Maldives

starmed

Wu
haha..take care then...
hope to hear good news after the hongbao draw....keke...

cacky

Whoa ... Wu ... thanks for all the info. We were actually planning to look at Club Med. S$8K for couple is indeed on the high-side for us.

But we'll look around the links. Thanks.

ryo

Yo Starstar!

Hahahaha...... you take good care of yourself also.! If I got good news, you're the first to know... Manifest for me also oki!

Yo Cacky,

Clubmed is not cheap as well, unless stay in the water villa as it's more value one to stay in. Try ur best to go this year as USD is weak, followed by yearly Maldives resort there's likely to have rate hikes....
If u wanna nice coral reefs and white powdery beach, u shld look somewhere else rather than Clubmed. I think Clubmed's advantage is their all inclusive thingy.

Give us a rough budget and we'll sent u to the appropriate resort!! Oki?

wow...the prices r so high now..we only paid SGD3400 (SQ flight, 7nites bed & BF at 5star hotel & speedboat transfer) for 2pax back in Apr05. now want to go back also difficult liao

ryo

Hi midas....
it really depends which 5star resort u go, which one u went har?
2005 the SQ return ticket is the cheapest, all time low, at only S$398 and plus tax only $100++ right?
Still can go back lah but can only settle for 3-4stars resort loh!

Everything up, pay not up!....sianx.....

ryo

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Photo Album</TD><TD>Departure</TD><TD>Returned</TD><TD>Total nites</TD><TD>Countdown(Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Taj Exotica/Baros(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/album/208550556KcSIWJ </font><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/user/plannerholiday3</font></TD><TD>Oct 04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral(WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2120573087</font></TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla/Sunset WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645</font></TD><TD>30-June-05</TD><TD>8-July-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana(Beach Villa) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/wpwgrent/my_photos</font></TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Clubmed(SupRm/WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://photos.yahoo.com/lengph</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>29-Apr-06</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Clubmed(BVilla/WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.moonlight00.shutterfly.com/</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>13-May-06</TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/?id=2105956261</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>25-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>T&amp;P</TD><TD>Taj Exotica(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.tajexotica.shutterfly.com </font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>10-Jun-06</TD><TD>16-Jun-06</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nelc</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Jun-06</TD><TD>25-Jun-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned MIA!! </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Mirihi(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://ryonpepper.multiply.com/photos/album/8</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>29-Jun-06</TD><TD>8-July-06</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton(DBVilla/WVilla)</TD><TD>Please contact Haru here in Singapore brides forum <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>1-July-06</TD><TD>7-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon/Hilton(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.fullmoonmaldives.com/</font></TD><TD>9-July-06</TD><TD>14-July-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Returned MIA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2103908628</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>10-July-06</TD><TD>16-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Racha(Phuket)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://ausplanner.multiply.com/photos/album/32</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>9-Aug-06</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jopej</TD><TD>Hakuraa Club(WVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Sept-06</TD><TD>8-Sept-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tingz</TD><TD>Fullmoon(Water Villa)</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Oct-06</TD><TD>13-Oct-06</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Anantara(Water Villa)</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Oct-06</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adi</TD><TD>Anantara(Water Villa)</TD><TD></TD><TD>29-Oct-06</TD><TD>4-Nov-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>FanFan</TD><TD>Anantara(Water Villa)</TD><TD></TD><TD>8-Nov-06</TD><TD>14-Nov-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride </TD><TD>Anantara(Water Villa)</TD><TD><font size="-2"><http://www1.snapfish.com/thumbnailshare/albumid=139544871/a=33562486_33562486/t_=33562486></font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>7-Nov-7</TD><TD>12-Nov-7</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hello starstar,

I am back! Alila ubud is beautiful..with a lovely pool. Hb and me almost didn't want to leave the resort at all.
Will share the pics once the pics are ready..=)

starmed

yo people
just wanna check wif u all... for air tics, u guys usu buy from the airline or thru web sites like zuji? Which r the recommended sites for buying air tics? keke...think help for my melbourne n tas trip... abit lost...

kazataza

hi starstar,
for me, if i've a particular airline in mind, i'll go the the airline website/travel portal like zuji to get a rough gague for prices..

i heard frm my colleague Jetabout Holidays (the sister company of Holiday tours) offer quite good rates for Quantas airfares and packages..u can go check it out

starmed

haha..Wu's the guru here mah... ;p he's a true blue fan of Maldives....
wah...Kurumba seems good too!!! Drool....

wu n all
wah...suntec was so crowded yesterday.... went to the travel fair by chan bros n CTC... so many people... in the end didn't get anyting cos I'm still waiting for one of my friend's confirmation for the melbourne trip. haha...

ryo

Yo Midas, Starstar,

No lah... we all are Maldives fan! Haiz...toto no luck leh... no more Maldives trip. :p Next time round then!

Hi Midas,

I know becos I went to Maldives in 2005 as well! Saw ur Maldives pix liao, anywhere we're online buddy liao!! my nick is ryonpepper!

Yo starstar, wah say, so crowded u still go ah! I thot u still wanna to travel! u still going? No right? kekekeke......

juz wanna share some experience with Chan Bros..u dun really hv to go n squeeze wif pple during the fair itself..they do gv u the same rates 2-3days b4 the fair at their office. i booked their europe tour last yr few days b4 their fair n got the same prices n freebies also

Wu, i accepted ur invite liao...me also not one of the 2 lucky toto winners leh..otherwise will go to tat ultra ex resort...cant recall the name..harufen fushi or something..it has a underwater spa one..

ryo

Yo Midas,

Hahah.... thanks. anyway, I hate squeezing with ppl unless neccessary. Thanks for ur info!

Huvafenfushi!!!.....yes. However, at that rates, it's out of my reach, maybe 3nites still ok, but I would like to stay longer, thus, would rather stay at lower end resort for more days!!

starmed

Wu
haha...me also no luck this year....
keke... next year bah...:p

hee... this few months no travel lah....after the crucial period can liao...keke...;p safe period is after this month...
whaha...

ryo

Yo Starstar,

I see I see.....but you haven announce to the "world" right?.... u already leak some infor here liao...hahaha....
Take care oki...

yuckie

I am planning for a trip to Maldives in mid may. Was actually looking at Club Med package but after viewing all the photos in this forum, i realised that there are so many other good choices in Maldives.

Can any one advise if Mirihi, Club Med and Hilton, which one would be a better choice. i have seen pics on hilton and really fascinated by it. But guess the prices should be steep high.

Btw, anyone can advise on the food at Club Med?
Tks

ryo

Hi Lynette,

Hilton and Mirihi's price is not as steep as u think, based on the quality of the accomodation and resort.
Hilton's beach villa is at USD335 nett(Same for Mirihi), per nite per room.
For Mirihi, I would recommend the Water villa, at USD368 nett per nite per room.

I'm currently helping another 2 couples(offline)in planning for a island hopping trip/stay between Hilton and/or Mirihi, for a total of 5 nites(3 nites hilton/2nites Mirihi) + 1 nite Male, amounting to S$5.4k with accomdation, breakfast, SQ return, seaplane return. If you're interested, will ask the other couple to email you, and try to go on same SQ flight to save another S$200 per couple.

Let us know if u have other question...
Not biz or comms lah...just helping the folks.

Yo Starstar,

Hahahaha...... anyway, it's a good news for all lah...how many days/weeks more? All of us will pray for u gal!! no worries, you'll be alright!!

Then u know hor, this year toto who kanna, the one in AMK outlets? It's from my company's, the 5mil share by 38 person. Then last year same also. 1 of the share was between 2 Malaysian worker, and they have since resigned!! Wah lau..... really lucky man!!

bvbride

hello hello!

so great to see Wu back here - whoa now he into personal consultation siah...keke
hw come the pple in your company so "wang" one..aiyoh...next year your turn ok! then must remember to bring us to Huva w your winings hahaha..

Starstar - can hv your email address? want to fwd u something

yuckie

Hi Wu

Thanks so much for your help. S$5.4K sound a good deal with everything in and you can get to stay at 2 resorts. Can i have more details on this? Btw, S$5.4K is for 2 persons right? Haha

Btw, do u know much abt fishing in Maldives cos my hubby is one of those who MUST go fishing in Maldives.

I was searching thru the Holiday Tours website as reccomended by some of u here. So glad that they have a few packages available. But still dun know which resort is the best and after seeing the photos posted by some of u here, i guess Mihiri and hilton might be a good choice.

Anyway tks so much for your help.

bvbride

hi Lynette

My husb is a fishing fanatic too - we tried both night and day time fishing and must say the day fishing is more fruitful - firstly u can enjoy the beautify sceanery plus there seems to be more fishes during the day. NIght fishing can be really dark when u are out in the open sea

However the catch is most resorts only offer night time fishing only. Daytime fishing is offered if the resort can charter a Dhoni for u and that means it can be really costly. Most of the day time fishing (if offered) are for big game fishing ie for Marlins etc
can cost like a few hundred USD for half a day

Chk w the resort u are gog for!

personally if u let me choose between Hilton or Mirihi - it will be the latter cos of its housereef ie alot of fishes
!!

ryo

Yo bvbride,

No lah.... just offline helping the folks lah...I too long winded lah, later flood the thread here again :p
Long time never talk 2 you, everything great? Hows ur new job? Hope that u're doing great! Any surprise Maldives visit again...kekekekek...

Ya lor....those worker in our AMK plant very wang wang!! last year is 2 operators, not sure about this year though..38 of them, maybe operator, some supervisor and engineers? Haiz.... better luck next time lah hor! :p

Hi Lynette,

S$5.4K is for 2 person but not everything in. It's the basic as in accomodation and breakfast and all transfer with taxes. Daily expenditure, u'll have to add in. My rule of thumb is USD150 per nite.
Ah, yes... bvbride have answer u on the fishing thingy!! Thanks!
Yes sport fishing is around USD550 for half a day in Hilton back i 2005. Now maybe more ex. For normal Dhoni night fishing, it's around USD40++ per pax. U don't hv to bring any gear lah, it's line fishing, just like those in Malaysia, but only 1 hook. Malaysia line fishing, u'll have perhaps 20 hooks? I think ur hubby shld know lah!

If u don't mind, can give me ur email add, I'll ask the other couple to contact you? Anyway 1 couple, my collegue is going around May timing, to Hilton for 7 nites, while another couple is going around july timing, island hop between HIlton and Mirihi. May timing might be too rush for some liao, and HIlton BV might have already run out or block book by agency that I do not know.. U can try to check with Hilton Maldives online to see if it's fully book for BV.

If it's July timing, then better, try to arrange with another couple and u guys can save a total of S$400 on SQ flight alone....maybe still can share share food at times and save?
Let me know what u think...oki? Cheers!

starmed

Wu
wah.... so the 38 pax resigning? keke...:p so lucky leh... some people have all the luck...keke...
try again next year.

haha... still got 4 more weeks after tomolo.
thanks for the prayers dude...
keke...

t&amp;p
har? wat? *wink*

er...your pics? haha...

bvbride
how r u? long time never see ya here...
hmmm... wonder if haru's back.

bvbride

hello starstar

want to fwd u something la - can give me your email addy? thx ah
think Haru should be back liao - maybe sorting out her laundry haha
cheers!!

ryo

Yo all..

I think AMK and Tampines can feel the tremor... building shakes and my wife told me the table shakes too...and she thot her friend is playing tricks on her. All the ppl in the building all ran downstairs.
And the tremor strike 2 times..Scary..

Yo starstar,

don't think the 38 ppl are resigning...

anyway, last year one is not 2 person share, got 1 of them withdrawn and never join in, so only 1 lady operator ganna, and yes she resign on the same day and went back Malaysia. She got her family members to escort her during her last day in SGP....

Wink wink??? Hmmmm...... kekeke...

Yo Lynette,

I've already sent ur email to the other couple going for the island hopping during July. She'll contact u shortly.... u folks go work out loh! anyway she now expert liao lah...
Try to match ur time and save money together!! Cheers!!

You need other info, just email me at [email protected] or just simply write here.. alright?

kazataza

wah! i'm confused by all the winks leh...
what's the big secret huh???

yesterday Orchard also can feel the tremor...my office everybody thot they themselves have giddy spells, until someone shouted...haha...all too engrossed in work...

Wu,
$5.4k quite affordable leh for 2....me abit tempted leh....heeheee...

The toto i also got buy this time round..but never have the luck to win even the $30 leh..sigh

ryo

Yo Fanfan,

My impression is that u just came back loh!! Still got money go Maldives...really rich eh!! Tio Toto is it? Kekekek......
My collegue found another MAldives booking website, giving the lowest price I ever come across...can check it out. They even guaranteed another 10% off if u can find anyone cheaper than them! I think it's a chinese company registered in cananda....can trust? Hmmm.....
one way to check is to call up the resort and ask whether are they a reputable agent of the resort. Those who wanna to go can try out!

http://www.my-tour.com.cn/resort.htm

kazataza

Wu,

if $5.4k for 2 people i think still can save to go in July mah...but then, now some of my monies stuck in shares leh...heehee

ryo

Hi Fanfan,

Kekekek..... ya lah.. save and go!

Anw..S$5.4K still must add-on daily expenditure, probably another S$1K. For me cannot lah, every year like that hor, my wallet dry dry ah!

starmed

T&amp;P
haha...when the time is right... I'll let ya know k? must look for a 'liang chen ji ri' one....haha....

Wu
the $5.4k is for how many nights????

kazataza

Wu,
me also trying to save leh...tryin to increase my cash holindgs for the big drop in share market =p
made any $$$ in stocks or not?

Actually come to think of that, if we plan and book together with the same resort, maybe we can get bulk purchase price? heehee

ryo

Hi T&amp;P,

Sometime must control...then sometime must chiong!!! kekkee... I really feel like going leh...hmmm... Must learn from bvbride, go liao,reach there then announce!!

Yo starstar,

S$5.4K is for 5 nites + 1 night Male. Island hop between Mirihi and Hilton.
You cannot go lah.... must rest!
kekekek....

ryo

Yo Fanfan,

Every 3 yrs 1 small drop, every 8 yrs 1 big drop....so now just go Maldives first, maybe big sleepy bear will come in around a year from now? Kekeke....

Aiya, last time we always talk about bulk booking mah...SQ definitely save S$200, and resort will give more discount for sure, at least Mirihi is willing to give me discount(from half board upgrade to full board free!), for a returning customer.
Then now USD so weak somemore!! Haiz.... but I must resist the temptation for now, must save and invest abit bit liao...else old liao no money! :p

burgundy

I'm thinking of Maldives as a honeymoon destination, but am working ard the budget of $7-$7.5k all-inclusive for 2 (accommodation, food, airfare, taxes etc.) for abt 5-6 nights. Is this workable and does anyone have any resort to recommend in this price range? Hopefully it still can be comfortable and romantic?
Also looking to go in Oct, is the weather ok then? Heard it's still in the wetter season... Thanks...

ryo

Hi Burgundy,

Oct is definitely the wetter season, might even be more rainy than in July perhaps.
Hmm... ur budget is pretty good for a 5-6 nites trip.
Still it'll depends on your villa preference. Will a water villa be a must or just beach villa or even mixture of both. Probably I can sent you some information on the pricing for different resort and you can do some study on it first?

On the top of this thread, posted on March 1st, we've a list of resort that we folks went to, you can also take a look. There's resort such as Taj Exotica, Taj Coral, Hilton Maldives, Anantara, Mirihi, Club Med, Baros and Angsana etc...

In summary, your S$7.5K easily can go for a villa that cost around USD450 per nite room(6 nites) and breakfast, speed boat transfer, SQ flight return and still left with around USD200 for other expenditure, like food, excursion, fine dining, sea sports etc... I reckon for Honeymooner, USD200 is the minimum per day for u to enjoy another 2 meals there, perhaps a romantic private BBQ by the beach, sunset cruises, spa for him and her, fine dinning, some island hopping etc for your 6 nites there!
For 1 less nite, ie. 5 nites, you can use the saving to travel further to a resort that needs to take a seaplane(if u're the 1st time taking seaplane, it shld be quite fun!).

For ur S$7.5K, I think it's only good for 5 nites in Hilton beach villa or Anantara Deluxe water villa or Mirihi Water villa or maybe 6 nites clubmed water villa. Others are probably out of reach, show in our list above.

Perhaps you would like to try out some resort that I reckon is not bad also, but so far non of us here went to?

Vilu reef, Veligandu, Olhuveli or Filitheyo.... These resort need seaplane transfer.
Bandos new beach villa, fullmoon resort, speedboat tranfer.

You can view and have instant quote on the website:- www.mal-dives.com to have a feel and quotes on the rates you have to pay for different resort in Maldives.

Take a look at those resort first, then we slowly help to choose one that suits you. Oki?

ryo

Yo T&amp;P,

Hahahaha........I think what u think about starstar is absolutely right!! kekekek....
Why don't u visit her blog to find the answer?
Aiya, anyway you are right lah!

starmed

Wu
haha... T&amp;P can't see unless she join to become my contacts lah.... hee..my contacts are the privileged ones....keke...:p

why I can't go...
not go now mah.... dun go melbourne lor...keke... anyway also can't cos hubby dun want to go back so soon... maybe 5 years later bah...
I'll stick to my melbourne n tas trip...keke...:p

T&amp;P
I fu wanna know, join multiply lah... if not, wait till a while longer then u'll know what;s all the *wink wink* r about...keke... ;p

starstar...

so i not the privileged few lor...sobz...
haha..actually i think i have a mutiply account but i just can't rem my user id and nick.
But i think my 6 sense very good one, am sure I am correct!! Heeehee..wait till u announce ok..i know y the time is not rite yet! ;-)

Oh and just realise my album link's not working.
Will try figure out what's wrg