Mandarin Oriental Singapore

i_c_e

Clar clar-- You've got mail

Kentia == yup..i been checking prices until i m fed up coz all are above 2k even if i mix n match freelances. I have a PG who wanan charge $600+ without prints for 10 hours. he is pretty good la, but dont do VG. n i think VG will cost at least another $1k? The package i think is a promotion till end March. not for those who signed up with BS coz i mentioned tat i signed n they din gv me special price. I tried to research forum for comments on them. Apparently they say the good one is their chief photographer, Jaki, who is doing my pre wedding shoots. But if he were to do the AD, it wun be $1.2k. but i reckon, these days with technology, how bad can the AD photos turn up? it's pretty idiot proof with the digi cam...errr..right?i saw their website for AD photos...they are pretty decent though i've seen better la..

My PS is in June. haven't fix date yet coz hub is always overseas. Gonna meet up with my designer on sunday to get my MTM started. I signed with Chim culture. nice little cozy place. Dont like those big establishment...always read bad stuff abt. two visits to Chim n he made me feel comfortable. let's cross our fingers together!

ice99

hi ice,
I am also looking for AD and VG. could you email me the details too

hi kentia,

don worry too much, every BS got good and bad comments. Don let it affect you. you should enjoy the process of the gown making and selection. cheers ya!

cheryl_c

hey ladies,

sorry was away for holiday so wasn't around this past week.

kentia, I m going in JB for BS cos its soooo much more resonably priced compared to singapore BS..... all my gfs spend at least 5k and above for their photos :eek:

1.2k is very cheap for VG and PG but must ask them what exactly is in their package cos some will keep adding $$ for additional finishing etc...

Rem to ask for recent wedding shoots from them
cheers!!

kentia

morning ladies

hi ice, same here, I quite like Kelvin Koh but don't know whether to spend so much on PG anot. Its pretty idiot proof with digicam but diff PG has got diff styles when they take pics so effects come out differently

So exciting! Got any gown designs in mind?

Its better to get a BS u r comfortable with rather than go with one that's well known

hi geraldine, thanks
just kinda worried cos its like 80% bad reviews and only 20% good one.. =/

hi cheryl, yah.. everything is SG is ex
how much are u paying for your JB BS? Its a good idea actually... then u'll have different backgrounds (no sentosa/esplanade/botanical gardens) Won't it be quite tedious to shuffle to n fro when you are going for fittings?

bluefairy

How are all your preps? Me now still sourcing for BS, AD, VG.. lolz.. lots of things to do..

Oh, anyway, Gong xi fa cai! been ages since i came here... lolz

ice99

hi ice, thanks for the mail. will check them out soon

hi Lyn, when is your AD? me still got AD photographer and soleminiser

cheryl_c

Hey ladies, just a piece of my thoughts...

Actually a wedding in once in a lifetime and once its over, what you have is just photos an videos of the things you seen or missed on that day.... so tot its important to get someone good to capture all this moments for you right??

Kentia, I signed up with perfect weddings in taman sentosa, JB. knew their reviews here weren't good but both my sis and gf's photos turn out beautifully by them and service was also very good.... my package is about S$2000 and yes its a hassle to shuttle in and out on jb but there's a price for everything right??

cheryl_c

kentia,

Can't really remember the details but shd have the following...

2 poster (1 big, 1 medium)
2 alblums (20pages each)
photo shoot with 7 outfits
1 wedding gown , 1 evening gown and 1 tea gown for AD
wedding car deco
wedding bouquet and corsages
1 wedding photo montage dvd

That's all i rem 4 now :p

meiji_babe

Hi Cheryl,

Thanks for sharing your package. Seems like you got yourself a good deal ya.

Would like to check with you on the following :
-The 2 albums what are the sizes?

photo shoot with 7 outfits
- Outdoor? or Outdoor & studio?

- Does it include actual day photography and make up artist? do you have any recommendations?

Sorry to ask you so many questions.

Thanks gal

cheryl_c

hi kentia

That's the advantage of taking frm JB BS. They are very ez to negiotiate....

Snoop,

The size of my wedding albums are a big and a medium agot the exact size....

6 oufits are for studio, 1 for outdoor.

nope it doesn't includes actual photography and make up. I'm also looking for these myself....

girl_next_door

Hi all btb,

Just wanna share my view on Oriental. Went to see the rooms today. Saw the garden suite and love it very much, I like the big reception / cocktail area and the long aisle for march in. The garden is great for after dinner stroll and for guest to mingle too. The pool side is also a good location for outdoor wedding dinner or solemnization cos the view is great at night.

Almost wanted to confirm the place but we went to ritz carlton after that cos we made an appt with them. Was won over by the function room and the package. We will be most probably be signing up with Ritz Carlton and will be taking the chihuly room on 3rd level. One side of the room is for solemnization with church style seatings. After the solemnization, guest can proceed to the other side of the room and have sit-down dinner.

Ours is a small wedding cum solemnization dinner of about 5 or 6 tables so I wasnt expecting any perks like free hotel stay but Ritz Carlton give us free hotel stay in their junior suite and they are the only hotel that comes with this perk. My FH was also won over by their efficiency. The rest of the package is great too.

Both Oriental and Ritz Carlton is my fav choice, anyone have wedding experience to share with either one of the hotel?

cheryl_c

Hi GND,

Congrats on finding the perfect place for your wedding. The ambience at Ritz is quite good but from what I rem from my company's DND at Ritz, the food wasn't very good. The food at Oriental is defintely better plus service staff is more attentive
any its just a personal preference......

meiji_babe

Hi Cheryl

Sorry for the late reply. Been rather busy lately. Thank u so much for the info given.

I went down to JB last weekend and I have signed up with Inspirations. I was really impressed by their service and gowns.

Could you advise me once u have found your actual day photographer?

Thanks gal..

cheryl_c

Hahaha snoop I am also looking around. Its a major headache cos I want someone thats good but not too much over budget as well..... Seems like everyone good is very expensive nowadays.....

prisbaby86

hi brides.. like to check with those brides who had hold their weddings in Oriental Singapore... In totel how much did you all pay for tables 20 and above?

necrosis

hi ladies...

so many good reviews on oriental....plus,
the garden suite looks heavenly ....so this is definitely short listed...
would really appreciate if kentia or any other oriental brides could send me their package details...

thanks,

cheryl_c

hi cutecat and nec

welcome to the thread.

If you had seen my earlier posting, there is a price and perks given by oriental.....

ahbao114jp

After the initial rush to find a location, i've now slowed down my wedding prep after paying the deposit. Yes! I'm taking Garden suite at Oriental for March 2008. 10 tables only, buffet dinner style. Will be checking out the actual set-up over the next 3 weeks....
Now need to find BS, PG, VG....a bit lazy now... hehehe...
How's your prep coming along?

catmomo

ya lor..
i have confirmed the church and banquet place.
now only left Bridal boutique and buffet caterer for church wedding. Am looking around but will not "take action" until around june.
seem like nth much else to do leh..

cheryl_c

Congrats ahbao114,

As for me, had ardi booked BS... So now I am looking around for VG, PG and MUA... Got a few in mind ardi but haven't mit up with them yet....

Have ardi booked my Si Dian Jin as well.... Think I'm a little kiasu... hahaha

ahbao114jp

I've a BS in mind but yet to discuss further with them. As for VG/PG, got a few quotations, but the price range is so wide, i'm not sure which ones to shortlist for discussion.

"Si Dian Jin"? That's to be given by which side ah? I'm quite hopeless in knowledge of wedding customs. And becoz FH is a Japanese, also duno which country's customs to follow! hehehe

Think I'll nuah until April....coz I'd go to the Blissful Wedding show to look-see first, then start the "engine" again for wedding prep (^-^)

kentia

I've just booked my PG and pre-wedding videographer. Love their works, you can check them out at Yang (videographer) www.substancefilms.com and Kelvin Koh (PG) www.lightedpixels.com if you are looking for PG & VG.

And I've the list of dates from Oriental where they are holding the different themes wedding. Can go down to check out the themes if you are keen

- 24 March : LOVE (dinner) – The Oriental Ballroom Lobby Level

- 24 March - XI (dinner) – Atrium Suites Lobby Level

- 31 March - Theme To Be Advised (dinner) – The Oriental Ballroom Lobby Level

- 31 March - XI (dinner) – Atrium Suites Lobby Level

- 31 March – DREAM (dinner) - Garden Suite 5th Level

- 1 April - Garden (lunch) - Garden Suite 5th Level

ahbao114jp

thanks Kentia
That's very helpful info! i'm going to the 1 April one to see even tho it's a lunch coz i wana see how they set-up the place for Garden suite. Dream theme my parents sure dun approve, so no point.

According to my coordinator, best time to view is 6-6.30 for dinner, 11.15-11.30 for lunch.

haha...think will meet many of u there to see set-up?

kentia

Don't mention :D

I'm keen on seeing the Dream theme at the Oriental Ballroom cos' that's where my banquet will be so I will have to wait till they have a Dream theme in the ballroom. I hope the overall effects won't be too dark cos we really like the Dream theme...

cheryl_c

Hi kentia,

Same here, I'm keen on seeing the dream theme in the oriental ballroom. Anyway thanks for the info. Congrats, how much did your VG and PG charge you???

ahbao114,

Si dian jin is supposed to be given to you by your in laws. Your parents are supposed to get you a set of jewellery as well. Think for VG And PG about 2k is the average price.....

kentia

Hi Cheryl,

I hope there will be one at the oriental ballroom soon. Can't wait to see it.

Yang charges $1800 for pre-wedding video and $2000 for AD videography. His works are really very classy and timeless. Me and my hubbs were bowled over by his works and he's really very friendly and we can click immediately.

Kelvin charges $2800 for actual day 10 hours of photography (includes express highlights). Prints and coffee table book are additional charges.

cheryl_c

Wah your VG and PG are really expensive..... But as i say before, its the results that counts.....

Your VG, yang, is he a young guy arounnd 30??

i_c_e

hi all, just wanna share some thought..i went down to view actual setup for Xi theme. the safest one...honestly i dont like any of them, but well....anyway, i dont think it's really impressive. the "decoration" ie baskets were placed at a corner..honestly who would go bother about that. n i saw that they had orchids as flower decoration in the banquet room itself. YUCKS!

kentia

Cheryl-- For PG, we viewed quite a few but at the end of the day, we still like Kelvin's works the best, so decide to just bite the bullet, tighten our belts and go ahead with what we really like. For VG, Yang was the first and last one with view. We decided on the spot that we want him cos we really love his works and we can get along very well.

Spend so much on the wedding dinner, i think its essential to have beautiful pictures and videos to capture the moments for memories... but heart super pain la. So ex

I didn't ask him his age, think he should be ard 30, but he looks really young. He does films before going into wedding VG n worked with Eric Khoo & Royston Tan on couple of films before, so his wedding VG is quite different from those that I've seen from friends n online.

ICE-- They use ORCHIDS???? Goodness! I don't rem they used orchids for XI theme during the bridal show. It was some dangling red flowers for centrepiece.

i_c_e

Hey Kentia....ya..i went down some time back. i think thye used Orchids coz one party was ang mo. coz i saw someone in suit hanging around. reckon is the groom. I did ask Sandy if i can change n use those roses with vines...she said that won't be presentable??...i was quite puzzled ..coz i tink ORchids are worse!!!! she did mention the VIP centerpiece was not change, it was the red roses candelabra.

i_c_e

wah Kentia...was just reading up on the post u made re Videography. I m looking for one but Yang charges so ex ah? $2k? is that the only package he has? for PG i'm meeting up with someone called Tom Shen. Saw his works. decent. n the price is good too! $930! so now left Video.

girl_next_door

Hi Cheryl_C,
and all btb looking for a good and affordable vg:

I am engaging a VG by the name of Don, wonder if anyone heard about him?

I went to a close friend wedding and he was the VG for Day & Night. The Express Highlight was very impressive and funny. I love it very much and decided to engage him.

His charge is $700 without Ex Highlight or about $1k with Ex Highlight. I think its quite affordable and if you like funny and humourous wedding video, he is the one.

He will not be doing videography in near future cos he found other business to venture into. So girls who is interested can get his contact or website from me.

I am still looking around for affordable PG (below $900), any recommendation from other btb?

cheryl_c

Hey GND,

Can get the VG contact from you?? [email protected] thanks, tink 1K is reasonable....

I_C_E,

Tom shen email me last week (duno wher he got my add) but I dun really like his style so decided not ot get him....

Piece of thought ladies,

Maybe you should think back to those friends' wedding shots or makeup artist's work that you love and get the contacts from them... That's what I'm doing now....
think referrals are better

i_c_e

Hey GND
my cousin recommended mi a person by the name of Don too. VG. Think it's the same person. but i sms him but got no reply. can i get his number from u?n does he have a website? my cousin's fren used him n said he's not too bad.

Cheryl== wow, Tom so desperate for business n starting to email people unsolicitedly ah!haha...i'm meetin him tmw to see more of his works. so far i've seen O studio's actual day and Robin Photography...but i find them a little not pro as advised by a friend who is well versed in photography.

Kentia-- I was looking at Captured moment's works too...they seem decent. but still not what i expect to get for the amount i pay..haha..typical singapore attitude la.

i_c_e

hey girls, just wondering..is si dian jin a must? my MIL asked a weird qn..asked if i need/ want 4 dian jin! i was a little upset coz i tot it's customary. but i asked dad n he said we being Cantonese, we dont need 4 dian jin. onli teochews need em. but it's a nice gesture if in laws were to give mi some stuff .

chuchulet

Hey gals... I happened to be at the Oriental yesterday and saw the Oriental ballroom in the Love theme. I love it! It's romantic, lots of candles.

It looks better than at the wedding fair. I was disappointed at the fair.. but i must say... it looks lovely in the oriental ballroom... =oP

kentia

Hi ICE,

How come roses with vines is not presentable? I tot it will look very nice??? *puzzled*

$930 is a fantastic deal! Does it include any prints and express highlight?

Have you check out Miror Creations? They are abt the same price I think.

As for si dian jin... my in-laws nv mentioned anything abt it. They are Christians and dun really follow the traditions so I doubt I will have any.

ICE - don't get upset, it depends how traditional they are..but if it means something to you, don't feel shy to convey to her. otherwise, have your fiance talk/hint to her if it's easier. i'm actually rather looking forward to my own mother's gifts...cos i think FH's mother is into yellow gold. yeech.

missussshp

my WD is in 2008. still sourcing out for a venue. wondering any comments to share or exchange on exeperience with the hotel as my hubby really loves the venue.

kentia

Hi Sabrina!

I'm holding my dinner at the Oriental Ballroom this coming Dec. Reason for us choosing Oriental is because of the ambience and the food menu and service so far has been pretty great.

If there's anything u wanna know feel free to ask

cheryl_c

Hi I_C_E,

I think si dian jin is a nice gesture and even my gfs who are cantonese said its a custom for MIL to give if not you can ask your FH to give you someting like a necklace or bracelet. 2gether with your engagement ring and a pair of earrings will be si dian jin!!
It will look very nice in your photos.......

Thanks GND will contact Don asap.....

Brokenbudgie,
older generation like yellow gold so we dun haf a choice.... but it's the thought that counts...... my own mother also giving me yellow gold as well.....

Sabrina,
I'm a Jan'08 bride so you can ask me anything you like.....

cheryl_c

I_C_E

A couple of my friends' wedding photographer is peng wah. I saw his works and they are really not bad for a freelance.... he charges less than 1k. You can see his work at pwphotography.com i think. If you want his number, just let me know... cheers

missussshp

Hi KENTIA,
how do you find Oriental service? Me and hubby still struggling between which choice to make although its next year... but he check out the prices and we realise its bit pricey esp. the corkage charges.