Margaret Brides

brio

hi Palmolive and dec-gal,

I went to MB today. Like wat you hav taught me, I call to book a appt but she said no need and ask me to jus go down. By the time I reached there, she was serving a few customers. And boy! the boutique is really cramp with 9 of us. I have to wait for my turn to try the gown. I picked a really simple gown, no fancy beadswork or embroidery and guess how much it costs??? $280!!!

Though I quite like the gown but I think the price is too steep. Since there are so many ppl in small boutique and 3-4 of us eyeing the changing room. I give up. Quite a unpleasant experience for me. But I must admit she has a wide collection of WG.

vanessa

Hello Brio,

You many want to give Emanuel B. Coture (227 4795)a try. I have just started my search yesterday and found many simple but elegant gowns there. Maybe you may want to bring up your needs and see how they could accommodate.

I was very happy with the services provided yesterday despite not making an appt before hand. Also no hard-sell - very important for me.

Good luck.

brio

hi Vanessa,

Are you saying that Emanual B has "reasonable price" off the rack gowns for sale? I wanted something really simple (minimum beadworks or embriodery). They have it?

vanessa

Hello Brio,

The simple gowns are both for sale and rental. Just thought maybe you would like to give it a try.

They also have some simple evening gowns as well.

Good luck.

palmolive

I was there AGAIN with a friend at 3.30pm to 4.30pm on Sat. Maybe it was so cramp coz too many last min "pop-bys". Anyway, my girlfriend bought 2 wedding gowns for S$180 each. She is SOOOO happy cause she is on a tight buget. One of her gown is a off-white organza bustier with emboidery, other one is ivory spagetti strap duchess satin ball gown. I bought that S$800/- bustier gown with french lace, absolutely NO regrets. Price is a very subjective thing I guess... that is why i went home to think about it ... & went back a few days later.

brio

hi palmolive,

I was there abt 4 plus too. I thot of goin down again but this time, I would probably insist she make an appt for me. I was jus sian tat I hav to make a trip down again. so far way, i stay in Tampines and last sat i had problem locate the place. Was circling in clementi, trying to locate where is Ginza Plaza.

Hi Brio,

You may like to go down on a week day instead. That way, it is likely that there won't be as many people in the boutique as it was on Saturday.

If required, there is a location map of the boutique at http://www.margaretbrides.com. Hope this information will help anyone who will be visiting Margaret Brides for the first time.

palmolive

Brio, I think i might be e one fighting 4 changing room with u!! Hee-hee! Did u come with a friend? I was e one who didn't wanna take off e wedding gown!! & the one who was counting a stack of $50 dollar notes to pay Margaret!

brio

I rem....one of you (cant rem it's you or your fren) who said "I'll go withdraw $$"
heehee...I was with my hubby. You shd have rem us

There is this lady (after you have gone) who kept trying and trying gowns after gowns....so I fed-up hor and left.

hi Chin Leng,
I studied the map and holding the road directory and pointing here and there to my hubby (he's driving). hahaha..we lost our way but managed to find the place after circling ard clementi a few times

I work late for weekdays and sometimes on work on weekends so abit difficult to reach there b4 the closing time. It's abit out of the way

But thanks for providing me the info. As usual, Chin Leng is such a sweet and considerate guy

palmolive

I gave her my ATM card, I stayed & she went yo draw money. I think i remember you too... good luck with your dream dress!

selene

Hello Palmolive,

Just curious, are you getting married soon ? Does it mean that with the gowns, there is no need for a bridal boutique anymore.

Sorry I am still new to this. Did you tie up with any bridal shop ? If yes, can I ask which one ?

Thanks for the advise

palmolive

Selene,
I am getting married next yr... to tell u the truth... this is my 2nd bridal gown... because my package does not allow me to keep my gown... can't tell u my boutique, sorry!

selene

Hello Palmolive,

Sorry for the late reply. But 2 wedding gowns ? I thot ususally the most 1 wedding gown and its the same that appears in the album. At least thats what my fren tells me.

I am confused now. I thot also usually nobody keeps their wedding gown even if its MTM ? I am thinking of keeping my wedding gown actually ? Boo Hoo Hoo - looks like its impossible now.

Also how much is your package - can you tell me and what are included ??

palmolive

Aiya, I feel that u should do what you like. I will wear one gown for photo shoot & on morning of wedding & surprise my husband-to-be with my new bridal gown at church!! Please don't be confused by me because i do things my way... Just make sure it's within budget. I am sure you can keep your MTM gown by paying a few hundred more!My pkge covers almost everything & cost about S$5000/=. You should visit a few boutiques to gage what kinda gown you like & move on from there ok?

just a thot

My 2 cents' worth regarding Margaret's bride... they are unprofessional and rude. I called up to make an appointment bec' the gowns showcased in various magazines looked promising. When there was a problem about the time slot, I was promptly brushed off to call again when I am free even when I was trying to negotiate an available slot with them. I offered Margaret my solution to her time crunch and she got so mad she hung up on me after asking me not to use her. So my advise to other brides out there, use Margaret's bride if you can put up with volatile personalities. I didn't.

kass

i have also heard dreadful feedback from my friend's cousin. Margaret's attitude was so bad that her cousin was so afraid to collect the gown from her and sent her husband to help her collect.

palmolive

Just-a-thot, pls don't start another "war" here. There are many many many Happy "Margaret Brides" out there... if you don't click with her, move on!!

marge

I don't think there should a limit on voicing one's opinion. We should juz refrain from personal attacks and name calling.

Otherwise we should have a rule to juz post happy thots on bridal shops.

Margaret brides should share their opinion openly. I am sure Just-a-thot is a one-of-a-kind case only lah.

brio

hi palmolive,

think your idea of buying another gown and wear it during the church ceremony to surprise your hubby-to-be is such a fabulous idea! I think your hubby-to-be would be very surprised. Clever gal

I think there is no hard and fast rule as to the WG shd be bought. If you have the extra cash and feel like keeping it for sentimental reasons, why not? If you feel that it is such a waste to keep it cos there is no opportunity to wear it again, by all means don't buy it. It's all boils down to what you THINK.

I think, so long as there is any feedback on the subject, it shd be disclose. Be it good or bad. Believing it or not is another matter. Service is a very subjective thing, as the saying goes, one man food mayb another man poison.

observer

HI all

I agree totally..

Opinions whether gd or bad shld be voiced out..
last time I came across another thread abt another bridal shop's customer expressing her experience with her bridal shop..and end up her case is being
"dig" up from the bridal shop with all her bridal package details released, including her real Name!!

end up this lady would have to leave the forum..
I hope tt this forum will supoort more -ve comments and not condemn them.

Hi Observer,

The forum welcomes contributions from all wedding couples. The incident you cited was indeed an unfortunate event. In order to help maintain the person's privacy, the related postings in that topic have been removed.

I think that Palmolive's posting may have been misunderstood. I think she means well and was just afraid that another "war" may result. The forum does have its fair share of postings with good or bad comments. However, as the forum participants increases, there will be people with very diverse personality and many varied responses are to be expected.

However, just like to take this opportunity to remind everyone that it is fine to disagree strongly with opinions and ideas but always with respect for others. Great minds do not always think alike, and that's where the fun is!

palmolive

Tx Chin Leng... It jus amazing how 2 diff people can get 2 completely diff treatment from the same person.. & in this case, Margaret! She was a sweetie pie to me, on the ph as well as in person.. b4 she knew i was serious on buying anything... but i must admit i am quite a PR queen.. My bridal designer (e one i got my pkge) also known in the industry for being a tough cookie with attitude & strong opinion...is super nice 2 me as well!!
.. maybe coz I turn up at fittings with little cakes!!

smile

margaret at ginza plaza is having a sale
the wedding gowns go from $180 dollars
i bought 2 evening gowns for self and sister
each $200
really good buy

but remember additional cost for alteration, veils, gloves, drycleaning. some a bit stained.

queenie

New in this forum, would like to know mre abt Margaret package???Is it X? Me looking for bridal package so need u guys out there for assistance:} thank you

dec_gal

MB 4K package is something like that :-

Tea Dress (MTM)- keep
WG (MTM) - keep
EG (MTM) - keep
Suit and pants (MTM) - keep
2 bouquets + other flowery stuff
car deco
(no car provided)
1 trial makeup
1 photography makeup
2 wedding day makeup (day and evening)

The package doesn't include photography. However, She has tied up with 8 photographers and 1 of whom is Benny Ang.

If you choose to take BA, then it cost $1300 which includes 20 pcs, 8" x 12" (super 8R) & a tabletop.

I don't know if it is exactly correct, but this is what I remembers.

guess guess

Hello Palmolive,

Just a guess, is your wedding boutique Bridal Veil ?? From my other colleagues feedback, Michele fits the bill. If its true, why do you still buy wedding gown from MB ?? Is your wedding gown not nice ???

palmolive

Because i wanted to surprise my husband-to-be with a different looking gown when i walk down the aisle!
Because i felt like spending that day!
Because MB gown is a Ivory Duchess Satin French Lace gown, very diff from my original gown which is White-white & puffy ball gown, diff silhoutte.. etc...

Just like to let everyone know that the sale at Margaret Brides has ended.

happy

just want to let you know that my friend had her gowns done at margaret brides and her photos i think by Benny Ang (am not really sure if its him or someone else but according to my friend, she says the photographer she had is magaret's boyfriend) and she looked fantastic!! but she is very pretty in real life. her photos are on the MB website under photos section.
however, i myself signed up with charis.

spring

hi, i've just seen margaret's brides webpage. i think the designs of the gowns shown are pretty good. is it really as good as it's?

currently, i'm shortlisting bridal shops. on my lists are those mainly in town area. margaret brides is the first one out of town which i set eyes on. appreciate if you all could share with me your opinions and experience with MB.

dec_gal

Hi spring

I am a satisfied bride of MB... My wedding will be this Dec.

Basically, so far, most friends comment that Margaret hv designed a really beautiful wedding gown, and also a unique piece of evening gown for me.

I find Magaret very easy to talk to..
So far, she is very accomodative to my needs.....However, there are also ppl who find her quite snoobish.

So it really depends on each individual, whether u are comfortable with the designer.. Most impt is you hv to meet her to find out for yourself how comfortable u r with her... Do you like her style of gowns, etc.

Hope my comments are useful... Happy searching for ur bridal package. All the best

customer

Because of my work, i remember i cancelled twice the appointment with Margaret. Remember the second time i though she will scream at me but instead she still jokingly said something like :"of course remember u lah, still cannot come ha, yr boss so bad ha, let me talk to him!"

So i've a very different but good experience with Margaret. I am of course her customer now, very please with her service till now.

I believe there must be a reason for everything to happen, i am a customer & can complain or explain, but not for designers esp. Margaret who may not be at fault. We only read to guess but nobody actually know what happened!

Margaret may have an attitude, (trust me, before i sign up with her, i've seen the worse in this wedding industry) but as long as she is a fair person & knows what she is doing, i respect that!

monica

Hi Michiko,
When is your wedding? I've noticed that you have asked almost every boutique which photographers tie up with them. Just wondering, wouldn't it be easier if you list out the photographers that you are interested in and the style of gown that you are interested in and see what result u get from there? As most brides beginning of preparation can be a very lost period. Have u looked thru any bridal mags yet? Maybe if you shared some information on your preference we can help you better? : ) Good luck!!

michiko

hi monica thanks.

my wedding is in 2003.

i've not really shortlisted any boutique yet but i did striked off some from my list already. more interested in boutiques in town (esp those big names).

as for photographers, i've a list too like chris, andrew, d'fia, o studio and available lite.

i was thinking that i should first seriously consider those boutiques which are tied up with the photographers i'm interested.

then if none of these boutiques could satisfy me, then i'll go ala carte.

asking the same question on separate thread is because brides of a particular boutique takes more notice of the thread with their boutique's name.

crackle

Hi !

But then.. if you look back at the previous postings... the information on which photographers are tied up with that particular boutique will surly be mentioned, right?

crackle

Yar I know... how you feel... been there and done that.. it was a strain but you learnt a lot from reading the previous postings... :p

monica

Hi Michiko,
In that case u may want to check out Bridal Veil, Kai Bridal Couture, Margaret brides, Dang Bridal,
Milan, Kevin Seah Artelier......
U may want to take a look at this few first. They tie up with one of those photographers u mentioned. Maybe visit this few first then u can have a better idea what style suit you and who u can click with better. Do take a look at Utopia too. Their photographs are rather unique and vibrant.

michiko

hi thanks for all ur advice and encouragement.

oh yes, i'm interested in utopia too. but seldom see any boutiques tied up with them.

crackle

Flamingo, Emanuel B, Wedding Present, Charis Couture, Lezen Creations, The Allure and Ted Wu are tied up with Utopia Photography. There may be others as well... but these are the ones I know... hope it helps.

crackle

I guess.. it takes effort to do your study, research, chat with the gals from this forum and roughly know what kind of gown and style you are after. Go through the local bridal mags here.. your wedding is in 2003.. still long way away...I guess you need to go through some of the previous postings posted by other brides and bridestobe on their experiences. Shortlist a few and then start your search from there.... sometimes to get your dream gown and photos, you need to make the effort. And gets lots of advise from your frens or the gals here.

cat13

Hi michiko,

I think Utopia also tied up with Bridal Veil. Guess he's the only photographer who has so many choices of bridal shop. Good luck in ur findings.

Crackle, u r really a gd student.
Can score A liao for the research u hv done.

sheer

Hi to All MB Brides and Brides-to-be

I¡¦m a bride of MB. I¡¦ve heard so much about MB in this forum and other forum and finally I¡¦ve got personal experience with her to prove what has been said about her. Basically, relationship with designer is very personal despite who u worked with. It really depends on your personalities and luck. If u click, that¡¦s a blessing and it¡¦ll make your preparations a pleasant one, if not, it¡¦ll just add on to your stress level.

I guess I¡¦m just one of the very unfortunate bride who didn¡¦t have a really pleasant encounter with MB. Comments here are very subjective, it¡¦s only for reference for those who are keen to know so that u know what to expect when dealing with her.

1) MB couldn't deliver my evening gown during my first fitting (after a long long wait). I only found out when I've traveled all the way to the shop. So always ask her what's ready for fitting before you travel there (especially brides who are staying faraway from her shop. it was a long journey for me, more than 1/2hr drive.)

2) I've made some alterations for my EG. MB only told me she couldn't get hold of the material of the gown for alterations on the day of my fittings!! So call her way in advance to confirm that she is able to deliver any alterations

3) I've requested a quotation of the alterations of my EG before she proceed with any alterations. I've waited and waited, called her several times to ask for the quotations, and finally she told me not to call her but she'll call me. Unfortunately, she never did and proceeded with the alterations without informing me of the quotes. On the day of fitting, when she asked me how much did she quote me over the phone and I told her she never did. Even though I didn't argue with her since she has already altered the dress and I'll pay her whatever it cost, she INSISTED that I accused her of not quoting me!! (from this, I reckoned she's one who pushed away responsibilities and not willing to accept mistakes that she made) I didn't want to fight over it, since it was a happy occasion for my hubby and myself. So be very careful if u do ask for alterations. Be insistence about obtaining the quotes and don't feel bad about reminding her over and over again. 'coz the alterations charge was quite steep as I could have bought a new dress from Alan Chai.

4) I've requested for a change of makeup artiste for my actual day (after the trial and photoshoot). MB told me the refund would only be about $80. When I spoke to some very popular makeup artistes in the industry, they were shocked! They told me even shops in IMM would refund about $200 or more and $80 wouldn't even be sufficient to pay for my trial makeup. So what they have suggested to me is continue to use her makeup artiste for actual day, but use her for my mum and bridesmaids! That will make my $80 more worth than the refund and re-engage another makeup artiste for myself instead! But at the end I decided not to, as it's MB not being professional and not the makeup artiste. So my advice is if u are not satisfied with the makeup artiste during trial makeup session, don't be shy to tell her to change. Else u will run into such problems later on.

5) Well, the most disastrous among all was that the front seams of my wedding gown burst during my cocktail reception on my wedding day! It was really embarrassing. On the next day, when my mum tried to tell her about what happened to the dress on my wedding day, she screamed at my mum saying that I¡¦ve put on sooo much weight that the dress burst! It has nothing to do with her poor workmanship! Wow, how polite of her!

When I returned her the gown, to my surprise she didn¡¦t offer to compensate or apologize for the embarrassment she has caused me during my wedding, instead demanded me to pay for the alterations!!! This is absurd!

I won¡¦t deny that MB has a good seamstress behind the scene. But it¡¦s not worth dealing with a person who has an attitude problem (even some famous makeup artiste in the industry agrees to it), forgetful, eccentric, afraid of admitting mistakes. The fact is, the main stress of my preparations were from her.

Thank god, my wedding is over, not because I didn¡¦t enjoy the process of preparations or my wedding day but because I do not have to deal with the Margaret anymore.

These are some of the things u could look out for so that u won't run into the same problems as me. So that you'll have a smoother ride with MB.

Having gone through the whole process, I will be glad to provide any advice on anything that I could.

Sheer

koh

Hi there ,

We are currently with Margaret's bride (MB) designing our wedding outfits. We have been 'conned' of S$3000/= from another bridalshop which gave a very sub-standard level of gown design.

Prior to our transfer to MB ,Margaret gave us hours of her undivided attention to listen and to advise WITHOUT EVER SUGGESTING THAT WE SIGN UP HER PACKAGE (Margaret at that point in time knew that we had paid up the S$3k already).

We got to know Margaret well and came to experience a very satisfactory level of personal attention and service.

Our gown is going into the tailoring stage and every trip to MB is something we look forward to despite the 'distance'(more than half an hour drive)

We are in total disbelief when we read about how nasty Margaret has been or the sub-standard level of service she provides....we seriously doubt the source and we question the integrity of the person writing the mail.

PROOF (What we experience and saw):
1)One year ago I went with my good friend to collect her gowns from MB & yet a year later Margaret still remembers my name. Is she forgetful then?

2) We witness a bride with her "Ah Beng" gang returning her torn WG after her actual day. After close inspection, we realised that the torn was due to misuse. Out of goodwill, Margaret did not insist that the bride pays the small fee of S$80. (the seamstress @ MB told Margaret that the tear can be mended) We also realised that the couple did not pay the last 10% payment of the package before the wedding itself. Margaret was again kind enough to let this incident pass.

After what Margaret has done for this couple , they still turn and wrote nasty comments targeting at this nice, dedicated and bubbly young lady.

We rest our case. Gerry & hubby.

lam

Dear Gerry,

I've read the comments in this forum and feel that since its an open forum, we are free to express our feelings and views here, right?

It's certainly not nice of you to "doubt the source and question the integrity of person writing this mail".

Everyone has their own experience and they have the right to share it in this forum. I suppose Sheer had encounter some bad experience and I trust that she's not some competitors trying to tarnish Margaret Brides's reputation. Sharing is not a Sin.

Please don't pass comments about others,alright?

Lam

kelle

Gerry

Seems like you are implying that the bride and the ¡¥Ah Beng¡¦ gang that you¡¦ve witnessed is Sheer. But what makes you so sure that Sheer is the only bride who has experienced torn gown from MB¡¦s poor workmanship and the unprofessional service rendered?

If Margaret has experienced gang threaten and that the couple refused to pay up the final 10% payment, I suggest that she takes legal action against them and shouldn¡¦t let the matter rests so easily.

I totally agree with Lam that this is an open forum for everyone to share their experiences and views. Ultimate decisions are still up to the viewers.

Gerry, I do not know why are u so defensive for MB as you¡¦re only one of MB¡¦s brides (or perhaps a luckier one). Since you¡¦ve been conned for $3K by another shop, when Margaret learned about it, did she give you a super good discount for her package? Remembering your name after a year doesn¡¦t proof much about her professionalism. If a person has some significance on her face or body, I would also remember her name after many years.

In fact, MB is one of the shop that I¡¦ve shortlisted but now I guess I¡¦ve to think twice as I do not want to go through the same stress as Sheer had and at the end of it, still being accused of being so FAT that caused the gown to be torn!

knowing

my best friend signed up with MB & she wasn't pleased with her services. my fren felt that margaret had imposed her designs on her and margaret had also made her own decision to use a certain fabric and color without consulting my friend & when my friend said she didn't like it, margaret insisted that it was too late to change. she then tried to "sweet-talk" (hard sell) her into accepting the design & fabric and my friend seeing that it's all too late, grudingly accepted it! another thing to add, i've seen many of MB gowns and all i can say is that - she lacks fresh ideas! all her gowns are so similar in cut and design...also, the designs are SO SIMPLE! i wonder if minimalist is just an excuse? all i see is the same design and material for most gowns and she just adds some handmade swaroski crystal chains!