Maldives

bvbride

oh yeah...talking abt snorkelling....
better to wear booties or flippers man
i tried snokelling for the first time at Maldives and it was abit challenging cos cannot breath thru mouth piece - just not used to it lor.

Haru- im damn lousy swimmer but managed to paddle along slowly - waves managable la itz just me being the scardy cat. i just wondered around on my own cos not enough pple to form a group for the guided snorkelling trip. its also better that way cos i dun think i can catch up w the other pple and i really dare not go anywhere near the dip (deep deep area) - think will freak out if i see the endless sea beneath me. your husb will do fine
pls avoid touching the dead corals - will get very nasty cut. think i said that many times liao kekekeke...i very kia-si u see..kekeke..

starmed

bvbride
haha..agree wif ya on this thread..it's a virtual guide book cum 'consultant' leh...
cool..this thread rocks!!!

haha..bvbride u very cute...where got kia si..it's safety first... u r just cautious...
good leh..

zhuzhu

Hey Mish
I think if ur budget allow, then u can consider upgrading to deluxe..anyway deluxe only have additional plunge pool..and slightly bigger space only..unless u will spend alot of time in the plunge pool..otherwise I think no point lar..

Nelc,
Yup..i bascially change USD for tipping...and oso to pay for the dhoni ride from the airport to Male...its USD1 per pax per trip..then if u need to eat at the airport or buy souvenirs..might need the UDS oso

zhuzhu

Hey Haru
I not there on honeymoon..but I just lied that me on honeymoon and see wat perks they gave us lor..so u can email the duty mgr, ke ke ask him what perks they have if you are on honeymoon..well at least that save us USD35 each for a free excursion..

Haiz today i go back work..already soooo stressed...need another break soon..

zhuzhu

Hey bvbride
Me oso super scared of swimming..even though i learnt it during my sec sch day..throughout the snorkelling trip..i keep leeching on to my hubby...even with the life jacket..i oso abit scared..esp the 1st time i jump into the water...so scared of drowning...jump into the sea liao..immediately swim towards the float the guide is holding...

We had to be lovey dovey cos we are on "honeymoon" mar..so cannot be too distant..

ryo

Yo bvbride,

I know what you feel when snorkelling. The deep blue sea thingy, esp when u see the endless drop!

I used to hv that feelings and don't even darn to go far from the beach. I learn from others how they snorkel. Slowly I learn to free dive to the bottom(not deep lah, around 5m), swim around the corals and look at the fishes and other small creatures....

And during every dive, truthfully, I still panic when ready to "sink", in most Malaysia dive site, they got lines to lead us down, while in Maldives, there's none! however after almost reaching the bottom, my nerves turns to joy! Absolutely stunning!

This time round, a collegue of my wife is joining us for the trip, she can't breath from the snorkel but she will be diving during this trip.

Kekekekkee.......still remember the cut by coral ah? Ya lah, everyone ganna it b4 will know the pain, same for me!

haru

hey bvbride,
haha, i noe what u mean about the endless sea. i love the water and sea but when it comes to really deep sea, it does gives me e goosebumps. but in deep pools, i'm fine.

hi Wu,
hmm, so do i need to get my own flippers too? seems like i mite have to bring another bag for our snorkelling gear! or can i just get the booties? a lil confused now.

zhuzhu,
did you rent e gear from hiton or did u also bring ur own? when i confirmed my reservation, i did let e staff noe that I'm there to celebrate one year wedding anniversary so i'm not sure if they'll actually take note of it. wil be quite disappointing if they don't, they are afterall in the hospitality svc..

did you do the snorkelling during ur sunrise cruise?

moonlight00

zhuzhu...looking at ur pics until lao nuah liaoz! kekek.....ur lobster look awesome!!!

Great motivation for mi to start saving up for hilton maldives again! Hees....somehow keep stoning behind mi office comp these days & jzu cldnt get over the fact dat i'm back in sg liaoz..wail! hahaha

bvbride..moi same as u! still rem the cuts i got from bumming into corals while hving mi diving lessons..super painful lor...duno y...hah

And when i was snorkelling at maldives, smhw mi & hb wandered to an area whr there're too much dead corals & the waters were super shallow...i totally freaked out! Tried to pull mi hb away but he keep gng 4ward still! Almoz fainted haha...so i juz float after him...wahahaha..peng san

ryo

Yo Haru,

Kekeke......deep pool the water are still blue and clear, while in the sea, deep meaning dark green/blue, thus most of us wld freak out! Don't know what thingy will come out from the abyss.. :p

Don't be confused lah... Okie, get ur own snorkelling Mask/Snorkel and the booties enought liao lah(Since u don't dive), rent the flippers from HIlton lah, those slip in barefooted type(without wearing booties). My flipper diff, must wear booties and slip in.

Try to store ur Mask/snorkel properly, cause during my last trip, my snorkel broken along the way, don't know by seaplane or SQ side. :p

Yo Moonlight,

you dive also? So during the trip did u go diving? Like to find out hows the water around clubmed(i.e Male atoll area). I think from pics(from magazine) so far, looks like banyan tree/Angsana got healthy house reef. From pics I saw some dark patches in the water of Mirihi as well. Hopefully those are also healthy reefs.

zhuzhu

Hey Haru
It was a last min decision to go snorkelling..so i rent from hilton..snorkelling set cost USD12/set per day..life jacket cost USD5/pc per day (i think)

It was a sunrise snorkelling..diff from sunrise cruise...

When u reached hilton again, see if they got offer u any perks for anniversary..if not remind them again lor..

haru

hi zhuzhu,
i see..okie, thanks! by the way, can i just ask how much was e sunrise cruise. it looks really nice! am thinkin about bookin it, do we need to do that in advance before we arrive?

kurera

Hi Hi everyone! Heh...went in to see the pictures of zhuzhu ..haa..lao nuah leow..heh...waaahhhh....seeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeexy........in bikini leh..heh

Me interested to know abit more on full moon resort and hilton.

1. Do they offer diving crash course or snokelling courses..haa...cos seriously I abit retarded using the mask..haa..I proberbly need more time to learn how to breathe properly!

2. Do any of these 2 resorts have tv?

3. What's the category / type of room available?

3. Male town any good buys?

4. Who is more expensive full moon of banyantree?

I know it's basically a relax place..was thinking what else to do beside just snokelling or diving crash course.

Also what's the cost of sunrise criuse.

Anyone can help?

If there is limited things that I can do than I may not choose maldives for honeymood leow...

so really need some advise from the experts.

ryo

Hi CAT,

Firstly,Congrats on your upcoming HM!

A very good choice for HM!
Hilton and fullmoon are 2 diff class resort(5 and 4 stars respectively). Fullmoon recently just fully reno due to Tsunami, while Hilton was unaffected but done some upgrade on their beach villas(Those that Zhuzhu, me hv stayed in, and many more will be staying there too!).

To ans ur question in pt form:-

1)Diving course yes, but no snorkelling course but its 3X more ex than if you do in SGP/Malaysia.

2)Depends on the room categories. HIlton will hv TV in Water villa onwards. While Fullmoon all cats will hv TV.

3)Basically Beach villa and water villas for both resort.
Price range from USD200++ to USD2400++ per nite for HIlton(low season)
Price range from USD200++ to USD500++ per nite for Fullmoon(low season)

4)Walk around in Male, mostly souvenirs, travel shop, hotels, markets. For me nothing much.

5)Banyan Tree more ex!, but more exclusive.

There's a whole range of excursion you can do..island hopping, cruises, fishing, sports fishing, diving, spa, motorsports, water sports, fine dining etc..... I went there 7 nites, and no chance to try them all, because of limited time and most important Money!

Sunset cruise will cost around USD60++ per person in Hilton. Other excursion prices from USD35++ onwards. Most resort are at such prices as well.

How these infor will helps.
Lets discuss more if you need help...

kurera

Wu! thanks man...you have been a great help...haa

But I tot they have F & E package which comes with airfare and transfers to maldives with jetabout holidays which gave me a choice to fly with SRI or SQ? Ummmm....book separate airfare accomodation izit cheaper?

So estimate 1 week how much must 1 couple put aside...? Very poor le.

mish

Hey CAT!

How's ur gown? Deciding to go maldives already ar?

i think banyan tree abit small leh... in terms of land area. My friends went. They say that walk 1 round around the island takes about 15mins... mmm... dunno hw far that is true.

mish

Sigh...

Guys... SINGNET IS HORRIBLE!!!! okie.. I am out of topic once again. Hee. Sorry la. But must complain. This singnet is really terrible. Service is terrible. Maybe its the business provider's side. Hmm maybe they outsource their technical support... but they are horrible and rude!

mish

Cat,

I calculate hilton for you. If i didnt remember wrongly, your wedding is in oct? Hmm so there is a promo for hilton beach villa during that period. pay 5n for 7n stay. For

5 nights in beach villa =USD 2092
sea plane for 2= USD540
1 night in Male (relax inn) = USD87 (zhuzhu correct?)
SQ Air tickets = SGD1704
Total about SGD6245 for 2 pax (excluding food etc)

imagesxela

Hey Wu

That time u recommend me what resorts for budget around less 1.5K one ah? my friend also asking me liao..pai seh..i forget.

kurera

hi mich

no lah..i need see my finances first...if too expensive than need to give it a miss....

I need to see book separate rooms in full moon or hilton better of free ans ez package better leh.

ryo

Yo imagesxela,

Embudu village loh.... only that one suit ur current budget. If u can increase by another S$500, then probably more choices loh.

Why? ur friends pressuring u ah? kekekke....
I think cannot expect much from Embudu lah... but always think of the scenery loh, at least this is first class.

imagesxela

ya lor..tsk tsk.. wanna go maldives but no budget...so ask me hunt for good deal..hahaha...

i think in the end i better organise one all go Bintan lah. Cheap and good. hahaha...

haizz..

ryo

Yo Mish,

Kekeke...from pics can tell liao lah. I think 15mins abit slow for Banyan Tree. But hey, heard that their conservation work is first class! Thus snorkellig there will be great loh! Unlike Hilton, you'll hv to go for optional trip to see nice coral reefs!
I think Cat will becomes bored in a while, judging from the question she asked.

Yo Cat,

Mish calculation is correct! It's really depends on which resort. To book direct Hilton is cheaper, while there's so other resort, you can go to Holiday tours(s) for quote. Do remember to factor in the additional flight surcharge that most tour agent never quote to you.

I think you shld set a budget for ur HM, so that the folks here can advised you with that budget, i.e for hilton, u can go how many days or if you go Fullmoon, can stay in better accom, etc.....

ryo

Yo imagesxela,

Bintan good meh?....sorry for such reaction, but really got bad impression loh. Food is lousy, then my wife gonna bitten by sandfly. overall quite bad loh.

Why not organise a trip to redang, fly by bejaya air? with $1K budget, can do man!!!
a much better choice!

starmed

yo CAT!!!

hey welcome to this thread!!!

keke..for honeymooners...Hilton's better...
the beach villa's real nice..worth the $$ man...

yup... U'll need to set a budget first..how much u wanna spend then work from there... can't really tell u off hand how much u'll need cos it differs from one resort to another... ;p and also the no of nights u looking at... n whether u are a hardcore 'fan' of water villa or not...

mish

i calculate holiday tours... find that ala carte still chaeper for hilton.

Full moon should go for the higher end villas eg: water villa etc lo. They not cheap also leh.

ryo

Yo Cat,

In terms of star rating, off course Hilton is better. I've not been to Fullmoon but I guess it'll be rather crowded.
I judge by the ppl I saw in the Male airport loh.. then using google earth to view the resort(satellite image) hor, the villa really close to one another.
My thinking, Hilton is in the league with Banyan tree, Angsana, and even better than Huvafenfushi(most ex in Maldives). Fullmoon are in the league with holiday island, laguna, paradise island kind of establishment. THat's english premier league comparing to 1st division(if u watch soccer....can ask ur hubby!)....

In short, Hilton is more exclusive!

However, Fullmoon got a new water villa which is quite nice, but really ex though!
Not to say Fullmoon and others are bad but... you know the deco, settings, the touch etc... will be different loh!

mish

Cat,

Full moon water villa cost about US$ 485 + 10% and their water suite is US$1000 + 10%. I have the excursions rates and the water sports rates if you want. Just give me your email add or something so that i can mail you.

mish

eh wu,

The new water suite of fullmoon is soooooooo nice!!!! Did you see?? of course cannot compare to ur sunset water villa la.... hehe.

ryo

Yo Mish,

Is it? The last time I calculate, Holiday tours still more ex than booking direct with HIlton. Did u factor in the flight surcharge?
Taj exotica and Huvafenfushi for example, Holidays are cheaper....but I don't think for Hilton.

Yo Starstar,

Oh yes....my Bintan phobia! ANyway, I'll never go back to Bintan or Batam etc...
Malaysia still a better destination, food wise, sea/sand wise....etc...

mish

yo wu....

i said the same thing as you la... ala cart cheaper ----> meaning book yourself cheaper than booking from holiday tours. hehe

Haru!!!

Ya looooooooo i not gonna go with singnet liao... next time go with starthub! Just that starhub qute pricey leh...

ryo

YO Mish,

Saw it from their website. Yes it's nice but I don't like the others loh, those makan area, bar, etc... you know what I meant? Kekekke....you'll know lah, if u choose fullmoon for your water villa desti. Then when u come back, you must write 2 review. My bet, Hilton still better overall. kekekeke.......

Anyway, since next year price hike for Hilton, I a bit disappointed with them. My new dream desti is O&O Reethi Rah water villa! Absolutely great! I like their water villa, you shld go take a look also....but be-warned! Drooling!!! :p

imagesxela

Wu

Redang, Tioman, Blue Coral island, bintan all been there before liao....hahahaha...

Bintan not bad what but of course the beach is no fight to Maldives lah...

thats why i insist on maldives this time...haaizz...

ryo

Yo Mish,

OIC....hahhaha....... I thot Holiday tours Ala carte...kekekek....

Yes Yes...go with starhub!! My maxonline 6500 really fast and reliable. There's a PC show coming up...Starhub sure got freebies one. I got a notebook during the last Show(SITEX). jus paid additional $300.

Good deal!

Yo Starstar,

Anyway, hv u been to Malaysia island, i.e. Tioman, redang or perhentian? Think u shld try that as well. B4 Maldives, My top desti is Malaysia's island!

imagesxela

I see holiday tours got cheap package leh..
Bandos Island Resort (Singapore Airlines)
Club Rannalhi (Singapore Airlines)
Dhonveli Beach and Spa (Singapore Airlines)
Giravaru Island Resort (Singapore Airlines)
» Laguna 5D/3N $988~
» Kurumba "Speical Promo"
(Stay 3N Pay 2N, Stay 6N Pay 4N)

anyone been to any of these? wonder if its really good...hmmm...

Wu, any comments or not.

mish

WU,

No la.. I have decided that Hilton is our choice. Not changing liao. I already calculated full moon last time. Passed it. Too ex and not good in value. Hehe.

But still considering the deluxe or the bv lo.. Hmm most likely wont change to dbv due to budget. NVM. I believe it will be just as nice. If they tempt us with a good deal there then i decide then. If not. I believe we will still enjoy the bv at hilton plus the pte bbq! haha

ryo

Yo imagesxela,

Bintan beach also lose to Redang beach(esp Pasir Panjang beach), don't even hv to compare Maldives loh! Kekekkek....
Like that ah, why not try Perhentian or Lang tengah? It's near to Redang island. Locals from Redang told me those places much better than Redang!

Yo Starstar,

Shld be Soneva Gili right? Soneva fushi not as nice as Gili... but these 2 are the best in Maldives loh(Soneva and O&O). Best service overall! off course lah, the rates also best! :p

ryo

Yo Imagesxela,

No comment on those resort u mention loh, but it's only 3D2N offer. Still, must ask them how the pay 2N stay 3N offer works. Some I remember is stay in Male 1N.

Previously there's one forum member, Adel AKA Blue ginger stay in Laguna I think. Then Bandos, My friend stay b4, just for the cheap dive package lah.
However, all these resort, you must still add in flight surcharge also, as Holiday tours never did.

Yo Mish!

Ya lah,it's good value for this year, next year value drop liao as rates increases. SianzZZZZZ

Oh yes... it's also correct to think this way loh!, spend the extra on other stuff, such as BBQ, or other special excursion.

Must agree lah, DBV is big but do u need it? Extra big garden, bath pavilion and the dive pool. kekekek... but really tempting loh. I shld hv gone for Hilton this year rather than Mirihi, as I don't think Mirihi would hv rate hike that much.

kurera

Hi starstar! *hugs*

haa..never c you here earlier..heh..

LiKE mich..think full moon crossed by budget le...erm...mich..sikali i see you in hilton how?

anyway...you going straight for HM or what after AD?

btw, if I can get a 5 percent off from the basic package from holiday tours, you think can book?

Sorry when it comes to calculation I know nuts.

ok...i will keep you gers updated..dunno whether ah lao ok with that price anot..ha

MOST LIKELY WILL DO THE ALA CART LOR but you gers have contacts or email webbie on the direct booking please email me ok.

Thanks a zillion!

starmed

Wu
haha..ya ya..me very blur...too many names liao..all mixed up...:p yup..it's soneva gili....
how i wish got enough $$ to go there... haha..

been to Tioman... haven go Redang yet... just got put off by the travelling lah...so no intention of going there... for me, bef Maldives was Phuket/Koh samui... :p

starmed

CAT
*hugz back*
hee..me not at home in morning half lah...
fyi..AF museum is closed on mondays... weekends r open... timing I'll check for ya..

kurera

starstar ok thanks...

ah lao said the airforce museum nothing much leh..so I need think over where to have good photo shoot....maybe saf club? izit saf club..where there is good view on sunset?

i forgot leow lah..headache...

ummm....thurs my trial make up and gown fit..if you free drop by ok! no need shy one..

kek kek kek

mish

cat,

ala carte is no worries eh! haha. Everyone here can give you alot of info. Even where to eat/spa/excursions, how much does each cost. Alot of professionals here. You can even decide what to eat before you go. Zhu zhu got the whole list of food menus. haha

Nv know. We might meet there. But wont know who is who la.. hehe. 5% off ar? I just calculate holiday tour - 6580 including tax for 2.

If you got 5% off.. base on 6076(before tax). It is 5772 + 504 = 6276.

Not bad leh! Furthermore the one night in male is huhule airport hotel which cost like 100usd more than relax inn. Hmmm. Gd deal. But these are estimated la.

Ala carte is base on usd rate 1.67 ---> now is 1.56... hmm so hard to say also. If i base it on 1.56.. the ala carte will cost SGD5946.

Hey. How did you get ur 5% discount one?

starmed

Cat
yup..it's the club in changi right? think it's the NSRCC...
think labrador park also can get a nice sun set...
saw a few brides went there to take sun set bef..

mish...cat is in the travel industry right? ;p am i right lady?

kurera

Mish..thanks for the calculation!

Usually natas or their open house holiday tours sure have 5% off one..if not I know the pple inside so think 5 percent off not a problem la..

STAR! i not in travel industry la...it was the good old days...ha

nsrcc? yah..i think so...eh..but labrador park i to very common..was thinking to go some place to shoot near the yacht of something? ;p

so MICH,

SO 6276 IS INCLUSIVE of the 1night at huhule airport hotel and sea plane? How about 5946 included that 1night hotel? I tot your previous posting you quoted 6245?

Can be clear clear anot? My head spinning le.

you got friendster..? eh..i tot u got msn..you cannot see me meh?