Mandarin Orchard Singapore

carole

Destinee,
you can request, but subjected to availability. tell your coordinator earlier so they can arrange it sooner

destinee

Beside giving fruit cake or chocolate pralines,can i request for other item like chopsticks to be given to guests? I feel that chopsticks are more practical.

mtmtmt

Hi Destinee, they have various favours- choc, fruitcake, scented candle, mini chopstick... (not sure what else, can ask ur coordinator) some brides choose 50% candles, 50% chopsticks for variety.

ginn

hi there!

i also didnt ask or rather forgot to ask for day room, do u all think coord will give us the day room?

ya, destinee, they hv candles & chopsticks..

dyeo

My Hubby & I do not have any friends who are willing to be our EmCEE.
And due to our budget constraint, we cannot afford those well known EmCees.
Can someone help us and advise us if there's a jovial,& professional Emcee around who is willing to assist us?...... ([email protected])

jitpong

Hi Dyeo

How about asking your family member like your brother, sisters or cousin to be the EmCEE..furthermore i reckon that they won't have much to say too...so it quite uneconomical to engage a Emcee

bbear

Hi, I am back in this forum again. Just came back from Biz Trip. China has difficulty to access internet though!

Blur Sotong, if you need an emcee (english speaking) I have a friend to recommend. He is quite good and jovial. Just that he is not a professional. He does free-lancing.

But I agree with jitpong that maybe you should look for a family member or friend... adds more fun to your wedding... :Þ

dyeo

Hi Bbear / Jitpong

I really wished my only kin can help....but we have not been on talking terms...

So he is like a stranger to me.
As for my friends....all chickened out liao.

BBEAR, if you can, please recommend your friend to me... My email: [email protected]

trekkie

this is a great thread!

Just a word of warning to all potential Mandarin brides out there.

I was quite attracted by Mandarin's package & made an appt to see this girl Jamie Long (not sure abt spelling). To cut a long story short, she was VERY attitude & almost evything we requested she say 'cannot'. A lot of qns we posed to her she also couldn't answer.

Almost wanted to give up on Mandarin but FH persuaded me give it another chance. We met up with the mgr Henry today and VERY different from 'Attitude Girl'. Now quite happy with his svc & will most probably sign up with them.

My AD will be Apr-05. I very kiasu hor...

mtmtmt

Welcome Trekkie, yeah Henry has excellent service. I don't like to hear "cannot"/ "we do not have this policy"... Henry put more effort in checking if he could help/ request, even if in the end he couldn't get approval, at least I knew he took trouble to find out instead of the easy convenient straight "no". And he expressed everything in a much more acceptable manner, haha ;)

Nahh not kiasu, yours in only slightly more than a year, time passes very quickly! At least can freeze the price

trekkie

Hi MTMTMT,
Thks for the welcome!

I agree with you that Henry takes more effort. I heard from him he's been there >9yrs & he slowly worked his way up so experience does count.

The other girl is from HK. So annoying. A lot of these foreign imports think they so great right?

MTMTMT, when was your wedding? Did you have any problems with the seat covers?

When I went to view the ballroom setup, some of the seat covers had holes in them! And Henry said cannot guarantee me mine definitely 100% no holes. So disappointing right... anybody any suggestions?

toons77

This is my first time I am posting my comments although I have been reading all the postings 1 month ago.

I am also deciding to hold my wedding in Mandarin Court and will be holding around 33 tables. My coordinator is Francis and he is also quite a nice guy who shares with us his experience. Accordingly, he has been around this business for >10 years. He is a honest guy who will give you

We just went to view the bridal suite yesterday. This is their regency suite and we saw was on the 24th storey suite which is located at the end of the hotel. Moreover, there is also a connecting room which you are able to put your coordinator's room just next to each other.

I have seen around 7 hotels and so far this is the biggest "bridal suite" I have seen. The bathrooms, bedroom and the living room is very huge. Moreover, the room that we saw is overseeing Orchard Road.

Actually our concerns are in 2 areas: the pillars and the setting. Anyone knows how to make use of the pillars as an advantage??

We also saw the setting of the hotel which was very "white" last weekend. That is also our concern bcos of the older generation. Any previous couples who have similar experience and how u turn around the situation....

mtmtmt

Hi Luke, 33 tables will not be blocked by the pillars. Ask for a floor plan with the tables drawn in if you don't believe. It's only with much more tables that u have a problem.
The entire area between the 1st pillar (that u see as u enter) and the entrance can even be cordoned off as a more private cocktail/ reception area. Though I did not cordon.

It looks very white because of the white chair covers and the white tablecloth. They do have yellow, red particularly for VIP but... in my opinion, that doesn't look too good- still, it's personal preference. Have you seen with the banquet in progress ie. with all that lighting- the warm lighting and the blue ceiling does reduce the overall whiteness. Plus the choice of colours for your flower decor. Honestly, older generation wouldn't comment as long as they hear the Mandarin name, u might want to just "test" the ground with them and see what's their feedback like

Have u raised these concerns to ur coordinator? Because he should be explaining...

trekkie

Hi Luke, Afraid I can't contribute ideas for your pillars situation as unfamiliar with the place. I'm holding mine in Grand Ballroom cos mine 60 tables. (his mum wants to invite the whole of Spore la!)

MTMTMT,
had a look at your wedding photos. You look SO Beautiful! Who's your photographer? Ex a not? Wonder if he can do miracles for me too. Hee!

BTW, what is a Polaroid guestbook ah? Looks like a great idea!

toons77

Thks MTMTMT,
I did not get to see the actual wedding cos we were already late in viewing the place, don't want them to think we are "outsiders spying" on their wedding. Actually the older generation knows very well about Mandarin Singapore so we are not too worried about that. Only the white theme is bothering us.

I have actually highlighted my concerns to the coordinator but he suggested us to use Dolly (their appointed contractor) for suggestions to re-theme the place but at our own cost.

carole

Hi Trekkie, inviting whole spore that bad? but i guess your wedding will be fun... lots of ppl and chats and noise.

Hi Luke, mine wedding will be held at Mandarin Court too. but my Coordinator is Malcom, and he will be showing me the Actual Banquet Floral Arrangments on 17 April(before 6.30pm). Another Bride to be will be joining me. If you are interested, you can let me know and we arrange to meet.

trekkie

Hi Carole,
Thks for consoling me. I guess big parties are supposed to be fun but I think u can also enpathise that all those ppl his mum wants to invite will be very 'huh? who is that' kind. Is your MIL also like that?

What is the function happening on 17-Apr ah? Is it a special arrangemt that your co-ordinator is arranging to show you the floral arrangemt or what ah?

carole

Trekkie,
errr.... i only know tt ppl from my PIL will be making my FH to lose money. they will be having abt 3 tables or so. I guess my side will be a worse case.. whahaha.. my mum wants to "invite this person and that person"... "but if invite this person and dun invite the other"..... the story goes on.

17 April, my coordintor is having a wedding dinner there... and i told him that i heard from a fellow SG bride that the floral arrangement was not up to std, i requested to view. Malcom is very accomodating to my request and the fellow SG bride will be coming along. u wanna come along.. so the girls can gossip... thats usual

Have you source for ur wine too? i did mine with a fellow gf whose AD is 22 May and she too holding her wedding at Mandarin... whaha.. so by now u should guess we actually getting GROUP BUY Disc. whahaha.... we both book the same BS and the same Banquet and the same wine too..

we got our wine at 19, which is the House pour for Fullerton... nice nice....

chinadoll2802

Been a long time since i log in..anyway i aso a mandarin bride..my weddin is on 13 nov..

btw anyone been handled by derrick? any comments?

How many tables ideally can mandrin court hold with no blockage of view ??

jann

hi gals..

been a long time too!

i think seems like most of u are holding at mandarin court... For me, it's belvedere...
Hmm.. well, have u gals seen belvedere, just wanna know what u gals' opinion? just need some re-assurance...

toons77

Hi Jan,

Thw only thing about belvedere is the 4 obvious pillars which may not be a problem to some. However, I think that the atmosphere looks better in belvedere than compared to mandarin court if you do not have too many tables.

I am thinking of hosting my wedding in mandarin court with around 35 tables. Can't use belvedere bcos of the max limit of tables (32 only). As mandarin court can hold 50-60 tables max, there will be empty pockets as our tables are too little. So also trying to think of how to make use of the space as an advantage...Maybe bring in some mahjong tables to fill up the empty space!!!

Anyway, Mandarin Court has also pillars which blocks the stage....Wonder why do some hotels have without pillars while others have???

Anyway, will be meeting my coordinator-Francis next Sat to sort out the "issue" of the setup for mandarin court before I finally put my money on MAndarin Singapore. Anything else that I should bring out to him???

jann

hi toons!!

yeah, the pillars are the problem and also i think the door isnt that grand as in not situated at the centre of the ballroom, so think doesnt feel as grand.. hmm... so up till now, i still dun feel very good abt belvedere sometimes. but i like the "corridor" recep area, think it's lovely..

Dun worry abt empty space, actually more space is good, can space out ur tables, and the thing is, when it's nearer ur wedding date, usually ur guests list increases..
haha.. mahjong tables will be interesting, very hong kong style!! hehe..

Maybe u will like to ask ur Coord for some extra things like day room, more cards.. other than that, i really think Mandarin's package is very comprehensive already..

mtmtmt

Toons, with space-planning, u will actually use the Mandarin Court pillars and the way the entrance door is placed, to your advantage.
My spaces were separated into:
Dining zone (35 tables will be unblocked, again the coordinators should have a floor plan to show you how it's placed such that it isn't blocked),
Cocktail tables/ piano display zone,
Bar/ album display zone,
Entrance/ reception tables zone.

There were no "empty spaces" ;)

Maybe ask Henry if he still has the floor plan to show u... I dun have mine already, sorry, if can't be visualised from my description.

trekkie

Hi Toons & Jann,
I asked my co-ord for day room, 70% cards, 30% parking. I also agree the pkg is quite comprehensive. The most attractive factor is the free beer. BTW, I heard that the cards selection can have more, just need to go to T Dragon to view but muz print with them. But I really don't think the rates vary too much.

Hi Carole,
Yup! I want to meet on 17-Apr. So fun! My e-mail is [email protected]. Please e-mail me! I haven't looked for wine yet. I still got time. Mine Apr-05. BTW, any idea hard liquor how ah?

toons77

Thks Trekkie and MTMTMT, I have actually also got all that was mentioned. I suppose so that their package so far is very comprehensive. Must insist Francis to show me the floorplan. Anyway, I think that the piano is removed already cos it was missing when we went there for the second time.

Jan, hey you also thought that a mahjong corner will be cool??? Maybe can even put a mini casino there and they can put their ang pow money for stake and I will be the dealer...Maybe can even recover more money for the wedding...Wishful thinking!!!

Carole, will need to ask my partner on the availability for 17 April. Could be a good idea that we see the arrangements so as to convince ourselves. But I think by then I have already sign up for Mandarin so no escape route!!!

Thks for the invitation...Will contact you if we want to meet up

shinchan

Hi Chinadoll,
Haven't been seeing ard for quite sometime liao... I had mine at Manadarin Court with 29 tables w/o blockage. Henry has drawn up an arrangement of 30 tables, all unblocked...

I must really thank you for recommending Kevin as videographer... He's really very nice & accomodating. R u using him as well?

chinadoll2802

Hi Shinchan...

No problem..hey got any pixs to share?
Nope i went with earnest video instead..as i prefer their style..and plus the videographer stay near my place..like this no worries abt being late etc

Jitpong..can email me at [email protected] for the details?

So no one got derrick as co-ordinator?

carole

Trekkie & Toons,
sure... call me to let me know.. keke.. will be very happy to meet up with u all... but the floral arrangements differ from one coordinator to another.. ok?
my wine i got it from Raffles plc (caltex house), the wine i am serving is the House pour for Fullerton.
9366 005

Mandarin Court (17 April) Floral Arrangement @5.00pm

1. Carole
2. Donna
3. Trekkie
4. Toons

trekkie

Hi Carole,
your hp only 7 numbers lei. So cute.
Wa, you serve such classy wine, abit over my budget. I heard that NTUC also has consignment basis for wine. Anybody familiar with that?

Hi Shinchan & Chinadoll,
Can I chk with you how much does videography cost & what does the pkgs usually cover?

carole

Trekkie: sorry dear.. kekeke 93669005
classy wine? no no.. the price is good.. trust me... will share with u on 17 April on the price of my wine... Many wine sellers do consignments too, the one i got oso consign. Her min order is 24 bottles (full payment) and she will bring enough for your wedding (consign), when u open the consign then she will charge according to the no. of the bottles consume.
i actually have no intention to serve Hard Liquor, but FH says must at least have 2-3 to standby.

jann

hi there!!

u gals mean we cant just get the empty cards from mandarin and then send to another printer to print inserts?

hi carole, maybe i know what's ur wine called?

i tot the floral decor is pretty much standard, unless we're willing to pay extra for more florals?

did u gals managed to ask for seat sashes?

dyeo

Hey...Hey....Hey...

Sounds like we will be having a mini BTB gathering, all thanks to Carole.
Alright.... why not we meet a little earlier to chat & discuss our preps?
Let me know....

shinchan

Chinadoll,
I'll only be collecting my AD pics tmr... Will let u know once they r ready... Btw, I have already posted my studio pics under "Shinchan's wedding pics to share". Maybe u wanna take a look first...

I think u dun have to worry abt Kevin being late. He always reach earlier than stipulated time. So how much are u paying for earnest video?

Trekkie,
My package with Kevin is $500. Maybe u can gimme your email, so that I can give u his contacts...

carole

Jann: i think its call Wollogen...

All: nice nice... let's meet earlier.. for some talks over coffee.... let me do the list... girlssss add on ya.... kekeke

Mini-Mandarin BTB Gathering
1. Carole

dyeo

Carole,

Me..Me....
Who knows, maybe we can even get our account managers to buy us a round of KOPI.. He..he..

Mini-Mandarin BTB Gathering
1. Carole
2. Donna

carole

Blur Sotong... can can.. we all inform indiviual account managers that we are all gng down.. i tell u.. all will be SB(Sibey) stress.... whahahaha....

trekkie

Jann,
your invite cards can get any printer to print. But those supplied by Mandarin only 2-3 designs. But if you go to their supplier T Dragon got more designs, only catch is must print with T Dragon.

I'm also thinking of asking for seat sashes but according to my co-ordinator it's $5+++ per seat. So ex right! I wonder if we can chum-siong with own florist anot...

Shinhan,
yes please! Please e-mail me your pkg details: [email protected]. Thks so much. BTW, your pics are where exactly? Isit your own website?

Look fwd to meeting all you girls on 17-Apr. So fun! What time you all want to meet ah? Abit mean to tekan our co-ordinators right? haha.

carole

Trekkie,
i was thinking abt 3pm.. some small talks over coffee before we head there abt 5.30pm to take a peep at the Floral Arrangements. My Coordinator says too early cant see much.. so 5.30 will be a good time to go.

we will keep each other inform via this site....
shall we ladies?

carole

Jann,
My FH and i seen Belverde... we were not impressed by the small confine space.. but that plc will be ideal for cosy and small wedding. who is ur coordinator? he/she will help u to make the plc looks as grand...

jann

hello!!

trekkie, are u sure seat sash at $5?? when i asked it was $2.. u better check again... Oh ok, that means i can just get the cards from mandarin and then print it elsewhere rite..

hi carole, thanks, will check out the wine.. hmm.. for me, i cant really choose mandarin court, coz dun have that many tables.. so the only thing now is the pillars..hmm...

bbear

Hi Jan,
I will be using Belverde too. Where is your AD? Who is your coord?

Hi Shinchan,
Your videographer (Kelvin) from which company or freelance? Do you like his service?

Hi the rest of the Mandarin BTB,

I am looking for videographer for AD. Those on SB were not cheap (Adrian, Fabian,etc) - More than 1 K plus. Any recommendation.

My AD is next Jan, buy my FH and I will only start to source for my gown and studio package in May due to my exam. Too late? Any tips? Havent been to one yet. Who do you all engage?

bbear

Hi Jan,
I will be using Belverde too. Where is your AD? Who is your coord?

Hi Shinchan,
Your videographer (Kelvin) from which company or freelance? Do you like his service?

Hi the rest of the Mandarin BTB,

I am looking for videographer for AD. Those on SB were not cheap (Adrian, Fabian,etc) - More than 1 K plus. Any recommendation.

My AD is next Jan, buy my FH and I will only start to source for my gown and studio package in May due to my exam. Too late? Any tips? Havent been to one yet. Who do you all engage?

trekkie

Carole,
actually I think abt 6pm is the optimal time to view cos 5.30pm dey just starting to set up only. That's wat happened the last time I went to see.

I think we meet 5pm at the hotel cafe shd be gd enuf la. wat u girls think?

carole

bbear,
my video grapher charges $788, isit too ex?

Trekkie, anytime seems fine with me... cos i will still be ard town ard to look for a mandarin collar shirt for my FH for the PS.

BLur Sotong, girl... today FH went to Century Sq with me to buy 4 Dian Zhuan. All my things all get liao.. except the Men's suit n the shirts now left to source. if u need help let me know.

jitpong

bbear

I thk you should starting looking for your BS now if your AD is in Jan 05....my AD is feb 05 and my BS tell me that i have to start choosing the design i like and suit me in may...and MTM in jun....so that the gown will be ready in OCt for me to take PS...if you start looking only in may..your album may not be ready by your AD...
cos year end is their most busies period....a lot of pple want their album done during that period.

bbear

Jitpong,
Cant do it now as I m having my exam soon. Only can start end of April, that y I m worry now too. Hopefully, will not take a long time to find the one for me

Carole,

Your videographer from where? $788 include what services and packages