Maldives

zhuzhu

bvbride
when u goin to post pic of kieran?? or u start a blog for him oso lor..

maybe u can hint to ur frend u wan those books lor..

the line faded liao..but it oso took a while lar..not so fast..now only stretchmarks are still hanging around..

eh ur PD not in TMC?? think u better find 1 near home..easy for u oso

haru

zhuzhu,
ya,i think its cool u can fit into ur pre-preggie clothes!!! i think that is a nice motivation too.=>

zhuzhu,
u r my inspiration man...so soon can fit back to ur pre-preggie clothes! i miss my Levis so much man.....how much weight did u put on for ur pregnancy?

bvbride,
good that ur wounds r healing well! so can start on ur massages as plan ya.
i'm given antacid for heartburns, but trying not to take any med unless really necessary, so jus have to put up with it lor.

starstar,
for my triple tests, cos i did it twice, i was poked like 8 times in total cos they cldn't draw any blood..sigh...so for the epidural, i think i shld be able to take the big huge jab!
hey..so u drink 2 cups of coffee daily? I feel very guilty whenever i drink, so i keep to 3-in 1 which is not too strong..and i put in more water.

starmed

samboras
june is not peak...=) so your $8k can bring u to quite a few resorts. Do u have any expectations like must be 5 stars resort or u dun mind a 4 stars resort? u can look thru some web sites to shortlist your resorts. =)

this link maybe useful for ya in your shortlisting. =) But just bear in mind that some resorts require sea plane trasnfers...so u'll need to factor in a nite stay at the main town- Male. Cos sea planes dun fly at nite n that's when the SQ flight usu lands in Maldives. =)

http://www.mal-dives.com/

Happy researching. =) u'll be spoilt for choices...keke..

starmed

bvbride
glad your wounds heal well. =) ya, like wat T&p mentioned, u can start on your post treatment soon. =) keke...

T&p
me not everyday drink lah... but my limits is not only coffee...also include tea... so it's either tea or coffee... dun drink daily but if I do drink, it's one the most. :p

zhuzhu
wah...envy...how I miss my pre preggie clothes n shoes!!! I'm stuck wif this pair of birken like even ssince I'm 4 mths preggie.... everyday wear the same pair till sianz.... second trimester still can wear some flats but now, I dun cos there's once my feet swell n it makes walking so painful when I wore the flats.
so ended up wearing the Birken slippers. =)

haru

starstar,
my weakness is green tea. i used to down like 3-5 cups a day. but now i try to keep it to 1-2 a day. and i've been taking more coffee lately to keep myself awake,hahaha...

why dun you get a another pair of birkies? then have some variety! birkies have some that are really fancy and cute!!plus u can wear them even after giving birth. =D

crystalite

Hi Maldives experts!

I am going Maldives for my honeymoon around 25 Oct. Is it good time to go? I just booked. ANd the tour agency recommend Full Moon so i booked a water bungalow @ full moon but realised no one talks about full moon in the Maldives thread... is it a lousy resort?! :'( ' ' ' Dun scare me... Sobs... cos if no good, i see if i can still change...

And any advice on daily expenses expected or how to save $? My hubby already very 'heart-pain' even before we go & we found out the meals there all cost >$100 bucks!?

zhuzhu

T&P
hahaha..so I am ur idol..

the epi jab is poke into ur spine..anyway u can't see it lar..the 1st jab u will sure jerk ur body one

I think i put on abt 11kg or so..can't remember oso

starstar
i was so worried i got no clothes to wear when i go back to office..lucky now fit into most clothes..

zhuzhu,
aiyah...no wonder...u put on so little weight compared to my gfs. I don't think I will be like you, i think i shld end up around 15kg at least. So shld take a longer time to lose the extra pounds. how did u manage to keep ur weight gain to a minimal?

Starstar,
how much weight have u put on thus far? If u dun mind sharing..i am getting so paranoid abt the weight gain man...haiz...

starmed

haru
=) think never lah...anyway it's ending soon...keke... just pray I can still fit into my shoes after pregnancy cos I heard some people the shoe size went up by one size...

t&p
haha...think I'm the champion here for weight gain...;p but my gynae didn't mention me being overweight or what... :p anyway, dun let weight gain be such a constraint to u...every individual is different...=) I've got a fren who gained abt 20 odd kg and she went back to her pre pregnancy weight (55kg) within a month after birth!! So it's hard to gauge.... =) I've gained abt 19kg liao....;p

Fwah...starstar..how did ur friend do it? All within a month! My gf put on 20kg but took her a few mths to loose the weight, another put on 25kg but i dunno if she has lose it all by now.
I have another gf also in wk 35 like u, she has also gained around the same weight, think abt 18 or 19kg.

Will gain a shoe size meh? Die..i bought many new heels jus before i found out i am preggie..hope I can still wear them after i deliver.

Burgundy,

I went last yr, post tsunamis, so the resort was almost brand new when i got there as they pretty much rebuilt most parts of the island, esp all the villas. infact when i was there, they were still doing final touch up at the presidential suite. Once u get there, u'll understand why cos the island is quite narrow and small. So one huge wave, i wld guess alot of damages done.
Dun worry abt drinking water, it's provided FOC and available in ur room, at the pool and gym, so u can jus grab a few bottles on ur way back to ur villa.
Re. the snokeling pavilion, yes, they have one offshore. but i didn't go for the trip, cos lazy lah...and erm..i am quite terrified of big fishes. If u r into it, shld go thou cos the waters around the island is quite bare as it's a beach lagoon, so dun expect lots of corals at ur doorstep. but good thing is u can walk around in the shallow water at low tide w.o much fear of sharp dead corals..they do special dinners at the pavilion at a cost, i nearly wanted to book one to surprise my hb, but in the end i decided not to, cos at nite, u r out in the middle of the ocean..the more i tot abt it the more chicken i got, plus post tusnami, rather paranoid..keke..so we jus dined in the 2 resturants or in room, plus it's not cheap, USD500+++ per couple.
Re the spa, they have nice couple suites, u shld check it out. I had a rather nice time there.

Hi crystalite,
Not sure abt Full Moon but if i rem correctly, a maldivian tour guide told us it's rather popular with the chinese, but still a good and nice resort. dun worry so much lah..if u look around the webbies, most resorts end up looking more or less the same unless u r paying top dollars for high end resorts like Soneva Gili/Fushi. The most impt thing in the sea and beach...all top class!

bvbride

hihi!

alamak i know ive been really slowww at posting bb Kieran's pix. sorry ah..when i hv a nicer clearer one u will see his face here real soon :p
actually hvnt confirm on which chinese name to give him too man - altho we hv consulted the geomancer last friday. tonight daddy and mummy will brain storm...
guess BF really took up alot of time from me man..haha

Zhuzhu: the PD Centre i mentioned is at TMC itself. i find it very leh che to drive there cos hubby kept saying parking expansive blah blah..
u still bringing bb Markus to PD? thinking of letting him get all his jabs at Polyclinic cos i dun think gog to the PD is giving me much value added service le...consultation super chopchop and very brief - same as what i get from Polyclinic also...hmmm...

on the topic of weight gain:-
ive been trying to keep to the "target" that doc set for me ie not >2kg weight gain per month. so in the end my total weight gain was approx 8-9kg
dunno how come i didnt put on that much too cos i swear im the bah-bah put on weight super easily type...i swear i didnt starve myself but admit i hv 1-2 cups of coffee/tea a day and indulge in junk food once in a while... :p

hmmm...am not too ambitious abt loosing weight. as long as im abt 57-58kg im v happy liao cos of my medium frame + heavy bones + height (err not that tall la 1.65m only)

Starstar: dun worry - u are so disciplined and sporty - sure can loose weight one yeah...
btw me like u - i go office also wear my birkenstocks man. i rotate my two pairs like crazy - got one in white and one in beige :p
its the best thing u can give your feet trust me - can adjust somemore in case of water retention
btw they feel looser now after i pop which is GREAT! but hvnt tried my closed flat shoes yet...kekek...

T and P: i think hor (my personal opinion only) generally those small small petite mummies then to put on more weight??!?!!! btw BF does burn up calories (Yey!!!!!) and shrink your womb so must definately try if u can yeah

im using BF as an excuse to pig out now - w CL around im eating WELL!! proper lunch and dinner w rice and soup and veg and meat and tonic soup :p
thank god she doesnt use alot of salt and oil :p

will chat more soon! cheers!!

starmed

bvbride
=) Kieran's so cute!!! Awww.... after seeing Kieran n Marcus...can't wait for mine to come out...haha....=)

hey...u n me same height leh.... think my build n yours abt there.... ;p can't wait to hit the gym man..... it's been soo long since I last ran... my sis still chio me to go fro the SHAPE run next year...haha... hopefully can make it. :p

t&p
my fren practises pilates n yoga at home during confinement...of course after the green light from her gynae lah....
think her wounds heal faster cos hers was natural birth. and also she BF her kid. ;p Like what bvbride mentioned, must BF man. =)

crystalite

T&P,
thanks! btw is 3N enough. as u know,we fly SQ so by the time we reach, its already close to 11pm.... so i actually only have 2.5days there...

Bvbride,
More pics! haha..Kieran's so adorable with his double eyelids! I hope my baby will have double lids too!
I think i am proving ur theory wrong leh..i am not petite, but my weight is going up! haha..i am quite big boned and a little shorter than u n starstar, at 1.63. Good leh...i wonder how u did it, 8/9kg weight gain only.

Starstar,
Oh...i don't do both but i bought a yoga CD before preggie, maybe I'll do that while baby is sleeping once doc gives the green light! Do u swim now? I have gone swimming a few times at the new pool..quite good leh..at least i dun feel my butt expanding like mad now. haha..it shld be easy for u to lose the weight, as bvbride say, u r the active kind of girl...while me...bleh...the most is swim...

How soon do u girls reckon we can go swimming after delivery? I think if i tell my MIL to look after baby while i go swimming during confinment, she'll prob lock me in.

haru

hey T&P,
i think with swimming you can do it soon. Its not as strenous. most impt of coz is to get green light from doc. =>

You are right, Kieran's double eyelid is really a charmer!

bvbride,
your weight gain is really amazing..think you have just started a new record for weight gain. so do you also have a wrap together with your post-natal massage?is it uncomfortable?

zhuzhu

bvbride
aiyoh..Kieran really cute leh..head really round round one..

I am still bringin Markus to a PD nearby..think I will continue to see a PD until maybe he turn 1 lor..now the 5-in-1 jab cost me $90 each time

eh u ladies all taller than me leh..i am only abt 1.58m only leh

T&P
i never do anything to keep my weight gain to minimal leh..during my last tri..i almost eat ice cream everyday leh..but i switch to wholemeal bread n biscuits

bvbride

hi mummies and haru

thank u ah. i anyhow snap using my hp one - very hard to get a decent looking pix cos he is wriggling alot. nowadays abit hard to hold him to BF cos he can really kick and "box" once he gets impatient...oh no... :p everyday is a challenging day for this new mummy

T and P: think better not do any thing that can make u get the chills. ive been trying to be as guai as possible - minimize showers and hair washing and try nt blow fan directly at myself - ESP after showering!! actually my CL and mum wants me to wear long pants at home! like that must on a/con whole day le..cannot too siong for my pocket ah~~
btw did u get the bb gadet thingy to strap around your belly in the end? sorri forgot the name of the product already :p must give a review yeah

Haru: hvnt done yet, i msg my Mdm Rokiah to book her for this Fri - her AM appt fully booked liao so can only msg in the afternoon. she said better to keep the binder she tie for me on for at least 6hours. alot of pple swear by Malay postnatal msg man so really cant wait to see if it has any effect on me - esp on flabby belly :p
guess my flabby arms are not included for the wrap la...secarly the body binding i cannot tahan liao kekeke...

Starstar: this year i cannot take part in the Stand Chart marathon in Dec liao i think. i scared too siong for me - lao liao...scared womb not strong enough to take it as yet...u know alot of pple say womb will get "pulled down" by gravity etc etc...

Zhuzhu: So u and Haru are the more petite ones here la..
BB's head kinda big relative to his small small body - he looks bigger swaddled in all those layers...
will update u abt my Polyclinic experience when i finally bring him for check up then
i dunno much abt the jabs but will bring him for 6 in 1 most prob??
i will go see that fast talking Dr Ang once more and see if he does a more thorough chk on Kieran in 6weeks

haru

zhuzhu,
i think i'm the champion in the height area. i'm 1.54.

bvbride,
i think you are doing a great job. dun worry! oh, keep us posted on your binder effect, ya?

starmed

bvbride
=) we go next year's SHAPE run wan or not? ;p keke... =) Me never join marathon before...too siong for my knees...cos I can feel they like wan to give way soon... keke..too much running ard during army days. :p think it's in the mind...dun think u old lah...must feel young...keke...=)

zhuzhu n haru
wah..u gals are peitie..like my sis... =) cute cute one...kawaii. =)

t&p
me not a strong swimmer...so not really into water sports. hee... I'm more of a land pax. =)BUt i dun mind go swim in pool where not too crowded. =) Now waiting eagerly for the SAFRA near our place to be ready so can bring kiddo there to swim. haha...=)

hey...my bro is down with chicken pox!!! and we have been in contact since we work together! Die...hope i don't get the pox too! of all time, tis will b the worse time to get it.
do u girls noe how long can the chicken pox vaccine last? I took one abt 10yrs ago..still valid?

bvbride

T and P : just monitor carefully alright. U will be fine
just rest well over the weekend. waiting for your good news

Starstar: cannot marathon w u man - u will only see me at the start line and tatz it. cannot catch up w u :p thx for the invite
last year's Stand Chart marathon was "semi-forced" by my collegue. I was brisk walking all the way for the 10km

Haru and the MTbs: ok today i had my 2nd msg session - she didnt use the traditional long long pc of cloth to bind. Instead she provided me w a cloth "corset" - just need to tie w the strings attached tightly. she didnt tie v tight cos i had a c section. but msg was enjoyable and wasnt too oily cos she used some kind of ginger/lemongrass cream which can be absorbed into the skin more readily. not too messy - which is great! she applied some jamu paste on my forehead and tummy to get rid of "wind"
then she proceeded to wrap me w the corset.
the thing i like most abt my session is the bust msg to get the milk flowing more smoothly.. she taught me how to compress my boobs to make the milk flow out better. my right breast "bu zhen qi" cannot shoot milk, left one better :p
thats something new to me :p

paulineda

Wow. You guys are really Maldives lovers!

My hubby and I actually planned to go Maldives for Honeymoon in June this year but changed plans to Bali. Then, we planned to go Maldives in Dec this year but changed plans to go USA. Now, I hope, really hope, we can go Maldives for our one-year anniversary in June 2008. However, we are worried about the budget as we are aware that we will spend quite a bomb in this coming USA trip.

How much is enough for a 5D 4N Maldives stay in June 2008? I heard lots of raves about Hilton but really worried about the $$ part. Please kindly advise. =)

haru

me just went for a 6km run(slow jog for half of the distance) with hubby yesterday. it was sooooo warm and I really felt like giving up the second half. but happy that i finally completed without stopping after hubby's encouragement. really felt like i was gona pass out..hahaha...

bvbride,
cloth "corset"? cool! but it sounds a lil warm...i have been bathing like 3 times a day coz its so warm even just being at home. wow, the breast massage sounds quite cool too...

Morning everyone!

I think I shld be cleared! Thou less than a week but i think shld be alrite lah..hee..

Bvbride,
The prenatal kit is Babyplus and yes, I have been using it faithfully twice a day. But u have to wait till my baby's out then will noe if it delivers what it promises.

starmed

bvbride
hey...just an early wishes for your birthday!! =) think your anni aslo coming up right? ;p have fun!!

aiya..think me not as fast as last time liao... so I think both of run for a 5km run together should be ok bah.... ;p cos haven been running during pregnancy days n dun think I can get back my stamina so fast... =)

t&p
dun worry too much...I'm sure everything's fine. =)

haru
=) hey it's a good beginning.... if u run often, u'll find yourself covering 6km easily in no time...=) when there's a will, there's a way.

to all
have a fun filled n yummy time tomolo for the mooncake fest!!! =)

going for my gynae check up tomolo...wonder what gynae would say....

haru

T&P,
that's great news! erm..whats Babyplus? =P

starstar,
all the best for your check up! am sure everything is going fine. take it easy ya!

bvbride,
is it your birthday?? happy birthday!!! this will be special b'day for you celebrating with one more special person in the family. =>

Bvbride,
Happy Birthday! So nice sia...baby is here to celebrate with you!

Haru,
Babyplus is a prenatal education kit. It's basically a player which plays sounds tat mimick's a mother's heartbeat. Baby starts learning when he can differentiate b/w the artifical sounds and the actual heartbeats. There's actually 16 lessons, I am only halfway thru. It doesn't promise a super baby, but more realistic (i feel lah) things like a easier to nurse baby, less fussiness, more alert etc. I'll give feedback when my baby's out..but then I am thinking this is my first born, I also wun know if it really works since I have no one to compare with. haha..maybe I'll get my sis to guage.

Starstar,
Got count today or not? Rem. to take notes hor..=) I fell asleep after I got home from the clinic..keke..i always need to Zzzzzz after a jab. Rem to pack ur Stemcord box in ur hospital bag!

starmed

t&p
haha..I lazy...plan to start tomolo then count...:p anyway today he kept twitching..so should be fine...keke...=)

ya..thanks for the reminder...almost forget abt it. lucky u reminded me. =)

hey, u try to eat more red meat n veg that provide iron...kai lan is one of them if not wrong. =)

haru
thanks for assurance... =) hee..gynae mentioned bb's engaged liao so he could be out anytime these few weeks. =) currently as of today, bb's 36w6d and weighing abt 3.2kg. just an estimate based on scan. =)

haru

starstar,
that sounds good! am sure your baby will be healthy and strong just like his mummy.=>

T&P,
are there lots of jabs to take during pregnancy?? wow, i never knew of the prenatal education kit even exists,haha...

haru,

actually i dun think there'a lot of jabs. Just that i abit sway...low on iron, and need to do a few more blood tests than the norm, so keep getting poke.
Heh...when u r preggie, u can check with me see if the prenatal kit works..;-)

Starstar,
actually it's rather difficult to count rite. I mean sometimes the baby may jus be moving, nt kicking..then considered as 1 kick or not?
eh ur baby is a good size ya!

ya..will try to ear more veg m red meat...and more kai lan..lucky i quite like kai lan..haha...thanks for the tip!

haru

hehehe...definitely will!!hahah...just really hope this thread (or we can start another thread!) will stil be active when its my turn. there has been so much info being shared here.

ryo

Hi Crystalite,

Try to check in in the morning/noon instead of nite, as ur 5D3N will have 1N minus off. Try checking into a Hotel on their capital island, stay 1 nite, then check in ur desire resort the next morning/noon. It'll be more worth while.

Hi De Snowyn,

Maldives resort has been steadily rising since the Tsunami tragedy in 2004. June 2008 is consider low season in MAldives, however it'll not be as cheap as during 2005~2007.
for example, Hilton beach villa(cheapest room in Hilton, soon will be named Conrad), will set u off around USD290 per nite(based on 2007 rates).
Plus, u'll need seaplane transfer to Hilton, and it'll cos u USD570 per pax returned. SQ flight will cost u another S$900 per pax. daily expenditure cost will be at least USD100 per pax, to be comfortable.

It's not really consider ex in terms considering Hilton is a 5star resort, but compare to the rate during it's 1st launch during 2005, it's doubled.

anw, it's also 1 of the most hip, affordable resort in Maldives.

starmed

haru
just wanna him to be healthy...I happi liao... keke... been having braxton hicks rather often these days... n also the pelvic floor area seems rather ache...must be him pressing against it. So uncomfy.

So far me kena poke once for the triple test to draw blood...but during labour, sure kena poke one for the IV drip n med....

t&p
according to nurse, any movement(kicks, twitches, etc) is consider one. But must have a break in bet. Like he gives one punch, then stop. later, he twitches around. Like this, it is consider 2 movement.

lucky he's cooperateive... let this mummy finish the homework early...keke... he reaches his quota for the day by 1pm. :p

bvbride

hihi!

Thx for the vv advance bday wishes dearsss...but its just my wedding anni and not my Bday la...my bday next year March - nt looking fwd to that - one year Older...kekke..

didnt do anything for anni cos bb needs me now :p
its really a challenge to get him to fall asleep cos he is a vv wakeful baby !!!

bz arr~ no joke to hv to take care of bb.
the whole day revolves around BF bb directly, pumping out milk and changing diapers. i totally lost track of time man :p

Starstar: enjoy the countdown yeah... if u need any more disposable undies just leave a note here cos i think i bot too much for myself! so KS hahha :D
i can post to u...hee hee
if u want can pack 2/3 bot of Brands essence of chkn cos u might need the extra energy boost after all the pushing

btw - think u will survive all the poking la..i did! just dun look and think happy thoughts

T and P: Great! u are using the BB Plus so consistantly - i wont hv the discipline. your efforts will pay off
- and Great to know that u are ok w the chk pox and all - both u and BB are very blessed yeah..

Haru : as long as u share w us your good news we wil be more than happy to ply u all the tips and free advices yeah

starmed

bvbride
oh...tot it was your birthday...:p confused wif your anni...keke... :p

btw how many disposable undies u bought? I only got a pack of 7. Is it enough?

bvbride,
the babyplus better works man..i am getting quite irriated with the "thud thud" sounds it makes.

haru,
dun worry, we'll be here!

Starstar,
so good sia..baby's a good boy, making life easier for you. Do u think u'll deliver earlier now that baby's ready?

Do we really have to buy disposable undies? Cannot wear normal cotton undies meh?

starmed

t&p
=) ya...he's cooperative neough to let me finis the everyday count by 1pm so far...hopefully when he's out, he'll remain 'kuai kuai'...haha...=) gynae mentioned at last visit that he's ready to be out...maybe next 2 weeks...my next appt is next tues..he's gonna do a CTG test on me.

regarding the disposable panties..hee... I lazy lah...dun wanna wash n bring too many panties to hospital n also dun know how heavy is the aftermath flow...so bought one pack of disposables. :p

crystalite,
I think 3N's not enuff lah..ur stay will be over in a wink. At least 5N i think. Then u can fully relax and enjoy the stay. By the time u reach the resort, it'll be close to 10pm if i rem correctly. 6pm flight from Sg, reach there abt 10pm Sg time, minus 2 hrs, so abt 8pm there, but plus custom clearance (very slow)& speed boat transfer, will be close to 10pm liao. by then abt 12am Sg time, U'll b tired and the island will be too dark for u to explore.

burgundy,
Definitly have marine life. Just not as much as those resorts which has corals at their door steps.

Samboras,
I spent 7N there, damage abt $10k..

if u guys have any questions abt Taj, maybe can PM me instead or "page" for me "next door" as I dun check other threads as frequently.

haru

hey ya everyone!
TGIF!! kekekek..hubby's out with friends tonite so i spent the time to enjoy my dinner and did some chores. enjoy cleaning up the house near e weekend so that we can enjoy a clean home during the weekend. =P spending some time to do some research for our japan trip. looking at another place in hokkaido for snowboarding.. anyway, its nice to relax on a friday nite since i work up at 5am tis morn. had to pick up a new colleague arriving from Dubai.
kao_yawn.gif

enjoy your weekend y'all!

hi starstar,
isn't inconvenient to use disposables after delivery coz flow will be quite heaving right?