Mandarin Oriental Singapore

starmed

hi chummy n snowy
check your email...let me know if can't get the link...

snowy kua is the chinese tea dress... very traditional...
got embiodered phoenix n dragons... used for tea ceremony.

chummy

Hi Star,

Got ur email oready...thanks thanks

Very nice... I like the colour of the table cloth

I notice that they take away the centre piece rite?? Can we ask for the centre piece to stay?? I though it is a waste if the centre piece only stay for 10 mins..

Btw u took Cod for the fish rite? Is it good?

starmed

chummy
thanks..
the centrepiece is better to take away lah...cos it's quite big n tall..so when dinner starts, think your guests will prefer to have it away as they eat n chit chat at the same time... this is my opinion as a guest...cos when I attend dinner, usually sit at a table wif old friends.. so it'll abit inconvenient to have something in the middle blocking the view.. hope u know what I mean... they only remove the flowers..the tea lights wif rose petals..they still leave it on the table...

i dun think I took cod fish... haha..can't rem liao... maybe my earlier posts in the srchive got mention bef...:p

ah_yoshi

Hi StarStar,
keke am back.. ve been bisy lately with photo selection, sourcing for AD photographers/videographers, printers, work etc.. sorry for the late respond. Saw some of yr posting.. n i agree with uuuu... i choose oriental for all those reasons... keke
I've taken back some unselected copies.. keke u wanna c??

Hi Snowy,
I've signed up my package with WhiteLink. Overall service not bad.. photoshoot also quite nice.. price.. i duno if its steep.. I've mine for 115 pix n total cost me ard $5800.

I've called up Oriental appointed printer Jason today. Any BTB take up their service?? any advice? Any recommendation on the AD photographers/videographers? I've two months to go n am feeling a little stress le..

starmed

Hi ah yoshi
sure...u got my email addresss? [email protected]
thanks..

I didn't use their appointed printer... it's jasvy right? feel it's on the steep side.. I used another printer Hi-Tech n it cost me 300 inserts for $90(exclu GST) wif gold strings provided.

audreysu

hi ah yoshi

I din use jasvy cos like wat star mention, I find their price a bit steep, I printed mine in JB which is almost half the in sg & the best thing is they paste the inserts onto the card for me so I dun need to tie gold strings

daffier

hie.. my friend booked her wedding dinner at oriental for nov 06.. she said over $1k a table excluding liquor n beer. is tht e norm price for oriental?

hoho03

MERRY XMAS to all out here !

Dear starstar and winniepooh, may i request for your pics too ? my email address is [email protected]

i've met Liping and really like the grand ballroom and atrium suites...FH has been busy and hasn't been to view the venue so would like to show him the pics.

I will be holding a luncheon instead of dinner.

Many thanks in advance !

hoho03

MERRY XMAS to all out here !

Dear starstar and winniepooh, may i request for your pics too ? my email address is [email protected]

i've met Liping and really like the grand ballroom and atrium suites...FH has been busy and hasn't been to view the venue so would like to show him the pics.

I will be holding a luncheon instead of dinner.

Many thanks in advance !

aggalicious

Helloz! I'm very keen on Oriental but felt that the ballroom & stage were quite sparse. Dunno if it's becos it's not dressed up yet.

Can any sweet bride who have held her wedding there share some of your ballroom pix with me?

Thank you soooo much!

starmed

have a great new year ahead!!!

aggalicious n hoho03
check your email... just send..if got problems, let me know.

hoho03

Hi starstar, that was a beautiful wedding ! your evening gown is very elegant … you’re the first oriental bride I’ve ‘met’ so far since I’m a relatively new participant in this forum. May I get some feedback on the food and service ? What was the theme for your backdrop ? Was it OK to march in L-shape ? Any complaints about any issue at all ?

Did you also see the atrium suite – smaller ballroom ? Do you think it will be as awesome as the grand ballroom ?

Thanks a mil!

starmed

hoho03
thanks for the compliments...guess all brides will look lovely on their wedding day...

on your question on food n service..I've no complaints on them..got lots of good reviews from guests(young n old)... the backdrop during that time, there's only one kind - the crystal like thing which when lighting shines upon looks like a small water fall... it makes the ball room looks grand n cosy..

L shape march in was ok... for me, I've no regrets getting Oriental..
good experience for me.

think I had my food tasting session in the suite.. that day think the ballroom was divided into a small function room for one table for food tasting...
looks nice though without any decor but I happen to kay poh n took a peek into the bigger 'portion' of the suite as that side got a function on going... cosy feel...

aggalicious

Hi starstar,

Thanks for sharing your beautiful moments wif us! You're gorgeous!
You had your wedding this year aft the renovation?

Btw, who was your co-ordinator? I'm really considering Oriental but thought that they are quite expensive (no free-flow beer and there's corkage charge for every bottle of wine). Based on your experience, can neg. with them?

Also, I thot that everything in Oriental looks new & excellent and the ballroom fades in comparison? What do you think?

starmed

aggalicious
thanks for the complimets anyway yup..had the dinner after the reno but got the before reno price... $828nett per table...
my coord is Agnes but she left the hotel liao..now working at another hotel..
sure..u can always negotiate bef signing... MAKE SURE u do the negotiation BEFORE sigining the dotted line cos after sigining....quite difficult to get more perks unless it's the coord's offer..my coord very nice least she offered some extras stuffs FOC for my dinner to make us happier... :p it's the wine issue..think my earlier post got state... else rather difficult to negotiate.

ballroom is fantastic...
love the recep area..very private n the whole place gives a cosy n romantic feeling..
best of all, the suite is cool..
we even got a weekend anniversary stay for us...
one of the pleasant surpirse the hotel gives...

starmed

snowy
I managed to waived all... keke.. not I want one..it's my coord offered one... cos my contract stated there's corkage charge for wine if I dun take their house wine. So when we wanted to take their house wine but the house wine no merlot... so I asked the coord if I can bring in my own wine. She offered to help me ask the supplier for the house wine if they got merlot... just so happen supplier also dun have so she offered to waive it for us...
we actually were prepared to pay the corkage charge...:p well since she offered to waive it for us..why not?;p

chummy

Hi..

I got the link..

Thanks thanks..ur hair is soooo long...
is it still long till now??

I love ur WG dress... where do u get it?? Who is ur AD photographer?? Do u have more pics for ur banquet at Oriental?

Hehehe sorry to bomb u with question...to excited too see ur pics

audreysu

hi chummy

I've cut short my hair right after my wedding. My WG is MTM from my BS Seletar Broadway. My AD photographer is Jacky from injack studio. I dun have anymore pics of my banquet at Oriental

qinping

Hi winniepooh...

thanks for sharing the pictures...

Can i ask you something? did you like the ballroom decor? did you have any say in it before they start doing the decor?

It seems that the flowers Oriental provide is not alot hor? =(

audreysu

hi pinkie

I only get to choose the table linens, seat cover, wedding favours and the types of flowers I wan to be used for the banquet

hoho03

Hi winniepooh, may i also view your album ? thank you very much in advance. Was yours a dinner banquet in the main ballroom ?

I am actually looking at the Atrium Suites for luncheon. . .i have been around visiting other hotel venues but no perfect one so far . . . will be visiting Oriental this weekend for second viewing, keeping fingers crossed

smalllucida

anyone have seen or stay in their bridal suites? i heard there are couple of them? which one is nice? and the size? i haven't got a chance to look at them. don't know which one to choose.

smalllucida

for the songs on the AD, can we play burnt cd on their stereo system? i am thinking of u know burning a cd of some of my favourite love songs to play on AD!! how many songs can we play all together for that nite?

starmed

smalllucida
I stayed in the suite for my AD dinner... it's the harbour view one.. facing the esplanade side... it's cool..
love the suite..dun feel like checking out man..:p cosy n big!

think the songs burnt on CD should be fine.. not sure how many songs they can play thru out.. but think u should have at least 2 CDs worth of songs...
cos for my dinner, I passed two CDS to them..seems like the music repeated abit... played once thru n then start over again when the dinner is nearing the end.. think it was the sixth dishes...

audreysu

I also stayed in the habour view suite, I played 2 musical CDs, cos in my opinion even if the songs are repeated the guest won't notice also cos they'll be busy chatting away