Mandarin Orchard Singapore

mookie22

hi ladies, appreciate all ur feedback & suggestions. thanks!
hope those of u whose wedding is coming up have a beautiful & memorable day!
jann, conrad is already booked for my 2 dates

other than GWP, are u referring to function rooms for the other hotels that u mentioned?

jann

hi mookie,

i think for raffles the plaza, u can try one third of the raffles ballroom. hyatt will be hibiscus room, not so sure abt the other two..

seiko

Chinadoll and Jan *HEE* juz got back fr Mandarin.
had a lovely dinner at Top of the M. Wahhh even with the 150 voucher, we still had 2 top up like 60 bucks... food there ex leh... i ordered the 82 dollars 4 course dinner ( inclusive of 1 glass of wine ) while hubby ordered the 118 dollars 5 course dinner ( inclusive of 2 glasses of wine ). But the food n ambience was great and at 8pm, there were 3 minstrels hopping fr table to table serenading you with song dedications!

Oh gals, juz to update u on MM's hotel charges.
South Tower ( not renovated yet ) is 138+++ rate for Singaporeans. Grand Tower is 168+++ rate for Singaporeans. MM was fully booked for South Tower... and even at Grand Tower, the 168+++ Deluxe rooms ( without the hydrobath spray facility ) r fully booked. So we ended up staying at the Premium rooms 188+++ with hydrobath. I din know bt this ( top up for hydrobath )until we checked out. Apparently, when we stayed at 12th floor after wedding, there wasnt any hydrobath. But our bridal suite 1526 came with hydrobath. Yest we stayed at 29th floor, it came wif it. So higher floors r equipped wif it so therefore considered as Premium rooms lor.

OH JOJOK!
Actually wanted 2 come down n say hi to u... but figured you'll be bz... so i sms Dawn instead 2 congrat u
I checked in quite late n rushing off for dinner at top of the M, no chance too *heheh* but this morn, i thot u'll be down for breakfast at chatterbox, i came down at 9am... but din see u leh... so you prob had room service hor ? *winkwinkwink* :p

mtmtmt

Sounds wonderful, Seiko!

But ladies- remember to book rooms (for friends etc) thru your hotel coordinator for your wedding night, cheaper rate.

Congrats Jojok! :D

seiko

agree with MTMTMT that yr coordinator cld get u rooms at a much cheaper rate

do tell them in advance if u wan an adjoining rm... or prefer them 2 be far far away fr yr bridal suite *heheheeh*

mtmtmt

Seiko, hahaha you reminded me about proximity!!!
1 room for my mum, 1 room for my PIL, 1 day room for helpers & photog.

Too near not good huh... too far may make coordinating/ contact a hassle- then again there's always the cellphone, they can be the ones travelling to my room instead. Far away then! ;P

jann

hihi gals!

hehe seiko, looks like u can never get enuf of MM huh!! hehe..

Oh actually got a question here, anyone can help me pls?
How much ang pows do u all give (estimated) for jie mei, brothers, make up artist and photographer? Just wanna know some market rate first
thks! Do u all give ang pows to the waiters too?

Hi MT, ya, i think u shld get them to stay far away, haha!! Less hassle in a way too i think! If not think they'll be like getting in and out of ur room every minute!! hahaha!

seiko

HI MT

actually hor, i requested for my helpers 2 stay on the same floor, but far away *heheeh* but they checked in earlier, n requested to be beside us *grinz* hehehehe.

Hi Jan
for jiemei's, my mom gave $20 to my 9 jiemeis... i gave $20 to my 3 right hand 'men' who helped me in many ways ( plus we also included a nite's stay for them.) But the other 6 jiemeis, they wld have got angbao fr my mom and hubby's 'bribe entrance' *heheeh* Think hubby gave 400 to them...For my makeupartist, i paid 40 bucks for the 2 ampoules... n i gave her a $20 angbao.... cos she already earned $60. For chauffeur, dumb hubby gave that man 200!!! when i heard it i was like WHAT???!!!???? he claimed the poor man had 2 drive us to many places wor... that y muz be generous mah. Dumb man. For Nick our photographer, we gave him 200. For Lynn out hotel coordinator, we gave 128.
Cannot remember how much he gave his 3 bros leh..
I gave the banquet captain Liza 10 bucks... the media control rm guy 10 bucks... the rest din leh... cos got so many waiters how to tahan? *hehe*

jann

hihi seiko!!

i will take note of this!
haha.. ya but i read from some thread, some ppl gave ang pow to waiters, and i was like shocked, so many how to tahan! hahahah! Ok, at least i have some idea now...

seiko

HI Jan

as 4 waiters, there's so many! really cant stomach leh.... *hee*

actually hor, really regretted not engaging the 3 minstrels fr Top of the M.... they were belting out love songs... aiyoooo so romantic!! *heheeh*

but then again, they cld be costly hor.

chinadoll2802

hihi ladies

hmm..bookin the rooms thru co-ordinators can b made??? so far lynn din mention anytin abt tis leh...i may hv to book a few rooms too..for my parents and in laws..they r keen to stayover..

wah...seiko..ur hubby realli generous with the driver leh...heehee wat a big ang bao..

tink i will gv a red packet to the make up artist..if she din wan to charge me extra..cos i intend to get her to stay later to change my hairstyle for my 2nd march in :p then i will gv her a red packet to make up for it

for waiters..if gv..then mayb just gv a small one lor..or not..gv a bigger one to b shared lor..

yet to sign my contract with lynn..cos my hubby has irregular schedule these few weeks..tryin to make it down to sign...

seiko

Hi Chinadoll

Lynn was great!! she saved my day... cos when my MC ( poor fella was briefed last min bt the video montage ) din make it to the stage on time 2 announce the commencement of the video montage, Lynn came 2 our rescue by 'part-timing' as our MC!! *heheeh* so sporting hor? I scolded hubby 4 giving driver so much when he cld get off work ard 2plus when we checked in. I din know how much hubby gave the fella till next day when i asked.
No wonder the driver called us ard 6pm asking if we needed him 2 chaffeur us anywhere after the dinner or not... n i thot he was so helpful! hahaha. Its best 2 book the rms thru Lynn cos she'll give u a gd rate

My makeup artist din stay for my 2nd march in...
so she already made 40 bucks fr my 2 sets of false lashes... so another 20 as angbao shd suffice for her.

i had a total of 3 tiaras on my AD (all bought by moi *hee* ). For 1st march in, makeup artist pinned a flat tiara. for 2nd march in cos she's not ard, i din dare 2 unpin the tiara as it'll mess up the hair, so i wore the pointed tiara in front of the 1st tiara *hehehe* but cant tell in pix lor... juz look like some elaborate tiara ( wahh like that oso can :p ). For my cheongsam, i took both tiara's off.... hair a lil messy but who cares, almost end of dinner liao mah *heheh*

though i had a change of 3rd coordinator 1 mth b4 my AD to Lynn, she was great n managed 2 handle things so well. V Capable lady n she's onli so young!!

jann

hi seiko!

Yeah, the minstrels sounds like a good idea! But but but... think will be very ex!! hahaha! Everything needs money man!

hi chinadoll
think as long as u made a tentative booking, u dun have to rush to confirm and sign.. hehe.. unless they call u to say another couple wants the same date as urs... so think u can take ur time! heheh..

seiko

Chinadoll

Jan's rite.... y not place a tentative booking... tell the coordinator that if some1 decides 2 book on the same date, quickly let u know... you have priority over them
better check....

seiko

Dear dear MTMTMT!

Tks dear, Connie juz called me asking me if i needed an extra card 2 keep... cos she remembered u telling her i distributed all the cards out without saving 1 4 myself... told her i finally dug out 3-5 cards fr hubby's drawer... that fella was so blur that he din even know he had left overs!! anyway, it was so sweet of u 2 let her know
tks again!

sandgirl72

hi ladies...
has been quite a while that i "MIA" from here...

hi jojok..
a belated wishes for your wedding. hope you had enjoyed yourself.

hi seiko
both of U are so close to MM... btw, i m going for my food tasting tomorrow nite..

seiko

Hi Shinchan
When i signed the contract last nov, Joe Lee was assigned 2 be my coordinator. Later changed to Zainal.... 1 mth b4 AD, changed to LYNN ..... but Lynn is a capable coordinator so phewwwwwwww *heheh*

Hi Sandy
yalor, its like our 3rd ( albeit super ex ) home hahahaah. Enjoy yr food tasting!

mtmtmt

Hi Seiko, no need to thank me lah just mentioned in passing
, hmm am impressed by Connie she remembered! I was sure she would forget what with the busy buzzing (ahhaahah my HB went there once and was shocked to see TD crammed with chairs and tables outside the entrance even).

Abit stressed, HB told me to buy all built-in kitchen appliances and whole flat lighting and bathroom fittings- have them delivered too, within 20 days.
Next 7 days must collect TD cards, finish collating my guest list addresses (emails all funky must call personally for address, sure time-consuming) and mail all out!

seiko

Hi MTMTMT

juz came back fr Nick's studio
collected my 3 albums... okieee, i ordered 26 artwork ( topped up for 2 ) he separated the artwork into 2 albums.... lovely glossy vivid colours, love it *heheeh* and 1 album on 4R pix of morn + dinner events.

Will update the AD link n inform u gals tomorrow

Met another couple at his studio... seems 2 be fr this forum leh *heheeh*

yalor, when Connie called, she mentioned her biz flourishing 2 a point where pple throng the place onli on wkends n they had 2 place chairs n tables outside... which was wat yr hubby saw... so she did mention some customers were pissed at having 2 wait 2 b served n so on.. so some left in a huff... well, she said that cant be helped, 1st come 1st serve, so wat if the couple placing big orders wif her?? was impressed wif wat she said hor?? i seriously din expect her 2 call up after all its been like 3 mths since i last saw her....

wahhh u have a humongous task 2 complete leh... all within 20days?

hate sending out the invites.... i had 3 invites that went missing... phewww heng i sms them, then found out they din rec it!!! Lost in Mail(space) ahahahah

sandgirl72

Hi Seiko
Our food tasting on last Wed was quite satisfactory except my MIL feels that the serving portion is not enough for 10 pax, don't look vey presentable lor..

btw, did U have shark fin served on yr AD? if yes, may i know which type did U choose?

have collected our inserts, cards and envelopes from connie.. but came back found a typo error on it.. called connie and she is very nice to agree to re print for us but we just need to pay her the cost for making the plate, i.e $30.. thank God!

did both of U check in over the weekend? hehehee

Hi MT
saw from yr previous posts, u r getting 'kailuibang' from them? have U tried it b4? it is quite ex, 4 pcs for $22..

cath

oh no.. my wedding is in this coming sunday... i'm so nervous...................... :I

seiko

Hi Sandy

Mandarin was super generous with the food serving
during my AD.... i had guests 'complain' that they cldnt finish as the portions were so huge! they lamented that it was so wasteful 2 throw them away. My Food tasting potions were also huge.... too much food oso pple complain *heheeh* cant seem 2 please them all hor? :p

Yup i had sharkfins during my AD.... its brownish soup i think?? braised sharkfin??? i thot there's onli 1 type sharksfin offered?

Connie's service is really gd ya??? the rest of her colleagues not as nice... Heng i got her *hehe*

Aiyoooo, not so much $ 2 check in lah *heeheh* now gotta save up for my europe trip loh .

Hi CATH!!
CONGRATS!!! enjoy yr big day!

seiko

Hi Mandy

Tks 4 sharing yr wonderful pix with us!! Waahhhh, looking at yr pix really makes me reminisce bt my wedding.... wahhh its been 1 mth plus loh *heheeh*

btw, u look GREAT! who was the captain in charge of Belvedere on yr wedding nite>?

jann

Hello gals!!!

Been quite busy lately... that's why didnt come in here..

Hey seiko! Actually i saw ur link the other day but was too tired to post here..hehe! Nice!

Hey Mandy!! Lovely pics too!!

Btw, seiko and mandy, wat was ur waiter-ratio like? is it 1 waiter to 2 tables??

Cant wait for my turn now after looking at u gals pics!! hahahaa!! Hmm.. think no regrets taking Belvedere, tho pillars are there, but think the ballroom still look quite good leh... hehheee
and i like the recep area too!
Glad to see more gals taking up Belvedere!

Hi cath, Congrats to u!
Dun be too nervous ya! hehe!

Hi MT, hope ur preparation all doing well!

Hi Sandy, oh i tot Mandarin's food portion is supposedly quite huge? hmm.. dun worry, i think for AD will turn up well for u!

seiko

Hi Jan

the recept area is kinda priviate cos of the long corridor... looks grand too with all the stone sculptures *heehee* I think my ration was either 1 waiter to 2 tables or 2 waiters to 3 tables??? cant rem loh.. *heheh* oh, fr the pix, the pillars actually did look gd *hahaah*

jann

Hi seiko

ya, i think the pillars looks good too! hahaha! Or maybe Mandy's photographer was good too! hehe!
Oh yes, so was ur stage decor the same as Mandy? It looks quite similar rite?

But did ur guests hang around the long corridor during the recep or did they go to the outside meaning where the sofas are (behind the recep table?) Sorry, so many questions from me everytime! hehe..

seiko

Hi Jan

Mandy used Belvedere's original topiary ( the ball-like hanging designs wif flowers? ). I requested for Dolly 2 use Shangri-la's Pillar drapes as my backdrop instead. ShangriLa had a bigger stage so she cld place 5 pillars in an arch shaped manner. But for Belvedere, cos of the smaller stage, she cld onli placed 3 pillars horizontally... not that im complaining *heheeh*

Most of my guests loitered ard the corridor until they doors opened 4 them 2 step into the ballrm.
Oh, no 1 wandered into those sofas, cos its supposed to be the recept areas mah....

mtmtmt

Hi Seiko,
aiyoh I had problem with TD service tho I agree Connie made up for it by delivering the forgotton batch to my home. The rest of staff only tried to shush me when I complained- at least she took concrete action! But not happy they waited til I flared before they got moving (they missed a promised deadline earlier too).

My cards are targetted to mail out tomorrow! PIL wants to send theirs closer to AD... well, if their guests presume they were on last-minute add-ons *shrug*. MIL wants to write the guest's name on the cards BIG AND BOLD ON THE COVER instead of correctly in the English invit line or in the Chinese Invit space *I CRINGE AND DIE of mortification*. I am not going to even protest since it's "their" cards. I'm still in shock- I hope PIL who has alot more taste will not allow that to happen!

HB too busy to even write his invits, airily says he can do without invits even (then what's the point of getting nice invits urgh).

Hi Sandy,
nope never tried the kahluibang, just like the packaging and it's for the classy feeling/ association with MM since having banquet in MM. Only bought a few boxes for more immediate family.

Hi Jan, thanks, yup busy with reno, wedding and new doggy settling in preps. Intensively clearing things-to-do (eg buying home stuff, food-tasting, GDL) before I go Japan hehehe.

mandylim

Hi Jan,

The waiter ratio for that day was i think 1 waiter/ress to 2 to 3 tables, of course for the VIP it's 1 to 1 and then another waiter and captain to take care of the bride and groom.

Hi Seiko,
I cannot remmeber most of the things that happened that day...haha.... so i cannot remember what's our captains name, there are two of them. But both are very good and attentive.

seiko

HI MTMTMT

haven heard fr u 4 quite sometime now.... ooopssss... hope u can mail out yr cards in time though....huh u mean yr MIL will write the guests name onli on the front envelope OR front of card, n not at all in the insert? Errrrr..... not nice hor?? my IL's more kan chiong than i was.... 3 mths b4 wedding, they already asking me 4 invites! wahhhhhh

My hubby sama sama as yr hubby.... he also dilly dallied wif the invites until i had 2 nag and nag ( this im getting v gd at *ahahah* ). He called up his bros like 2 days b4 onli too!!! SHocking rite?? how last min men can get? but phewww we're dealing wif guys... if gals,.... then prob they wld have felt insulted wor.

Oh yeah hor.... when u heading for Jap u lucky gal???

Hi Manday
wahhhh i onli rem 1 40 sth lady whos the captain. She's Liza... LYnn my coordinator even told me Liza is more experienced than her! so told me not 2 worry.... i was sure in safe hands that day man :p

jojok

I m back from my honeymoon. Been missing for about a week. Thanks for all your well wishes.

The wedding went on smoothly w a few glitches here & there but definitely memorably.

My guest complimented that the deco was very nice, both for the church & banquet. Food was really good, full of compliments fm the guest. The only negative comment was the dessert (sea coconut w honeydew). However, not sure what happened, apparently, it was also mentioned that the portion wasn't large enough. My mum says its smaller than what we had for food tasting. Need to check it out w Henry. Oh yes, they like the wedding favours too. I have 50% candles & 50% chopsticks. Both items were just as popular.

The bridal suite was really big & comfortable.

Seiko, I have my breakfast in the suite. Drank too much on that night, so was very high. Slept with my makeup & hairdo, only washed them off the next morning. *keee...eee*

seiko

HI Jojok

so goooooddd! u cld fly off for HM immediately.. aiyoo, i still have 2 wait till Dec ARGH! *Heheh*

i stayed at 1526.... u leh?? I was at the 29th floor on the day of yr wedding... no wonder din c u the next morn *heheeh* I drank onli 3 glasses of red wine... so kind of janet n gang 2 let me off *hahah* but i slept at 3 plus anyway :p

Oh 4 dessertm i had sea coconut with longan... and crushed ice. My guests complained that the portions were so huge that most food like the duck and after that, they had so much left over.

Mandarin is really generous wif food i guess.

sugarbaby

Just signed up with MM for my wedding next yr June and my co-ordinator is Jamie. Anyone is having the same co-ordinator as me??

jann

hihi!!

Hi jojok, welcome back!
Glad u've enjoyed ur day too! hehe.. Wah, so many of u married and getting married within this period!!

Hmm... guess the food portion isnt very consistent huh... Perhaps got to highlight that point to the coord.. hehe.. But seems like overall, food taste wise is generally quite good!

Wah seiko, u can still remember ur room number!! heheh... Yea, guys always very last minute one lah!

Kinda curious abt the Suite, so many of u said it's big and good... hehe..

Hi Joyce!

Nope, diff coord as yours... which ballroom did u take up?

seiko

Hi Jan

yalor i love the spacious suite leh. V luxurious till i dun wan 2 come home ahhahah. I even kept the complimentary carpark coupon wif our rm number written on it the day we left. Sth like a momento 2 show our future kiddos wahahahah

The 1st thing i sapu when i entered the room were the choc pralines. My helpers said i so greedy, not afraid of putting on weight meh? I reasoned its my AD, so its not possible 2 put on weight so fast! ahahahh

anyway, how's yr prep??

chinadoll2802

hihi ladies

Long time din come in to this thread...

Been bz with my work..up to now till no time to go down and sign with lynn...hopefulli i can settle this asap..

Seiko>> i like ur pixs..veri nice..but i dun tink nick is within my budget

Mandy >> ur pixs are great too..so who is ur photographer??

Ladies ..any recommendations for videographer aso?

Did anyone choose their yam paste for the dessert?? nice anot?

jann

hihi!!

seiko, not much preps done yet, think still early... hehehe...

hi chinadoll, yea, i also got same question as u.. any good and cheap videographer? Usually how much should i expect?

Hi sugarbaby, oh, great, u're taking belvedere too! heheh..

jann

Hi sugarbaby...

mine is jul next yr... my coord is angie.. think she's new, never heard anyone talking abt her before.. actually my previous coord left that's why change to her..

How abt u, when's ur big day?

mandylim

Hi Chinadoll2902,

My photographer is Albert from Everafter. He likes to take those candid shoots and i like his style. Actually my friend use him for their ROM and actual day early this year and so i already has first hand feel of his work so decided to take him to be on the safe side.

Hi MTMTMT,

dun worry, u are not the only ones. I had to tell my dad to write in the inserts because the old generation style is to write on the envelope. I think my il's also, i didn't want to care just let them do what they like.

For the invitations, we do an e-invites to all our friends/colleagues to ask them to do a tentatively rsvp with us and then we sent them the card and they will rsvp again. For our relatives, we keep reminding our parents to confirm with them because we have friends whose parents invite too many people without getting confirmation from them and then they turn up and there are not enough seats for them, so "pai-sei".

I cannot answer u guys on the videographer because my friend is the one who took it.Sorry.

Hi Seiko,
i think we have the same woman captain but i have another guy captain that also take care of us, cannot remember his name. both very good.

seiko

Hi Chinadoll
He has other pkgs 2 offer too
but its better 2 scout ard n compare works b4 making a decision

Hi Jan
i actually became more 'ON' in my preps 2 wks b4 the wedding *heheh* all the while i was getting so nuah. come 2 think of it, i was lucky it pulled thru *hahah*

Hi Mandy
wah so gd?? i guess cos mandarin had 3 weddings including mine that day, so all their captains were engaged. Hence i onli had Liza ard in Belvedere

jojok

Hi Chinadoll,

I initially choose the yam paste for food tasting but it turned out very dry & w the pumpkin taste, none of us liked it so decided to change the dessert item.

sandgirl72

Hi Jojok
Welcome back from your honeymoon!

Talking about the yam paste.. we had this for our trial food tasting b4 we confirm signing up with Mandarin.. cos this dish is my eldest SIL fave dish..

But when this dessert was being served, we immediately don't like it even b4 we get to taste it... it is so dry with a rough look and it is extremely sweet.. opposite to the traditional yam paste which is suppose to give a 'wet look' and the texture is to be much smoother and not as super sweet...

sandgirl72

Hi Seiko & Jann
We will be meeting up with our sales guy tomorrow afternoon to discuss about the food portion.

We really hope that on our AD, the food portion will be as generous as possible, or else my dear MIL will 'lose face'...

seiko

Sandy

dunno y MM standard not consistent??? but for my AD, food portions were way too huge... so wasteful.we were thinking that 4 Foodtasting, the portions were juz nice. but come AD, who knows they suddenly became so generous....