Maldives

zhuzhu

haru
errr meaning of engaged ah..let me try to explain..normally to deliver, bb head supposed to turn down 1st..and to engage means that the head already "stuck" at the birth canel or something like dat lar..dat means bb cannot turn around anymore..that also mean bb is in the correct position to come out to this world anytime....

haru

hi zhuzhu,
i see!hahahah..learn something new today! => wow, that means you will be due really soon eh?

hey pet lovers,
my hubby and i just watched a jap dvd on dogs,goodness it was sooo touching we were both crying non-stop...now my eyes all red n swollen..*.* soooo touching and heart wrenching...

starmed

zhuzhu n bvbride
thanks for the contacts!

t&p
haha..u also got hidden secrets har? *wink*

haru
wat dvd was it?

to all
have fun during the weekend!!

haru

hi starstar,
its called "all about dogs". very touching..a must watch for everyone, even if you are not a pet lover..=>

bvbride

Haru: show sounds really touching man,i tear very easily watching BB documentries on cable nowadays
BB born - i tear, BB adopted by nice parents i also tear..alamak kekeke...its the hormones :p

T and P: Oooooo ;)

starmed

haru
can get this dvd in all video shops? thinking of gettin git since u mention it was good. :p

t&p
wink wink.....

bvbride
same here....it's the hormones....sigh..it's causing havoc on my skin too... having breakouts more often these days.

bvbride

starstar: when will u be travelling? mth end right? u diligently applying stretch mark cream?
must u wear maternity clothes now?
i managed to so wear my looser clothes for first trimester. now most of my pants cannot be zipped up anymore - using bella band in the mean time ;p

haru

bvbride,
hahaha..must be the hormones and maternity instincts brewing in u.=>

starstar,
sure, i think my hubby bot it as some neighbourhood dvd shop, only $9.90.

starmed

bvbride
flying off this thurs nite.
yup, have been puttin gon some cream for stretch mark... using the Loocitane brand one for it. THink it's called the supple skin oil... all natural products and also not oily though it's called oil...
wearing maternity pants n jeans now... started wearing them in the beginning of 2nd trimester. Top wise still can squeeze in...keke.. but plan to wear hubby's tee for casual if my tees can't fit in anymore...can save $$ .

haru
thanks..i'll check it out.

kazataza

hi mummies to be

topic still on babies?
weekend i went NTUC and got promoter asked me want to buy diapers or not..so sadz...

anyway, today papers wrote about people going to Maldvies for fishing...and the 1st person i thot is bvbrde's hubby...heehee

bvbride

still mama talk here cos no one want hv any enquiries on Maldives so far le...

Fanfan: i saw the article too - my ah lau got very excited too keke..but if i get a chance to go Maldives again i dun think i will go for this cos its too hard core and prob i will be the only girl there...shy la...cannot sun tan openly some more

Starstar: u bought qt a few bottoms liao?
i want to save $ on M clothes so not buying much cos dun see the point unless the top can be recycled as nursing top next time
my tummy abit more obvious now
its a gently sloping "hump"

zhuzhu: u got one more week to go before start of May07 - excited hor...u starting your leave then?
take care

zhuzhu

bvbride
dun think I starting my mat leave so soon lar..wait till my checkup this fri then see how lor..gynae said might be a wk early.. so now i am waiting.......

rinnie

Hi all, is it suitable to go Maldives in December? heard so much about the beautiful place..anyone has any idea whether Maldives or Maritius is nicer?

bvbride

hi Rinnie

Dec is considered the peak period and there is supposedly lesser rain fall. Resort charges are more expansive during this time.
Personally hv not been to Mauritius but will prefer Maldives anytime cos of the beautiful clear blue waters...

rinnie

Oh, is there supposed to be lesser rain fall? I'm ok with the higher charges but was initially afriad that it'll rain or monsoon season..i'm not very gd with such things..hee
BTW, for those who have been to Maldives, how many days is recommended?

I have been caught red handed by Zhuzhu....hahaha..so i shall announce I am actually 6 1/2 weeks preggie...now u guys can understand why i was asking so many questions abt prental massgae, gynae etc? hahah...
I am unfortunately not as lucky as Starstar, gynae has kind of "forbid" me to travel till in my 2nd trimester and even so strongly advised against travelling long distance..so I have to actually cancelled/postphoned my plans to go Italy in June. Sigh....

Hi Rinnie,
If you are the kind who likes to bum on the beach, I would say go for as many days as you can afford. but like Bvbride said, I think to relax, a min. 5 nights is required..cos the 1st day is usually wasted as you'll only reach Maldives at night if you are taking SQ.

bvbride

T and P: Congrats!!! i know from all the winking something is gog on...
was it a surprise BB?
So its a Piggy BB for u too

u mentioned something like "u dont get to choose"
welcome to the maldives lovers BB club
looks like the peeps here are on a roll..one after another!

first trimester must take care, eat alot of folic acid and dun do anything to active yeah...

kazataza

official congrats to T & P...

zhuzhu> thanks for your hugz hugz...really sad leh...me not even pregnant..ask me want 2 buy diapers not..i told my colleagues and they laughed

Thanks all!
It's indeed a surprise baby, wasn't planning for it which is why i was telling Haru one dun get to choose sometimes. I wasn't ready for it cos like some of u, i am jus enjoying my life and just settled into married life...but well...it's God's blessing..so will love the babe when she/he comes.
and yes, it's gg to be a little piglet which is so appropriate because I am turning into a pig myself with all the food i am eating.

Hi bvbride,
have been to the gynae and been given folic acid, mult-vitamins and fish oil. taking them faithfully..=)

Fanfan,
dun be sad ya. these sales girls have a sales target each month, so the one who asked u was probably just trying her luck since u were with hubby rite. Just like sometimes u walk pass bridal studio and they ask u to go in and see see mah...ya cheer up!

zhuzhu

T&P
hahaha..u so funny..just happen to saw ur name on the last post..that is how I caught u "red handed"

fanfan
aiyah dun bother abt those promoter lar..they just grab anybody who passes by..there was once..when i was abt 4-5mths preggy..stomach got show but maybe not obvious enuff..this bridal shop lady asked me n hubby if we wan to take wedding foto..we were like "siao"

starmed

t&p
lady... congras!!!!
so happi for ya! btw my gynae also advice me not to travel in 1st trimester lah...me now in 2nd trimester liao... I got a letter from him stating the safe period for me to travel...haha.. all the way till 5th sep!!
me now coming to 16 weeks.
did the blood test today..hopefully no news form clinic cos it's good news!!

zhuzhu
u very alert leh.. u also caught me red handed that time...:p

bvbride
didin't buy alot of bottoms...got only a pair of jeans, three quarter pants n 2 shorts. need them cos I'm going to aussie lah...cold....can't possibly try to squeeze in to my usual pants... :p dun plan to buy anymore more...

seems like quite a lot piglets coming...

fanfan
dun upset lah... keke... sales girl just trying luck...

oh so zhuzhu has a very sharp eye! haha...

starstar,
i think i not as lucky as u, while i do not have full blown morning sickness, i do feel nauseous and uncomfortable. Extremely tired all the time, so actually the thought of travelling doesn't seem very attractive now. Plus my sis is the kind who firmly believes in staying close to the gynae, so i doubt my family will b very happy if i want to make short trips even.

U r flying off tonite right? Have fun sia and take pics and share with us ok! =)

zhuzhu

starstar
that time was also by luck lar..

T&P
me oso vomit during 1st tri..and its not only morning sickness..after every meal..sure will go "make" frends with the toilet bowl..

haru

T&P,
congrats!!! what a pleasant early Mother's Day surprise! =D

fanfan,
you very cute leh...hahah, like zhuzhu said, dun get bothered by it. anyone can also buy diapers,as long as there is a baby in the family rite? =>

zhuzhu,
i think your instincts got stronger with your pregnancy. you could already guess T&P was also preggy ya? hahah...

rinnie

Hi all, the pix of the water villa looks great! How much will it cost per person for around 5-6 nites? Also, how long in advance do I need to book? Any recommended tour agencies or do I book the ticket and package separately?

bvbride

Morning gals

whoa so exciting hor...
T and P : i also hv the same symptoms as u - just nauseaus and no vomitting (thank god) and no appetite plus picky abt food.
your doc gave u fish oil so soon? btw which gynae will u be using?

Fanfan: your situation still ok - the other time pple at Guardian asked me to get slimming pills lor...

Zhuzhu: u on leave? logged on so early?

Haru: maybe u will start winking to us here one of these days? kekeke..

Rinnie: all depends on the class of resort u are opting for. Average $2.5K each for Water Villa excluding meals and activities. Things are charged in USD there.
Better to book soon if u intend to go during mid year. the popular resorts at snapped up very fast
Call Holiday Tours. They deal w alot of different resorts in Maldives and its more convenient if u dun want to laise w the resorts direct for bookings.
http://www.holidaytours-sin.com/country.asp?c_country=Maldives

rinnie

Thanks for all the help! My initial idea was to go either Maldives or Mauritius for honeymoon this coming dec but I tot dec would not be suitable because it would be a wet season..so I settled for Europe instead...until I surfed this forum and the net, then I realised that dec is actually a good time to go, except for the additional charges incurred due to peak period...

Hi Haru,

thank you! Maybe you'll be the next ya ;-)

ZhuZhu,

Ya u are a good pte detective "kow tow"

Bvbride,
Yap, he gave me the fish oil on my 1st visit, when I was abt 4 weeks? He said it's very good for the babe and should take it like tonic..since i dun like fish..i think it's a good replacement for me! hee.... I'm seeing Dr Peter Chew at Gleneagles. Old man..but very farney and nice but fierce at times..ask me for a list of complaints on my visit on Monday and then told me "Good! If you have all this symptons, it means ur baby is very healthy! Pianz...

Rinnie,
Dec is one of the best time to go Maldives, but u do have to bear with more pple, cos it's peak. If u like privacy, choose a small island...I went to Taj Exotica, it's a tiny island but I had more privacy...=)

burgundy

hello.... was swept away by work thus no time to check the forum... thanks Wu for replying!

ok i def will check Mihiri.... a def must for me is the presence of good house reefs for maldives... only thing is, mihiri doesnt seem to have TV in the rooms? heh im also a TV junkie. anyway im going for my honeymoon. any idea if mihiri has any honeymoon perks/special packages?

anyone has recommendations of any travel agencies to book with? or u reckon its best to book direct with the the resort n get ur own SQ plane ticket?

what r all ur thots on full/half board? my thinkin is if i eat a full breakfast i dun need lunch thus can get half board... haha so el cheapo huh!
but also thinking if i wanna upgrade there, its ok? otherwise can eat alacarte for lunch or something...

oh, for mihiri, is it necessary to stopover one night in male hotel?

im going in october, only worried abt the rainy season. anyone went in october n has anything to share? so thankful for this forum that i can bendy ideas. everyone is helpful. u guys are great!

bvbride

Half day gone - can knock off soon

Hi Burgundy

Tv in the room for Mirihi..hmmm nt sure..if Mr Wu's pix did show any TV then prob there is none..chk the website.
U are there for HM so just enjoy each other's company,good food and the beautiful surroundings! i tend to turn in very early and wake up qt early over in Maldives not sure why - maybe its cos of the relaxing environment

Maybe u can email Mirihi to chk if they hv any HM perks - am sure they can do up something for u?

I used Holiday Tours twice for my Maldives trip they are qt ok - do give them a call - u can click on the link i sent to Rinnie earlier...
the little bit of price difference sure makes up for the convenience - everything just laise thru agent

i actually went on Bed and Breakfast only - the ultimate el cheapo...u do save alot. Eat full breakfast and skip lunch - if i feel extravagent i will hv dinner at the restaurants if not there is always cup noodle and biscuits cos we brot them along! hahaha...if not u can always get room service - cheaper then gog to the restaurants for a full dinner

but if cost is of no concern then just wack lor.
ditto for the Male Hotel - if u dun mind paying for 1N at the resort just to chk in at midnight then just hack la :p

No one can predict the weather man but OCt is suppose to be less rainy - do chk out the Maldives Mat station webby for more info

bvbride

T and P

Actually thatz what i heard too - apparently the stronger the preggy symptoms the stronger the pregnancy hormones so its kind of a blessing in disguise - at least touch wood u are not throwing up all the time - very lucky liao
i didnt throw up at all - just feel nauseaus but sometimes i wonder if i should vomit more during first trimester le...cos it means bb healthier??!!??!!!

Btw Rinnie: Most resorts in Maldives (ie those 4* and above) are not "crowded" even if its the peak season. u just see more faces during breakfast. the rest of the time its very exclusive quiet and peaceful

burgundy

Thanks BVBride!
My worry abt not takin board is that i will discover that the food prices alacarte are exorbitant... then siao liao... but fr ur expce u think B&B + own meals is ok? Heehee yeah maybe i'll be ultimate elcheapo too and bring bei bei mian. n its interesting that room service is cheaper!

Where did u go for ur maldive trip btw?

Just contacted Holiday Tours too for some quotes.... Tks for the link! they do have some specials...

Anyone been to Banyan Tree Maldives? It doesnt have the overwater villa (which sds so appealing) but i hear they have a great house reef (which is impt to me...) If yes, do share ur thots? Or anyone who noes of great house reefs for snorkelling! Tks

zhuzhu

bvbride
me only on half day leave..woke up early cos can't sleep..

T&P
ppl always said the more symptoms u felt..the better bb is growing...

bvbride

hello all!! its the weekend but im working tody....

Hi burgundy!

B and B was fine for me cos i wasnt too hungry when i was over there - nt sure why! So i did a combination of B and B + room service + dinner at rest + own cup noodles and snacks!
btw if u stop by Male town - get your drinks and snacks there cos its so cheap over there - its charged in their own currency and not USD so its definately very very cheap compared to the resorts. the bigger looking mini marts will take in USD. Plus u dun hv to pack and carry so much food stuff - just buy there!

Average room service sandwich/pizza/burger cost approx USD12-18 and portions are usually big.

I went for one short HM at Angsana in 2005 and another short stay at Anantara in Nov 2006

If u stay at Angsana u can get to shuttle to Banyan Tree and vice versa - Angsana has a beautiful house reef w alot of fishes that u can feed off the jetty
u can chk out my pix in the table compiled by Mr Wu

cheers!!!

haru

hi hi burgundy,
i've only seen banyan tree on travel mag spreads, but it looks fantastic and very luxurious. a fantastic choice if you have the budget and wana splurge a lil. can be assured you will have a very pampered and memorable holiday. dun wory, anywhere in maldives is beautiful. i would def like to go back there again in future. =>

hi burgundy,

juz for info...bayan tree maldives does not hv TVs in all their rooms. in fact a lot of maldivian resorts even luxe ones purposely dun put tv in their rooms...reason being tat the place is so beautiful tat it wld be a waste to stay indoors watching tv

kazataza

Hi Burgundy & Rinnie,
Welcome to the thread =)

no worries about me...i actually meant it as a joke when i told my colleagues..heehee..had been bz with work so had not been loggin in as often now...so how're your babies? =)

burgundy

Thanks and Hi, Bvbride, Haru, Midas, Fanfan!

Tks for ur replies... yes midas i think i shd forego my tv junk for the few honeymoon days... guess it does make sense... hee, after all, it's meant to be a getaway rite

bvbride, saw ur nice angsana pics!
can i ask, how did the banyan tree reefs compare to the angsana ones? also, is it true that the banyan tree reef is a swim away fr shore? or it's actually quite accessible? R the angsana n banyan tree resorts just a couple min's boatride away?

does anyone think that a watervilla is absolutely necessary when going to maldives? my friend said so, but im not so sure....

So now im considerin banyan tree n mihiri.... mihiri reef sds really great fr all ur reviews... are the rooms nice tho? looks pretty basic...

one more concern i have for banyan tree is that i hear the beachfront villas are not very private... any idea if they have blinds that can be rolled down? the curtains look so sheer and wonderin if ppl can look in all day? doesnt quite make sense to me ;p

Pinkies - noted one of ur older posts on Banyan tree... which agent did u go to? wonder whats a reasonable rate for 5 nites... Does anyone have recommendations on good n cheap n reliable travel agents?

If i only go for B&B, how much shd i set aside per day?

(By the way, just a headsup... I hear the Hilton are installing LCD tvs from jun onwds....)

rinnie

Hi all, just wanna check with you all..are there a lot of activities to do in Maldives..I'm definitely taken away by the beauty of the place and have been thinking about it ever since I took a look at the pix..while I'll like to relax, I wouldn't want to just laze on the beach for 6 nites....any interesting things to do? thanks in advance!

zhuzhu

Hi Rinnie
There are plenty of water activites to do in maldives..u can go for activities like fishing, snorkelling, kayaking, diving, sunset/sunrise cruise..etc

rinnie

Hiya,

Do you all go for packages as recommended previously (holiday tours) or is it cheaper to book online and then source for my own air tix. But then I’ll have to book the seaplane from male isit? How much is it roughly? I’m blown over by the water villa too..but the beach villa also looks tempting..so planning to stay a few nights in the beach villa and some nights in the water villa. My honeymoon’s in dec…still a long way..but I just want to plan things out first…BTW, do you think it’ll be too early if I start booking in June? I’m looking at Hilton. Thanks all!!

zeny

not sure about others, i tried to DIY my own maldives trip but somehow it is more exp than booking with agency which i dun understand cos i always DIY trips and this time it just aint getting any cheaper

based on my research dec is maldives peak (europe holiday) so if you wan to secure a room, got to book early.

bvbride

hi Fanfan
so far so good, praying for the best everyday. think if im not wrong my bb kicked qt actively yday. the kicks are very light felt like bubbles bursting in the stomach. maybe yday i was cleaning the house so he felt "disburbed"

Hi burgundy
Unfortunately i didnt get to explore the Banyan Tree reefs cos i was there to watch the evening stingray feeding only. U can see the reef from the Angsana jetty itself so its that nearby!
if u really want to hv the ultimate snorkelling experience, sign up for their snorkelling excursions! they are relatively affordable and they bring u out to other reefs.

there is a dohni that takes u from Angsana to BT and vice versa - its FOC at 20-30mins interval. Fantastic right?!!

i guess not much worries abt privacy at BT villas cos the whole place is unlike those crowded resorts in Bintan etc. stil very private even if its full occupancy... pple generally wont hang out right at your doorstep one..

as for water villas - its something personal - i like both! btw hv u called Holiday Tours?
http://www.holidaytours-sin.com/country.asp?c_country=Maldives

if u go B and B and assuming u dun eat lunch after a v full buffet breakfast, and u eat your own tea time snacks, u can set aside around USD80-100/day if u are dining at the restaurant, more if u want to drink wine etc.... room service around USD15-25 each cheaper if u share!

Rinnie: most activities in Maldives are water sports, very healthy sporty stuff just like what zhuzhu mentioned earlier.

Zeny: i definately would like to chk out the W resort - Wu first mentioned it here. but its soo expansive! if i ganna toto will definately make a trip there!keke..hope they hv a great housereef !!
like that the resort will be perfect!!

boo...feels so envious of those pple gg to maldives!!! I wanna go back too!!

I read abt the W hotel too...Wow..it's beautiful but somehow dun look like the typical maldives resort, feels more mediterranean rite?

zeny

i think holiday tours is trying to sell this W retreat and spa resort... at least that's what they suggested to me when one of the resort i wanted is full