Mandarin Oriental Singapore

lsc

I'm also one of the victims.. meeting my coordinator, Wendy todae... will keep u'll posted on the compensation issues

mayb we can share compensation info so tt we can have a stronger bargaining power

stupy

wedding9999 - Im sorry to hear that you are affected as well. Have you plan for the worst scenario? Now Im also afraid will this happen to me as well next year. Keep me update alright>? Take Care.

lipstick

sorry
i'm just a curious passerby.

i'm very sorry to hear abt such things happenings. But it's very easy to just type and post to see "come let's unite and discuss and meet", but who's gg to take the lead to organise?

i can see a few of u all saying that, i hope you gals or guys will really leave your contact no with each other and have someone to arrange a date to go down together. If not, it will be just empty grievances here.

Pls do not get angry at my posting. I really and sincerely wish that you ppl can work something out with the hotel.

alk

I think it is very impossible for me to find another suitable place, unless they offer Ritz Carlton.

I will be meeting Wendy tomorrow, and see what alternatives she can come up with.

audreysu

Hi Stupy

My AD is also on May'05. I dun think it'll affect us, I believe by then the renovation should be completed. I think the more affected ones are those holding their wedding between Jan - Feb'05. I'll still give wendy a call to find out.

delldell

let me do a victim tally:
we have now alk, wedding9999, lsc, eggster, chillipadi and yours truly abc.... we will see what how they can settle this....
let's pool together our effort to wake up their idea!!!
i am sure they will want to protect their reputation, right? hello agnes hello wendy hello Oriental, you hear us?

this is a place where many brides to be will frequent for info.....i don't think Oriental would like to be put into such bad light!

delldell

i agree with wedding9999! if they don't give us satisfactory compensation, we should take action! be it newspaper, be it word-of-mouth....

if our wedding go down the drain, so will their reputation! what a 5-star hotel

let's keep each other posted on the next course of action.....

stupy

winniepooh - I tot the gals was mentioning the renovation is frm Aug to end Oct? You mean it will extend all the way to Feb05?
This is getting more & more serious man!

delldell

wah liao, really?....they might as well close shop for 1 year....
i think all couples looking for hotel, should start asking this std question: is your hotel doing any renovation in the forseeable future? especially if you are thinking of taking Oriental!

stupy

Hi Abc, did LSC get back to you oredi? Its really very stupid og the hotel to do this coz it will ruin their reputation for sure man. How can they only know there's a renovation at a last min time? I still dun get it at all!!!

delldell

ya man stupy..... still waiting for lsc to update us....
mine really kena last minute by oriental, i just paid deposit in april, and now only May, they tell me got to cancel! is this call professionalism? i think not...sob sob....
lucky for you that ur wedding is next year....

alk

I had sent an email to Streats Forum, anybody knows how fast they will print to papers & how they determine worthy comments to be publicised.

Lipstick, dun worry, we won't get angry, am really grateful for your concern for us.

stupy

abc - Wat I feel is that renovation is a major profect, how can they suka suka say immediately start. They dun have to plan meh?
Im also scared myself, you never know wat will happen in future.

chillipadi

Those affected:
Our stand could be :

1. Alternative 5star hotel, nothing less

2. No top ups

3. All perks to remain the same as per signed contract.

4. Compensation for distress

5. But for those who cannot find a hotel due to popular date,how? will monetary compensation be eng? I dun think so cos the issue is to find a venue, probably have to consider country clubs, or cruise wedding even.

delldell

Hi alk, well done! that's a start for us....here goes our battle....if they still don't hear us out, we will send to such forums one by one, ok? i am sure that will catch media attention, man! all bro and sis, standby for action.....

Hi stupy, agree with you totally! the planning by their mgt is a big joke! they got the cheek to accept our deposit, and then say they need to renovate....this is really bad service...but don't be scared....you got us around, who will be the sacrificial lambs....sob sob....

tokyo

hi all, i chanced upon this tread and felt really bad for all of you.
me and hubby-to-be were still thinking of taking Oriental, as they seemed to be good. After seeing this, i am really thinking twice or even thrice before i even want to consider Oriental.

c0co

hi hi gals... my wedding is also in Oct and I really feel disappointed that such things happen when our wedding is about 4 months away. Even worse for couples who are holding dinner in Sept... lets see what they can offer... if lousy, lets just keep calling different papers. Its really irresponsible of them. sighs.

audreysu

stupy, one of the gals mention that the renovation will be from aug - dec'04. the worst come to worst scenario is if the renovation will to delay, it'll drag to Feb'05. But I'm feeling a little insecure now, I'll call Wendy tomorrow & she wat she says, if really clash on my wedding, I'll demand full refund of my deposit & start find alternative venue.

fong2

Hi ChilliPadi

That's my stand too!

On top of that, we r consulting our lawyer fren for advice.

Hi Coco

I agree with u. My AD is in Oct too.

Gals

Let's keep each other updated.

terrapin

I found out about this incident through some other threads. Apparently, news of this infamous act of Oriental has spread far and wide; anyone who frequent this forum would have learnt of it by now.

Although the clauses in the contract does not offer any protection to the buyer, it doesn't mean that the hotel can get away with it. It may be a good idea to lodge a complaint with CASE. CASE will hear consumers’ concerns, and educate them on their rights and responsibilities. Their aim is to promote an environment of fair and ethical trade practices.

Even if your case is weak, you may still want to speak to their officers, as they can provide assistance to direct you to the appropriate channel.

fizz

I'm actually an ex-Oriental bride and I can empathise with you. During my wedding, despite a major hiccup caused by nature, the Oriental staff went all out to help us and we are very grateful to them.
Just a suggestion, unless the renovation is taking place throughout the entire hotel at the same time (which may be unlikely), would any of you consider using their habour terrace? It can accomodate about 25 tables and the ambience can be heavenly.

tealeaf

I agree with Chillipadi on the stand !! Mine is supposed to be on 16 Sept, now have to look for other hotels. Agnes suggested Pan Pac or Marina Mandarin.

delldell

welcome in lala....

i think we should write to CASE for their advise too....
like terrapin mentioned, the news had spread far and wide, let's see how they can salvage their reputation!
one by one alone, we are only small flies, but if all united and complain everywhere together, then Oriental will learn what is call bad publicity...

audreysu

Wendy has confirmed that the ballroom will undergo renovation from Aug and its targeted to be completed in Dec. Whatever your case is, pls go all out to fight for your rights. This is the first time I heard of such thing, now that all your wedding dates are drawing & will be even more stressful, you can actually get them to compensate even more on top of what is written in the contract

You may like to consider another venue that is of nearby location - Suntec Singapore.

The ballroom package price for weekday and weekend is $708 nett and $788 nett respectively. It is also inclusive of one night stay in a Centennial Suite at The Conrad Centennial Singapore. You can take a look at the package details at www.singaporebrides.com/venue/suntec/

The ballroom is pillarless and has high ceiling. Take a look at the virtual tours available at the link provided above.

If you are unable to get the exact date for your wedding dinner at the alternative venue, you may like to consider having the dinner on the day after your customary or solemnisation. Please also remember to check the availability of your wedding day photographer, videographer and make-up artist if the date of your dinner is changed.

Good luck to all!

delldell

althought they say dec will finish renovating, how sure are we about what they say? basically i lost faith in their wordsw already liao....

i think no hotel professional enough will consider doing such a thing. Scarly stretch past Jan 2005....i think those who are having in jan and feb, better be mentally prepared.....don't kena the same fate like us....

tealeaf

I am just wondering why the hotel allows us to make reservation when they will be going through a major renovation? How could they not known about this in advance, right ??!!

audreysu

abc & lala, actually when I go down & meet Wendy in March to discuss about my wedding, they already told me that they're going to have renovation, but she din say exactly when it will be. I was quite shocked when I found out the news. Accordingly, the renovation should be completed by Dec, like what I say in the earlier, if the renovation is delayed, it may drag to Jan or Feb'05. So those holding wedding in Oriental in Jan or Feb'05 has to be prepared for the worst. Wendy has assured me that it'll not affect me since my wedding is in May'05, but I'm not very confident with her words. Now I'm intending to have a back-up contigency plan

delldell

hi winnie, are you sure she knew about it in Mar 04???? This is really unethical, man!

For everyone's info here, i signed the agreement with them in end March 04! I think this may even constitute to cheating, if they already knew abt it in Mar 04 according to winnie!!! i wasn't given a single hint abt any renovation!
Hello Oriental, common sense will tell me not to pay you deposit if i know that there is a possibility of a reno.
What kind of business ethics are these? lawyers here are governed by Law Society, i wonder if hotels are also being governed by some Hotel Association....i believe they will be interested to hear from us...

audreysu

abc, when I went down to discuss about my wedding plans with her, they say that they've have met up with the contractor. She's unsure when the renovation will take place & how intensive the renovation will be. But I'm very shocked to learn that the renovation will take place in Aug & it's expected to be completed only in Dec'04

delldell

Hi all, just went thru those archive in feb & mar & realised that some pp who are having their wedding dinner with Oriental in 2005 already heard about the possibility of reno from the coordinators as early as Feb. How can they just kept quiet & did not mention anything abt the reno to pp like us who are supposed to have our wedding fr aug onwards, even though they knew abt the possibility of reno at the pt. when we signed the contract. Can't believe it man. really unlucky..... but i am even more determined to fight on.....

lsc

I've met my coordinator and my alternative is to delay my AD

But having read yr postings, I'm really worried tt the renno may stretch till early '05 (though she mentioned tt the reno will b completed by early Dec...)
If i were to stick to Oriental, I wld like to req for compenstion for the distress they've caused and for all the inconveniences...
Hope u'll can lemme now wat compensation they're offering to the affected couples...

fong2

Here's the advice from our lawyer fren:
1) We have a strong case here
2) We have the right to insist on following the original agreement
3) Let Oriental get bz with their planning watsoever
4) Most important is DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR REFUND!!! Cos once u take their refund, u will lose the right to pursue the case.
5) It is still advisable to meet up with them and hear wat alternatives they might propose. If their propose alternatives are not favourable and they still insist on cancelling the wedding banquet, then the last resort is to c them in court.
6) For btbs whose AD is very near from now, please seek legal advice immediately!

delldell

hi lsc, good that you met wendy todae, how did it go? was their offer good enuff for u? i was wondering if we have anyone higher up that we can seek grievance if we don't like our coordinator's offer. so did you manage to see anyone else other than wendy?

delldell

fong2, i agree with u. if we cannot agree on their offer, the last resort will be to see them in Court.

One good thing now is we got the numbers, i would imagine if we can pool all the unsettled cases together later, it will be cheaper and more effective to seek legal advice.

tokyo

wow...i think this will be a long and tedious battle for you all...i am on your side, fight on! me and a few frens are watching this..this is really catching on, i saw similar postings abt oriental at other websites oso...
BTW, i have decided to drop this hotel from my consideration. Not worth the risk, in my opinion.

convoy

hi all... happened to stumble upon this thread... can't believe that this is happening to you guys...

anyway, for those who're caught in this situation, why not consider the hotels nearby? I know tht marina mandarin having promotion right now for their weekday packages this year... think only $600nett per tbl with free flow beer somemore... hai... makes me regret signing my package with PP last yr... anyway, saw Marina Mandarin's booth at suntec last week... they were giving away VCDs of their packages and ballrooms - quite nicely done... maybe wat you guys can do is to call these other hotels up quickly and 'chop' any available dates first lor... better than having to postpone for half a year...

stupy

Hi gals.....juz wanna know wat's the status now? Anybody went to look for Wendy & Agnes oredi? Pls keep me update coz I might not be taking Oriental though Im not affected. Im with you gals!!! You gals will have my support!!!

terrapin

Oriental's reputation has been tarnished... and there's nothing they can do to erase this blemish. However, for damage control, I would think that the minimum they can do is give a 50% discount off the contracted price for those who are willing to postpone their AD till next year. This will serve as compensation to those affected, for all the inconvenience suffered. Even at 50% discount, I doubt the hotel will lose much money as their usual profit margin should be quite high. Where else do you think the money for renovations come from?

If this can generate goodwill, avoid all the court cases, and make restitution for the bad services, I would think that it is a deal that can only benefit Oriental.

tealeaf

Agnes has arranged for us to meet the banquet managers of Marina Mandarin & Pan Pacific. We went, both HB & I very much prefer Pan Pac to Marina Mandarin coz the latter looks very old. Pan Pac has renovated the ballroom, the place looks very romantic & beautiful. Thankfully, both hotels still have the date we want.

Have informed Agnes about our decision, pending reply from her. She will liaise directly with Pan Pac. To us, if everything (including cost per table & additional requests) that we have asked from Oriental remains the same for Pan Pac, we would have no issue.

How about the rest? Any update?