Marina Mandarin Singapore

vinmei

Ya. It is $888 for fri leh. My AD is in feb06. And I am meeting up with them tml to discuss. Went to see their ballroom yesterday. It seem quite old huh. :p

Me is trying to negiotiate with the lady. Hope she can give me some good news tml.

Will keep u gals updated k

dreamdream

hi yuuri, yes we stayed for 2 nights. saw us in brasserie tatler? really? then u must be like us, went for late breakfast! :p we had our breakfast in the suite on the first day.

it's very typical of all hotels to increase their wedding package every year. the earlier u get married, or the earlier u confirmed ur package, the cheaper it will be.

vinmei

Hi Phy,

I am talking to Fiona which she said she is only the admin coordinator lor. I will be meeting up with her and another guy which she said is quite nice one.

Me meeting up with them today so will share with you all tml k.

But is there any comments on their food and service? Cos the first impression of that place is that it looks old leh!

penguin26

hi bride to be, my coordinator is william after gladys left,food depends on actual day

i attended dinner at main ballroom, food is ok, but in any hotel, very hard to guarantee the standard every dinner the same lor :p so i did not even go for food tasting

s_lavender

hi phy_*o*,

i suppose beng koon is still there. coz when i went down to the style wedding exhibition at taka last mth, i think i saw his card among the stack of namecards displayed at the MM booth..

hamasaki

hi bride-to-be, for I feel that their food and services are great... got many good comments abt them from friends and relatives after my wedding...

chocolat

juz went for my trial dinner tonight n I must say the food was good. All the ' VIP participants' gave good review...PHEW!!!...

Though some said certain dishes seems to be a bit bland but overall it was all very fresh!!

penguin26

hi all, got headache on march in songs...
any recommendation? mine is a wedding lunch so alot of songs like "tonight we celebrate our love" cannot be used cos it is not a dinner heehee

vinmei

My meet up with MM is great! :p And I met up with Beng Khoon. He is very funny leh...
Nice guy. Took down all my requests. But they cant do anything on the price which is fixed. But which is my main concern la.

penguin26

Ya its like whispering into ur ears, then when music comes in then open the door

for the first dish do we need to prepare music or hotel play for us?

anpanman

anyone has any idea what will happen to the ORION ballroom after the renovation? The "fate" of that ballroom seems mysterious, as if it may "disappear" altogether.

cadburina

Hamasaki can I enquire so the wedding invites from hotel is inclusive of cards, insert (tracing paper) and gold strings as well as envelops right? It was just that I was told to buy my own envelops and gold strings and also the inserts?!?!

hamasaki

hi Cadburina, MM provides U with the cards, tracing paper that is needed for printing, and the envelopes... U do not need to buy it elsewhere...

Better check again with ur coordinator... I have not been told in this way by my
wedding -in- charge...

phy_o

Hi Bride to be ....

Heard that MM is willing to accommodate to most of our requests except for the price. If you think it's a little steep, try the other MM then.

I'm thinking of cutting one dish to cut the price. Hope it helps, sigh ...

phy_o

By the way, when we attend a MM roadshow, do we have to sign the package with them on the spot? Or can sign later when more details are confirmed? Cos as far as I know, for BS, we have to sign on the spot to get their attractive deals. Not sure abt hotels.

Anyone can help?

dreamdream

hi yuuri, im back from HM.. but m down with flu! cos weather turned much colder (below 10C) on the last 2 days! can't quite remember wat time we went down for breakfast but i know we were just in time before it ended at 1030am. so it's probably me that u saw. i actually saw ur back view on 6 Mar evening at the entrance of ur ballroom. u were getting ready for ur march-in.

penguin, i used jacky cheung's 'ni zui zhen gui' and dream a little dream (from hotel's) as my march-in songs. u can actually arrange with the hotel AV manager to listen to their CDs one day to choose ur song if u want to use any of theirs. for the first dish presentation, u can either choose and prepare ur own song or u can leave it to the hotel's discretion. i did the latter.

anpanman, the ORION ballroom will be history after the reno. it'll be demolished to give the entrance a higher ceiling.

phy o, u can sign after the roadshow. there is usually a deadline to sign to enjoy the perks.

hamasaki

HI PHY, yes like what dreamdream had said.... u can sign up after the roadshow.... that allows U some time to think abt it....

there will indeed be a deadline to it...

yuuri

dreamdream,
Heh! I keep trying to 'spy' on you while I was going up and down the lift! But no luck!
Ask you ah, for the first dish, did the waiters do a silly dance with 'Do the hustle..'? That was soo sooooooo funny, I couldn't stop laughing!

anpanman

Hi dreamdream,

thanks for your kind reply. But I booked MM becos I liked the ORION ballroom with it's high ceiling! If the ballroom is gone, then where will my wedding dinner be held? I think MM owes me an explanation regarding this issue.

vinmei

Hi Phy,

Ya, MM is very flexible on their perks. They seem to be able to give most of the things I request for except for the price! HOW?

If it is $888, I think it is too ex liao and I will suffer more losses leh....

Hmmm...

phy_o

Thanx dreamdream and Hamasaki! Sure glad that there's a deadline. Then I can go for the roadshow at ease!

Hi Bride to be,

$888 comes with 8+1 dishes. If you don't want such a high cost dinner, try 7+1 and see how much they can cut. Just a suggestion though.

By the way, I'm going for the MM roadshow on 2 April at MM itself. There's WhiteLink BS there too. Think it's a link up. Now have to do research on both so I don't end up like a blur sotong there ... haha ...

krisjon

Think I am going to be a MM bride by next week. Their pricing for 2006 had went up to $908 per table. Very very expensive. Dunno y my FH wants that hotel so much...

Wanna find out more information, can we bargain for more perks like free flow of beer etc if we are getting this package?? Are they flexible??

Heard that they are going to have a major renovation in 3 months time.

hamasaki

hi gingercat, no harm trying to bargain for those perks... I'm sure they will be a bit flexible to it... If not, try to ask for others... but must do so before signing with them...

vivileow

Hi all MM brides,
i have my worst nitemare. MM cal my hsuband and mentioned they cant finish their renovation in time for my AD in early OCT!!
At first when i signed up, they ensure me that lattest by aug, then all the nonsense turn up.Tonite i and husband wil discus wif MM people for a solutions. Me really so unlucky

vinmei

Hi Phy,

Hmmm.... ok ok. Maybe I will do that. Cos I persuade him to go and fight for me lor... :p

Hope he can come back to me for good news.

Hi GingerCat,
Ya, they are having a renovation in mid may and reopen again in Sept.
Think it would be a very nice place lor...
But must bargain for more perks la.
Then will not be lugi mah... hehee

vinmei

Hi Vivi,

Really. They cannot complete in Oct???? They told me that it will be completed in Sept leh. Maybe there will be delay. Think those in Sept will all be affected.

chocolat

Hi Vivi,
Who's the person who called ur husband?
Pls tell me this is not true...
My AD was postphone fm May to Sept due to the reno and dun tell me now that I'm affected again!!!
Oh gosh....

worry

My bf had called up our coordinator too. She say no such thing as reno delay till Oct. It will end latest by Jul and reopen in Sept.

PS. Sorry there was a typo earlier on.

phy_o

Hi Gingercat,

I tot free flow of beer comes as one of the perks? I was hoping we can get some free red wine instead.

krisjon

Vinmei > How to bargain... I am pretty new at all these... Is it the same way as we bargain with the BS.. hehehe!!
I dunno what are the things thatI can bargain for... Feel like asking my FH to settle this matter.

Phy 'o' > No free flow of beers... only come with 30L of beers... They just email me the package for yr 2006. My AD is in Yr 2006 June 24.

phy_o

Hi GingerCat,

My AD is 10 June 2004! Two weeks earlier than yours. Well 30L suits me. Think most of my guests will drink red wine.

By the way, mind if I ask how you chose your AD date? Was it a random pick or did you go and check it out?

dreamdream

yuuri, actually i cant remember the first dish presentation! only remembered that they used fast, upbeat music for it. wasnt paying attention to their presentation.

anpanman, yes i think u need to clarify with MM regarding this. did ur contract specify orion ballroom? has ur coord contacted you regarding the status of the orion after the reno? better get the issues settled quickly. good luck!

vinmei

Hi GingerCat,

Must bargain leh! Who did you speak to? The guy who I speak to is very nice lor. But hor, they are not able to extend this year pricing to me for next year! Mine is only in Feb leh!!! WHY???

If not, I am going to pay $888 per table, which is very ex leh! Now I need to source for other choices again. So tiring mann!!!

hamasaki

i was given free flow of beer and soft drinks during my wedding banquet... Maybe can try to bargain for that or ask for free LCD use..