Mandarin Orchard Singapore

scom

hey does anyone have christopher email or contact no? i have accidentally delete off his email when he sent the wedding package over to me. =(

adel23

conxie,
no pics yet, will share with you gals when its up... we are very happy with henry's service, very professional and experienced. he has been there for 10 years... as for banquet rates, its best you get it from him as our rates are old rates, charges might be diff now..
You can contact him at 90617748..

conxie

Hi Adel,

Thanz for the info!

I've juz contacted Christopher as Henry's not in town.

Will be dropping by this week to check out d place. ;)

skyea

Sorry to spoil the good image of MM's service, but i would like to share my brief and bad experience with one of MM's catering sales managers.

We visited MM in July this year and were quite pleased with their package and ballroom. However, as our wedding will only be in June 2008, we thought it would be way too early to confirm on a venue. So we shelved the banquet venue discussion aside until recently and MM was one of the hotels shortlisted again.

I called up MM on Monday, wanting to fix an appointment with anyone to further discuss on their package. The lady whom i spoke to said she would email me the package for 2007 and cc it to a sales manager to follow up. Although i told her that my wedding will be in 2008, she was still very friendly and even told me the increment from 2007's price.

I received the email on the same day and up till yesterday, i had not heard from the sales manager, who's in the mailing list. So i called her and requested to meet up with her this saturday if possible. Her reply was "It's my off day." Fair enough. Then she proposed Monday and asked what time we knock off work. After i told her that we finish work at 6.30pm, she said something like "Like that cannot, weekdays must be before 6pm." I was totally lost for words. I kept quiet until she suggested finding out who will be on duty on saturday and get that colleague to meet up with us. I agreed, and she said she would call me back. Anyway before we ended the conversation, she asked when my wedding's going to be. When i said 2008, she made this comment "That's a long way to go".

Guess what? From yesterday up till today, i've not heard from that sales mananger. Even if she can't get anybody to meet up with us, she could have given me a call to let me know. No news from her at all. I'm really disgusted with her level of service. She's apparently not interested in us, highly potential customers (we are ready to decide and confirm on a venue). Anyway when we went hotel hunting in July, a few hotels were willing to confirm a booking with us even though the wedding will be in 2008. So i don't understand why this sales mananger is turning us away with her lousy service.

Despite my unpleasant encounter, i would like to give credits to Felicia (She's the coordinator we spoke to when we visited MM in July. Just too bad that she's not the sales manager) and the lady whom i spoke to on Monday. Based on my interaction with the two of them and what i've read in this thread, i still have confidence in MM's quality of service. Guess it's just my misfortune to have an unpleasant encounter with one black sheep in MM. :-|

yukikodawasan

Hi Ade Heng,

So who was the person you speak to? Ya I agreed that she does have attitude problem and it's a taboo in hotel industry. I planned to have my AD in early 2008. I believe they should be able to make a tentative booking at least. But she should think before she speaks as she represents MM. Haiz, don't be too upset. Look out for more hotels before committing. I'm sure others are better than them. Good luck to you ya! Cheers

vvn

ade, who's that lady manage you spoke to? oh dear she does sound quite uncooperative. i mean usually they are very open to meeting clients after 6 on weekdays because that is when they are free.

take your time to do more hotel shopping! if u are keen to enquire more about MM may be u can call the managers/ coordinators from this thread. at least they have been 'tired and tested' by some of the brides here and shouldn't disappoint u with their service!

good luck for ur preps

coleurs

hi ade, i'm so sorry u met with someone with such a bad attitude. i've been quite lucky. my coordinator always stays back to meet me and fh after work (no other time we can go down), and she does it very cheerfully. perhaps u can request for someone else to serve you? hope u'll find a suitable place with nice staff soon. all the best!

skyea

Hi coleurs, it's good that you have such a nice coordinator! I think the coordinators at MM are all really good, maybe except for the one whom i spoke to. Hehe. Anyway we will be shelving our venue search plans until next year since most hotels are not taking in bookings for 2008. Thanks anyway!

coleurs

hi jasleo, my coordinator is emily. my ad was last sun and up till fri night and sat, she was still in touch with us to finalise our guest list (suddenly grew and we had difficulties seating additional guests with people they know). she also did a seamless job coordinating with our florist who was down in the day time to decorate the place too. in all, i am really happy with her service and how the whole banquet turned out.

we'd mentioned during our last meeting with her that it would be nice to have dry ice and bubbles during our march in but never finalised anything with her and guess what, she arranged all that for us! our march in was a lovely, pleasant surprise!

no headaches, no negative comments, and my guests all enjoyed themselves tremendously. i'm really glad it all turned out so well.

twinnie07

Hey Ade Heng, who's ur coordinator? Dun scare me. My coordinator is Adeline Tay. Gonna meet up with her on Sat.

Btw, does anyone has any pics to share for Belvedere? How long is the march in for Belvedere? (approx how many tables as I march in)

I am also considering MM for my AD. However, i noticed that their ballroom has pillars. Emily assured me there is no issue on this. Any comments on this? I am afraid some of the guests may be blocked.

liaz

I'm considering MM for my AD. Did anyone manage to get any additional perks others than those in the standard package they offered?
Also, any good coordinator to recommend?

vvn

hi sunflower,

some of the rooms do not have pillars, while others do. u hav to check with Emily on that.

hi charly,
i am looking at between 25 to 30 tables and Emily only showed me one ballroom which has pillars. i think only ballrooms are either too big or small. u have ur AD at MM???

chipndale

just to share :

had my wedding dinner at mandarin court last year. but visited the other ballrooms in MM too.. from what i remember, only grand ballroom doesnt have pillars. mandarin court, belvedere and act 1 all have pillars.

regarding blockage of view by pillars, for mandarin court, if u have less than 40 tables, the tables can be arranged so that there is no blockage from the pillars whatsoever. blockage is inevitable if you have more than 40 tables.

for belvedere, it can accomodate up to 30 tables. unfortunately, if u have 25 tables or more, then its quite likely that some tables will be blocked by the pillars. IMO, its quite a tight squeeze also if you have more than 25 tables.

ong, i managed to get some additional perks (my coordinator threw in some weekend perks though i had my dinner on a wkday)on top of the package offered. prob depends on how comprehensive MM package is now. you can always try to bargain

vvn

sunflower,

yup. i had it at ACT1. it is pillarless but it's a very small ballroom, for no more than 20 tables.

emily (emily chen?) showed me mandarin court as well (it's the one near the swimming pool) but it has pillars. unless you have 20 tables, some will be blocked by this big pillar in the middle of no where. why don't you tell emily you have 20-30 tables, and want a ballroom with NO blocked view? ask her to show you the ballroom and tell u exactly how the table arrangements for 20-30 tables will be like and you can see for yourself whether there is blockage or not.

i went down yesterday to view the belvedere ballroom. Emily said this is the only 1 available for 25 to 30 tables. Only their grand ballroom is pillarless. As for ACT1, she said max 22 tables but will be quite packed and it's also with pillars? (That's what she told me).
I viewed the actual wedding setup ytd for belvedere ballroom. tables behind will definitely be blocked and the screen projector is at the extreme left hand side which i feel is not a good position.
guess I have to forgo MM for my AD
i was actually very interested in their package.

destiny2007

Sunflower, I am planning to hold my wedding at MM too, maybe the ACT 1 room...

I think should look at other hotels for comparision, but dun noe ware to start..

I have gone down to a few hotels and make comparison. going down to a few more tomorrow.
Celeste, u can look at this forum to see other people's comments on other hotels

destiny2007

Hi Sunflower

Ya, have been reading alot.

I am thinking of just sticking with MM, save alot of trouble.

Btw, you been to Hilton/Hyatt already?

vvn

hi celeste,

sent you the invite already. look for an invitation from multiply in your junk mail folder.

i only have the photos taken by my guests so far. still taking forever to upload the official AD photos which does have quite a clear view of the ballroom. give me some time!

Sunflower,

ACT 1 has pillars, but those are quite 'thin' pillars that doesn't really block the view of guests. for pillarless ballroom for abt 20-25 tables, u might want to try regent hotel. it's the longish kind of conference room, so very very long march-in but guests at the back can't really see anything.

liaz

hi chipndale,

What kind of weekend perks you refering too?
Mind to share?
Also any good coordinator to recomment? Emily Chen gd?

I didn't go to Hyatt/Hilton. Found their packages quite expensive and perks not so good.
Regent Hotel min 36 tables, so out for me.
I have gone down to Parkroyal on Coleman Street. The banquet manager is very nice and customised the package for me. she gave me some extra perks (guess is cos my company going to have an event at their hotel). however, my FH felt that the hotel not as grand as MM lor.

destiny2007

Hi Charly, saw the photos, so beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

Sunflower, I think MM's wedding package is very comprehensive, everything we wanted is included, very good deal! Think Hilton's still ok, heard the ballroom's very grand and nice too. Ya Parkroyal not as grand leh.

chidori

hi gals, anyone know that if you sign up now for banquet in nov 2007, when the gst is increased to 7%. will be charged at current or 7% for gst?

halovivian

Hi Gwen

I understood from MM's Catering Sales Mgr Emily Chen that the banquet price will be subjected to the 7% GST once govt announced it's effective.

kenbel75

I'll be having my AD end of Dec at Mandarin Court. Was undecided whether to have a mix of brown & white table cloth (suggested by Jesmi). Anyone had experience or photos to share? Was afraid the mix might make the room looked messy. Thks in advance.

vvn

hey ixus,

i did the brown and white mix too! it's not that bad actually, brown will balance off the white table cloth (not so 'white' - bad for weddings mah) and white will make the whole place less 'dull'.

give me your email address if you want to take a look at the photos. =)

jeanslumb

I'm new here... most probably will be having my banquet at MM cos my FIL loves the place...(although i would much prefer pan pacific... cos the ballrooms have no pillars and the food seems to be better... hee~~) my coordinator is emily... went down to meet her yesterday... the package for MM is rather comprehensive and flexible... however not too sure about their food and service... any comments on that???

vvn

Celeste, thank you for your nice comments! heh...

ixus, kyra and twinnie, have invited you to mulitply already. please look out for an invitation from multiply in your bulk mail.

Anyway finally uploaded the official AD photos so you can take a look at the ballroom (in the Meritus Mandarin album)

rtan

Hi Jean,

I just attended a wedding at MM on Sunday. Quite impressed; food is quite good, they waive all corkage for wine, and the decor is quite nice. Overall good value for money. We were at the Level 6 ballroom which has no pillars. There were about 60 tables.

twinnie07

Charly, I saw the pics! Thanx so much ger. Added u as my online buddy!Lovely Act 1. V different feel. I'm still deciding to sign up for Act1 or Belvedere