Mandarin Orchard Singapore

darren__eve

HI Ade.....Yup, i had a wonderful time @ MM on my wedding day.
I miss my wedding day badly.
It'll be good if the time machine exist : )

rosel

<font color="aa00aa">rodrigue, i find tat most of my shortlisted venues r taken up for the 2 dates tat im looking at.
i'm oredi starting to gan cheong liao. on the contrary, while ur date is earlier than mine, i really marvel at the pace tat u r taking.

but fortunately for me, my reno settled liao. now i juz have to concentrate on my BS and banquet.</font>

twinnie07

Hi Fanny, thanks so much for the quotes. The price increased was definitely alot. My WD is on 26 Nov 07.. and i signed in late Dec 06. Managed to get the contract and lower price. It was such a blessing. I also realised that the no. of tables for belvedere also increased from min 25 to 35 tables.

rodrigue

Hi tealeaf, i had liased with Emily but didnt get to meet her cos im late.. haha
Overall she's ok ba.. but one bad thing abt MM is tat you cant reserve your date cos u need to place $1k deposit to reserve a date.. if u are going to change hotel, ur deposit will be forfeited
This is wat i heard from her, their new guidelines..

Hi Rosel,
Which dates are u looking at actually? Cos i gone thru quite abit mayb can help u keep a lookout? U dun praise me leh.. the more u praise the more kan cheong u make us lol..
Try to enjoy the tension finding a good suitable banquet, u will be very happy after settling it! =)
Good Luck!

happi_bride

aiya.... how how? actually i only have about 12, but MM package say muz have 15 tables right (or now increase to 18??) but i cant take Act 1 cos of the steps, but i dont like the reception hall leh. reception hall got pillars right. if fit 15 tables, will some of the guests be blocked ?

rodrigue

Hi tealeaf..
so far is not that im not keen on Meritus Mandarin but i dun have much tables to meet their minimum tables =(

ustd that they do have smaller rooms like belvedere but the 4 pillars there seems obstructing..

rosel, kk noted! will pm you for choices..

darren__eve

Hi Fanny, I had my banquet help in Act 1 room 3 weeks ago.
There's no pillar in the room unless u are refering to the built in structures.
If you have only 12 tables.....there's actually not much choices.......You don't like the stairs??
Most most my guest like the room as it has a very cosy feel and they said seldom get to see small wedding held in room like this.
Up to individual as well : )

Max is 19 tables for Act 1 room.
Nothing will block the view if u have only 13-15 tables if I'm not wrong.

Another option will be Hilton Hotel and Goodwood park. No pillin in GWP ballroom. but it looks really small, plain and simply. Low ceiling.

tealeaf2580

Hi Rod,

Ya, my number of tables can fit into Belvedere, but rather disturbed by the fact that they have 4 big pillars. But i have no choice already, cos other hotels that i am looking at are booked.

Hi Jasleo,

how you find Emily?

twinnie07

Tealeaf, Belvedere is nice, trust me
I went recee GCWF, their Waterfront ballroom. The room has low ceiling and 4 pillars as well. And it has a shorter march-in (3 tables length).

As for Belvedere, at least u have a long march-in from the start of the door.. I've post pics in this thread before. Go and take a look

tealeaf2580

HI LoveMe,

thanks for your reassurance. In fact i've been to MM to recce myself before, just thought that the pillars are really too big.

My deposit also $3K. But i tink what Rod meant is need $1K to just put a tentative booking? In the past we can have a tentative booking for free..

vvn

hi Fanny,

My situation was like you too, we only had 12 tables but in the end have 16 tables instead. that time when i liased with Emily, 12 tables is fine even though their min tables is 15. You just have to pay more $ per table that's all.

why you don't like ACT 1? is it because of the stairs?

jasleo

Hello tealeaf,

Yup i m jawn btb...r u?

I find Emily pretty ok...at least watever questions I "bomb" her,she can answer it loh...heheh....at least i m comfortable wif her...
...how abt urself?under emily too?

tealeaf2580

Hi Jasleo,

i am a Jawn btb too! Saw ur post asking abt Shirley. So you having her as your MUA?

I am under Emily too. Din really have much communication with her, mostly spoke with her coordinator, Felicia. I think Felicia is very good.

jasleo

hi tealeaf,yup mi using shirley as mua and urs? and saw that u r using lynn as photograher....hahah...so coincidence.....oh i manage to talk felicia only once when emily was not around that time....how come felicia is the one serving all these while?so strange.....nowadays tentative booking at MM nid to pay meh?

tealeaf2580

Hi Jasleo,

me should be using Shirley also. Think now they highly recommend her, though abit worried abt her makeup bah.. U are using Linn also? Hee.. in fact i only visited Linn, cos her rates sounds like the most affordable.

Me except for final discussion before confirming with MM, i seldom talk to Emily. COuldnt get her most of the time.

I not too sure abt the tentative booking. But i infer from Rod's msg that this is what he meant. =P

You have msn? Wanna chat on msn instead?

rodrigue

Hi tealeaf,

ic think now wat u need is to have a good placement of tables if your numbers is small cos if i'm not wrong their LCD screen is on the left side of the ballroom.. that's one of my concerns when i viewed the room itself.. but one good thing is u got ur preferred date and i believe MM is having the most comprehensive perks i can see so far after comparing so many hotels... things like 100% cards with free printing, 3 trays canapes, dining vouchers, etc etc... all u need is to bargain for a day use room i think.. hehe =)

Hi LoveMe, tealeaf has answer your query (thks!) yep is for tentative booking which i meant.. it's their new guidelines which Emily told me.
Jasleo, yep need to pay $1k deposit to make a tentative bookin for MM, i'd a written confirmation on that.. =(

Btw, tealeaf ur MUA is from which bridal studio? or freelance? pricing?

tealeaf2580

Hi Rod,

I should have about 30tables or slightly more. So i guess there is no way i can arrange so that everyone gets to have a good view. Ya, the only thing that attracts me is the comprehensiveness of the package. Tried to get an extra night stay at their hotel, but cant. =(

My MUA is from Jawn Happy.Ever.After. She is actually a hairstylist and owns a salon. Pricing is included in the bridal package, so cant advise much. You found a BS already? Btw, are you a lady?

rodrigue

Hi tealeaf!

hehe it doesnt matter.. cos my FH registered this acc and most of the time i used.. sometimes he does use too la =p

oic.. i'd no idea abt your BS.. hehee

ednamode

hi there....i am currently looking for hotel to host my wedding ...but then when i checked with MM, they said they not taking in March 08 yet. anyone encounter this before? shall i wait for them to open booking? i was told by one of the catering staffs that they also have no idea when they able to takein March 08 booking.

i did call them sometime early Jan 07 and one male staff told me they dont take March 08 and when i asked him y for a few times. he told me the ballroom will be undergoing renovation. is this TRUE??? i mean , y said u dun take in march booking when u can just say that ballroom undergo renovation in March ...right?
i think they are too many staff at MM and are giving 2 side story??>?

lastly, are they open for a Year booking> that means now starting feb 07, they allow u to make booking from now till feb 08 ..any advice?

tealeaf2580

Hi Rod,

so Rodrigue is ur FH's name/surname isit?

Ya.. the BS i signed up not v well known, that why i was quite surprised that Jasleo also with the same BS.. Wat a small world.. Hee...

rodrigue

Hi tealeaf!
Rodrigue is his nick lo.. hehe.. oh paiseh.. i only walk along tanjong pagar there lol..

"yaya".. it's true that MM will be going into renovation soon but i dunno when.. that's one reason their package is more attractive as well.. =)

ednamode

hi rod, thanks for the clarification.
wondering y they want to do renovation in mArch.lol..... lidat ar, have to give this up liao lor..zzzz ..unless my FH wants to be in Late feb 08. ^.^V

sereneczb

the previous one before the rise of the pricing had 2 night stay infact, and all along they have free flow...now the banquet hits $852 on weekdays itself! i m also struggling whether to take up.

kyra

For brides who have held the weddings at MM, do you recall if MM serves Halal Muslim Food?

I have the Muslim Menu in the contract but cant remember if I have checked if they are certified Halal. Lots of Muslim friends asking me lately and I dont want to verbally tell them that they would be invited but later on cant have them with us....

Also, anyone took Mandarin Court? Care to share your experiences?

Kyra,
If my memory did not fail me, i did ask if MM serves halal food and they does. But i am not sure if it is halal Muslim food..and i think they charge per pax..so the per table price (for 10pax) does not apply. U have add the per pax price on top of the table price.

chng

Hi Kyra,

Yes, they do serve Muslim food but not certified halal. Cityangelsg is right, u need to add per pax price to each table unless u have a round of 10 muslim at the table, then they will charge u based on your per table rate.