Marina Mandarin Singapore

~sblbee~

hi colt 26,
congrats! at ease u can set ur heart at ease after ur AD is over, glad to hear dat eveyrthing went well for u during ur AD, was glad to hear dat d food is ok too cos im having my banquet at d grand ballrm as well...so i guz u must b on ur way to ur honeymoon now...enjoy n hope to hear frm u soon

de_princess

Did anyone used MM's printer for ur invitation cards or your own printers? Just want to check if they are reliable and whether we need to source for other printers. Thanks!

colt_26

thanks all.

i realised one thing. we got so bothered about the theme, songs, table arrangement etc. but i find that on actual day, i didnt even note if everything was done to my specfication. maybe when the photos come out then i will know. :p

~sblbee~

de princess,
im going to use my own printer cos i rcved feedback frm my fren who used MM's printer for his wedding last yr dat it's not v gd n he was really pissed wif d services so he advised me not to take :p
btw, juz rcved news dat MM gona change d brand of d house wine wef 27 may...so i may not take d previous supplier, now d wine is $8+ more ex than d previous one, gona burn a big hole in my pocket, how many bottles u intend to cater?

honeybunny

Hi MM Brides.. i am in the midst of signing my contract. can i just seek advise that the timeline for cancellation / postponement as stated in contract is 6 months prior to wedding?

Appreciate some advise. Cheers

de_princess

Meiling, then how we must change the wine we ordered? But MM didnt mention anything le....

Ya MM's printer attitude I dun really like. Was hesitant to use them.. now that u said no gd i better not! I also sourced Focal Ad previously so may used them too.

~sblbee~

de princess,
yah i sorta asked for a quote for d new brand alrdy after my coordinator informed me....but i heard it's possible to negotiate to use d older brand if ur AD is in jun/jul....so lucky u, d new brand is at least $8 more ex

when i attended my fren's wedding last yr, he discouraged me frm using MM's printer as they have made several mistakes despite constant vetting n chking....my best bet is focal ad but i must find out if MM is gona change their invites b4 i decide to print :p

honeybunny

Hi Meiling & Princess... my wedding in 2009, my coord told me that the house wine currently is Red Door Merlot 2004 (something like that).. is this the red wine you all toking abt?

How much is the market price? any idea.. tried searching on the net, but dun seems to find much info on this wine

~sblbee~

jiaple,
yes Misty Mooring Red NV-Red Door Cabernet Merlot 2004, it's supplied by top wines...for MM couples it's abt $22 excluding gst, a lot more ex than d previous eaglehawk wolfblass

de_princess

Hi Jiaple/ Meiling,

I checked with Topwines previously and the Red Door Cabernet Merlot was recommended as one of the popular choice so should be better

honeybunny

Finally sign my contract already.. now offical MM Bride to be =) Happy

Hey girls.. i called up top wine eariler.. was qouted $32 + GST per bottle.. strange. Anyway for the additional wines that we will be bringing in on top of the comp 1 btl per table, do you think it is neccessary to be the same type? Cos if it is $32.00 per bottle (min order 12 btls) very expensive.

Can i check for those having or had their wedding at Vanda, what is the average wine consumption? How many extra bottles you all bring in?

Meiting: Read that you have pics of themes at Vanda Room, could you kindly email me.. [email protected].. btw who is ur coord at MM?

~sblbee~

de princess,
actually had wanted to save some $ on d wine but den had no choice, have to buy tis new brand n spend more $ instead :p

colt_26

Hi Jiaple,

It depends on whether your wedding is on weekday or weekends. Mine was weekday in grand ballroom and guests only consumed one bottle per table.

i have extra 24 bottles left after the banquet.

necrosis

hi guys,

wondering if any of you know, what kinda format can their audio system play?
there's also a guy in-charge right? so we don't need to arrow one of our helpers to do this dj-ing?

cos i wanna mix some bollywood type songs in with chinese n jazz etc etc....of cos no where on earth has such a CD....so wondering if they can play a 'burnt'cd?

colt_26

hi nec,

there will be a audio man from MM managing the music and video. but have to tell them specifically which one to play 1st and etc.

for music must be in audio file form. you can burn it yourself but must be audio file form. we burnt the cd ourselves as well. they dont accept mp3. for video, we play using dvd.

hope it helps.

honeybunny

Hi Meiting.. thanks for the email, receive it =). I think next year there will be new themes, cant wait to attend next year wedding show to see the setup...

de_princess

I had my food tasting yesterday and overall quite gd. Except that there was this small unplucked chicken feather cooked together with the crispy chicken. Now dunno should take the crispy chicken as I dun find it special. They let us try a small portion of the herbal chicken as there was another couple having food tasting as well.

The yam paste was nice except we all thought the coconut milk was a little too salty... anyone had that encounter before?

honeybunny

Hi De_princess, thanks for sharing. where is the food tasting held? Hmm.. in my opnion, it better to take crispy chicken cos this will cater to the taste of majority of guest. for herbal chicken, maybe not all pple like the herbal taste? Just my opnion.

~sblbee~

de princess,
im gona change my crispy chicken to boneless chicken wif plum sauce n den butter n garlic prawn to herbal prawn :p
wat abt d fish? wat did u get? i tried d yam paste at my fren's wedding n found it ok leh, not salty :p

octo

Hi De_princess,

We tried the crispy chicken during the show. Found it quite normal. Like roasted chicken. But to be fair, we didn't taste it with the salt pepper as I didn't see it.

We are thinking of having the herbal chicken. What do you think of the herbal chicken?

ah_mel

Hey all,

I will have my food tastng on this cuming friday 6/6.. my actual day is on early Sept.. normally the food tasting is 2more advance.

** Anyone know collect the Ang Pao Box from MM?? **

de_princess

Jiaple, the food tasting is held in one of the smaller function room at level 1. My food tasting is actually quite late coz my wedding in Jul but no choice. Will be choosing my favours next wk i'll try to post pics.

Ya I agree not everyone like the herbal taste... even tho i think the herbal chicken is nice too. The roast chicken like those normal chicken rice come to think of it haha.

Meiling, u tried the chicken with plum sauce? Issit those normal deep fried chicken and just some sauce at the side? The fish was fresh so quite ok- think its the soya sauce style.. tasty. We chose the oatmeal prawns- my hb and my bro-in-law were eating all the crumbs! :p

~sblbee~

de princess,
i didnt try dat but will ask for it for my food tasting since i tried d crispy chicken twice n was not really impressed...i think it shd b those deep fried chicken wif sauce beside it :p for d fish, wat type of fish u getting? mine is oso soya sauce style but wana try n get red garoupa cos soon hock n black garoupa considered to b d cheaper fish :p as for d prawns, i tried herbal one n oriental style one, though i heard it's gd but im juz afriad dat oatmeal prawns will b oily n messy, is it dat case?

de_princess

Meiling,

I have no idea what fish is what actually hehe... the menu indicated sea bass and tasted fresh to my PIL so I dun think I will change. I think the herbal prawns is the drunken style which I feel is more messy .. the oatmeal prawns no need use hands. Do u think the chicken with plum sauce will look like those normal lemon chicken?? Like those chai fan stall??

~sblbee~

de princess,
oic, cos my menu is garoupa but i prefer to have red garoupa....see how it goes 1st....i may wana change to oatmeal prawn cos it's recommended by my coordinator but is it oily? i havent seen d chicken wif plum sauce yet so i'll ask to try...

honeybunny

Hi De Princess,

Hee noted.. i ask cos i think my parents & PIL be talking about the GDL things during food tasting.. so better be somewhere private, in case a fight breaks out.. haha

For Fish wise, i think Seabass is in the weekday menu.. and the weekend onces get red garoupa or soon hock cos i think more ex.

de_princess

Hi Meiling,
The oatmeal prawn is not that oily as the crispy chicken. But if I choose both then my menu will have 2 fried items .. will see how too. When's ur food tasting? Btw u have another cousin also MM bride this/next mth also right? I saw the card is the cream n green one... ;p

Jiaple, for me I was quite worried quite awkard for both families also but after the food arrive everyone more relaxed

~sblbee~

de princess,
let me know d selection....i'll only get to select after ur AD, do let me know d feedback ok? my food tasting shd b in jul or aug ba since my AD is in oct....btw, any news of d cards changing design? if not, mayb i can start to print my inserts le :p
oh i got a fren in d same BS holding her wedding banquet in jul....will b attending her wedding n have a 2nd try at d actual food during banquet :p

edwen

I'm a MM BTB.

MY AD is on 2 Dec 08.

Appreciate much if anyone can update me on the themes, favours & housewines.

de_princess

Meiling,
Think i will stick to the crispy chicken and oatmeal prawns. Hehe I just met up wif my coordinator over the weekend. Have chosen my themes and flowers. Not sure abt the cards but mine was the cream one and some red for relative.

yongyong

Hi MM Brides,

Hmm still rem the other time when I asked my coordinator Wendy whether should I changed to herbal chicken, she adviced not to coz Chef Joe's roasted chicken is actually their signature dish.

Oh ya, regarding the invitation cards. So happy that they've changed their design already. Still remember last year we were still complaining abt the new year and hari raya greeting card look alike invitation cards? Thankfully they are gone. My wedding is early Sept so I think one month ago I received the 2 new designs by mail from my coordinator and had a pleasant surprise. Your coordinator will sent you the cards few months b4 ur wedding, dun worry. If you are impatient prob can get them to mail you earlier.