Marble Flooring

gcm_rukawa11

Hi, am new to this forum... will appreciate if I can get any help here...

My unit is in this enbloc selection and hopefully I can get the keys around Nov or Dec....

Am planning to use Marble for the living and dining area. Have sourced from Soon Bee Huat and Goh Teck Wah.. but still cannot decide what to get cos I cannot visualize the whole floor with the model I choose.... any home owners here used marble flooring??

Will appreciate if you could share with me ur experience or if possible post the pics ;p...

Looking for cream, beige, or white flooring....
Btw who uses crema marfil before

gcm_rukawa11

finally got my marble flooring... already laid and polished..... Just went viewing but was shock to be able to see white cements between the tiles in some areas.. siao dunno wat to do now... any adviced?

kelbin

Hi Goh,

This is natural to see white cement at the tiles. The lines should be fine thin lines. As times goes by, the line will turn abit yellowish or greyish to match your marble tiles.

kuwie

Hi, just to check for marble floorings, especially after years they are prone to scratches and will become dull as well.

Is it that its a must to engage ppl/contractors from outside to do the polish(with the grinding machine we usually seen in shopping centres)?

Is there anyway we can maintain/polish the floorings ourselve?

I think better leave it to the professionals to do it. My col DIY and the end result was patches here and there. In the end, still had to pay $ to get the contractor to do it

kuwie

ya.. but heard after the polishing, the gloss will stay for another 5 years, but definitely scratches will appear, very soon, caused by furnitures etc.

seems like there's nothing much can do to maintain the floorings other then mopping. If thats is the case, might as well stay to homo tiles? ;) which can last a mile(dun have to worry for blurish surface in years to come)

after polishing would look nice but of course got to take care like not pushing furnitures around. Mable would add value to your valuation when u intend to sell your place as compared to homo tiles. In fact, homo tiles especially those glossy ones, would look dull over time and dirts would be more visible and also not forgeting the irritating grout lines that would become black over time. If I got the $, I'll hack my homo tiles and opt for either marble or granite or even ceramic.

kuwie

hi Sunnyday, yes you are right, gotta take care not to push the furnitures around but sometimes, folks at home just can't be careful enough.. ha
anyway, agree to what you have said, will add value if i intend to sell, but heard wont be much anyway..

Yup, you just reminded me of the grout lines, trapping dirts and gets dull over time which i used to when i was staying at my previous house.

Hee... if we got the MONEY.. we just dun care that much...just keep on moving house when getting tired with the surroundings..

babyk

My previous house has marble flooring. When my son was very young, he spilled some Yakult on the marble floor. It took me less than 2 min to notice & rush to get a cloth & wipe it away. The stain was 'permanent' for many years. So be careful not to spill coloured liquid/drinks on your marble floor!

hmvchmvc

i intend to use cultured marble. Conrad Singapore uses cultured marble and I been staying there once in a while over 3 yrs. The vanity top in washroom still looks great.

any pros and cons?

sangay

if you have marble flooring (as compared to having ceramic or homogeneous tiles),
be prepared to have noisier bedrooms (no matter how solid your doors are).
That was the advice given to me by the boss of a popular door supplier company.