Mandarin Oriental Singapore

tiara

Hi clayre,

Yeah, as C0co suggests, you and hubby must like the flowers and the deco. For me, I did not use champagne roses because I don't really like them myself - guess Agnes will suggest that to most brides as older folks don't like a 'white' theme.

Maybe you want to meet up with the florist and have a chat

clayre

Hi Coco & Tiara,

Thanks for replying. Problem is I really cannot visualise how the flower combination will turn out... and FH doesn't really care about the deco... Shall i use Gold candles instead of Silver? Table cloth will be white & flower centerpieces will also be champagn & white...FH chose the Maroon Menu card instead of the Ivory one... somehow i feel a little weird... what do u think?? Hahha.... sorry for asking silly questions but ah... i just can't think straight! =X

My wedding is on 26th Feb... Err... 2 weeks away?? Really getting stressed now coz somehow i feel there should be lots more to be done but 1 dun know what??!! Currently am sending out all my wedding invites and hopefully get their RSVP by 20th latest.

Have arranged to go for Scrub & Massage this Sat 14th... is it too early??

Anything else i should be doing??? = (

c0co

think tiara can answer better on this one coz my wedding not over yet. :p

Think RSVP very important in my opinion. Table managment should be looked into as well... must let receptionists know how to go about directing the guests to the right table...

Print out a roles and responsibilities, person to contact for what role etc, tel number, and schedule of the wedding. Hold a briefing to share with people helping out. This is what my friends did.

maybe the ex brides can help more on this... hee... h

tiara

Hi Clayre,

I had gold candles with white orchids and roses in the ballroom.

Actually we didn't discuss the candles color but I am glad that the florist chose gold candles for us - looks nice with all the white flowers in the ballroom.

Take heart, my hubby also didn't care much about the flowers and he left it all to me. To him, flowers are all the same, they just come in different colors.

If you have champagne and white flowers for the tables, then the Maroon cards can look quite nice with them
Not weird at all.

Take it one step at a time. Am only glad to be of help in anyway that I can

I went for my massage 2 days before wedding, so yours is not too late
Mani/pedicure and loads of rest from now till then

My skin was quite bad and dark circles aplenty on my big day ...thinking back, I wished I had relaxed more

clayre

Hi all!!

Thanks so much for the advise... The candles are actually on the flora stands along the aisle i believe...

Hmm... yeah i really should type out the proper programme for the AD & organise a meeting with all my helpers... Thanks for the reminder! = )

Btw any good recommendation on eye cream?? haha... me tend to have puffy eyes when i smile... =P

happy_pig

Dear ladies,

This question is more applicable for those whose wedding is already over: Has anyone brought in Duty-Free liquor for your wedding before?? Is Oriental really strict on this?? My parents & in-laws have been stocking up Martel from Duty Free & i'm worry the hotel may reject on the AD.

tiara

Hi happy_pig, you can speak to your co-ordinator on this, am sure they will be flexible - perhaps you can have a mixture? I can't remember if ours was all duty-free since my dad-in-law brought them to the hotel on the day itself.

pat

Someone please share with me. I've signed up my wedding banquet at Oriental Hotel recently. SO how's the overall experience? How's the suite? i dun get to view them yet/

clayre

Hi guys!!

Finally my wedding's over on 26th Feb 04!! = )

It was a busy & chaotic day but i guess everything did went smoothly... except for little hic-cups here & there. Everything went pass Soooo fast that really i didn;t even have the time to look at the flower arrangement, stage deco, etc.
So really really... videographer is VERY VERY IMPORTANT!!! = P

Will share my photos once they are ready in 3 to 4 weeks time. Haha.. now that i'm "experienced" i'll definitely come here to answer whatever questions u may have. So not to worry!!! = )

Patricia: Overall Oriental was great!!! The banquet manager in charge on the actual night Dennis was really nice! most of my guests commented the food was nice (no negative feedback yet)... and Oh the suite is HUGE and very nice too!! So not to worry okie?? = )

Will be leaving for a short break at Langkawi in the evening so drop your questions and i'll be back to answer them on Thurs or Fri. Relax ladies, I'm glad i got Oriental so rest assure you'll be in good hands! = )

c0co

hi clare... congrats!!!

Thanks for coming back to share ur joy!
I am keeping my fingers crossed that the coordinator that day is Dennis :p

oops

Hi Clare

great, congrats to you.

could i check if u hv the long, l shaped or short march in. i still could not decide on that. i would roughly hv abt 30-35 tables.

the suite is big but i prefer those facing the fullerton as the view is great. so may go for those room instead of the suite :p

how is their lst dish presentation and sound system?

pat

Hi Clare

Congrats and thanks for sharing...
I'll be having my wedding on Christmas Eve 2004 at The Oriental Ballroom. I was given 3 nites to stay at the suite.........As hubby is a foreigner so we deiceded to use the suite for the tea ceremony.........

Anyone know where to get cheap videography? Have not done much for my wedding yet....... I thought of signing the Bridal package with French Studio at Funan Centre.. Do you gals heard anything abt it......

pat

Hi Wedding 9999,

My coordinator is Agnes and I've about 25 tables....has yet to finalise...

I've more nites b'cos i've use some of my perks to exchange for it....

So When is your wedding? and How's your preparation? Do share with me.........

wedding9999

Hi Patricia,

My AD is on 23 Oct, Sat. Also hv abt 25 tables.

Heard they juz increase their price. So, when u sign up with them ? U get the old price ? Yr AD on 24 Dec, Fri ?

Actually hv not prepared much. Now looking for videogrpher. Any cheap & gd ones to referred ?

So wat perks u exchange for extra nites ? Mmmm....maybe I can consider too....;p

Well, the last time I was there, they show me 3 types of door gifts - 2 types of key chains, 1 with boy/girl one & another with lock wan. They also hv mini teddy bear as door gift. Basically u can ask them if they hv any new door gifts nearing to yr AD.

pat

Hi Wedding999

For mine, Per table is S$798... is this a new or old price?

I can't really remember what perks did we exchange for the suite but we forego the Anniversary dinner and the wedding cake as we dun really need that.. so how much are you paying for your banquet?... Wow... yours is round the corner eh.... have you sign up for your bridal package? I intend to sign up next weekend with french studio at Funan.

Yah... Heard about the mini teddy bear as well... but never get to view it... so is it cute... which one do you prefer...

wedding9999

Hi Patricia,

I also pay $798. I heard the price increase is for 2005 - went up to $828.

Yes, I booked my BS with Santiago at Bugis. My frd went there for their weddign last yr. Found it not too bad, so book with them.

The teddy bear is mini one. It's similar to the one given out from Orchard Hotel. Rather similar to those mini key chain bear.

Basically I still keep my options open for my door gifts. Will look into it nearing to my AD.....;p

Btw, how much beer they gv u ? Or they gv u wine ?

wedding9999

Is it Gwyen ? How many tables u hv ?

I only hv abt 25 tables & they told me must pay for the projector....

Who's yr coordinator ?

gwyen

Hello wedding9999,
i had 12-13 tables. my coordinator was agnes. try and negotiate with her, ya? sure no prob one. I was also given another night accomodation cos I had my tea ceremony at the hotel suite.

pat

Hi Wedding999

Santagio? My friend took her pixes from there too... It's very nice...

I've free flow of beer... never ask Agnes for the Red wine yet... any suggestion?

Anyone has any"Lobang" for Red wine... I intend to get about 20 bottles...

Hi Gwyen,

So how's everything for your wedding? Which song do you choose for the 1st dish and march in?

gwyen

hi pat, my wedding was in nov last year. everything went well. my first dish song was...4 seasons,march in was st elmo's fire.

wedding9999

Hi Patricia,

I dun hv free flow of beer maybe becos mine falls on sat....;p

Mmmm....seems Agnes better person to deal with becos Wendy everything say must pay wan, & didnt even gv me free flow of beer....

U only buying 20 bttles of wine for 25 tables ? Dun u think a little too little ?

Well, get try Carrfour, NTUC, etc.

I also buying wine but not getting them so soon.

pat

Hi Wedding9999 and Gwyen

Thanks for your invaluable advise.

As most of my guest dun really drink. So i think 20 bottles should be enough.

clayre

I'm back from Langkawi! Overall was ok... did nothing except eat & swim & laz around by the pool & beach... = P

inc : I took the Long march-in. My initial calculation was almost 40 tables and i was real dissapointed coz Long March-in was max can only hold 35. Met up with Agnes 3 days prior to the wedding and managed to reduced my confirmed tables to 35 + 2. Asked Agnes if its possible to squeeze 37 in a long march-in and though she did warn me that it might be quite squeezy, she still showed me the floor plan for 37 (it looks alright to me on that night). SO eventually i was a happy bride = D

About Wine, Agnes was kind enough to waive 48 bottles of wine for us but we decided to cut cost and brought in only 40 bottles of Red Wine, left over 9. I've got 2 contacts for wine (of which one of them allows consignment basis) but dun know if its alright to post the contact numbers here. Do PM me if any of you are interested. Oh in case any of you are wondering, my red wine was less than $20 per bottle (i was told outside retailing at above $20).

pat

Hi Clare

So.... you have a sweet honeymoon

Pls email the contact for red wine to me at [email protected]

BTW... are you entitled to Free flow of Beer or did you ask to exchange for any free flow of Wine?

oops

Hi clare

tks. m wondering should i go for the L shape, long or short march in. the L and long march in is not straight but curve. if we hv too many tables, it will be quite cramped. as the long one, the stage does not seem to blend wif the walls (not sure if u know wat i mean). but the short march in is really short :p

btw, do u hv fotos to share wif me on the set up? much appreciated. also could u email on your contact for wine consignment. Tks much.

clayre

HI All,

Have already emailed / PM you the wine contacts.

Inc: The long march-in though is not very straight but is still better (to me) than the L shape one coz i felt L shape march-in's rather weird as in you have to make an abrupt 90degrees turn half way... haha = P Another benefit of the Long march-in is that most of your guests can see the lovely bride as you walk in since the tables are by the 2 side of the isle.

I'm afraid photos will only be ready in another 2 weeks time. I left it all to the photographer so i dun even know if there're any photos are the ballroom alone. But not to worry i'll definitely show them to all of you as i've been through what you ladies are going through now... the anxiousness, cluelessness and dun know what to expect feeling.... haha... = D

oops

Hi clare

ya, saw the l shape march in yesterday. at the end of the day, i may jus choose back the short march in. but definitely we will do away wif the red carpet. jus feel dat if it cannot be laid straight, it looks funny to both of us. The set up is nice and cosy. wonder if they are hving some new backstage set up.

clare, not sure if u hv shared before but do u mind to share again ur table cloth colour combination and flower arrangement? Tks.

clueless2705

hi clare,

can u send the contact for the wine as well??
think its time for me to start planning for my dinner in Jul...

oh, btw gals, what is the best time to hv food tasting? i do not have free food tasting in my package, but i intend to pay for one session,... so my coordinator (which i do not know who, since my previous coordinator, Mel left), will not call me to fix an appt for the tasting...

usu do u gals have the food tasting on weekdays or on days when there is a wedding going on??

clayre

Hi Morning!

Inc: My VIP tables are Maroon with Gold organza ribbons & rest of the tables white. Flowers are Champagne Roses with White Orchids & Silver candles... frankly speaking i did not even notice the flower & table arrangement on the AD as i was too busy outside at reception... so i'm just telling you what i remembered from my last meeting with Agnes (before the wedding) = P

Hahah... actually that's quite sad really coz i spent sooo much time sleepless nights thinking of the deco, lighting, flowers, colour theme and then??? I did not even have the chance to pause a min to take a good look at the set up.... So LADIES.... remember do not repeat the same mistakes ok?? Cool down, dun be gan cheong... take a few mins off by yourself, step into the banquet room and take a good look... and tell yourself HERE IT IS... MY NIGHT... = )

clayre

My dishes?? That's another sad thing coz i did not eat any of the food i paid for also... sigh... thank goodness i had my food tasting... haha... My selection was (again base on my memory not in order):

1. Sharksfin with crabmeat
2. Fusion (Had suckling pig & baby octopus in stead of 2 other selection which i dun remember what)
3. Ablone with Sea-cucumber with broculli(added musroom)
4. Duck in red wine sauce
5. Fried King prawn with honey
6. Steam Fish
7. Fried Buns with crabmeat sauce (Many of guests love this dish saying its really unique!)
8. Yam pudding

= )

inlove

Thanks Clare, I received the contacts. Think I will be getting around 24 bottles cos' that's what they allowed me for wine cockage waiver
Not too sure what kinda wine I should get though. Think I need to do some research

U mentioned u din get to eat the food during the banquet right but did you order for room service afterwards? My colleague held her banquet last year Sep and she told me the reason why she choosen Oriental is because they will cook up the exact dishes that was on the banquet menu for them and served up to them hot after their wedding dinner. but when I signed up with oriental this year, they only offered Room Service supper

clayre

Hi InLove,

I had one confirmed table that was not opened and so they had the dried (i.e excluding sharksfin and anything else that's soupy) food packed up to my room as supper. On top of that we had our $80 worth of supper to utilise.

Both Hubby & myself didn;t have much appetite the WHOLE day!!! So i really preferred the $80 credit. My family went up to my room after the dinner and they help me eat up the packed food and bring the unfinished home. And we only utilised the $80 on the 2nd night stay. = )

Oh by the way do remember that we can order room service breakfast the next morning FOC oh! The choice is limited only to "Continental BF" set (pastries, bread, fruits, juices & tea/coffee). The spread if not fantatic but still better than nothing, esp for those who overslept... like us haha... We missed our breakfast for 2 mornings (bf ends at 10.30)!! = P

oops

Tks clare. dat is the about the same menu dat i will be choosing except may try the BBQ platter or lobster for the lst course and thinking of serving cod fish if parents dun mind.

jus got the wedding card (maroon one) for printing. like the card so much.

oops

Hi one more question. understand the lighting for oriental ballroom will be kept quite dim. Does ur actual day fotographer has any prob wif the shooting? Whoe did u engage and how much?

Tks.

clayre

Hi gals me back to answer your queries...finally... yes = P

Inc - I actually requested my co-ordinator to make sure that the lights are bit dim so more romantic but turn out i find the lights are quite bright leh... = ( Still have not gotten my photos so really dun know how it will turn out... but i guess photographers shouldn't have any problem with dimmed lights coz they have flash right?? = ??

Michelle here's Agnes DID : 68853565

Should get my photos by this week so hopefully you can all get to see them by this weekend!! = )

sassy

Need to check with those of you who already had your wedding at Oriental, I understand that the screen will be placed at one corner of the fan shape ballroom. Could all your guests see? Also, is it the traditional tripod type of screen they use? Do we need to pay for the use of their projector and do they have one?

I was advised that we need to give the selected menu for food tasting. The thing is, if we decide after the tasting we don't like the dish and choose another, how do we know if it's good since we won't get to taste again. Anyone encounter such a problem?

Thanks a lot for your help in answering my queries!