Mandarin Oriental Singapore

babyjwpw

Hi Stanley,
Tried... the best she can accord is 2 barrels of beers.

Do you think 2 barrels are enough for lunch?

Going to try again before signing the contract.

stanknight

actually nowadays not much people like beer. some much during lunch.. how many tables you have? Did she say one barrel how many litres? some is 20L some is 30L..

20L is about 65 glasses and 30L is about 90 glasses. You can use this as a rough gauge..

chloe_qy

Stan, yup everything works well, just that atrium suites projector is portable one, not mounted on the ceiling so find it quite funny. Haha!

stanknight

Chloe,

Nice to hear everything went well! The projector is the one which they states in the perks as "LCD Projector"?

So how they mounted it? on a portable stand/table?

stanknight

Offical MO! just signed yesterday..

The perks offer to us were quite good considering the no of tables we have..

btw saw 2 weddings at MO yesterday. looks nice..

chloe_qy

stan, congrats! and welcome to be one of us here. hehe.

the projector is portable, they will place it on a table. i'm referring to atrium suite here. if u r taking the ballroom, then it's mounted on the ceiling.

poorthing

for those who tking lunch, do u have free food tasting? i try to ask eve to but she say her manager nt approved. so thinking shld we still go for it though we gotto pay or jus save the money for other stuffs.

chloe_qy

poorthing, i had my dinner @ Atrium, which does not have food tasting in the package as well. i did not top up for it cos both hubby & myself feels confident in MO's food and Eve also assured us that actually we can save up the $.

on the AD, it turns out really well. all my guests compliments that they had the best banquet dinner in town! so, maybe u can save up the food tasting $$ as well.

stanknight

Poorthing, nope no free food tasting for lunch or dinner for tables less than 35 i think.

But dun worry, latest feedback from Chloe as stated that the food is good! so save your money for something else.

Chloe, how was ur AD? any photos to share?

chloe_qy

yup will post when i got the photos, will be getting it from my PG this weekend. and i will post it next weekend, cos i am going for business trip the next whole week.

phantazia

is this the mandaring oriental we're tokin abt? I am keen to take up their imeprial ballroom of 15tables. However, not sure if the food is from the restaurant or hotel itself. Not sure if the food is nice. Anyone here willing to share their package deals wif me? I dunno what to bargain for.

tingting22

We are looking at having our dinner at the Atrium suites, but we are alil hesitant about signing as we find the layout of the Atrium suites to be too long and narrow.

Any kind souls out there who would like to show us how the atrium suites look like on a real wedding? We do not have time to wait till the next wedding at atrium suites as the coordinator wants me to confirm within 2 working days

My email is [email protected] if you wish to email me the photos.

ashriel

I'm new here and I'm wondering if I can get a bit of help here from all of you...

I'm keen to find out more about the Mandarin Oriental package for both the garden or atrium suite... wondering what perks you ladies managed to bargain for..

Many thanks in advance for your help!

hyoriqing, I was quoted $888++ for 7-course wedding lunch in 2012. The perks offered aren't great though, will have to do some bargaining! Hope that helps!

taurusgal

hi btbs...seems like some of u signed during the recent wedding show?? So sad i missed it!!
And my coordinator was sandy....just learnt that she has left!! Besides Bethany, any other gd coordinators to recommend?
Just want to confirm that the perks at wedding show are usually for weddings held from jan to june each year? thats what another coordinator told me...
Can share what are the usual perks given in the package and what can we negotiate for? Some hotels are flexi in the perks while some arent...
I havent book yet still deciding!
Will be doing a dinner for Nov 2012...
The next wedding show will be end of the year i tink...

taurusgal

sorry anyone seen the suite as well? forgot to add im looking at the bigger ballroom (for min 35 to max 40 tables) at lobby level...
i am just worried that if i max out 40 tables it will be too cramped? march-in also affected? short march-in?

lokiewedslydia

Hiya ladies

Can u share Bethany email address? Im an oct bride and sandy was my coor. But she has left and the no. She gave mi to contact bethany always go unanswered

Hope to speak to her soon!

xinhui

Hi Jaslyn,

I am a NOV 2012 btb as well. My coordinator is Eve and I have already signed up with them. Honestly, u didnt miss much during the recent wedding show as they were hvg a $50 discount/table, i think but it is only applicable for weddings up till Mar 2012. Btw, ur also on the Nov 2012 thread as well right?

taurusgal

Hi what you mean by nov 2012 thread?? You mean at sg brides as well??
Yeah I called up the hotel and found out that Bethany is on leave till aug! So I met up with eve to discuss.
If you can't find anyone jus call hotel general line they will transfer. There's another person called sheena.
Btw their wedding favors quite normal ya?? Only 4 to choose from and all so common.
Can share what perks are given? Standard as per package? 1 barrel beer ( realised it's 22litres and not 30... Enough??)
Waiver of corkage for wine and hard liq?? Seems lik can't get anything extra...

I am new here too. My planner is Bethany and she was highly recommended by a few of our common friends whose weddings were planned by her. We had signed up with MO just before she went for a major surgery on June 20th. She will be back perhaps in early August. So Jaslyn and Lydia that explains as she needs time to recuperate. Well, you can contact the other planner Eve or their coordinator Sheena too in any case.

Btw, do you ladies have any videographers to recommend? I am still contemplating on whether to hire a videographer.
Any of you will be engaging a band too?

xinhui

Hi Jaslyn,

Yup..as in sg brides 2012 thread.They have a new wedding favor. A wine stopper which i think is quite nice. Is urs a dinner too? I manage to get free flow of beer n waiver for wine n hard liquor...

taurusgal

Oh I din manage to get free flow beer leh mines fri dinner. Only waiver corkage of wine n hard liq dunno if can negotiate... Anyway may have a prob with the tables cos max only ard 38 tables and my HTB jus told me his side may need more tables so total at least 40. Plus yes I'm engaging a band too so I dun wan too cramped... If only oriental ballroom is bigger!!! I really love it!!!

xinhui

Jaslyn,

Hv u signed the contract yet? If not, try to negotiate for free flow of beer. Shouldn't be much of a problem. My friend also got free flow of beer for her weekend dinner. At least 40 tables, they might put the stage in the middle. Same entrance but the march in ll be much shorter.

taurusgal

Hi xinhui when is ur big day?
Any other perks tat are given and can be asked for?
Sigh 40 tables walk in centre of the fan shaped ballroom super short leh!!! Lik walk a few steps reach aredy haha
But I really love their ballroom the chandeliers and lighting look so nice and I think their food n service gd also right? Isit 1 staff ratio to 1 table?
Btw any comments on the bridal suite? Isit nice??

xinhui

Jaslyn,

My big day is 19 Nov' 12. Whn is urs? With 40 tables, i think u cn negotiate for alot more. The usual ll be more parking coupons, wedding invites, free flow of beer & waiver of cockage.
Which theme r u taking?I hv been to their banquet before n I think the food is good. Went to their bridal suite before. Nothing v impressive. No view frm e room either...

taurusgal

hi xinhui,
mine's on 2 Nov 2012...hehe slightly before yours.
ya man i will have at least 38-40 tables but i really do not wish to walk from the middle the super short march-in...see how later hopefully some guests cant turn up? haha...

btw i cant find this nov 2012 thread here that u are talking abt? only have dec 2012 thread..

ya i know she did say the other suites have view of the singapore flyer but the bridal suite no..
but she said its very big leh tats whats impt to me haha.
btw did u get any day use room for helpers? think only provided for sat and sun dinner package.

are u doing your ROM together on same day as well?

im not sure which theme i like. there's 5 right?
i only dont like the chinese red theme. too shanghai night for me.
the rest are beautiful!! esp the pink/black theme like tiffany but pink/black instead of blue/white!!
any idea when their next wedding show? i will sign first but wana go to see their setup...

xinhui

Hi Jaslyn,

It's under "A Meeting Place For All Brides". U ll see (2011/11) Nov 2011 BTB.

That was what I was told too. Bridal suite ll be bigger but no view. A day sue room was actually provided frm 2-8pm as I was intending to do my ROM on the same day. But if we can get my keys to our pla frm HDB earlier, we might hv to do our ROM earlier as well which is why I bargained for a deluxe rm stay instead. I think wif ur 40 tables, u shld be able to do tt as well. (dun quote my name though :p)

Im gonna choose the love theme. Cos it ll go wif my gown. U cn actually check w ur coordinator if there are any weddings cmg up cos she cn actually show u how the setup looks like before the wedding commerce.

chocolatebasket

Michelle - what happened to bethany?

Jaslyn - my wedding will be on a friday and I have free flow of beer.
You should receive Corkage waiver as well for duty paid wines.

kelvinpang78

Hi brides-to-be,

I'm going to be a groom next July and am considering Mandarin Oriental because of the reviews in here and other forums too.

As i'm based overseas, i've missed the wedding showing in April, can any kind soul send me an email with the perks they got? So far the perks i gathered here are free flow of beers, corkage waiver. My email is [email protected]

Thanks very much!

lovehappiness

hi all! this is my first post on sgbrides.. am considering on signing with Mandarin Oriental... Atrium Suites. Really love the themes,overall feel of the hotel and the food. However after checking up on an actual day setup at the suite, I feel that the Atrium suite seems more like a function room and lack the grand feel of a ballroom... Now I am conflicted and cannot decide if I should go with Oriental or with Goodwood Park, Tudor Ballroom... can anyone who had their wedding or going to have their wedding at the Atrium Suite kindly advise? Is there any way we can dress up the place? OR install lightings? or such? Thanks in advance!!

Hi chocolate basket,

Sorry been away for a biz trip. Thanks for the link. I looked through the directory but didn't know which one is good. Shall ask around (,").

Will you be doing an overseas photoshoot or local? I have seen those Europe bridal shots and really lovely.

poorthing

This thread seems quiet.. Anybody signed during the recent wedding show?? Maybe we can discuss abt the theme n food.. Share with us what theme n wat food u choose..
Me n my fh prefer the sweetheart theme n the dazzal theme.. Dunno which to choose. For the food, we've attended a fren's wedd 2wks ago, their codfish very nice. The chillie crab n bun is so so only