Mandarin Oriental Singapore

inlove

Hi tokyo/winniepooh,

That's what I heard too. The reno will be completed end of Nov. Anyway, have completed my food tasting on Monday and have confirmed on the menu. Wendy told me that she will contact me again to finalise the other details at some cafe since the hotel will be under renovation.

audreysu

Hi inlove

when's ur AD? how's ur menu like? care share with me? how's the food? I heard from a few Oriental Brides tat the food is good

littlegirl

hi hi Tokyo/ Winniepooh

Yeah I heard frm Wendy tat reno will b done by end Nov. Perhaps wat they meant til nx yr is prob those touch ups lor. Bt I m sure it is definitely presentable & acceptable; they wouldn't wanna spoil their image bah, right?

I had my food tasting 2wks ago, food was gd! All our family members who went were satisfied w/ the food.

U can prob try calling Oriental on Mon ask for their wedd pkg. Their menu is nt fixed. U can actually choose urself, ie eg, under 1st dish - u hv 4 or 5 options to choose, so on & so forth. So every couple may or may nt hv the same dish.

littlegirl

hi Winniepooh

Oh u wanna c wat i've chosen arh? Aiyoh, silly me, I tot u wanna c wat dishes they hv, then I cannot memorise all dishes liao.

Lemme recall hor
, nt the actual dish name if u dun mind & nt in sequence
1. Seafood combi
2. Sharks' fins w/ Crabmeat & Dried Scallops
3. Crispy King Prawns
4. Sauteed Chkn w/ chestnuts in Casserole
5. Duet Shitake Mushrooms xxxxx
6. Mushrooms w/ Sea Cucumber
7. Cod Fish
8. Deep Fried Buns w/ Crabmeat Sauce
9. Yam Paste change to Glutinous Dumplings

Yam paste is yummy bt mum said change to others, she want tat during food tasting only bcos she feels like eating lor.

My PILs were rather chin chye, bt glad after tat, hb asked them & they said NICE! Portion was generous, chef assured us tat the portion we had will b the same portion for AD, so not to worry

pat

Had my food tasting last nite. Had met up with the event coordianator Ricky. The first wedding banquet after the revno will be held on 2nd Dec 2004. Oriental will be undergoing a major renovation for its main ballroom. They even have the intention to built a VIP room just next to the main ballroom as it would be easier for the bride to change into her evening gown. Reali delighted to learn about such a thoughful arrangement, so that the bride do not need to walk all the way back to her suite for her evening gown....

littlegirl

Hi Pat:
Wow, tats wonderful, I was hoping to hv tis rm thing liao........ finally

Hw was ur food tasting yesterday? Wat hv u chosen? R ur parents & in-laws happy abt the food?

InLove is the 1st gal to use the hotel lor.....

pat

The food tasting is wonderful.....( i dun have the list with me now, will let you know again) Anyway my family members love all the food.. I'm having suckling pig as my firsts dish instead of the cold dish as requested by my Dad... Hee Hee .. Need to pay extra lor..

According to the coordinator they are going to replace all the lightings and increase the ceiling height of the ballroom as well. Reali looking forward to look at the ballroom after the reno....

inlove

Yap, my AD on 02 Dec 2004, first to use the ballroom. Actually hubby don't like the idea cos' he is afraid of hiccups as we're the first wedding after the reno
But I'm more optimistic cos' I have been quite happy with Oriental's service so far
My menu is as below:

1) Cold Dish ( chef have customised this for us)
2) Shark fin with scallop and crabmeat
3) Roasted Chicken with garlic
4) Steamed Garoupa with Soya Sauce
5) Sliced abalone with Spinach
6) Crispy King Prawns
7) Crabcraw with fried Buns
8) Red bean and lotus paste ( special request by MIL and chef agreed to do it for us as chef said that was under old menu last time)

Overall, the food was good and the portion generous. No regrets

littlegirl

Pat:
Yeah, Wendy told me abt some changes tat will b done to the ballrm, & she will try to seek clearance to let Dec BTBs to hv a feel of the ballrm b4 our ADs.

Suckling pig - dun u hv it in the day time, ur hb bringing any suckling pig to ur hse?

InLove:
So gd - customise. Wat do u mean? U mean u mix n match frm other dishes & do ur 1st dish? Any xtra costs?

Yeah I also agree the food portion is generous.

Hw's everybody's preps so far? I will b gng my PS exactly 1 mth frm nw. So hv to maintain my skin mei mei lor.

inlove

Hi Ah ger,

Yap, I mix n match the cold dish. no extra cost
The chef was very nice cos' we chose fusion for food tasting and didn't like 3 out of the 5 items and so we replaced the 3 items via chef recommendation

littlegirl

InLove:
tats gd. I regretted nt changing the Topshell to Lobster tat day, instead told the chef we wanna change to Roast duck. Then after some consideration over the wkend, I tot all seafood then w/ a roasted item like very funny, so Mon I called again bt was 2 late.

Co-ord said must pay xtra. So I switched to something I dun hv to pay xtra lor.

Then like tat wats the 1st dish called liao, since got assorted inside?

babies

hi , does anyone know where to find their packages ? cos went to their wedsite but found nothing on package , does anyone know how much it cost for a weekday package ? thank so much ... n any picture for their ballroom ?

oops

Joa

after their reno,the new package is $780 for weekday and $880 for weekend if m not wrong...u may like to call their coordinators for it. as they are undergoing major reno, dun think anyone else here is able to provide the fotos...
but u wont regret if u choose them..

audreysu

Hi Joa

You'll have to call them to get a copy of their packages. When is ur AD? Their weekday rate for year 2005 is S$708Nett Per table. I can forward you a copy of their package. Their ballroom is currently under renovation, you can view their actual ballroom in Dec

littlegirl

no lah, can't b $780 for wkdays, tats 2 exp. Winniepoog already replied liao.

I tot I heard frm somewhere wkend is only $824 or something?

Go website look for main line then ask for Catering Sales, they r stil ard, gotta clear something then 1 by 1 will either go for course, or on leave.

Can view the ballrm w/ wedding set up in Dec. By then quite a number of brides having there. InLove & I will hv our wedding there, can't wait to go thru it man.

inlove

Ah Ger, me very nervous as the date draws nearer. I hope I will be able to see the renovated ballroom before my wedding. How many tables are u having and what perks have u choosen? I will be having tentatively 32 tables and have use up food tasting as one of the perks. I will be choosing the additional 30L of beer as perks cos' my hubby's relatives and friends are good drinkers. Was hoping to get extra nite stay but din manage to negotiate for anything.

audreysu

Hi Joa

sorry typo error, their weekday package rate for year 2005 is S$708Nett per table, weekend is S$828 Nett per table, to use their grand ballroom u need a min 25 tables. but I'm not too sure if they'll increase after the reno

oops

got tis rates from my cousin who checks with Agnes a few days back.. not sure now too.
guess must check with either Agnes or Wendy again.

littlegirl

InLove

me too, was abit worried cos still new mah, dunno will hv any hiccups or nt. Wendy said will seek clearance for Dec BTBs to tour the hotel somewhere in Oct for a sneak preview. So which means to say we may meet
Let me know if they call u, same for my case then perhaps we can meet up

Same here leh. I hv min 30 tables (needless to say), then max wun go abv 32 tables. Nw I think we hv @ most 31 tables + 2 resv. I hv also used up my food tasting le, so left 1. I will use it for an xtra room night stay bcos I feel tat by the time I slp I doubt I can make it to wake up & chk out.

Somemore I may use the night to do the counting, then nx day is a Mon, then I can go banks & deposit those $$, if nt a few days later will b Xmas leh, banks all closed then hw I deposit? Few days later I may b gone for Hm also. So no time.

Btw, erm.......... I booked during the bridal show, so I got free flow of beer.

inc:
I also heard frm elsewhere tat the rate is $824 or $828 for wkends. Can't b $880, 2 high end liao. Bt then again, if they really price @ $880, I would say it's still reasonable cos Pan Pac already hw much. They r the same category - 5* hotel. & I believe since after reno, their hotel will sure b nicer then those nt reno yet, then the more they deserve the value. Food wise - I def agree tat the food is good.

oops

If it is 708 weekday and 828 for weekend then, my cousin will consider them.
Will ask her to check it out. If anyone manages to clarify, let post here. Tks.

audreysu

Hi inc

my AD is next May & it falls on a Sat, its confirm that weekday is S$708 & weekend is S$828. but if u were to compare with 2004 rates, then next year's rate went up by S$30/table

oops

Tks winniepooh.. did u get tis package before the reno plan. Seems once the reno plan has been confirmed, the package is adjusted liao...

inlove

Hi Ah Ger,

I signed up a after the promotion so no free flow of beer
so more worth it for me to chose add'l 30L of beer as perks since its worth 680+++ I hope my total 50L of beer will be sufficient

littlegirl

Hi InLove

Ok, u can agar estimate lor, to wat I know 30L of beer can fetch ard 90 glasses, 20L = 60 glasses so if u hv 50 = 150 glasses. Shld b enough.

So wat u can prob do is - serve beer only when guests are seated, do not start serving during the cocktail. I m sure nobody will ask @ the cocktail. If they happen to ask then just hv the waiters/ waitress infm them tat it wil b served in the rm later lor (instead of saying "we do nt serve beer @ the cockatail"), may sound better though.

inlove

Ah Ger, that reminds me that I have to ask Wendy about the cocktail reception. My hubby complained abt not having alcohol during reception when he attended other weddings. He might request for it. Wonder about the cost. Thanks for the estimation, gave me a good idea how many glasses of beer I will be able to have
My MIL even ask us to prepare Guiness Stout cos' some relatives only take Guiness

littlegirl

InLove:
Stout is very exp leh. Ur in laws paying ro u pay? Sure jia lat one.

Perhaps u can discuss w/ Wendy letting u bring in some champagne or some cocktail drinks lor, then nt so dull like soft drinks only.

For me - I m controlling cos got budget, so only soft drinks or beer during the cocktail, then in the ballrm will hv tea, wine & hard liquer as well.

inlove

Hi Ah Ger,

Din know stout so ex. Will discuss with Wendy the cost

Me on tight budget too
Don't know whether there is any more hidden charge.

littlegirl

hi InLove

Stout - usually very few ppl drink, I also dunno if they sell by pr jug or by barrel, bt since served frm the hotel, per galss is $10+ leh, imagine if u hv guests who drink & happen tat it can only go by glasses, if they drink 50 glasses already $500 leh.

Yeah perhaps u can give Wendy a buzz then @ least get all the figures right, skali I give u wrong info.

Tat was wat I heard frm someone lah - stout is more exp than beer.

pat

I had replaced fragrant fried rice wrapped with Lotus leaf to deep-fried buns with chilli crabmeat sauce and crab claw for one of th dish. Has anyone tried the deep-fried buns with chilli crabmeat sauce and crab claw during your food tasting? izzit nice and how's the presentation? Pls advise

pat

Hi Ah ger

My menu is as below:

1) Suckling pig
2)Braised Shark's fin with dried scallop and crabmeant
3)Cripsy king prawns with honey Sauce
4)Roasted Chicken with Crispy Garlic and Prawn Crackers
5) Slicewd Abalone and Sea Cucumber with Casserole
6)Steamed Pomfret in "Teochew Style"
7)Sauteed Brocooli with shredded dried scallops
8)Deep fried buns with chillli crabmeat sauce and crab claw
9) Yam pudding with ginko Nuts and Honey syrup

Overall everything is good except the fragrant fried rice wrapped in lotus leaf, so we decieded to replace it with Deep fried buns with chilli crab sauce and crab claw.

yuuri

Hi to anyone interested,
Oriental just emailed me their package, and their prices have increased tremendously.
Weekday packages are now at $780+++ and Weekend packages at $880+++!!!!
I wonder if they'll be having any promotions, else I guess it's goodbye Oriental!

oops

Hi Yuuri

i think it is not +++ but nett. hv checked out the package emailed to my cousin. understand they may hv promotion only next year...

btw, the deep fried bun wif chilli crab sauce is very well received by my guest. Cheers.

yuuri

Hi Inc,
No ley, very sure is +++ coz' under the price, they stated that it's subjected to gst and all other prevailing taxes or something...
They just mailed me the package this morning...
Hopefully they'll have a promotion very soon, else it's really ex!

audreysu

wah...guess I'm the lucky one, cos the prices stated in my package & contract are all nett. but their package is one of the most attractive one among so many packages I've seen so far

littlegirl

Hi to all

I hv personally tried Corner Stone I dun like. I preferred something else.

Hw much is the hotel charging u? I may be able to get a better rate. Does Oriental allow any free corkage waiver? If so, buy in better.

Dealers - can try Parker's Wine @ North Canal Rd, or A+ Wine @ Hitachi Tower.

Yuuri:
I think most likely it's a Nett price. bt then again, cme to think of it, after reno, the hotel is gng to look extremely nice. Skali like 1/2 star up leh? U c, Pan Pac is also selling their pkgs like $8 - 900 or something like tat bt yet ppl take it.

Best if u can wait, u decide again till they are done. If nt u c if they can tentatively resv the date for u, & ask them if there will be any promotions. @ the same time, u can safeguard it, if another couple comes & ask for the date then they can call & ask u.

icute

I'm having my banquet at Oriental on 30 Jan 05. I understand that they're going thro upgrading and the hotel ballroom should be ready by end of this year. Anyone has any idea what's the colour of the carpet in the ballroom after the reno?

littlegirl

No idea

bt they said will bring us go & hv a view of the ballrm b4 our wedding, most likely ard Oct/ Nov.

bt then again usually ballrm uses red col one.

icute

Thanks Ah ger,

That's what the manager told me too. Fortunately, my evening gown is dark blue in colour. Hope that the carpet will not be the same colour.

littlegirl

Wanna ask the past brides of Oriental on flower arrangements & centrepc.

Is it true tat their centrepcs look very plain, & nt very nice? Cos someone was telling me she wants to add xtra flowers. Then I worry lor, cos I nv set aside $$ for these things, dun wan the ballrm to look so plain though.

Any comments? Please let me know.

Do anyone of u hv the contact for the hotel florist? Do they hv any website? Thks.

clueless2705

i find that the centrepc are fine...
dun worry, your guests will not mind such small things one...

besides, they are there to share in your joy and not to admire the flowers right?