Mandarin Orchard Singapore

mayng

rainne: Malcolm is the Asst. Director of catering Sales...
he was handling my wedding.. and WONDERFUL! Most guest commented food n service is excellent... my guests love it. My hubby n I too bought him a Momento for him for his excellent service to our guests n us...

Rainne: 150 food voucher will comes when u last see Francis on the final arrangements. and the 50 F&B on the wedding will let u know upon check in.. dun worry ok.. surely u will have it too..
hope i have help u in answering ur doubts.

rainne

Hi Ling Ng

Glad that you have a wonderful wedding..Thanks alot for yr reply.. i hope Francis is as gd as Malcolm if i m taking MM..

jitpong

Rainne - i thk $150 voucher, 3 trays of canapes only applicable if you hold your wedding on weekends if i am not wrong.
For the $50 room service on your wedding day, just make a call to room services and mentioned that you are calling from the bridal suite and they will know what to do. But do still check your bill when checking out. For my case, they forgotten to deduct the amount from my room bills.

Hi jules - the sashes for the chairs only for the red table, the rest only chairs cover.

mayng

jitpong? no.. its applicable to weekday too..
my gf oso hold the wedding at MM.. oso have.. maybe u are not told.

rainne

I m gog down to MM this weekend to c the ballroom deco for Belvedere rm.. Anyone here got gd comments for this ballroom?

chipndale

hi ling,

i am confused now. as mine is a Weekday package, malcolm did mention i can choose only 1 of the 3 extra weekend perks- ie the Top of the M voucher, canapes or 1 extra bottle of champagne. was ur coordinator malcolm? thinking of switching to him cos i feel more comfortable w him too. may i ask what your perks and package were? was ur wedding weekend or weekday?

can email me at [email protected] if u are not comfortable sharing perks on the thread. thanks a lot!

chipndale

hi jitpong,

are we allowed to bring in our own things such as sashes to decorate the ballroom then if its too plain? did u just stick with the hotel design for the ballroom or did u top up? personally after seeing the video clip malcolm showed me, i felt MC after deco look ok... but heard comments that it is quite plain??

tulipblue

hi rainne,

i took the belverdere room coz my FH and i felt that the min requirement for the number of paxs is just nice for a cosy banquet dinner..no doubt the pillars in the centre may posed some obstruction but my FH and i kinda like it that way..really boils down to personal preferences..AD will be this Nov
whens yours?

rainne

Hi Tulipblue

We are concerned if the pillars will pose as obstruction.. if not we are are keen in taking up the package with MM.. my AD will be in Dec.. who's yr coordinator?

Think I m gog to check with Francis again abt the food vouchers.. wat's yr package like? Maybe we share n c if can bargain for more.. keke..

my e-mail is [email protected]

chipndale

hi tulip blue and rainne,

i am also keen on taking up the MM package. maybe we can all join forces and bargain for more stuff before signing. =)

tulipblue- who is your coordinator? can share your package with me too?

mayng

rainee: i gotten wat i told u like, 3 trays of cannapes, 150 voucher, champagne. and 50 F&B upon checkin (which u reach check in counter the GRO will explain to use)... mine wedding is a weekday wedding. i have total 53 tables with an excellent Co-ordinator and excellent service during my banquet

chipndale

wah...like that i must go hammer malcolm for more benefits also...he he. i was ogling Act 1 and even considered splitting my dinner into 2 nights...but just thinking of all the extra work gives me big headache so just have to drop the idea lor. sigh.

ling, so your gf had small wedding also got the canapes plus voucher plus champagne??? so good ah...thought it's cos u had big big wedding.

do u think it will be wise to request for swap of coordinator to malcolm? will it be awkard or anything? just feel that henry like not so flexible with the perks.

rainne

Hi Ling

very tempted to change to your coordinator.. sounds like malcolm is very gd.. really thanks alot for your info.. b4 i confirmed my booking, i will ask francis for those perks.. dunno if he will give..

will try this week... thanks again

tulipblue

hi rainne & jules!

you both got mail!

my coordinator is Henry, nice chap...can request for him too..good luck to you two in your bargaining! keep us updated yeah...

chipndale

hi ling,

thanks for being such a great help!!will ask henry if he will give me those perks..if not will switch to malcolm since i have only dealt personally w him anyway. oh may i ask which BS u sign up with or did u do the ala carte kinda wedding? loved ur black EG!!!

jitpong

hi jules - i am not sure if you could bring your own sashes. For my initial experienc, i feel the same too that the decor to plain for MC, but after that i feel that it is not necessary to top up for additional decor, as the main attraction that night are you and your hubby, your guests wont really remember how nice is your ballroom decor...i rather spend the money on something more useful.

In fact, i thought the decor by MM on my wedding is not as plain as i thought

Henry is very flexible to our request. Usually if you have more tables, it is easier to get extra perks.

rainne

Ya, i also worried abt the deco by MM too plain as what is mentioned here. That's y gog down to c the actual deco before confirming my booking.

mayng

jules: the black Gown was specially made by designer friend who opens a boutique himself named, Hana. I told him i like a very bare back look for the EG.. and he jsut made it look so elegnant.

my wedding Bs is French and i had a lovely experience with them... but i would say their services differ from one client to another. ala -carte wedding? nope... most of the preparations in the Banquet was done by Malcolm as he knew i got some impt guest at my dinner, and he took pain to make sure my dinner is good and drink n wine to be served timely.

rainee: decos differs from one and other too... when u are having ur final meeting with ur coordinator... tell him abt the deco.. bet he will do something more. keep gng to see ballroom deco will only make u think more.. so relax..

i was once being invited by Malcolm to see the actual day Ballroom, and it turn out to be something which i complained non stop... one fine day, i was at MM hosting a Wedding dinner for a friend, i saw the deco.. and again i make noise... whahahahaha.. but when my AD banquet... it was like a Cosy garden party.... so dun think too much.. keep mind n options open. surely ur coordinator will do their best

rainne

Hi Ling

really thanks for all yr advices.. will heed yr advice and keep my mind and options open.. so did u top-up for the ballroom deco?

u took French BS? I m oso interested in French BS.. sorry, side-track abit :p, how's the price like?

jitpong

Rainne - decor of the ballroom should not be one of the impt factor in deciding which hotel for your banquet. It should be rather the standard of the food and their services.

No one will remember how well your decor is but would rather complain to you how bad the food and service are.

For MM, i thk we can be rest assured that they will not compromise on their food and service.

rainne

Hi JitPong

Actually after cing all the comments given by all of u here, i m more confirmed with my decision on taking MM
So happy.. but i still wan to squeeze more perks from Francis, the food vouchers etc.. keke..

tulipblue

hi jules,

like what jitpong mentioned, henry is pretty flexible on the perks offered, you can ask him and see what he can counter-offer, the good thing i like dealing with him is that he dun say no immediately...good luck!

chipndale

Ling,

yah, i was reassured by malcolm that he treats each wedding as his own..that's a good attitude to have and hence i am confident in him and his abilities.very grateful for all your advise to the few lost souls around here...=)

Jitpong,
actually i was never bothered by deco or even the presence of pillars...as long as it looks like a wedding is going on and my guests are not COMPLETELY blocked then i quite sui bian one. it was only when i read through the posts in this thread that made me worry abt deco. yah lor...i also think shld spend the money on something else...like MYSELF!!! =)

rainne,
jsut bear in mind that the deco u see might not be the deco provided by MM. the couple might have topped up. dun silly silly like me like that...went to kpo someone's wedding, saw sashes and ribbons ard the pilars and assumed its all in the package till jitpong kindly clarified matters. =)

mayng

rainee: my price with French is 2.8k and i top up for photos abt 2.22k. total 5.02k. i did not top up any money for my MM ballroom deco.. ok. let me show u my ballroom pic...
try to go into Album 5 to see, as tt album is the album for banquet. other album will be AD n Ps.. kekeke enjoy

Jules: yes, Malcolm will surely do his best... kekeke he is indeed a good help for most weddings.

rainne

Hi Ling

Do u hv the website add of yr album 5? Want to c yr wedding photos oso..

Ydaz i went down to MM to see the deco but then i m surprised to c tat most of chair covers are torn.. how to avoid this pblm?

I m gog to bargain with Francis for more perks and check with him abt the chair covers.. if he doesnt give, shld i change to Malcolm? like quite bad hor..

mayng

rainee: need to know if u have booked the banquet with Francis yet... if u have booked, its unlikely tt u are allowed to change to malcolm. The chair covers usually change in batches, seriously speaking, on the AD, u wont be so free to notice the Torn n tears... torn on the covers are totally unvoidable, dun let this bothers u.

tulip: sure...

Rainee & tulip: link to all my photos... AD, BS... check out the albums http://photos.yahoo.com/carole75

i had my wedding at MM's Grand Ballroom on 18 Oct 04, and had a very good Coordinator, Malcolm to help me out at my most impt evening. i did see torn seat covers but seriously, wasnt very bother cos who will take notice? as long as their service n food is on the AD, tt's most impt... seat covers, is never gng to be a issue.

rainne

Ling: have not booked the banquet with Francis yet. Will call him up this week again to confirm if he is willing to give us more perks.. If he can, then will stick to Francis cos he seems quite nice.

I dunno, maybe i went down to view the ballroom so did try to notice everything. But the torn on the covers are quite bad and obvious. Almost evry chair has it, that's y. But if they gog to change the covers, by the time my turn, the covers shld be all changed.. maybe i shldnt let this bother me.. not the major issue right?

but somehow, the stage at Grand ballroom nicer..

preci0usm0ments

just added MM to my list of hotels.. can i know how many BR are there?

and minimum tables for each BR?

are they having high or low ceiling? and long or short march in?

sorry i asked too much
kao_scared.gif

mayng

rainee: i suppose to take Mc at MM, but cos i changed my wedding date, i had only grand ballroom as my only choice. Yes they have a bigger view of the stage... seriuosly, the seat covers wont be the main issue, but if u do notice, u can voice it out to ur coordinator.

Lilac: 4th level 2 ballrooms, Belverde & Mandarin Court, 6th Level, 1 ballroom, Grand ballroom, 29th flr (cant recall), Act 1.

rainne

Ling:

yup, gog to voice out to my coordinator..

yr wedding photos look nice.. so in the end, how many photos u took for the wedding gown?

There are no pillars at grand ballrm, better. Piaseh, I m abit loh so, anyone has any neg comments abt the pillars at Belvedere?

mayng

rainee: lol.. i was thinking wat u mean abt the pillars in the Belverde... whaha u wanna strip it off? cant for sure... how many tables u gng to have? and weekday or weekend wedding?

photos of my wedding gown? do u mean how many pics i taken for my wedding album?? keke i took 60 pics in total.. no need to take so much. just enough can liao.. cos after wedding, the album will land in ur cupboard.. no joke, i think many now share the same views... wajhajjajaja.
rainee: for choosing the photos during Ps, just take wat u need.. i know it hard to resist, but at the end of the day, u sure dun see it on ur table after the wedding....

tulip: tks tks... ekekke hope u enjoy the pics.

rainne

Ling: ard 28 tables.. wkday.. wonder if alot of tables will be blocked..

ya, i agree no need to take so many photos cos after the wedding, most likely wun take out and c again.. must have strong determination to take more.. keke..

I m still sourcing ard for bridal.. will go take a look at french bridal

mayng

rainee: if u gng to french.. give me a call. 93669005. cos they will surely serve u better..

28 tables... shant have lots of block.. dun worry too much..

lux

hi girls..

Just want to check with you guys if anyone know if the 2006 banquet prices is going to go up or otherwise?

tulipblue

hi ling,

yep..lots of photos for me to see!.kekeke...too bad i cant get the Grand Ballrm coz not enuff tables..took the Belvedere instead..

mayng

rainee: better deals? lol. i dunno.. but my bro is too interested in MM too. i am gng down on sat with my bro n his WTB.. so see wat he gets.. kekeke.

Rainee: btw... at times the MM's staff will be here too.. so by the time u get to them.. they might already know u.. whahhahaha

rainne

Tulipblue: so have u signed up with MM already?

Ling: oh, so MM's staff might have already know our concerns and complaints now.. keke.. gd lah, at least they can prepare to give more perks.. yr bro oso interested in MM? so who is he meeting this sat?

I will probably be gog down to MM again to cfm my booking..

mayng

rainee: the perks are standard.. but more impt is their service. Rainee, my bro is interested in MM but too bad, the date he want already taken.. kekekek.

Congrats Rainee.. a soon to be MM's bride. kekeke...

rainne

Ling: yr bro looking at weekend? That time when i checked with them for Dec 05's weekends, all taken up..

Thanks.. i hope i can be a happy MM's bride.. keke