Maldives

paulineda

Hi guinguin,

Yes. It is true. $999 for kandooma. Offer by CityState Holidays. However, that is for beach villa.

In the end, we opted for Velassaru (by Reollo Travel) instead because they said it is a 5 star resort. Not sure if it is true but the price at $4.2k for a Water Villa is definitely worth trying!

ryo

Hi live,

kekeke.... just trying help...

I never do any study on Adaraan range of resort..becos at 1st glance it somehow don't interest me.. Haa.

Hmm... looks like ur requirement does match Mirihi.kekeke.....
Dun think mirihi is old, open in the yr 2003. My last visit there in the yr 2006, didn't show signs of age at that resort. The water villa looks really decent, with dark laquered timber, in fact it looks really cosy and warm.
The reception, bar, and restaurant looks like a mini Conrad Maldives(with powdery sand flooring). Only the Gym looks a bit less equip. Food, expentidure such spa, excursion are priced reasonably and at high standard(in my opinion, quality does match out with other 5* resort that I've been to).
Mirihi dun have a swimming pool though, but only 36 rooms does make it looks like a private resort.
Take a look at the 360deg virtual view on the resort... go to www.mirihi.com

I've booked thru mal-dive.com for 2 times... so far no problem at all, just slightly slow transaction due to the proximity though.
I've check out asiatravel, the price for Mirihi is cheaper than mal-dives.com....Those other resort I've check on... asiatravel is cheaper somehow... i.e. huvafenfushi, W etc...

Rates are usually in 3 different cat, low, mid and high. The cheapest is usually mid May to Mid July, dec ~ Jan is high and others are about the same. I'll only go during July becos not only it's cheap, the weather is reasonably sunny as well... at least for the 3 resort I've been to at the South/North Ari Atoll(Conrad, W and mirihi)
August, the rates will increase by up to 50%...so try to travel during low season, you'll have more by paying less.

The value for money term is really subjective...like if you compare higher end resort such as W and Conrad water villa, I think W wins hands down. Although I've been to both W and conrad, both are really chic, posh resort, I still wanted to revisit mirihi....why? becos I like it's tranquility, quietness...the calmness.. the white powdery sand at it's largest sand bank, solid house reef for snorkelling, Fantastic Spa at really affordable price, good quality food, nice cosy water villa with house reef view and can see both sunset and sunrise.
In short... I feel more relax in Mirihi then the 5stars resort.

zhuzhu

starstar
hahaha i am not expecting too much lar..its more of going just for Markus' sake..

Haru
some old folks are like dat...they find it very troublesome...take it easy..

lovefaith

Thanks alot Wu! My fiance and i are really glad to be able to have our queries answered. Will check up on AsiaTravels again.

Would you recommend us to do bed and breakfast or half board throughout our stay? Is ala carte dinner at the resorts pretty expensive as compared to the half board's dinner? We wanted to weigh our options..if ala carte dinner makan is really too expensive, we will stick to half board. However, we are aware that we will have to forfeit our last day's dinner if we do that. Any feedback on this?

Btw, how would you recommend us to spend the afternoon after checking out from the resort at 12 noon and waiting for our return flight to Singapore which will be much later that day? Was wondering whether we could have some alternative ideas on how to spend those last few hours wisely in Male/Maldives? Please kindly advise.

Someone shared with me that Mirihi is about 15 years old...glad to have clarified that with you! Will drop by to check this link..thanks for the help!

paulineda

Wu, you are really an expert in Maldives!

How about Velassaru? I was contemplating among Velassaru, Anatara Dhigu and Baros!

In the end, we chose to go Velassaru in June this year 'cause it is so much cheaper!

Only about $2k per pax for water villa!

concert

De Snowyz... I tot Velassaru is opened in Feb 09.. I read somewhere on internet.. forgot where did I read it. I have a brochure of Velassaru.. it looks nice...

concert

De Snowyz - oh yes... Fascinating Holidays also quoted us ard $4.2K for the water villa at Velassaru
But we booked for one that is slightly cheaper.. Sheraton.

Guinguin - Are u a MDW bride ;) as for kandooma usually first night stay in the hotel, unless its those hotel tht need jetplane, then u have to stay at the Male City for the night.. cos the jetplane dun operate in the night. Kandooma is also a nice hotel

guinguin

hey kodomo,

yup yup! mdw brides! :p

i tot sheraton quite expensive? sigh, i missed the NATAS fair bcoz i saw those travel date muz within march-june... right?

concert

Sheraton this time still cheaper than Kandooma and Velassaru.. But if u book direct from Sheraton (f.k.a Full Moon) from the hotel website, its much more expensive, Dunno why the agencies managed to get a cheaper price though.

Yes... the travel dates is up to 30 June I think. .cos thts when SQ has air flight promo. U shall wait for the next Travel Fair in June.. surely got gd deals one. Heard tht SQ cutting back on flights.. it doesnt fly daily anymore.

Haha.. MDW Brides really know how to "get pampered".. haha.. take photos must also go HK rite.. keke... Have u taken ur photos..?

guinguin

realli!!! sigh... but we are worry if wait till june, confirm have another NATAS? i tot next 1 in sept? sigh... wish can go

ya, haha... gd excuse to shopp crazily in hkg mah! im nervous now, next week PS liao... u leh???

paulineda

Oh. Don't know why the agent said it will officially open in Mar 09. Nevertheless, I will share more with you all when I come back! =)

concert

Oh yar hor... June may not have.. forgot abt it... But think u can keep a lookout for Fascinating Holidays or Holiday Tour.. they seem to have promo as and when too.. like the 6D4N promo they had it before the Natas fair too. But maybe price a little steeper.

I went for my HK PS last year in Nov.. have yet to collect my album.. should be coming anytime soon.. so long rite.. grrrrr.

paulineda

Hi guinguin,
I am leaving on 11 June! How about you? Kodomo, I am also torn between Sheraton Full Moon and Velassaru!

I heard that Sheraton is cheaper because they will be undergoing renovation soon. Still, it is a great deal! =)

concert

Oh yes.. i confirmed with Sheraton, but still can "upgrade" to Velassaru or Kandooma.. but after some tot over the weekend.. think stick to Sheraton... save $400 bucks for 2 person.. haha. Am staying at the Water Villa too
So ur wedding is in June too..? ME TOO !

concert

DeSnowyz -Hmm..Sheraton undergoing some renovation soon..? Tot they did some minor refurbishment late last year..? Kandooma looks gd too.. did u consider tht..? Im leaving on 11 June too.. see u on the plane.. haha ! When is ur AD ???

paulineda

Eh? Why am I getting wrong info again? *LOL*

Yes. I considered Kandooma at first but hubby finds the facilities limited and Velassaru seems to have more.

I am not a newly-wed la. Going to Maldives for my 2nd-year wedding anniversary! Hehe.

'Cause wanted to go Maldives for honeymoon but went to Bali and United States instead.

So now, I must grab the chance since it is so cheap now! =D

What a coincidence! Yes, yes! See you on plane! Haha. And we are coming back on the same day too?

concert

Let me check with Sheraton and see what they say
Kandooma has been there longer period.. 2 yrs I heard.. If u search tripadvisor.. the pictures taken by tourists.. super nice too.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/LocationPhotos-g298335-d316985-Kandooma-South_Male_Atoll.html

Pity Velassaru little comments cos jus opened etc..but I tot I saw some reviews on Velassaru.. just that its in foreign language.

Check this out - review on Velssaru. But u need a translator to read the review.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g298571-d1170364-Reviews-Velassaru_Maldives_Laguna_Beach-Male.html

Oops... so finally u get to have ur dream come true. We wanted to go Koh Samui for our short trip.. but still lured by Maldives

guinguin

haiz.. so envy...
think have to call facinating holiday to ask for next promotion...

hi kodomo, hw come take so long to get the album ah?

ryo

Hi live,

No prob... want to recommend somewhere nice for you ma.

For me I would just go for bed n breakfast. Although Mirihi buffet breakfast is pretty same day after day... still it'll fill your stomach.
which is good enough for me to skip lunch... and have a late afternoon finger food before dinner. cannot expect really 5 stars buffet, but I think it's really decent enuff.

As for the ala carte food, just imagine local hotel food list, but it's in US dollars. Thus it's like 1.5X more ex then eating in local restaurant. But still I think it's reasonable for it's quality though....a rule of thumb, I'll normally spent about max USD100 per day on food. If there's day that I dun spent much, I'll eat something nice at the overwater restaurant, i.e. lobster etc.

In short.. I hated buffet loh, just wanna to eat what I want.. and not too much.
... dun wanna to follow the queue.. hee..

Normally they'll not make u check out at 12 noon.... my last trip there I check out at about 4pm. Try to negotiate with them for complimentary late check out and the latest seaplane back. Just request through the reception when u are there... anyway, they'll only know the schedule the day before your departure.

For me hor... I'll normally take the 4pm+ seaplane back to Hulhulhe airport. By then it's probably only 5pm+. Then I'll find a seat at the movenpick, eat some ice cream and drink some coffee... Ha.. boring right? becos I'm too lazy to move an inch after the relaxing trip.
Then I'll try to check in as early as 8pm+ then go find a seat in the DOME cafe and eat my dinner. The newly renovated departure hall is much better then b4.. but still cannot expect much from such a small airport.

The resort can actually arrange for a walk-about trip for you in Male, visit the president office, fish market, and around the town area... nothing much really. There's a submarine ride there in hulhulhe airport... saw their booth just beside a cafe restaurant(avoid that restaurant... lousy food.. steak is as dry as ko-ro-pok).
I do diving ... thus submarine ride doesn't interest me loh.

Anyway.. the only bad things about visiting Maldives would have to be the last day... becos it can be so boring just to wait for the plane.
try to bring something there to read...to pass time.

Mirihi was open officially by the president of Maldives himself in the year 2003...then conrad at 2005. I heard from the locals that its' from the same designer.. thus, you'll find similarity in the resort design.. esp the sandy flooring.

So have u check out the link?

ryo

Hi De Snowyz,

Nah.. just sharing what I experience only.

Velassaru is pretty new to me... becos the previous Velassaru doesnt' interest me though.

The new Velassaru looks pretty good. I like the space of the water villa though.
Picture shows really nice beach front and I can see coral reef formation around the island as well.

2K+ per pax is for how many nites stay over there? I presume it's 5D3N right? I'm comb thru the internet for history of this resort... seems like it's formal laguna beach Maldives(tip of south male atoll).. its pretty near to the Airport thus, I believe your 1st nite would be at the resort then(this is the part that I dun like becos 1st nite is consider gone as you'll check in the resort at about 11pm)...

But nontheless, if it's the 1st time for u to visit Maldives, just enjoy the fun, sun, sea, sand and the beautiful torqoise water there!

im_24

Hi Wu,

Cabin crew... If pilot i will be with SQ forever. I havent decided to go where yet leh.. really liked Naladhu and the comments on tripdvisor is like 95% positive. Rates reasonable if booked directly from the website. Then also thinking of staying at two places during a trip... but dunno if very ma fan or not... was thinking of combining Mirihi (cause of all the positive things u said abt it) and Naladhu... mirihi can still take sea plane there..Maybe 4 nites in Mirihi and 3 nites in Naladhu? Too troublesome? Cause was thinking we will be relaxing everything and shld we get bored halfway at least can look forward to another resort.

Now i know why all the passengers on the flight from Male - Sin always so tired and sleep thruout! cause they spend so many hours at the airport!

Haleveli is beautiful! Hope it will be the next place for u to stay!

concert

Guin Guin - Supposed to be three months.. but i guess recently they have many roadshows and some HK pple are bringing it down from HK.. thats why have to wait awhile.. those who have received it recently "cut queue".. cos their wedding days were recently..

ryo

Hi im_24,

Wah..tough job man... I though SQ will let u folks stay in Bandos at least? stay in hulhulhe airport nothing to do also.

Yup.. Naladhu looks really up market, anw.. they are a 5stars one isn't it? THe only thing I mind is the proximity to the airport.. as alot of folks say, they can't stand the airplane taking/landing..... but I dun mind seaplane noise... wahahaa...

Hmm then you'll to really arrange properly liao... if u wanna to island Hopped... suggest that you go Mirihi 1st then Naladhu. Leave the best for the last....
Mirihi probably cannot match with Naladhu's luxury... since it's a more layback, no frills kind of resort. It'll be also a great idea since u can opt to take the lastest seaboat back to airport during the last day. hopefully can ask for comlimentary late checkout say 6pm(normally resort will charge u full day rates for such late checkout). Else at least ask for say 4pm... then just laze around the resort...u should know la hor... Male and hulhulhe really nothing there...

anw my suggestion is...to maximise time in both resort.
1)Stay 1st nite in Male, then follow by early seaplane flight to Mirihi.
2)Checking out(try to ask for late checkout) from Mirihi.. then stay 1 nite in Male or hulhulhe..
3)Checkin to Naladhu on the next morning instaed of nite.

Another alternative is island Hopped between Mirihi/Conrad/W.... since it's all around Ari Atoll. W is at north Ari, while Mirihi/conrad is at south. from north to south is about 30mins.
Conrad's beach(or deluxe) villa is also one of the best in Maldives but only thing is the rates went up to fast over the yrs... from USD150(I went during 2005 opening)... to now nearly USD1K. W is less though...about USD700+. Naladhu is even more ex based on Asiatravel.

Another alternative I have in mind for u is to even maximised ur money... say staying all 7 nites in a 4stars resort,such as mirihi.. and spent money on stuff like spa, fine dining(lobster set meals etc..), Private diner such as BBQ on the yatch(plus sailing), private dining under the stars in a isolated island, Big game fishing, go diving etc.... This way, u live simple but spend big on other stuff.

It's quite troublesome for island hopping but this will be making full of use of your money loh...

YAAA.... it's the worse part waiting for the departure flight... my only complained. No choice.. these is to cater for connecting flight for those going back Japan, China, australia.. etc.. Singaporean really lose out on this. HA.

Hmm..... still considering. Maybe will save money for this year. HA. See how ba...Hee..

im_24

Hi Wu,

Ya we stay at Bandos. I think now also. I only stayed there once. The first two times were at the airport hotel due to tsunami. Nothing one at the airport hotel....and its like 2 mins away from the departure hall! and only went to Male island itself. Enjoyed Bandos though its like chalet kind and first time see corals and fish swimming just in front of me! But we usually reach airport abt 90 mins before departure so that we have maximum rest before we start working.

Ya i noticed its 13km away from the airport. Its like maybe Changi to Marine Parade the distance? Hope wont be too noisy... Hmmm...I agree must go to the lower end then save the best for last. Cause if start the best one first then later go to lower end .... i will be yearning for the better one...

Thanks for the suggested itinerary! Must maximise $$ cause now spending quite a bit for wedding. Oh ya.. my other fear is..monsoon... and TORRENTIAL RAIN!

"The wet season- southwest monsoon runs from mid-May to November. In this season Maldives experiences torrential rain. Central, Southern and Northern parts of the Maldives receive annual average rainfall of 1924.7mm, 2277.8mm, and 1786.4mm, respectively. The highest rainfall ever recorded in the Maldives with in 24 hour period was recorded on 9th July 2002 at Kaadedhdhoo Meteorological Office and amounts to 219.8mm of rainfall."

But i guess depends on the luck also lah...and as u mentioned previously... stay longer days...

Naladhu is abt 800+ after tax.... rates offered on their website.. early bird promo... oh ya.. i like the idea of live simple and spend big... maybe can do all the other stuff at Mirihi then the expensive one just nua...

lovefaith

Thanks alot guys

We are deciding between Mirihi & Adaaran Prestige Water Villas but are also searching out for better deals from the other resorts. Cheaper rates and value for money - our objective! Trip Advisor has been great in helping to give up-to-date reviews! :D

These resorts seem interesting:

- Vilu Reef Beach and Spa Resort http://www.vilureef.com/

- Kuredu Island Resort http://www.kuredu.com/

- Irufushi Beach and Spa Resort http://www.irufushi.com/

- Komandoo Maldives Island Resort http://www.komandoo.com/

- Chaaya Island Dhonveli http://www.chaayahotels.com/nhotel.cfm?hid=Chaaya%20Island

There are many resorts to choose from..any comments regarding all these ones above? We hope to make the right choice within our budget. We will be travelling right after July so hopefully there might be some good honeymoon deals?

What say you, Wu?

im_24

Hi live

The Adaaran Prestige Water Villas are very nice!!I think got different feel btwn Mirihi and Adaaran...Adaaran is like more luxurious. I see all the resorts also very confused. Also thinking of Mirihi after the good reviews from Wu.U booked ur tickets already since SQ is having such a good promo?

ryo

Hi im_24,

kekeke... really depends on luck really. You'll definitely encounter rain in Maldives...
For my stay, it actually rain almost everyday, passing shower..... a few mins ~ 2,3 hours, then sunshine most of the day. In fact my tan is almost reaching those Maldivian standard. HA.
The longest rain I had is during 2005 and 2008(both during departure day), tropical storm during 2005 and heavy down pour for 2008. The storm is nothing I've seen in Singapore... can even walk properly.

dun worry... I believe most of the day you'll get sunshine la!

Hmm... Naladhu is priced competitively though.. but the price you can stay in alot of really good resort as well...
You prefer beach villa then water villa issit?

Hi live,

My very 1st choice is vilureef... its one of the 1st I did some "research" on..
It got really decent water villa as well, but so so beach/garden villa. Price is reasonable though. It's sister resort is Olhuveli at south Male atoll, can take a look as well.

Kuredu....hmm... I dun like becos it's just too commercialized, and it's a popular resort in UK. It gives me a crowded sensation when I look at the water villa layout...and I thnk it's time for them to refurbish liao. It looks dated.

Irufushi looks really neat but with 180 rooms...Wow..but it's really new and pack with amenities in the villa. Worth to take a look.

Komandoo is another one that I'd consider before. Again.. no frills resort with nice water villas(newly built 2005, other villas looks dated).

Chaaya ...hmm.. never really look at it before. But picture shows a small island packed with water villas and beach villas >> to me.. crowded feeling loh.

Hmmm... tough choice. It's only based on my feeling though since I've not been to all of them. I would strike out Kuredu and Chaaya for sure, dated and too packed.
Left with Vilu Reef, Irufushi and Komandoo. The most valued one I think would be Irufushi water villa(USD429 per nite).

Comparing Mirihi or komandoo and Irufushi, definitely Irufushi looks newer, but it's definitely 2 different class/feel resort. Mirihi/komandoo will give u a kampong feel rather then a resort(If you've stay in a kampong b4... u'll know wat I meant.

Maybe I still got feel for a kampong ba... that's why I like Mirihi so much. Hee.

Yo im_24,

as what I say hor.. Mirihi gives me a feel of calmness, very kampong like... so hor... if you're into luxury hor...think naladhu,W, conrad, huvafenfushi will be ur taste. Hee..

Off cos if I have big budget, I'll choose a luxury one loh.... but with budget, I'll go back to mirihi for sure. HA.
Cannot blame me if u dun like ah....kekeke...

concert

DeSnowyz - I think the dolphins are everywhere and depends on luck if we catch them. My cousin was at Club Med and she met the dolphins around her when she is snorkeling ! She told me it was great !

Guin Guin - My AD early June.. still got some time. Those couples who "cut queue" had their wedding in Feb 09.. so bor bian...

im_24

Hi Wu,

Hopefully leh... i really hope will just be passing showers... yup we sort of prefer beach villa to ocean view villa. cause we want to have like direct acces to the beach. Then again, we wont have a view of the ocean cause usually will have some vegetation covering...

Hmmm i both also want leh. Luxury and simple one... so dun mind staying a few nites of luxury... hopefully we can come to a decision soon!

dreamer17

Hi Wu

Will it be better to book hotel and air tickets individually? will it be cheaper this way?

If we book individually, for the speedboat transfer to our resort how do we go about booking it when we reach Maldives?

And if we need to take a seaplane, do we book when we reach Maldives airport before goin to Relan Inn for a night? and the next morning take a dhoni back to airport and take the seaplane? Btw u mention u take the early seaplane, does the resort u book allow u to check in so early?

As for resort, can recommend affordable resort such as water bungolow with seaplane transfer (for experience) or resort that use speedboat transfer?

And for island hopping, can we operate the speedboat ourself or the hotel pple who drive u?

dreamer17

Hi Wu

By the way, where can we book cheaper seaplane tickets if we book resort and air tix individually? How much is a seaplane tix? And as for the speedboat transfer, if it available when we arrive at Male and should be prebook before we deaprt SGP or can book straight at Male airport?

ryo

Hi im_24,

Will Pray for good weather for you and others here bro!

Hahaha... then ok liao. Mirihi can be the simple for you to visit.. in fact I would say it's the most valued simple one in Maldives, Period!
Eh.. let me know when u book hor! I'll be very happy for you also... and do come back to the thread after ur trip.... share with us your knowledge on Maldives..

Hi dreamer17

hmm... your nick does ring a bell to me leh... u ever been to Maldives thread issit?

The transfer(Speedboat or seaplane) will be pre arrange for you when u book from agent or from hotel. Dun worry about that.

Seaplane flight details will be available to you on the day when u reach Maldives. Once u reach the airport, go look for the resort counter/rep. You'll be taken care from there onwards.

U are learning fast.! .. yes indeed your sequence for the arrival part till seaplane transfer is correct.
1)Reach Hulhulhe airport go look for rep
2)transfer to Relax inn by dhoni
3)next morning take the dhoni back to airport
4)go to the same counter again
5)transfer by mini bus to seaplane lounge.

your resort will try their best to accomodate and check you in ASAP. For 2 of my trip, I took the earliest seaplane and check into my resort between 8am~9am.

My all time favourite resort will be Mirihi....but it'll really depends on your needs. i.e do u want to have a big island to walk around? swimming pool?? then Mirihi not suitable for u. however if u want a small island with such tranquility, quietness, wonderful coral reefs, lots of fishes, nicer beach at a affordable rates, Mirihi can be in your list.

Ah... becos Maldives is made up of coral reefs, it's quite dangerous for you to operate the speedboat.. even if u have a boat license.. I dun think they will let u drive its.

Dun worry about the seaplane thingy, it's be handle by your agent/resort. Price ranging from USD250 ~ USD310 return per pax. Never heard of any discount from them though.
The rate is pretty fix and it's about there.

Speed boat transfer(to resort) will be handle by resort/agent as well. ONly dhoni...tranfer to Male,it's like a bus, every 5-10mins, there's dhoni departure to Male.
just pay USD1 per trip per pax.

Let me know if you need more information

w33lp

Nice to 'meet' you!

I'm planning honeymoon at Maldives. Looking at Baros but because it's September, the package prices are not out yet and so we haven't book.

Anyone been to Baros - any comments? Anyone been to Maldives in September - how's the weather?

hammiebao

I just booked my Honeymoon at Velassaru.. but according to what I read here, I should stay the first nite at the normal room then move to the villas next morning rite.. if not very wasted right..?

I booked with Velassaru.. still quite new.. hope its nice.. hee..

Thanks in advance !!

ryo

Hi Hammiebao,

Yup, as far as I know... if if u book thru local agent, 1st nite you'll be transfer to the resort. I think this will consider 1st nite. Wasted.

Most of the time I'll stay in a normal hotel in the capital city, Male. Next day then transfer to the island resort, by speedboat or seaplane.

Yup Velassaru just renovated... previously it's call laguna.

Have fun in Maldives!

im_24

Hi Wu!

Yup will let ya know when i am gg to book! Thanks for all your advice! I still hv lots of stuff to do... headache...

drangonfly

I know there is alot of hype about St James... their long waiting list etc - that was why I put my child there but I soon realised otherwise. I believe there are other schools out there which are better.

My child is currently at St James. Here's my 2 cents worth for your consideration:

The good points are that it is not confined in a building - lots of nature around. Also they have christian education through chapel time and memory verses. They also like to focus on the arts - ie music, dance etc.

The negative points - they can be inflexible, so that can curb creativity in kids so young. Teachers are not very good in English. Curricumlum is ok, nothing to shout about. Finally the teachers do not have a communication booklet so its very hard for teacher and parents to communicate which is essential to foster a better understanding of the child. The teachers seem too busy to reply to notes that is left in the child's bag.

My child attended another christian school last year and though I did not like the environment because they were all confined in an aircon building which made them fall sick very often, the teachers were very caring and would touch base with me through the communication book or call me up to discuss different issues pertaining to the welfare of my child. They also had a lot more outings to places like the civil defence, police station, etc.

I am at 2 minds about changing her now cause she has built up friendships and that is important to kids. I guess I am hoping that perhaps it might get better next year with a new set of teachers.

Hope it helps to paint a more balanced pic.

mish

Hey Elyse!

Maldives is a beautiful place and am sure you will love it. I have help u checked and the Sept 09 Package for Baros is out. For a 3night package it is about 3748per pax b4 airport tax etc. The package include bf and some honey moon perks such as wine, candlelit dinner, etc.

However, you will kinda waste one day as you will arrive only at like 8pm maldives time and there is only one flight there on SQ.

Some of us spend one night at male itself before we go to the resort. However, the male resorts are quite horrible. So it is really up to you.

I went in October and the weather is fine on most days. It rained very heavily for about 2 days. We were there for around 8days. Beautiful place. I suppose September is about the same. It is a good period to see Manta rays as well. We went snorkeling with them and it is fascinating.

Don't know much about Baros so i can't comment. I stayed in Anantara water villa. The price was much cheaper back then.

w33lp

Hi Mish,

Which agency did u book your package with? Or did you book yourself, flight and accommodation separately?

How was Anantara?

Thank you so much for your reply. =)

mish

I booked the whole thing ala carte. Most of us do that..After calculation, it is actually better value.

Anantara is not bad. It was some opening special.. so we had a good price for the water villa. You looking at water villa or beach villa? What's your budget?

mish

Veracity..

Yup.. I booked SQ from their website, email Anantara to ask for promotions.. I booked directly through them. They will pick you up directly from the airport so it is quite easy.

I stayed one night at Male to "save" one day. But I must say that the hotel at male is not nice at all. Haha.

I read from above that you are looking at clubmed? Some of them have been to clubmed and the review seems to be not bad as well. Is that the only resort that you are looking at?