Marina Mandarin Singapore

happy_ting

hi blessed,

have forwarded to you.

hi lovie dovie

i have wanted my wedding in jan too.. but mm is too popular... i have booked my package in Feb this year and they only left march 2009 dates available for me (weekend).

happy_ting

hi yongyong

can u share with us what is the current favours available now? when i went in feb, there isnt any glass coaster, only the bear or the chocolates..

starzy

i will take the bears but juz tat its reallie tiny..but cute in a way..
i cant wait to see wat is their new theme next yr..anyone has idea?

blessed1

Thanks Meiting for sharing!

I was just wondering on the point made by your co-ordinator that for weddings held in 2009, the themes may be different.. does that mean we still won't know the actual look of the ballroom until next year, and we'll just have to stick to whatever themes that'll be given in 2009 if we sign up now? Just a little concerned if the themes should turn out to be something totally not to our liking and there's no way to change? Hmmmm...

Hi erushi,

you can either obtain a copy from the concierge or email marina mandarin for the package. I don't actually have soft copies of the package as I obtained my hardcopy from the concierge, else I'd gladly forward it to you. There are quite a few pages of different packages and price listings - I can't remember exactly too as the hardcopy's currently with my HTB. But I do remember prices will increase after September 2009 or somewhere there. Hope this helps!

~sblbee~

i havent choose my favours yet, will b going for my food tasting on aug 11....im thinking of choosing d glass coasters n chocolates, not sure if d magnetic photo frame will b nice....den too bad d bears dun come in a pair....so sad
if want a pair, have to pay extra $ which i dun think it's worth it :p

mrs_tan

hi meiling,
I also like the bears but it does not comes in a pair..so i am tinking of taking coasters too..for the magnetic photo frame,is very plain if photos is not inserted.
which theme u gals are using?

happy_ting

starzy

candlelight theme??? u mean MM now has candlelight theme?? i thought they only have one theme for vanda and one theme for grand ballroom?

are the photo frame and coaster new wedding favours? cos i didnt see these favours in feb when i sign up.

blessed,
yes my co-ordinator did mention to me that this is the current theme for this year, next year theme is not out yet. but i guess maybe now they might already have the new theme out?

~sblbee~

mrs tan,
i shd b using dat grand ballroom theme ba....

starzy n meiting,
hehehe....really got candlelight theme? any pics to share?

starzy

Hi girls, i meant candle light theme as in like below link, the yellow candles by aisle

i feels this is v soft and romantic look. but heard the stage n theme will change next yr

star_diamond

anyone got the printing cards inserts contacts?? cheap and good?? I am planning to print my wedding cards inserts soon, as my wedding on Nov2008. Pls advise.

Thanks....

mary_poppins

I am also Nov BTB. Anyone used the printing company that MM recommends?

Meiling, you use a different printer rite? What is the proportion of red cards and white cards you took from MM?

baylee

Hallo all..

I am also a Nov BTB. Just received their sample invitation cards...Think i will enquire on their pricing on mon before deciding.

The one that they recommend is Kentrich..Anyway is it time to collect the invitation cards now? I havent even ask my friends...dun know how many cards i will need.

~sblbee~

mrs tan,
oh really.....i didnt know dat there's 2 different themes, i must chk wif wendy regarding d selection of theme when i go down for my food tasting nxt mth :p thanks for informing!

wish upon a star,
i printed my inserts at focal ad in ubi, i did hotstamping wif 2 icons....d metal plate is at $80 den 1 icon is $10 (1 was given foc)....d inserts is $0.35 per pc

mary poppins,
i didnt use d printer recommended by MM cos i rcved some feedback frm my jc fren who used them last yr....i used focal ad cos i rcved rather gd feedback frm a few frens who used them...stephen is rather v nice, reliable n fast....i got my inserts done in slightly more than 1 week's time frm d day i met up wif him

i got 30% red cards n 70% white cards cos i got more colleagues n frens, families juz need to give 1 :p i alrdy inserted all d inserts in d cards n started writing d cards for my colleagues...have drafted a guest list, will b sending sms to my frens soon to get their addresses

mrs_tan

Hi meiling,

the serving at the food tasting i had was great..hope u enjoy urs too..
you are sending ur invites by post?

~sblbee~

mrs tan,
glad dat ur food tasting went well
i'll update u gals after i go for my food tasting....
i'll sending some by post n passing most by hand :p have started to write my cards n sent out d sms to inform my frens n get their addresses le :p

lovie_dovie

Hi Meiting,

Sorry for the late reply as i've returned to town. Thanks for sharing info with me about your plight for lack of dates. Guess that we are just too late when deciding to book the venue thus can't find the dates that we like!

Yesterday i went down to MM and book my date! I'm going to be a MM Bride in 2009.(Yeah!)Pity that MM is quite stingy with their perks.. From now on, i will need you people's guidance and advice!!! Thanks alot in advance!

mushroom_ger

Hi all... I'm a MM bride too!!
Having my AD in sept... feeling the jitters... dunno is it what they call... "Pre Marital Blues" *FainTz*

Anyway, Meiling... yeah... U are indeed very right, the printing co. dat MM recommend... indeed is S*** lehs!! Me & HTB lazy to source for others, so went ahead, din have a pleasant experience with them. And now u were saying, urs is $0.35 per inserts? That's even cheaper than the 1 MM recommended!

I had my food tasting earlier this month too, serving was great too. However, recently my sis attended her fren's wedding dinner @ MM too... she said like so-so only wor... for eg, the roasted chicken was fantastic during food serving, but not nice during actual dinner wor... I am getting so worried... =(

~sblbee~

mushroom ger,
same here, im having pre marital blues, worried abt d attendance to meet d min req as i've sent out msges to my frens, but den not v gd wor, got many ppl cant make it due to 1 reason or another

heheheh....yah my fren used them last yr n strongly recommend dat i dun use them so i start to search for my printer last yr le....mine is goldstamping at $0.35 per pc n i collected mine le n sent out my invites b4 7th lunar mth :p
i tried it at 2 wedding shows but d std differs...i suspect dat d roast chicken may not b dat gd if it's served in big qty dat's y i changed to another chicken dish :p

mushroom_ger

Meiling>> Yeah... u having urs @ the Grand Ballroom or the Vanda Ballroom? Mine's @ the Vanda Ballroom... =D

I also intended to send out the invites b4 lunar 7th mth, but till today still haven sent out! =P

Consulted a shifu on my GDL timing & he said it's perfectly ok to do wedding stuff during lunar 7th mth de wor...

~sblbee~

mushroom ger,
mine is at d grand ballroom....i've sent out 60% of my frens n colleagues' invites le, still trying to see i can send out some more today, but i dun care one, will still continue in aug :p
duno leh, my in-laws' side more pantang on tis, i dun care...as if they'll help out if im running short of time, all juz know how to say n say only :p

xiao_qing

I have just gotten a wedding date from my FS master. But the hotel I had in mind was already taken for that day. So now has to look for other alternatives le.

Can any of you kind ladies send me the price list of MM for yr 2009 via PM?

Many Thanks.

~sblbee~

karen,
my fh alrdy ordered d cakes frm choz confectionery, they r nicely packaged n yummy
some btbs ordered frm pine gdns n kyo confectionery too....some simply buy cake vouchers frm bengawan solo :p

edwen

Any idea what is the current favours available at MM? Just gotten the cards to choose. So limited only 2 designs - White & Red.

Appreciate much if anyone can advise what is the type of complimentary wine given by MM? Coz was thinking if to get extra bottles in case not enough.

~sblbee~

hi edwen,
i think d current favours r chocolates, pineapple tarts, bears, magnetic photoframe n glass coaster....
d complimentary wine was eaglehawk wolfblass 2006/7 but it was changed to red door 2004....u can chk wif ur coordinator regarding tis

karenchansecret

meiling, Thanks. you know my MIL wanted back 8 boxes of cake, and later my FIL come to rescue saying 2 boxes enough le. Why my MIL like to waste our money?? and she have sits for my hubby cousin who are working oversea, call to confirm if cuming is v important rite?? you know wat she say? call them very paisei i invite they sure come de.Wat to say? headach headach headach... I really dun want to have alot of empty seats

edwen

Hi Meiling,

Need a favour from you. Can I have the contact details for the printer that you are using, Focal Ad? Can you please also email me pictures of the current themes/favours that MM offers. My email address is [email protected].

Many thanks for your assistance.

~sblbee~

i juz came back frm food tasting.....wah, d food was great, was hoping to hear some negative feedback n critism but den all of them kept on saying dat d food is nice so i'll juz stick to my original menu

karen,
i understand....it's like dat de, i've got ppl who invited me to their weddings n assured me dat they'll come to my wedding but den when i tried to invite them, lotsa excuses lor....sigh, im scared got lotsa empty slots oso....dun have so much $ to cover d loss

edwen,
d website for d printer is http://www.focal-ad.com/
as for d pics, i have them in my multiply, i dun have any pics frm d hotel :p

~sblbee~

kiang,
actually wat they provide us for feedback is rather comprehensive....on d quality, quantity n presentation, juz look out for d temperature of d hot, d taste e.g if it's too oily or salty etc

cho

i'm having my food tasting in sept.. (AD on 1st nov)
i requested for them to change prawns to wasabi prawn dish.. but they say cannot! dun understand leh..

i tot wasabi prawn is q a common dish? does anyone have this problem? i spoke to my coordinator she mentioned coz wasabi prawn not within e alternative dishes n not e chef's speaciality..

edwen

Hi Meiling,

Thanks for your contact. Glad ur food tasting went well. Which menu did u take? All the dishes as per stated in the menu?

Just to check another thing, when MM provide the invitation cards, do they come with the inserts? We'll just do printing on the inserts will do?

~sblbee~

cho,
i dun think wasabi prawns is a signature dish by MM, it's more of tung lok grp's siganture dish :p perhaps it's better to choose sth frm d menu or u asked dat item to b included during ur food tasting n den decide....

hi edwen,
no prob....i changed a few items on d menu so it's slightly different frm d one they stated....
MM will provide d invitation cards wif inserts n envelopes so u juz need to print on d inserts

sleepydopeey

i just received the sample of the wedding cards from MM...so how should i proceed from here?..do we called the mm and let them know how many wedding cards we need then we go down personally to take or the printer side will collect from the MM directly?..n also normally what is the number of cards that we have to order to be on the safer side...pai seh al abit blur on this..=)

mrs_tan

Hi sleepydopeey,

U will have to go down to MM directly to collect ur invites.Do let them knw when u will be dropping by to collect it.usually 70-80% of cards is more than enough,unless u invited a lot of individual guest den family members.

cho

Hi Meiling, thanks for ur reply!
hmm.. i tried to have them include wasabi prawns for food tasting.. but they say it's not possible.. juz feel they r a bit rigid la..

sunny_piggy

Wow it's a pretty active thread here... I'm going for my food tasting soon. Just like to check with you which prawn dish did you choose? Anyone tasted the butter and garlic prawns? Dessert wise I'm torn between the mango sago ice cream and the yam paste... Thanks for your help.

~sblbee~

sunny piggy,
i took d quaker oat prawn aft i tasted d butter n garlic prawn at d wedding show tis yr....found herbal prawns a bit common :p
i like both mango sango ice cream n yam paste but i took yam paste after all my family members gave d go-ahead