Maldives

haru

hi zhuzhu,
yup, i got the list from u before.i'll go check it again. oh ya, wanted to ask u about the transfer as i saw that u had to take a shuttle bus to the seaplane lounge, is that arranged by Hilton? me a lil confused as to whats e arrangement..

zhuzhu

Hey Haru
Here is how the transfer is like:
On the nite u arrived at Male airport, tell the crown tours guy which hotel you are staying..he will accompany u to take the dhoni to Male and then tell u where Relax inn is. You go to Relax inn urself..

Next day, the crown tours guy would meet u at Relax inn lobby..and then together u will take the dhoni back to the airport and he will bring u to take a shuttle bus...

Dhoni ride would cost USD1 per pax per trip...Shuttle bus ride is FOC..

zhuzhu

Oh yeah I forgot to mentioned:
On the day of return, Crown Tours arranged for an hr tour in Male..we can leave our big luggages with them..they are charging USD3 per pc..then as usual pay USD1 for the dhoni ride...

That day, after we finished our tour, in our hurry to get on the dhoni, we forgot to tip the guide, becos the guide is staying in Male, so he did not went back to the airport with us..

haru

hi zhuzhu,
thanks for the details! i did not see the email with the excursions, i only have the seasports one, so i emailed hiton for the lastest list/menu..

hey everyone,
i'm thinkin of getting a new camera (have the Canon IXUS 50 currently), am looking at the new Sony DSC-HS/S. i'm no camera expert, so am trying to find out more reviews..

ryo

Yo Haru,

Hahaha.... I also doing research on Camera these few weeks. However your DSC-H5 is a new model, no review from expert yet, only review by user.

Check out http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/specs/Sony/ (professional review!)

There is Sony DSC H1 review. The predecessor of H5, likely their performance was more or less the same, jus that H5 got more function.

However, try to look at other brand, such as Panasonic FZ7 or Canon S3 IS(good brand too)equivalent model, at least they uses SD card instead of memory stick(more ex!) for storage. Unless u got lots of Sony product at home lah, then Memory stick wld be useful!

Oh... becareful with the 12X zoom har, image stabliser wouldn't help much also. A small tripod would do some good!

Go Alan photo(Funan) or MS Color(Recommended) in Ang Mo kio, can get much better pricing than BEST or Harvey Norman. At least 10% off Retail price. Anyway Cash only
Hope it helps!

Can go MS color website do a E-quotation also.

haru

hi Wu,
i'm pretty much considering getting a dSLR now to take better pix. kinda sianz of digi cams..mite be getting e Canon EOS350..

ryo

Yo Haru,

Hahahah.... I still very undecisive whether to get a DSLR as well. But it really needs skill and good understanding of the settings to take good picture though, cos compact digital Cam already pre-program many different scences shots for u liao, so it's easy.

Fo DSLR, you might need to get other stuff like Zoom lens(Cheapest ard $300++), or even wide angle lens(cheapest ard $800++), probably some flash and filters as well.

Regardless of Canon 350D or Nikon D70s, add add all these stuff together probably needs ard S$2.5K.....so for me, I'm also looking at the compact digi-cam such as Sony DSC-H5 or Canon S3 IS. the cons of these camera is that the lens is not too wide though(take scnerary not so nice), but pros is very easy usage!

Hmmmmm.....hope imagesxela is around to give some advice to us also, cos she owns a 350D.

Imagesxela!! need ur comment, help!!

m1rr0r

mi only have panasonic lumix the old old version

btw i saw the one-time use underwater camera (kodak) at photofinish @ bugis junction, it's S$16.50 for 27 exposures. that's the only kind they sell. must check out other places

ryo

Yo Mira,

Panasonice Lumix is already an icon! A recommended series of the panasonic! I think the only flaws is noise issue at even low ISO setting(indoor standard testing). Anyhow, from the expert comments, real life photographer is different lah! Kekek....

There's another alternative for those who wanna to take photo when snorkelling. Most dive centres in Maldives rent out underwater camera,digital type. So actually don't hv to buy lah!

m1rr0r

hi Wu, any idea how much is the rental?

hmm mine is like the very 1st lumix, i think haha
that time cost me S$500+ but only 4 megapixel (it's enough lar but now all like > 5 mp rite) and if record video no sound one

haru

hi Wu,
ya, i'm actually thinkin of investing in a good camera so that i can take some quality pix..but like u mentioned not cheap..

ryo

Yo Mira,

For Mirihi, it's USD14 per day for the underwater Cam(I think most shld be using a digital cam liao lah, you can write to Hilton and ask, and if it's film one, no point isn't it? ). I'll dive and need another Underwater Flash, I'll need to rent and it's cos another USD6 per day. I think reasonable lah. At least you can use a memory card, likely a SD/MMC. Film ones cannot review mah, so it's a waste of money if u're hands are shaky lah, and pics under/over expose lah. For snorkelling, u don't need a flash.

I shld hv rent it in Hilton rather to buy. It cost me around USD399 for a simple undersea digital cam. :p

Yes 4MP is more than enough. we don't even print that full size pics also.
Oh...urs quite "ancient" for todays standard. Mine a 4MP casio at least video got sound but only 1min max, thus consider Ancient as well. :p

Yo Haru,

Read the links, and really helps alot esp if you're looking to invest in a good cam. Oh yes, definitely the Canon 350D or Nikon D series are the better ones around and if you wish to upgrade next time, it can fetch a better price and it'll still be in demand!

Hahahaha..... stress leh.... all folks took nice nice pics back in Maldives.
My friends(who're having DSLR) advise us that, if already decide on a DSLR, better get it quick. At least got time to practice. Else, a compact digital cam might take a better pics then a DSLR if we donno how to use it!

ryo

Yo Folks,

Jus went to the suntec PC show. They features lots of digital/video camera, by Sony, Panasonic, Samsung etc.... However, still it's fix price(List price) but got some useless freebies. In short, price is still ex!
Get from outside i.e MS Color still cheaper.

And it's crowded.....phew..... ppl sweat lah, drool lah... almost fainted inside. :p

moonlight00

Uh oh..totally lost...hahaha

But since the topic is on camera now.....Great!! Coz i'm tinking of getting one! muahahhaha

Wu
dat's v v fast of u lor....went to the PC show oredi! haha..am tinking of gng to coz still pretty upset abt mi canon ixus 40 which die-ed in maldives...hahaha

hmm.....no gd offers ah? haiz...realli duno wat to buy leh...duno if shld buy back ixus range or try another brand.
Ani comment on Nikon coolpix? hees

ryo

Yo T&P,

Actually basic digital cam good enough. For me just that I itchy hand...and feel like taking up as a hobby.

Yo Moonlight,

really no point going to the pc show. a lot of ppl. Their offer like give u cheapskate tripod lah.. bag lah this kind of things loh. Outside most authorise shop would honour the gift as well, further more pay by cash, they'll slash their price up to 15% off!!

I was looking around and find both Panasonic Lumix series quite good. Else go back to Canon lah the new Ixus800 IS(Zhuzhu jus got one!). Or the long awaited Kodak(V610) ultra wide angle compact digital cam, dual lens, 10X zoom(most compact cam only max 4X zoom), on board paranomic stitch function, 2.5 inch LCD.... very very impressive function!

No experience with Nikon compact cam. They don't hv really impressive specs loh, unlike their DSLR series. :p

haru

hey everyone,
i used to only think of digicam too,but recently quite sianz coz the quality of pix from digi cam just not that good. so thats why seriously considering a dSLR.

hey Wu,
ya, i'm also thinkin if i shld get e new cam to bring to maldives. but like u said, i gota really noe e functions by the time i bring it there so that can make good use of it..

ryo

Yo Haru,

I was reading the link that i've sent u earlier, the expert advise. He claim that to take a good pics, Camera is really secondary loh. Most important is timing issue(The right time), for example lah, u see my pics album, the sunset water villa ones, it looks nicer not because it's sunset water villa :p but it's the sunlight that create such an effect.....

That guys also suggest filters, it's important to create nice pics! Even for DSLR, he said, just put it to Auto mode(forget about the f number lah, and all other settings). A correct filter use at a correct time will give a wonderful pics!

Got time can read up his webpage, really helps alot. Oooooo.....he got some very very nice pics taken as well. It's a eye opener!

BTW, what digital camera are u using right now?

ryo

Yo T&P,

Kekeke...not stupid lah, need to try n error at start!

It shld be a zip file right? U unzip it first and store it somewhere, some folder, then create a shortcut at the desktop.

Once u launch the program, you'll see a big earth, with the mouse indicator as a hand. U can try turning the earth using the mouse(left hand button).

Hold and move Right button will zoom into each places. Or u can use the +/- buttom located at the control panel below to zoom.

Try out this first...then we slowly explore together!

ryo

Or simple type in the place that u wanna go(on the top left hand corner then click the button just beside it), and it'll bring u to the location u wanna to see.

ryo

mouse over the different button at the control panel below the screen(don't press any mouse button) and you'll see whats the function of each button.

wu,

i did. set up everything done already.
but when i type in the place i wanna see, eg maldives, it's jus a spot on the map. no close up pics, nor can i zoom into a specific resort leh

ryo

You go to the control panel below the screen and look for zoom-in button, then keep on clicking till u can see something.

Can?

ryo

Yo T&P,

Can u see the earth? If can, you're almost there!
Kekek.... I just saw ur Taj Exotica! The previous pics b4 Tsunami, I suppose!

If u have a scroller on ur mouse, that's the zoom function as well!

ryo

Oh yes. The details really depends on ur computer and network speed as well.

There's a streaming meter jus on top of ur control panel. It must be 100% then u can see a better, and sharp pics.

Taj Exotica is jus below Male island. Around 5 o'clock of Male.

starmed

Wu
wah..u becoming 'james bond' liao..'spying' ard...
haha..

haru
that's very nice of u...
hey I was thining if u wanna get a digital cam..why not go to sim lim? think over there u can slash prices one...

zhuzhu
the hot stones thingy is a massage or they just leave the stones there to cool?

ryo

Yo starstar,

Hahahah.... tell me why you live and I can also find it with Google earth. I saw my home, the image is around 3 yrs back!

Sim Lim not a good place to buy if you don't know the price! You might be "Ka-to" somemore! And most of the sales folks u know lah..a bit beng type loh, quite scary! :p

ryo

Hahahaha....frustrated liao har..

Okie her it goes. On my screen the Taj resort is ard 1 inch long har.

The location read out is 4deg 06'10.14" N
and 73deg31'31.20" E

Try it!

ryo

Yo T&P,

Got it? Oh yes... u're smart! it's easy to tell u by the lat/long!
Here's another resort below for u!

Yo starstar,

your Soneva Gili location is at 4deg17'40.82" N
and 73Deg33'29.26"

ryo

Ya loh, Sianx.... it's not the updated version. However I suspect if u get the Paid version of Google Earth, then U can see more area and probably updated photos.

And I can't see Mirihi nor Hilton in this version. :p

Based on my flat's pics, yes, it's at least 3~4 yrs back!

zhuzhu

Oh...did I mentioned the check-in hooha I had at Changi airport??

On the day of my departure, I did an internet checkin around 4pm++...then later we went to the airport around 6+..and Q for checkin was pretty long..waited abt 25mins, then got a counter for us..then the lady over the counter said I did an internet check in, so our boarding pass had already been printed out..and I had to collect it from the excess baggage payment counter located at counter 1 & 2...I was at counter 8..and it was a bloody long walk from 8 to 1..then when I reached there..those staffs was chattng and not very friendly..told her i wan to collect my tix..she pointed to the ticketing office behind..I went there had to take Q #..then wait for abt another 20 min..then dat lady said I had to go the another excess baggage payment counter at counter 3 & 4...wao lao..now my anger blow liao..I collected my boarding pass at counter 3&4..then I went back to the check in counter and scold the gal...wasting my time..

Immed after we check in..we went to the airport free internet terminal to wrote a complaint letter..and guess wat..they only replied yesterday..wah..CAAS took more than a wk to reply..so blood slow...tsk tsk..

hmmm long post hor..

ryo

Yo Haru,Zhuzhu,

CAnnot find Hilton because the google earth we've downloaded is not the full version. Most area around Maldives is blocked.... If wanna to see, must buy the full or professional version. That's what I think lah.....

Zhuzhu, Wah....such kind of service ah....Singapore world first with this kind of service? I think it's better to write to Straits time or LianHe Zao Bao. Really disappointing.!

if it's AngMo hor..their attitude sure different one....these kind of perception is alive everywhere in Singapore. :p

If I ganna this from them, I'll make sure they ganna Jia luck Jia luck from me!

Thanks for sharing and let us aware!

mish

Wu/TP,

I wonder if its my computer graphics not gd or what. But my google earth can only see like flat terrians. hmm cant see buildings clearly at all. dunno why. You guys encountered such problem?

Zhu zhu,

Sigh. Spore service line need to improve in their attitude. Spoil our reputation!!!

Recently I also bump into alot of really crappy service ones!! so irritating - singnet. heh. Some others as well. I also wanna complain. Maybe I should. Hmmmm.

imagesxela

Good Morning Everyone
Just wanna check if you can autoroam your HP in Maldives?

Wu, dun think liao...DSLR!!!! ehhehe...but careful wor, expensive hobby wor. and sure will get the BUY BUY BUY syndrome one...

hey mish,

got the same prob initially. tats why i came in n ask for wu's help. think i jus keep zooming in, wait for image to be more focus.
aiya but the whole process darn slow...in the end i jus uninstall the prog..hahaha..

hi imagesxela,

yap u can. the last time i went, no prob wif calling..but slight issue wif sms, dunno y.

kazataza

Good morning everyone ^_^
me now feeling much much better...good enuff to go and see lightings for my hse today..heheee

Zhuzhu,
you very patient leh...think if given for me, at counter 1 i would have started grumbling...and if must need me to do more things, will sure blow up one..hahahaa...
anw, Singapore airport service suxs...HK airport service very good in comparison..

SQ also very lousy nowadays...that time when i travel to Mumbai, they only left vegetarian food for me and the thing is I don't eat veggies at all...in the end eat cup noodles on plane