Mandarin Oriental Singapore

clueless2705

Hi Jo,

think i saw u during the food tasting lastr sun... your name is lil.... something right?? if yes, then we are in the room besides yours...

Hows the cod fish?? we intend to change the fish to cod fish.. how are the portions like?? taste??

do u think that the portions are towards little?? my family are all small eaters, and they dun feel extremely full after all the 9 courses...

We had the following dishes:
-- lobster & prawn cocktail (But changing to the combi dish, btw, are items are nice?? the chef say that we can use any 5 items from the 10)
--sharkfin with crabmeat
-- crispy king prawns.. (Veri nice, just that only one per pax)
-- duck in red wine and red dates ( nice)
-- garopue fish ( thinking of changing to cod fish.. any suggestions, recommendations?)
-- aspargus with crabmeat sauce (its nice, but we are changing to stir fry veg with scallops)
-- chilli crab with bun ( NICE, must try, but the buns are limited)
-- abalone and sea cucumber ( will be adding veg to this dish)

sassy

Hi yan,

Nope, I was in the room next to the ballroom. Name is Josephine and yeah, there were all 3 of us tasting food that day

We tried the cod fish, it's nice but one piece per person and we thought it was too sweet with the teriyaki sauce so planned to change to steam garoupa instead. Why do you want to change from garoupa to cod fish? The garoupa no good?

We were full after the 7 course so we thought the portions ok.

yes, the BBQ Platter is nice but we didn't like the eel, thought a bit fishy plus it was teriyaki style again, the chef allowed us to change the eel to salad prawns

Overall, I think the food is nice.

For favours, we chose the heart shape potpouri
It's soft and sweet and nice smelling.

Stupy, me very busy shifting my staff to HB's place. But very
we settled the hotel stuff

oops

i also tot the portions is not too much. like jo, the prawn is also one per pc.. jo why change the lobster lst dish. i sticking to dat. i hv the cod fish as we tot it is a unique and nice. However, we hv decided to change duck to chicken as my parents do not like it.

We choose the bear. tot it is cute. Cheers.

sassy

Hi inc,
You must have mistaken, we didn't choose the lobster salad in the first place

We like the prawn but feel that it may be difficult for the guests to eat cos you have to remove the head before u can get to the meat. We are afraid of cases where the prawn head just fly to the next place.
But it's certainly unique and yummy!

We tasted the red wine and didn't think it was worth $20/- so decided to out source ourselves.

Any of you gals try the wine?

stupy

Jo Lim - You mean the hotel offer you $20 for the wine? They charge me $21. Anyway, Im going to outsource the wine ourselves.

audreysu

My coordinator charges me $22 for the wine. Does any of u have contacts for wine tat allow us to go on consignment?

oops

Hi JO

sorrie, it is yan.. they are offering the hse pour at $21 but we did not try it. Any suggestion where to get them?

clueless2705

i din know tat they are offering the hse pour. if i had knew earlier, i wun have brought my own...

i changed the lobster becos the elders dun like it. they say its too ang mo food..

sassy

Hi Stupy,
Yeah! That's the price Agnes quoted me. We didn't think it was very good wine but to save $$, will take it since we don't have to pay(we are exchanging one of the perks for this
) Besides, most people can't really tell unless they are regular drinkers. Hey, if you need contact, I have. They even give you wine tasting
Let me know if you need.

Hi inc, drop me a mail at [email protected] and I can email you the contact

sassy

Winniepooh,
My contact allows part purchase and part consignment scheme. Example, you est. you need 12 bottles so you paid for 12 but they will bring in more and the extras they bring in are on consignment basis.

Drop me a mail and I can email you the contact

oops

Hi Jo

could i check wat perk u exchange it with? m keen to do so. Could it be done wif perk like nite stay at hotel etc? urgently need ur reply
tks. u can PM me the contact. Tks.

oops

No regrets choosing Oriental. Agnes has been efficient, accommodating and friendly. Glad she is my coordinator. Dennis and team are great on the wedding day. Our guests compliment that the food is great and unique. The ambience is cosy and romantic. One word, Simply wonderful.

To Stupy .. yes there is a long march in provided ur tables number are not too many. Do check wif your coordinator if u r keen.

stupy

Inc - I have bout 25 to 28 tables. You think can have a long march-in?

Jo Lim - Thanks for the wine contacts!!!!

Gals - So wat wedding favours did you gals choose? I might be taking the boy & gal keychains. Do ppl give more than 1 favours? Coz me & FH might be going Bangkok this end Aug, I will be sourcing others there.

Aplle & Taringa - Juz wanna know when is your AD? Is it this year or 2005? Hee....very kpo hor?

sassy

Hi Winnepooh, aplle and taringa,

Have sent you the wine contact.

Stupy, I am giving 2 favours. One for church which is a CD with our photo as the label and one for the dinner - the heart shape potpourri.

stupy

Jo Lim - A CD with your photo? That's very sweet! I didnt know Oriental have heart shape potpourri as favours? Or you get it elsewhere?

sassy

Hi, to those who need wine contact.
You can call Rayson at this number 9100 5187. Just said you are referred to by Jo. I have told him that I will refer couples looking for wine contact to him

Hope you find your wine

Jo

sassy

Hi Stupy,

Yup! Oriental is the one who shows us the heart shape potpourri. The heart shape is soft and squeezy like the soft-toy type. We like that best

It's not difficult to print your photo as CD labels nowadays. Anyway, I got that idea when I was surfing the website for favour ideas. Wanted to burn songs but realised I may have to pay copyright law BIG time so gave up the idea and just print our photo on the CD instead.

Jo

oops

Hi winne
no prob.

Menu
1. Lobster wif melon balls
2. sharkfin wif crabmeat
3. cripsy king prawn
4. abalone wif sea cucumber and spinach
5. Fried bun wif crab claw
6. Oi ni
7. aspargus wif scallop
8. cod fish
9. roast chicken (we prefer the duck but our parents do not like it)

Tks.

stupy

Hi Inc - Im having almost the same menu as you. But juz wondering the Oi Ni you mentioned, is it the one stated in the menu, something like Yam pudding with ginko nuts? Cos I tot Pudding & Oi Ni(paste) is different?
Btw Inc, did I ask you which BS you taking? Sori hah.....Im getting old, very forgetful....kekeke.....

stupy

Hi Chillipadi - Hey!!! Thanks for the info but luckily my is next year. Sorry to hear that you have to change your venue. But did you make any deposit to them?

pat

Hi Chillipadi

You mean those who have confirm their wedding banquet with oriental between aug to oct will be concelled?

Pls advise.

tealeaf

same same Chillipadi, mine is on 16 Sept thus is also affected. Agnes just rang my HB yest on this issue.

Yep, Pat, the confirmed wedding dinner will be cancelled. We have paid $2k liao...Now, Agnes is helping us look for other hotel ... sian
95452.gif

eggster

Chillipadi, lala,

i am aso affected. reali give up on oriental. how can their mgmt just make a decision like this?? reali piss now... but doubt if agnes can do much now that our dates are so close and are the popular mths too...brain dead as to wat to do now..

do you gals noe if we can get compensation if we reali can't get a replacing hotel?

wedding9999

Really ? All couples wedding held btwn Aug - Oct will be affected ? How come I din't receive any call from them informing me ? Hey, I already told some of my friends & relatives that I will be holding my wedding at Oriental. How can they be like that ? Where to find another gd venue at this time ? How can we get compensation ?

Thought reno only at Marina Sq ?

delldell

i was also just informed abt this. It is unacceptable. How can they do this at the last minute!!! It goes to show how bad the planning is. They had just accepted my deposit of $3000 only in Mar 04. I don't think by giving alternatives would be sufficient to compensate the distress we are going thru.....any avenue for us to lodge our unhappiness? do you think CASE will take up our complain if we lodge collectively? just want to know how many are involved? just a thought, maybe we should come together to negotiate compensation with them...
It is really not right for them to accept deposit and now cancel our booking.

eggster

abc,
totali agree with you. i tried calling today for alternatives myself but all are taken for my date. i knew my date was a popular date hence booked nearly a year ago. now all this headaches..

not sure if we have a case thou as the contract did say their max liability is the deposit.

i will be mtg agnes to find out how they are resolving this. if there are other couples out there who are interested to group together to "FIGHT WITH THEM!", would be glad to join...

provided they can get better venues for us... DOUBT SO!

delldell

ya, how to find other venues at this last minute?

i would think that their liability would be minimised...that's why they dare to make such move....but at the end of the day, it is their reputation at stake! Reputation is something that money cannot buy! so what if they refund the deposit to us, that does'nt mean we should just accept! maybe the media would be interested to hear our story....how can they accept deposit and then say they got to renovate! this is ridiculous..........what abt consumer rights?

Hello Oriental Mgt, anyone in this forum? if you are listening, pls do something to help us......this is really unfair, you know?

if only we can come together to discuss with them, we may have a better case!!! i was even thinking of putting a comment at strait times forum.....what do you think?

sigh, all my wedding plan now in the drain.....any more fellows in our boat.....

alk

I am also v angry,i was informed that the reno will be till dec, mine is on 1 nov & paid $3K deposit already.

V pissed off with their top mgmt, i told my frens NEVER to choose Oriental again.

Yes, let's all group together to negotiate the compensation.

chillipadi

Hi Those affected
Listen to what they can do and offer to us. They will try to find alternative venues on your proposed wedding dates and neg with the other hotels to give whatever perks you have signed with them (plus their giveaways). They have given us alternatives - host at Chijmes , Oriental chef/waiter/witress will be there, or other 5 star hotels (which may need to top up)

Do not think we can have a case (legally) as they have tried to offer alternatives. See what they come back with

delldell

i think this will be very bad publicity for them....

offer other 5-star alternatives and still we must top up? Unacceptable! They should make good the deficit if they are so ready to offer alternatives! I will tell them i got no money......
all affected bro and sis here, we should make our stand clear, i think. If they want to give alternative, fine! but at no cost to us. We are the victims now! why so we pay extra for the boo boo they make!

delldell

i was going thru the contract and found that there is a cancellation clause applicable to customer only, poor us, meaning to say that should we cancel prior to the wedding day, we may have to pay as much as 90% of the total anticipated revenue (if cancel less than 3 days from event).

Ha Ha, i think this clause should apply vice versa....what you all think?

eggster

the immediate concern is finding alternatives location for us and whether we are satisfied with the location.

chillipadi, mayb they have found a comparable location for you. for my case, i doubt so coz i called all other comparable, even those more expensive ones and they are all fully booked.

abc,
i did complain abt the contract coz it was a one-sided contract where all liability falls on us. but they say is a standard contract. never expect this situation to happen to me...

alk,
let's see what they offer us and see if we can group together for better compensation...

wedding9999

Think all of ur shld group together & determine them to find another alternatives for us even if at another 5-star hotel, I am not going to extra more for that.

They shld bear all the cost. I only wat another alternatives at another 5-star hotel. Also I must like the ballroom.

If not, we can write into Straits Times, their GM & RP / Marcom Director to determine them to do something.

We cant allow them to bully us like this !

Maybe we can group together & discuss ? They must compensate us for the inconvenience caused. If we spread the news abt Oriental, their reputation going to go down the drain.