Mandarin Orchard Singapore

seiko

hi Sandy

my parents said the same thingie too! how come huh? n where did our peers hear this 'practice' fr?

hi Aureus
the ratio during my dinner was 2 waiters to 3 tables. ive not heard any complaints bt the service fr guests... onli complaints that the food portions were too huge n it was a waste. Hmmmm, hard to please everyone hor? *Heheh*

mtmtmt

Hi Aureas,
ooo- Henry is the guy who did mine, was most delighted with his service! As for half an hr to top up drinks, it could have happened the temp staff was lousy (but ALL hotels engage temp staff waiters for banquets). Or, IF it was wine- perhaps the wedding couple ran out of wine and told the waiters to delay tactic. Some will tell waiters to NOT serve wine until a certain timing, to NOT top-up unless empty, to NOT explain the wine is run out or else a loss of face. I've seen waiters kanna scolded by the captain, "oi, last wedding someone told the guest out of wine, the wedding couple was so mad and scolded us for loss of face..."

Hi Seiko,
same here- the kiddies didn't amt to much but we gave abit more to the parents. For us, we were specifically told to give angbaos and to visit each and every one of them so as not to appear "stingy/ hiding" from them. *rolls eyes*
But we RECEIVED "1st yr" angbaos from the elders.

seiko

hi MTMTMT
we also rec'd angbaos fr both sets of parents. The usual anuties n uncles still gave us angbaos but the amt sot of shrank *Hehehh*

aureus

Hi hi.....
hey mel, was surfing thru and i must send my congratulations to you....heheh

i still havent confirmed any hotels till now...dunno what im waiting for...heheh...fren say still wait...wait somemore..again kena pushed back....heheheh.....

mtmtmt

Thanks aureas
Keeping fingers and toes crossed that everything will be fine

Anyway, finally uploaded my wedding pics...
- for the banquet table-to-table pics (to see the setting at each table, and how the backdrop looks on photo since THESE are the ones ur guests KEEP), see http://community.webshots.com/user/melkev1 FOLDER #10.
- for general banquet ambience, see http://community.webshots.com/user/melkev2 FOLDERS #14, #15, #16.

Hope that helps
What happened to all the other Mandarin brides?

mandylim

Hi Mel,

Saw in other forum about your good news.

Congratulations to you! Very happy for you
Take good care of yourself.

shinchan

Hi Sandy,

{Refering to ur sms yest.} Thanks for your blessing. I think if ask for too much changes, may not have to top up.

doh

Good day all! I have a ROM plus dinner package for sale/transfer. The ROM portion is held at the hotel itself for at least 25 pax with a JP provided. This will in turn qualify you for a 5% discount on the actual dinner itself. The ROM will be held this year while the dinner is scheduled for next year. Of cos, these are still open to changes. Please contact me for more info at 9093 2381.

shinchan

Hi MT,

My wedding is tmr!!!

Sandy,
Yup, I'm using Mandarin Court.. Photo collection is fine, everything went on smoothly..

sandgirl72

Hello shinchan..

Too excited till cant sleep early, so log in to post here? hehehee..

C-O-N-G-R-A-T-U-L-A-T-I-O-N-S to U and your hubby.. wishing U 2 a very wonderful and blissful marriages.. God bless

Do share with us yr photos and your experience at Mandarin Court when U r back from HM (i presume)..

Take care

shinchan

MT & Sandy,

Thanks for your blessing!

Aiya, not that I can't sleep, cos I know I won't have time to login for some time, so I thgt can come in & take a look lor.

As I have only 29 tables, so we manage to spread the tables loosely, very comfortable, not cramp... Guests are all very happy and find the wedding very enjoyable (We engaged a emcee to spice up the show!) Friends complimented that Mandarin Court is a very nice place... Everything runs very smoothly, we managed to start at our stipulated time - 8.15pm, guest attendance abt 95% and best of all is that we manage to have something better than a breakeven! heehee...

Will share my pics after I have rec'd them. Hence, will talk to u gals again after I'm back from my HM. Leaving on fri... Ciao..

jitpong

Can someone share if Mandarin Ballroom or Mandarin Court is better. How do the hotel ascertain which room they will give you?

blueberry_gal

I attended D&D at both Mandarin Grand Ballroom and Mandarin Court before. Both ballrooms are equally nice....Grand ballroom is bigger and give a very grand & glamourous feel whereas Mandarin Court has a modern touch....

Choose the one that blends well with your wedding theme.

sandgirl72

Hi jitpong
The hotel will allocate the suitable ballroom to you based on the number of tables U r having..

We had our wedding dinner at Mandarin Court for 40 tables..

bbear

Hi, I will be getting married in Jan 05 and has decided to book Mandarin Singapore. Like to get to know more Mandarin Brides out there and exchange ideas.

jitpong

Hi blueberry and sandy

Thanks for your advice.

Today hb and me have an appt with Henry of Mandarin. A very accommodating guy and the package offered is very good. But did not confirm, still want to look look see see..however Henry is very kind to reserve mandarin court for us on our AD first.

jitpong

Hi bbear

I am Feb 05 bride, have not confirm my venue, but 100% sure will be signing with Meritus Mandarin. Just that both me and hb have not decide when to pay the deposit.

Henry will be my co-ordinator if i signed with them. Who is your co-ordinator?

bbear

Hi jitpong, my coordinator is Malcolm. Same as you, is sure to sign up with Meritus Mandarin. Yet to pay deposit.
So which ballroom did you take? I am taking the Belvedere.

sandgirl72

Hi bbear
We had Malcolm for our wedding last Dec..

He is a great person to co-ordinate with for your upcoming wedding.. have fun in your wedding preps..

carole

i am getting married on the 25 Nov this yr and very glad to have Malcom too as my co-ordinator. He is such a patient guy and attentive. We too recommended our friends to him for the wedding in May 04

aureus

hihi all....its been a long long time since i came in here....
hope all of you keeping well esp mel...

hihi sandy...may i ask which room you held yours in and how was the whole thing? any pics to share? thanks

hihi jitpong, when you AD? me also thinking of doing in mandarin...you taking which room?

sandgirl72

Hi aureus

It is great to see U here again! So how are U getting on??

We had ours at Mandarin Court and everything went on smoothly of cos with the wonderful help from our co-ordinator Malcolm.. I can send U the link for our wedding photos and U can see the setup of the ballroom.. May I have yr email address pls?? kekekee

sandgirl72

Hi Carole

Congrats in advance on your upcoming wedding.. Yup Malcolm is very patient and attentive to the needs of the couple..

kpo a bit, which ballroom will U be using?

aureus

heheh..hihi sandy

congrats congrats...my heartiest wishes for a blessed and happy married life..with little juniors on the way...heheh... guess you must be enjoying married life loads too

im hanging on in there....haha...was deciding whether to postpone wedding again..coz i havent done any thing at all :p

i would love to see your wedding pics...pls send to [email protected]

wow...looks like you have had a great great time at your wedding and mandarin lived up to your expectations....so so happy for you

jitpong

Hi bbear and aureus

My AD will be 19 Feb 05 and we are taking Mandarin Court.

bbear...when your AD...did Malcolm inform you there is an upcoming wedding this Sat....we are actually advise to view the decor before 6.30pm..you may wish to drop by and take a look...

aureus...you want to go down to take a look too before you decide?

Maybe the 3 of us will see each other there.

bbear

Hi Jitpong,

My AD is on 29 Jan 05 and we are taking Belvedere. Mandarin court was taken before we request. Waiting for the contract.

I cant make it on Sat

mtmtmt

Hi aureas, thanks, am well
Hehehe, still deciding? Take ur time

Welcome jitpong, Henry was my coordinator, he was perfect from start to finish
Can look-see my wedding pics in archive (just the previous folder can find liao).

Hi to everyone else!

bbear

Hi Ginn,
U r taking Belvedere too. Ur first choice? I was disturbed by the pillars. When is ur AD?

Hi Sandy,
May I have the link to your wedding photo and look at your set up? Care to share more of ur experience with Malcolm?

Hi Carole,
Which function room are u using?

Hi to the rest !!

jitpong

Hi MT

Thanks, I actually went to have a look at your photos already. It looks very nice and i thk your gown is special match the lighting of the ballroom too...

Both me and hb felt the same for Henry even after our 1st appt with him..can visualise that we will have a wonderful banquet with him...

Hi bbear
Henry mentioned that belvedere is nice too in fact he like it more than Mandarin Court. Due to our number of guests, we have to take the Court, if not he say he will highly recommend belvedere to us.

destinee

I am interested in holding my wedding at Mandarin.I have about 40 tables.Is the Grand Ballroom a better choice?A bit worried that it may be cramped in Mandarin Court.

bbear

Hi Jitpong,
The Belvedere is nice except for the 4 pillars at the centre. You saw the room before?
How many table are you expecting?
Which bridal studio is your taking?
I'm sourcing one now.

ginn

hi!

bbear.. ya, belvedere was my first choice, did hesitate initially due to the pillars, but overall it's not bad actually...

how many tables u looking at? if not too many, shouldnt be blocked by pillars...

jitpong

Hi bbear

I did not look at belvedere before as it has a function then, I only manage to look at Mandarin Court and the bridal suite.

It is estimated that I will have 32 tables and Henry say if I use belvedere, the pillars will definitely block the view. How many tables are you having?

My BS is Everbliss at Suntec City. They have a
branch at Marina Sq too. So far how many BS have tou visited. You may wish to take a look at Silouette and The Wedding Present..their gowns simply lovely...but TWP is more affordable.

carole

Hi Sandy(sandgirl72) & bbear,
I am using Mandarin Court. currently book using 30 tables but likely to add till 36 tables or more.

bbear

Hi Ginn,

I prefer Belvedere than Mandarin court,except for the 4 pillars, still thinking how can I turn the pillars into plus points.

At the moment, the table should be around 31 or 32. Thus, some tables will be blocked by the pillars

bbear

Hi Jitpong,

I didnt manage to look at the bridal suite. How is it? Big? High Floor?

I have about 32 tables too, worry the blockage too

How is your package in Everbliss? How many did u visit?
I'm yet to visit anyone yet. My bf has already shortlisted some. Will start after my exam in mid April? Any guides and tips to share?

ginn

hi bbear!

ya, i'm a bit worried too, me having abt 28 tables... yes, wondering how to make it into a "plus" point instead... i didnt look at mandarin court at all...

But will u be expecting an increase in no of guests, usually when it's nearer to date, ur guests list will increase...

Me too, didnt look at the bridal suite.. how is it? good?

jitpong

hi bbear

Henry show us to the one at 24th flr...according to him, bridal suite is actually the 2nd to their presidential suite..it is spacious..living room separated from bedroom.

My package with Everbliss ($3188) is as follows:

1. MTM WG
2. OTR or MTM EG
3. Tea dress or Bridemaid's dress
4. 2 groom suite & 1 MTM pants to keep
5. ROM package
6. 2 father's suit
7. car
8. car deco and following car ribbon
9. 8 corsages and 2 bouquet
10. studio, day and night AD hairdo and makeup
11. 22pcs 15R album
12. 36pcs 4R (pic from album)
13. 3R & 5R mini album
14. 1 8R tabletop
15. 1 16x20 portraits

Actually if you go those one-stop bridal studio, the thing that they offer is almost similar to the above...so you have to see if you like their gown...material for the gown..how's their makeup and photos...and most impt..their service..

Haizz..i went to a exhibition...Everbliss is my first to sit down and I am stuck with them...sign up with the due to their persuasion skill and photos are nice...

After that regretted and went to visit about 4 others...like Wedding Present and Silhoutte gown..but FH dun allow me to forfeit the deposit placed at Everbliss..so i am still with them...but after my first visit with them to look at their gown, i am satisfied with them.

If you really place a lot of emphasis on your gown and has the budget, maybe you should visit bridal boutique...photgraphy is not inhouse..they tie up with some renowned photographers to offer a full package...but of cos...they are more expensive and things offer in the package is lesser..but the quality will be there.

mtmtmt

Hi jitpong, thanks
Safe hands with Henry lah, I bombarded him with emails on nitty-gritty, his response was still gd. He even takes trouble to highlight if he's on leave for certain periods so u dun wonder if he MIA. My HB even last-minute booked extra 3 rms, on the wedding afternoon itself, even though gd occupancy rate, he managed to pull thru for us.

Hi Destinee, Mandarin Court can hold 40 tables certainly without crampness. However, I think 35 or 37 tables is the max no. of tables with UNBLOCKED VIEW.

bbear n ginn, too bad can't find Seiko (another MM bride who held in Belvedere last yr). Holler for her, maybe she will share her pics for a clearer view of the space? ;)