Mandarin Oriental Singapore

starmed

Sphire
think that time my house wine given price was ard $21nett per bottle.. free corkage.. but I didn't take up the house wine... :p better to check wif your coord for the current pricing..

Bendi
maybe for the VVIPs..the guests themselves are more particular... every VVIPs are different..so maybe some are more fussy than others... that's why the hotel chose to do such maesures as a precautionary measures... can't reall blame them...
esp wif the terrorists icidents in region... it's actually good to put up wif such measures..

For IMF coimng, think such measures will be even more rampant in suntec area...

dun be disappointed...
i'm sure Mark got his reasons...

joyride

Hi baby fluff,

My AD is one month ahead of you in Sept 07. I'm rather keen on the black setting, more unique and very chic.

Hey Sphire,

You are also a sept 07 bride? Come join us in the September 07 thread!!!

sphire80

Hi Juju. Thanks for the invite. Hv u book wif oriental? Which date?

Baby & BenDi - My coordinator is no longer Mark i think. Yiwen for catering sales called mi and made appt to meet up nxt Sat.

haywiregirl

charmaine, you can get their package from their webby.

Met Mark today, hubby is the one decided to take Oriental, for once he make decision. He was not into the idea when I suggested to have our banquet at oriental but after a "stroll" at oriental esp. garden suite, he said, "is worth the money and this will be the place"

Like other brides, we are able to use the projector FOC, Corkages waived for hard liquor, we decided to buy their house wine at $25/bottles, charge as it used.We didn't order any beer in term of barrel as he said, our guests are little and only 20 max will be consuming, may go by per glass at $9+++, or barrel, whichever lower. 2 thumbs up for their services and presentation.

baby_fluff

Hi Juju,

Actually I would like a black and red theme...somewhat like the Hyatt's theme as I think it is a very good combi...just worried abt the parents being pantang and all..Mark recommends the crinkled gold but honestly, I dun really find it to be tat fanscinating..

I've seen the Oriental Invite cards..nothing fantastic really...was thinking of dressing up the card further as it is pretty plain...now trying to crack my brains on how to spruce up the cards without burning a hole in our pockets..*hee* The cost of printing the inserts is absorbed by us and not the hotel right?

haywiregirl

babyfluff, ya the printing you have to pay for it. When is your big day? Mark told us the cards are running out and they will bring in another design, our AD is may 07, he said by that time we will be having different design, same goes to the favors.

baby_fluff

Hi BenDi, my AD is way after urs...on the 14th of Oct 07..haiz..the geomancer says tat is a gd date for us..so bo bianz..Hey, tat's gd news abt the cards...I honestly dun like their cards..hopefully they will have a more impressive design for next year.. Currently their wedding favours are not tat great as well..if given a choice between the bears and the angel, I'll definitely go for the bears...they are cute and comes in a pair.

Sphire, Marriot has a wonderful selection of wedding favours when I went for their show 2 mths ago...they had quaint little weddings bells, a pair of bears, a very very cute & unique keychain depicting the a couple etc. Hopefully Oriental is able to take a leaf out of their ideas and get us some gd wedding favours!!! heee

sphire80

Baby - Rem we wanted a bear?...kekeke. If I confirm with Oriental.. I'll go for the bear. My package from Marriot wasnt fantastic and felt to ex for the package.

compassrose

Hi Sphire,

Personally feel like both Marriot & Oriental prcing and perks is quite similar..

Too bad, i don't meet the requirement of min table of tables for Marriot..

Hi BenDi, sounds like you are going to confirm with Oriental.. That's great, i attended my friend's wedding couple of months back... Food is great, nice decor and the banquet manager is excellent (dun know the name, a malay guy) He assisted in swopping the alcohol with chinese tea when the bride & groom went around the tables.

The only drawback is the pricing, close to 1K.. I won't mind if Oriental is willing to wavie off corkages for wines. Will save some $$$...

Hi Baby Fluff,

I have seen the bears.. It's dressed in wedding gown & suit rite? So cute, good choice.

baby_fluff

Hi Sphire,

Do u get a cheaper rate for confirming the Indian menu? Yah..I love the bears...will definitely go for them...but if I could, I would choose a good mix of wedding bells and the bears..they make swell wedding favours! =)

Hiya Compassrose,

So which other hotels are u looking at as well?? When is ur AD? =)

sphire80

Baby - Dont think rate is cheaper. The ballroom has its standard cost to be covered. The price shd be the same for any menus. Cn we mix favours?

compassrose

Hi Baby_fluff,

My banquet size is similar to BenDi.. only max of 15 tables.. Not much choices.. haha.. namely will be hyatt, oriental & goodwood park hotel.

My AD will be next year, after CNY within 1st quarter. Cuz waiting for 2007 tong shu to be out and we will pick the dates from there. (My mum's idea)

How about u? Have u confirmed the package? AD?

Seems like Oriental has interesting wedding favors.

haywiregirl

went to GWP over the weekend, frankly speaking, the place like pasar malam, the deco is really the not fantastic at all. the simpliest I've seen so far, compare among 5 stars hotels.

Hyatt is def a NO NO to due to the partition and they are not willing to let us use the hibicus ballroom. at first say if lucky enough, our wedding night the hibicus room not use then can upgrade foc, but then later on tell us May is a hot month, quickily sign. Really left with Oriental, no where else. unless hubby willing to pay more than $1200/table which I doubt.

lotus99

Hi there, I have already booked my wedding lunch at the garden suite. My tables are around 13 to 14. I am paying $75.75 (after GST and service charges)for each pax.I have not seem the room in garden suite as there are functions going on when I am there
But the hotel is newly renovated and it is very grand when you enter the hotel.....

baby_fluff

Hi Sphire,

Yes we can mix favours..haiz..when my AD comes, each table will cost us $1026 nett...so ex...wonder if they have any bridal shows that will render us some forms of discounts..have to really set aside a sum of money ready for wedding dinner losses already. *sigh*

Oh yes, that will bring me to the honeymoon topic..do u know when the NATAS fair will be?? Am planning to source around for gd pre-honeymoon trips around the region...Any idea on where u would like to go for HM? I would highly recommend Greek Islands...They are so beautiful and is the perfect honeymoon destination..Hehe..I've been to Greece once wif my frenz but it's never the same being there with the one u love...heehee...so romantic!!

Hi Compassrose, I went to the geomancer to calculate..she said no need Tong Shu...Tong Shu is only for the auspicious time and we only need the auspicious date for now so it will be sufficient already. Hyatt is really not very nice...Oriental is a much better choice...but Goodwood Park is very rustic as well..so it's a good choice too..=) Gd luck in ur selection. Our pkg not very confirmed yet...waiting for FH to fly bk next mth to settle *hee*

haywiregirl

baby fluff, our table also same as yours. but then they are willing to
-waive corkage for wine
-waive corkage for had liquor
-free use to projector
Staffing is one to one basic, all the guests will be serve individually, some hotel only do that for VIP table.
30% of actual price for food tasting below 30 tables

natas fair will be end of aug or early sept.
and yes is correct that without a tong shu we can still get a date!

Lotus, you actually booked without viewing the place? but trust us, the suite is fantastic.

sphire80

BenDi - Projector doesnt come for free? Did u bargain for it?

Baby - Yup. standard price across board. Out of all 5 star hotels.. oriental is the best I think.

chummy

Hi BenDi,

My apology for the late reply.. been busy lately...

I dun have anymore pics on the room n decoration. Really sorry abt that.

Anyway... I believe u have seen the room by now.. It is very elegant although the ceiling is a bit low. But still much better than Hyatt Camilia Room in my opinion. Another nice ballroom for ur party size will be Four Season hotel. I think the price is about the same with Oriental.

Grand Copthorne room also not bad. But the deco is not as elaborate as Oriental..but of course their price also much cheaper.

Another alternative will be Beaufort or ShangriLa at Sentosa. It really romantic with the sea view.. but it is less convenient for the guest.

Actually quite number of hotel provide 10-15 tables. Hehe during my time I saw abt 15 hotels :D

Well.. happy hunting.. n dun rush.. coz not many couple wanna go for 10-15 tables..so the availability of the room usually quite alrite. I even manage to change my date few times for the Garden suites :p

baby_fluff

Hi BenDi,

Thanks for the confirmation on the NATAS fair..FH has been badgering me with rgds to the fair cos he wants to be able to grab some gd deals from there...the only drawback is the crowd...I dread crowds...and the NATAS crowd is a jolly gd one too..

Yah Sphire...we are really quite pleased wif Oriental and will definitely sign with them once my bf gets bk...haf u guys placed the $5K deposit yet?

haywiregirl

babyfluff, you are welcome, hope we can get good deal for our airfares too.

Chummy, is okay, we've been to the room and it is really nice. Bethany just sent me a floor plan and can I know for the wine at $25+++, what brand is that? we'll be meeting mark again to place a 2k deposit. Now just worry about the guests list, i totally forgot to prepare table for my fellow colleagues.

starmed

babyfluff n bendi
hiya..it's good abt the Natas u can get good deals but it'll depends on where u going...somtimes u book online is cheaper than the fair...
where u gals heading to?
it'll be good if u gals do a research on the net bef heading down to Natas to look...like that u can comapre prices..

baby_fluff

Hi StarStar,

Which r the websites do u recommend? My bf travels to US every month so he is perpetually on the lookout for deals to New York. However, we r also looking out for gd deals to go to Taiwan/HK/Thailand end of this yr..maybe in Nov for a short holiday. Pardon our ignorance cos I haven't been travelling ard since I came bk to SG last yr..always had the impression tat e NATAS fair had the best deal..

Wow BenDi, which BS haf u selected to go to Sydney for the PS?? I heard that u will haf to buy the tickets and provide accommodation for the Photographer and the MUA as well right? How much r they charging u>

haywiregirl

I am Dang's bride,purchasing my gown from her, so excited that she starts to make my gown and I can have my first fitting in Sept.
Our photographer is an aussie, we didn't hire anyone in Sg as really don't like their styles, but we paid quite a bit for this aussie as he is really good and famous.

starmed

Bendi
hiya..me kinda of interested in the aussie photographer...does he do PS in WA too? can u PM his charges to me..just wanna use it for reference cos both my hubby n me thinking of taking a family PS in future but wanna do it in aussie... say for our 10th year wedding anni..

babyfluff
where u wanna go? depends u see.. but for hotels u can try this website
www.asiarooms.com
rather comprehensive list of hotels of the world n also got reviews. rates wise is rather good compared to other hotel websites. USed them to book for my holidays in aussie bef..
u can always check the rates out n include the air tics..see if calculate at of the day, is it cheaper than what u see in NATAS.

For us, we booked our HM to Maldives all online(accom n air tics)... cos we calculate it's much cheaper to book ourselves than thru agents even in NATAS. Accom that time we book direct wif the hotel n air tic direct wif the airliner. just so happen the SIA having promo too so we grab it..

have fun!

starmed

bendi
thanks.. just for reference... at least someone who can do mah..
seems like long..but now coming to 2nd anni liao...
time flies..

chummy

Hi Bendi,

So u confirm with Oriental now? Make sure u get watever u want on the contract before u sign. It is quite hard to bargain once u signed them.

I went to ur website after I posted my reply to u..quite surprise that actually u r considering FS too :D

So how many tales u have at the end? Carefull.. if u force into full capacity some tables really cannot see the stage n the montage.

For me it was a free wine. So I'm not sure whether it will be the same with the 25++. I cannot remember exactly what is thebrand..but it is very nice. I'm not into wine myself, but I found the red and the white wines taste really good. Not those super strong.. more on the light taste n a bit sweet. Not so smoky.

haywiregirl

chummy, i really don't know what to bargain, you got free wine? how nice, wonder if I could but I doubt. Yes we did consider FS and went there to see, OMG, really small hotel and run down a lot, 3 years ago I went there already felt old, now still the same feeling, old. Hubby was so surprise when he reached there, he said," think I came here before for friend's wedding and my first impression was old and why choose this place, at that price I won't consider this hotel?" Hubby really said NO to FS.

Oriental give us a very grand feeling and nice.We have total of 13 tables and we will stick to this no. I think they are some may not to able to make it(already on our list) if they really can't make it then we can invite some other people.

Chummy, can teach me how and what to bargain? we got the projector for free, corkage free for hard liquor and wine(if self purchase),we choose the cityview suite at high floor(23% bigger than ocean and harbour suite), more candles for deco, mixing dishes(eg.VIP and guests table serve diff desert),mixing wedding favours, check-in a day before wedding.

I tried asking for food tasting but asked to pay 30% for 10 persons.
Now trying to ask for the premier suite which is like 161sqm, I will be happy like mad lady if granted!

sphire80

Hey ladies.
Just met my coordinator, Yiwen for the first time on Sat. Very pleased with her presentation and undivided service. Really appreciate the effort they hv put in to promote to the wedding couples and very professionally handled. Hv sent her the amended menu and awaiting her reply. Spoke to her abt the projector, she said she cn throw in for free without bargaining. Told her to waive corkage.. but she said only cn reduce price
Din talk much as din really confirm anything with her.

Baby - hv not paid the $5K deposit. Awaiting for new quote.. I think there'll be added charges for the menu. If price is reasonable... then its all the fighting spirit. But did kinda reserved the date and its on 2wks hold.

BenDi -Not sure of the brand. But its a french wine. Try asking food tasting for lesser no of pax... like 5. Its better than not having it at all. Thts wht my friend did for a 4* hotel. But not sure if Oriental'll give in.

Chummy - U got free wine? Did u bargain for it or was it in ur package?

chummy

Mine was on promo last time. So I'm not sure if u still can get the wine free. U can try though.. no harm bargaining :D

BenDi,
I think ur deal not bad leh.. U can check in one day earlier mean u get 3 nites instead of 2 nite at the suites rite?? I only had 2 nites

Anyway I choose harbour suites due to the view.

I tried to get mixed dessert last time but they dun allow me.. I guess it bnice of them tol et u serve diff dessert
Wats the diff going to be?

I mixed my favours to. I choose choc n cupid.

Hmm.. I guess cannot really compare my package n urs coz mine was for 2006 and it was on promo. In fact I didnt manage to bargain anything extra from the promo package

In the promo I had 1 free wine for each table, canapes during the cocktail and free projector.

Mayb u can ask them when will they have the wedding show or promo again. Definitely they will throw more stuff during the promo.

haywiregirl

No dear, i have only 2 nights but check in diff day. We want the cityview suite as the room is so so so much bigger and there is a walk in wardrobe behind.
For the desert, I can choose from the ala cart menu, family have ching teng then guests will be the oversea fruit, the presentation looks fantastic.

compassrose

One of my main concern is on wine corkages. Is that a chance that they will waive it even for weekend dinner?

BenDi, is your weekend or weekday dinner? Sound that u have a great deal..

Hi Chummy,

How does the cupid paper stand looks like? I seen the couple bear, quite cute. They have the couple keychains as well.. quite nice.

I went to four seasons the other day, very sticky on freeies..