Marina Mandarin Singapore

chicory

Hi Mookie,

The last time i went, they used roses. Great that they are using gerberras too, cuz' they are more colourful and cheerful looking
. How's your meeting with Irene? I am supposed to go collect my invite cards from her sometime soon.

Yeah, i checked with her if the Christmas's decor will still be around and she told me yes... hee hee

mookie22

Hi Chicory, i've met irene & took a second look at the LO ballroom. This time, it was brighter, so no issue on that. However, still thinking whether the low ceiling, v short march in and kitchen door next to stage is acceptable for me. But the package, plus the promo for the show are v attractive, gd value.

Hi Seeker, I'm definitely keeping MM in view but will evaluate a few other places b4 I make my decision.

Anyone compared MM and Sheraton Towers?

babysheep22

I'm on the verge of signing up with MM....

Just a question, will they throw in free food tasting? And what is the waiter ratio? Can I have 1: 1?

jenjen

Hi babysheep, it depends on how many tables you will sign up with them... free food tasting (for 10 dishes) will only be available if you commit 50 tables and above... or else, you have to pay 50% for food tasting (full 10 dishes for 10 pax), i think... or else, you can try to negotiate for free food tasting for 6 dishes for 6 pax instead...

i can't remmeber the waiter ratio, but it is definitely not 1:1... it is not possible to be 1:1 lor... ur ballroom will be very crowded (more waiters does not equal better service)...

melken

any idea how we can try to bring in duty-free alcohol in?

coz if we tear the dutyfree stamp on the sticker, isn't it abit obvious that it's duty free?

jenjen

duty free liquor comes in 1 litre bottles, whereas non duty free liquor comes in 750ml bottles... so even if u tear the sticker, if kanna check, they will still know it is duty free... u can check to see if the hotel can help u... but usually hotels are quite strict nowadays... good luck!

byeee

Can anyone recommend me coordinator when i call them up dis wk? Who will be more easy to bargain n friendly n good wif service?

starsky99

Hi Kohtan,

Yes. Irene. Is she good and easy to bargain too?
Pls advice

Hi Angeline, u r looking for MM also? Hv u sign with them??

kohtan

Hi starsky99

Thanks. I am not sure whether she's good or not. I'm looking for a good co-ordinator to call as well.

Anybody knows? Please advise, thanks.

starsky99

Hi Kohtan,

Had spoken to her b/4 .... feeling is not really..gggg... leh...

You r right... i am looking for a good B.Mgr also. Anybody can help.... pls advice

Thks

chillipadi

Met up with Irene Koh, finds she is quite cold and not flexbible nor easy to negotiate cos she always says "everything is in the package already, you cannot exchange for anything." She reads from the menu and does not contribute to additional info unlike Oriental, Wendy who will advises things to look out for.

The chinese restaurant (Le Gsomething) can take up 30 tables. For those who have 30-35, depending on ballrm availability(min 40-60tables) might have the chance to transfer.

Menu not as flexible as Sheraton or Oriental

chillipadi

One more point to add, Irene will only give a few extra but if you are expecting 10-20 cards more, no chance. Think Oriental is more flexible (both Agnes,Wendy) in terms of wedding cards, bottles of wine free, additional rooms required

kohtan

Hi starsky99 and ChilliPadi

I have also met up with Irene recently and I agree with how both of you feel. The feeling is not really good.... she's not flexible, not negotiable, very cold etc.

starsky99

Ya...Kohtan & Chillipadi

I agreed with yours. She always said very good package oldi, i cant add more perk liao. Or when u ask how many deco theme they hv... she will said ...oh.. "what u c is what u get lor".. ALAMAT...

Although we understand that she has to follow certain guideline....but still her attitude is really...hey..... ....COLD MAN...

Agreed with chillipadi, wendy is more freindly, and give good advice. FYI, Henry from Mandarin Spore is good and freindly also. So yours can try lah......

rachel_loo

I am considering holding my wedding at either Marina Mandarin or Meritus Mandarin Orchard next year. Please kindly feedback as to which hotel is better in terms of food, ambience, service, value-for-money, flexibility, and intangibles etc. Thx!

lemoncake

I have considered Marina Mandarin during their bridal show 1 or 2 weeks before Marriott's one. However, due to that kind of attitude from Irene, I dare not take up the package, because I afraid she just can't bother my big day if I need any changes. When I met up with the wedding planner at Marriott, I feel more comfortable and my wedding is being respected lor...
maybe I am too KP to write in this thread, but hope to share my feeling about this too.

starsky99

Hi Lemoncake,

U r right....her "Poh Cheap" attitude really make me hold back my decision to hold in M/M. She didnt follow up or ask how or what we need for our big day....so really felt....sad.....the hotel employed such SENIOR MGR......

At last, I decided not to sign up for M/M eventhough its my first priority....sad to say so.. .. just wanted to share with yours how I feel....I really love the ballroom...but...too bad....not comment

Hi girls....I almost make up my mind with Mandarin Spore if not final change.

Hi lemoncake , hv u sign up with marriot?

Rachel Loo, u can try to hv appointment with irene....and share with us how you feel about her svc....ok......

lemoncake

Hi Starsky99,
Yes, I have signed up with Marriott during their bridal show. Now at the stage of thinking how to decorate the ballroom

Did you attend any wedding in Mandarin recently or look at the AD banquet set up there? Better be sure to confirm what type of seat covers, table cloth and decor you will get in yr 2004. I was so blur that I didn't know Marriott has changed everything in the coming year. so just a reminder.
and do you get any perks or promotions from Mandarin?

babysheep22

harlow,

my wedding is in oct 2004. i find irene ok. not fantastic, but she is ok lor... although i must admit that initially she gave us the impression that she is quite bo chap. but after a while, she actually "warm up" and start to joke with us etc.

we signed up with marina mandarin in the end cos found the package value for money.

starsky99

Hi Lemoncake,

I didnt turn up for the Marriott bridal show as I cant meet the min table required. Most probably will sign with Mandarin Spore. View their AD & deco not bad. Most important is I feel comfortable with them.

No extra perk during the bridal show given.

Babysheep... Good you sign up for them. Is true the package is really value for $. Understand.

madwomaninattic

I've just booked with Marina Mandarin. They told me that the wedding banquet will be at the ballroom on Level 1. Anyone knows about that ballroom and whether its any good?

jenjen

hi woman (too long), it's the grand ballroom... it's pillarless and can accomodate up to 60+ tables... except for the rather short march in, I have no complaints... held my wedding there last year...

madwomaninattic

Thanks Jen!! But its on 1st floor and the atrium is on the 4th floor... that means basement liao??
Very ulu anot?? Scared guests think how come so ulu must walk further downstairs esply if there is another wedding on 5th floor L.O room.

Dunno leh... have to pay deposit next week liao...
MM is 5 star right? Was told MM is 1 class below MC... I also dunno abt such categorization one...

erowen

hi all marina brides to be
my husband attended a wedding dinner last nite at marina mandarin.He said that the waiters and waitresses were like chasing the guests to 'makan' fast fast and to serve up the following dish. It was pretty bad and he and his friends were complaining abt it. It didn't happen at their table only, they saw quite a few servers doing such things at other tables too. Thus you gals may wanna speak to the banquet manager on this point. and the waitress serving their table also not very friendly.

another thing is the lighting, he mentioned it's rather dim, thus look gloomy throughout the dinner.

yes! the food is good though, especially the tea duck with pancakes??? i hope i got it right. he and his friends commented it was yummy!

good luck gals!

foodfood

Hi seeker,

Is your voucher still available? My sister is interested in MM, and she will be confirming the wedding banquet soon, after viewing the ballroom tomo evening.

May i know whether ur voucher is still available?

anniroc77

Hi matsu

ijus booked my wedding at MM.
Mine is a weekday event at $650nett per table.
I did not negotiate for more as the package seems quite comprehensive. H/W, there is no free flow of bear, no free food tasting... the rest are quite standards items. But u can ask for a few more wedding cards and carpark coupons. The co-ordinator was very considerate tho, when i mentioned abt pre-dinner snacks provided by other hotels, she said she would gave us two sandwiches.(Better than nothing lah!)

I did not go to the bridal fair, but this is all i can share. hope its useful

Hi hi - I'm also holding my banquet at Marina Mandarin.

But actually, if you take the normal package (not the wedding show type) - you are entitled to 2 (FH & you) light dinner from the room service menu + standard qty of free flow beer. And free food tasting only if you commit 50 tables.

anniroc77

I think the normal package for weekdays is $688. But she offered us the promotion for the wedding show (ie $38 off per table) when we called for quotation. Her name is gladys and she is quite flexible.

The coordinator mentioned that MM will gv free flow of beer only for normal package. Since mine is a promotional package, so dun have free flow... only a barrel of 30ltr. Food tasting wise, i committed only 20 odd tables, so must pay 50%.

Hope my clarifications help.

pektl

hi all! i am also looking at MM for my wedding dinner in 2005. can anyone share if it is good? went for the wedding show in Jan and i find the place nice...wondering if i should got for MM...

anyone got any price off the regular package?

peachbloom

my FH and I were given 8% off the $668 nett price at MM because there was a UOB credit card promotion. You can check if there offer is still on. We paid about $615nett per table with the standard list of things in the package.

summer_frez

Hi Huiling,

Just wondering if the price u paid for was for weekend or weekday. Where can I get more infor on the promo?

Pls advise.

Thnx!

peachbloom

It's for a weekday. You can call up Irene at 6845 1235 (she's one of the wedding coordinators at MM) and check with her if the promotion is still on. =)

anniroc77

Hey Huiling,

That's really a good deal man.

Jasmine,

Do call MM and find out the latest promotion. I read from the Bridal magazines that MM is now giving more freebies like.... free rental of LCD projector, free flow of beer, and purchase of red wine at discounted px of $15. Check it out.

judyl

HI Juan,
I think the freebies that u r talking abt are only applicable for wedding banquets held on weekdays b4 31 Dec 2004. I checked with MM and their 2005 pkg will only be out end of this mth, and they refuse to take tentative bkg for nxt yr.

Hi desmond,
there is a wedding exhibition at Suntec from 10-11 Apr, and MM will be there. HB and I will take a look.

summersnow

Hi Desmond,

I'm also intending to book MM for my wedding on 25 Jan 05. Will be going to MM on this Tuesday to see Irene to discuss about the package details.

Can always let you know what is the package they are offering me after that if you like.

summersnow

Hi Judyl,

I've actually made a tentative booking for Jan 05 and they allowed me to do so. Perhaps it is bec it is in January. Which month are you looking at? I do know that some hotels do not allow tentative bookings for March 2005 onwards.

Perhaps you can check it out with them at the wedding exhibition and see they can be more flexible regarding this.

summersnow

Just wondering if any of you have actually opted to change some of the dishes of your menu at MM? Do they allow you to do that? If so, what's the extra cost like?

This is bec of my mum "die die" also wana have the smoked tea duck dish on the menu. Have anyone tried this dish before? Is it nice?

Thanks for all yr help!

72369.gif