briefed by the Banquet staff only at 7 plus (till close to 8pm, there are a total of 3 events ongoing on the ground floor at the same time, signboard was not placed right at the hotel lobby to direct guests over. Food was a bit cold when served (acc to some guests), staff were slow in serving drinks/food etc.

Overall, did not match up to my expectations of a 5 star hotel service. Will think their prices will be on the high side for 2006, though it's OK for us as we paid the 2005 rates.

Lastly, pls treat their words lightly when they say you will have exclusivity in the reception area, cos they cant promise that your wedding will be the only event that night.

jessp

Hi tweetytwee

No leh.. they got their F&B Dir to call me, but nothing leh. Said will take into acc what I indicated, and will improve on future events.

But prob cos I have 51 tables, so service is slower than usual, and I ended up having so much beer/wine left over!

Nevertheless, I liked the bubbles effect march-in, and the 1st course presentation was rather unique. My wedding videos were well received and full of praises too, so overall still a happy experience. Some frens liked the food though, and slow service were more or less expected by them (in view of my huge no. of tables) so they complained lesser abt the service.

I really dunno abt the previous bridal suite, but my suite looks pretty decent and nice, just that the makeup mirror is really small and high up, so I gonna sit on 2 pillows for the MUA to do my makeup. Dunno how they DESIGN the mirrors!

elcy

hi jovia|ger
just wondering, how many litres of beer and bottles of wine did you prepare for your wedding dinner and how much was left? Hee ... we have no idea how much wine to buy. :p

camiberry

hi jovialgal, i'm sorry to hear that. A little affected by this since i'm going to sign with mm next week.

My thought is there should be no excuse for not providing quality food & services by MM since they always pride themselves for holding more than 300+ successful weddings last year. With such vast experience & yet couldn't deliver quality service, that's unacceptable. Reflected poor management on their part.

but still happy for u knowing that overall experience had been good! hope they really take note of your feedback & improve on it. i'm keeping my fingers crossed.

xynn

After reading the recent posts here, I do hope that MM will take note. Coz i'm a Sep06 bride with them. Hope everything will be fine!

cottoncandy7681

Hi Jovialger,
Just saw ur profile n found out that ur AD photographer n Videographer is the same with me ! kekeke.
How did u find their service ? good anot ?

cottoncandy7681

I think lately MM service since to have drop.Just a few weeks again,my friend attend a wedding over there .And she say the food have alots of MSG.and the services was bad too.consider she only have less than 30 tables .
check with u,for food tasting.does the co-ordinator came n check with u how was the food or we are just given a form to fill in?

vallhs

Hi cottoncandy,
I jus had my food tasting. We were given 2 forms to fill in and the co-ordinator came to look for us after the dinner to gather our feedback.
She mentioned she will check with us again 1 month prior the wedding to confirm if there will be anymore changes to the menu.

vinmei

Hi JoviaGer,

din really expect their service to be that leh. And they did not even compensate.

But at times, we cannot also satisfy everyone lor. Food is very individual. :p What about the ambience? Is it nice and grand?

simp

Can you all share about the follow up by the events manager and coordinator respectively? Who are the recommended good manager/cordinator to work with?

tomomi

I went to have a look at newly renovated Marina Mandarin and Pan Pacific yesterday after going for the Chan Brother's travel fair.

The ballroom at the lobby (assume it must be the grand ballroom?) definitely looks better after renovation. But I was very disappointed with their flowers on display at the entrance of the ballroom as well as along the aisle. The main flowers were white so could easily tell that mostly were withered till the edges of the flowers (look like lilies) had turned brown and wrinkled up. The centrepieces on each table inside also looked very simple and plain, as if the flowers were anyhow being put into a transparent vase. Lack of class and they were a mismatch with the beautifully renovated ballroom. Definitely not like what the picture of their website had shown with a generous spread of flowers around a candle. Maybe it's a different theme but I am sure that the theme wasn't very impressive. Think their website hadn't been updated too, as the picture of their ballroom seemed to be the old one before renovation.

The only nice decoration was the standing on the stage. Too far away so couldn't really tell if the flowers were fresh. At least, it was a generous spread compared to the miserable little flowers along the aisle and outside.

Using withering flowers and not fresh ones in hope that the guests would not notice them is a big mistake. With the price hike next year, I do hope that they will start QCing the flowers they use in case these details start spoiling their image of a 5-star hotel.

Noticed that the reception table outside had no table cloth with skirting and can imagine seeing the view 'below' with respect to the way the helpers sit. It is a nice table but won't give a nice view if they slightly open their legs wider. Would be better if there was a nice table cloth to go with it. Was it a norm for the reception table to be just a plain table?

vinmei

Hi tomomi,

What time did u drop by to see? I think there is cloth if I did not rem wrongly. And there should be some deco on the table itself as well. Perhaps it is too early for them to put up yet?
I am not sure as well. :p

tomomi

hello tweetytwee, you are right, maybe we were still early before 6. But the withering flowers were an utter disgrace. Afterall, the couple has to pay for the flowers deco that were incorporated in the wedding package. Was thinking of going for the wedding show next week to sign up but thinking twice now. Imagine what our guests from various respectable professions would think when they attend a dinner at a supposedly 5 star hotel which just underwent a milliondollar makeover. I am just afraid that they would start spreading negative news among each other and reduce the angbao market rate for attending a wedding dinner here. With less reputable & rich couples booking their wedding here, the hotel would have difficulty trying to improve their image that they are trying to project in years to come. It is definitely not worth the risk for them just to save a couple of bucks in flowers, don't you think?

lilcreature

Hi everyone, im thinking of holding my dinner at MM next year for ard 55 tables. After looking at the adverse comments, I might think twice or really keep a close eye on EVERYTHING!

I have a concern here hope you all can help me out.

I have 55 tables. Last weekend when I was there 49 tables looked cramped, so im concerned about having 55 tables.

Does anyone have some experience to share?

camiberry

Hi Tomomi,

Like you, i was concerned about exposing 'down under' of the people sitting behind the reception table outside the ballroom. I asked the coordinator last week when i went for viewing & discussion. Sad to say, skirting & table cloth are not in my lunch package or rather i was told the table looks nice & classy on its own thus additional decorations are not deem necessary. However, if we want to do extra it will be on our own cost.

tomomi

hello camy, sad to hear that table cloth and skirting are not provided in your lunch package. They don't cost much any way, isn't it?

For a start, I was hoping that Marina Mandarin will turn out to be equally well-received or even better than the Oriental hotel. Image of The Oriental hotel really changed and improved drastically after the million dollar makeover into one that looks real classy. If you look at the Oriental website pictures, you can really tell that they put alot of money into renovating those rooms, restaurants, garden suites, etc, to give it a total makeover. But as for Marina Mandarin, although it looks better, the changes do not give the effect and impression like that of Oriental, if you know what I mean. I really wonder who the designer is. The theme of the hotel is so contemporary and common that it doesn't stand out. I also noticed this wierd 'zebra-crossing' flooring design right in front of the reception counter at the lobby.

Sigh ... hard to contain my disppointment. Was looking forward towards the better 5 star image after the milliondollar makeover.

In my humble opinion, since they can't redo the furnishing, perhaps they could start putting effort into holding a wedding banquet properly, right from a good chef, good coordination by the coordinator, well-briefed waiters to the setup of flowers ... using fresh ones and not recycling them. With each banquet being held successfully, the good name will definitely be spread by the thousands of guests from all walks of life who attended it.

Afterall, what's important apart from the price when it comes to choosing a hotel to hold a wedding banquet is the good name that the hotel has. Albeit the price of Shangrila and Ritz Carlton are alittle steep, the price tag comes with the good reputation and it's worth all the money. A pity that the minimum number of tables needed to hold a banquet there is on the high side for us.

tomomi

Camy, have you signed the contract? If not, maybe you can further negotiate with them? Providing a table cloth and skirting shouldn't be a big fuss for them. They can just take what they have and reuse. I always assume that they will provide and it's needless to request for it. So it's really smart of you to check with them about this. It would have not even crossed my mind to ask if it were me.

vinmei

Hi tomomi,

really? Well, think they need to relook into it again. But overall, I dun think they will put their reputation like these lor.

Perhaps there are some mis-understandings or wat.

Anyone going for the wedding show? Me feel like going on leh. Have not decided yet. :p

cpshe

i attended my friends wedding dinner last sunday at vanda ballroom & i personally find the service is good
maybe the uncle who served us is more experience... plates were cleared fast & drinks refill or order were made fast too .. He even remembered that a guest is having warm water... i like tat.. there're some trainees around so i guess inexperience causes some delay...

Food is ok to me... cos i not particular... the room is a bit small for 25 tables but still ok... if it's high ceiling will be better.. guests at reception before going into the ballroom get to enjoy some free music as there's a live orchestra on level 4 (at the cafe) ... not bad
bridal suite is nice too...

Would consider mm if i haven signed my banquet...

worry

Hi cp,

wow.. compliments from you. it gives relieve to MM brides here. Thanks.

Where have you signed your banquet?

cpshe

i signed up with holiday inn park view...
betw how much is the price per table? is it 800+++? Previously i thot their min table for weekend is 30+ so drop mm...