Malacca

malacca

hi all, my bf and i are going to malacca for a short trip this coming weekend. would appreciate some gd recommendations for shopping and leisure from those who have been there.

reebok

If you're staying @ Century Makota, there's a shopping complex juz @ the oppo site. It's within walking distance....

The "Red House" and some of the tourist attractions / places are nearby....Sorry can't advise much as I went there 3 years ago & can't remember all the places name.

Malacca is a small little town...Most of the places there are within walking distance...(I mean if you don't mind the exercise.) Don't worry the hotel staff can help you!!

gim

food:
don forget to try the famous chicken rice ball in chinatown. the best stall is the one a road across OCBC.
they also hv lots of cafes which hv v nice ambience.
their sweet corn (we can get it fr pasar malam here) is very sweet & they r not stingy with their butter. somemore cheap.
another food to try is bak kut teh at jln melaka. near hotel equatorial. cant rem the exact location. this stall was recommended to us by a trishaw driver.
shopping:
chinatown-there's a nite mkt here every nite. esp crowded on weekends. even got local performances. there's a shop here dat sells v artistic tee shirt. cant rem the name. the stall is very colourful it was shown in the sammi cheng & ritchie ren sia ri mo mo cha. but they only opens during daytime.
mahkota parade-big shopping mall near hotel equatorial.

chk out these websites for more info.
http://www.malaccainfo.net/
http://www.itisnet.com/english/asia/malaysia/melka/melkatop.htm
http://www.perpustam.edu.my/infomelaka/visitmalacca.htm

hope the info will help. enjoy urself

tintin

Hi Malacca

I can help you. Went to Malacca twice in less than a month. First time, tailor make my kebaya and second time went for outdoor photo shooting. Which hotel are you staying? Reebok is right, Malacca is very small and easy to move around. Don't miss the pasar malam in Jonker Street, it is only available on weekends. There are so many places of interest to go, you can find all the infor from the websites mentioned above.

I am a food lover so I better recommend you to some nice food. There is this nonya food in Taman Melaka Raya, near to Mahkota Parade. There are a few nonya restaurant and I think the best is still at Makko. You must buy their pineapples tarts, sedap! If you want to go for western food, try windmill restaurant (so cheap.. & good).

As for shopping, don't miss out Jonker Street, the street will be lighted up at night during the weekends. Mahkota is the biggest shopping complex so far.

There is so much to talk about Malacca. Feel free to ask any questions.

Tintin

esprie

HI Malacca!!

Can recommend U a nice cosy hotel in malacca. It's called Hotel Puri and it has nice peranakan setting. It's located somewhere near Jonker street and its has its own hotel website as well.

http://www.hotelpuri.com/

HI tin tin, i went malacca for my outdoor shoots two months ago also. Where abt did U hv ur pictures taken? where do U like best? I like the Jonker street area the most!!

malacca

thx all for all your information!!!!

we wld be staying in hotel riveria..hope it is gd...would certainly visit the places u gals recommended!!!

thx once again!!

tintin

HI Esprie

Oh, you have your outdoor shooting in Malacca too? I love Jonker Street, but unfortunately when we arrived there, it was already like 6.30pm. Due to time constraint, we only went to Christ Church (Red House) and the big ship (sorry don't know the name). We should have stayed one night there. How about you, do you have enough time?

Tintin

esprie

HI Tin Tin,

Yes, we arranged to stayed one night at the hotel Puri arnd Jonker street so the schedule was less rushing. We reached there at abt noon time and we started shooting in the late afternoon arnd jonker street area and the hotel only. The next day morning, then we R up and abt those fortess and christchurch area. Ya..i really like the jonker street area..very nostalgia.

So beside malacca, did U hv any outdoor pictures taken in singapore?? When is ur wedding? Mine is just barely 6 weeks away.

dove

Malacca sounds interesting...can anyone advise me how to go abt buying bus ticket to Malacca? I usually travel in group so this time round, would like to venture on my own. Can you advise?

tintin

Hi Dove

I heard Grassland SuperVIP coach is very good. You can go to Golden Mile Towers (they called it little Thai).

Tintin

dove

hi TinTin,

Thanx for your advise. I have heard of Grassland SuperVIP coach..that Moses Lim commercial rite?
Do I have to buy the ticket in advance or just pack my bag and buy the ticket on the same day?

tintin

Hi Dove

To play safe, I think you better book your ticket in advance. Just go down personally & do a booking. Don't think you can reserve the seats through phone. Why not give them a call.

anne

Anyone been to Malacca recently? Me and hubby thinking of driving there for a short break. Any good recommendations for hotels and food? Tks.

cody

If you like teochew cuisine, try Teo Soon Loong chinese restaurant located at Jln Hang Kasturi.

They're famous for
(A) oyster noodles (eaten together w raw garlic ...really damn shiok even for a garlic-hater like me)

(B) or nee

(C) braised duck w tauhoo

Pls call to make a reservation, either for dinner or lunch. Its a very small dingy air-con coffeeshop, and you have to walk thru the kitchen to get in. Be sure to be punctual also, else they will grumble. The chef calls the shots there; once i arrived at 3pm punctually for my reservation but coz the chef was tired, he refused to cook for us!

Once in there, you'll see a picture of the late Ong Teng Cheong with the restaurant owner. The place doesn't look anywhere near nice, but they're famous (hence the chef's snooty behaviour).

2cents

hi anne,

I just went malacca beg of dec. Try to stay in hotel equatorial if possible. it's the nearest to everything. i stayed at riveria which is abt 5-10 mins drive away, not very incovnient but would be better if stayed at equatorial, so that can saved on the distance travelled.

Hmm, major shopping is only at the Mahkota Shopping Center. Other than that, nothing much else. You can walk ard the shophouse, chinatown but go there early, they close very early, abt 5pm!

Try the satay steamboat, chendol and perenankan food there. it's nice and very cheap ! Try to surf the web for recommendations and directions. I can't really remember which want i went. We just explored the place blindly hee hee ...

cody,
sucks. didn't know abt the teochew food. or nee is my fave !

aa

pls do not stay in century mahkota. it looks nice exterior but interior is terrible though huge.

anne

tks.
2cents, do you know about city bayview hotel? is it convenient to town?
how many days did you spend in malacca?

agnes

I must agree that Century Mahkota is terrible!!!!
Try the portugese food (especially the curry devil) at papa joe, its very spicy and delicious. I also like the wildboar curry at one of the bakuteh coffeeshop.

2cents, where is the satay steamboat??

monica

Yes yes yes Century Mahkota is really not fit for staying. Last time I went I checked the sheets were stained!!! Very errrr..... I just returned from Malacca with my parents. Stayed at Hotel Renaissance. It's not a bad hotel is you want to stay near town. It's a "5 star" hotels but no robe no shoes. But at least clean sheets. Don't expect squeaky clean bath tub also. My uncle who stays there says the really good Satay Churot is gone leow. The current one is not very good. So never try.

mahkota

sigh..i just came back from Malacca 2 weeks ago and we stayed at Makota Century...YES, IT IS NOT FIT FOR STAYING!!!..AVOID AT ALL COST..but, if you wanna go during this period, it seems like the only hotel with rooms available..

ohno

just checking if anyone have stayed in Renaissance Melaka Hotel before? what other hotels or resorts to recommend? will it be too crowded over the school holidays (next weekend)?

X

xinn

hi i have not stayed there before... but i feel the lobby looks better than equatorial...
My cousin who stayed there did comment dat she would want to stay in equatorial for her next malacca trip.
Anyway, Equatorial isnt too bad. Room clean, breakfast not bad, service ok... worth a try...

ohno

Cody,
you mean the service standard is lousy?? I've seen their pixs from the website, looks grand and big thou'. Appreciate your comment... thanks!

Xinn,
Thanks, maybe I should check out Equatorial too... issit conveniently located as compared to Riveria? Thanks in advance...

cody

no, the pictures are quite deceiving. i also thot it looked quite good when i booked it 2 years ago (unless they have since renovated)

hotel equatorial is alot better. the location is quite near to renaissance, but not as convenient as mahkota (yucks also).

if you like a beach front place, can try Riveria Bay resort. It's a 20mins drive (including traffic jams) to the city; the hotel provides a free shuttle service. The place was quite nice when i was there, but lately i think it looks abit run down. standard still ok.

havefun

Hi ohno,

Equatorial is within walking distance to Mahkota Shopping Centre.. very short distance so don't worry. There is a coffeeshop near there which sells very good "cha kway teow". My favourite!

Riveria is much further in.. though the rooms are much much nicer at Riveria. You definitely have to take a cab (15 to 20 mins depending on traffic jam) if you are going out to shopping area.

Nothing good to write about Mahkota Century except for maybe the location. The shopping centre is just across the hotel divided by a highway. The hotel does provide shuttle buses to the shopping centre though. But many people do what my hubby & I call as the "survivor challenge" - crossing that highway is so dangerous! And since you are going during school holidays (which we did the last time), be prepared for screaming kids at the pool at even late at night (10pm+!!).

If you are staying at Renaissance, remember to try the evaporated milk crabs at the coffeeshop near there. Very famous one.. pepper crabs there are good too plus other "zi cha" dishes. Very reasonably priced too. Never stayed there before but it is considered to be one of the best hotel in Malacca.

We drove to Malacca.. so on the last day the car will be loaded with groceries! There is a new hypermart that just opened in Malacca. VERY big supermarket and things are cheap too.

The chicken riceball in Malacca is a disappointment though.. don't know why a lot of people raving about it.

Hope you have a fun trip there!

jen12

Hi Anne,

I enjoyed myself on the malacca driveaway trip.
I am sure that both u n yr hubby will enjoy reading the map n driving around..

If u dun mind n dun intend to spend so much on this short trip, u can always stay at Hotel Puri, its a shophouse budget hotel at Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock...very clean n not so expensive..

refer to the hotel website @ www.hotelpuri.com

cant really advise u on eating cos i always buy junk food along jonker street wher they have their night market on weekends...

ohno

Hi havefun
thanks for your generous information... really helps me alot...

havefun

Hi ohno,

No problem at all. Let me know if you need more info.

ohno

am back from my Malacca trip and have stayed in Hotel Equatorial, which is quite near to Mahkota Parade shopping centre
. Overall stay is ok but my family members complained that there's bike racing (illegal) at abt 1am and it's very noisy. I didn't hear anything that nite cos I'm so dead tired but I can hear the bike and horn sound in the morning. For those light-sleepers (who are easily affected by slightest noise - not me!
), either get higher floor room (we stayed on 5th floor) or don't stay at Equatorial at all. I found that the sound-proofing for the windows are not too good.

I enjoyed my trip, food is dirt cheap in Malacca... but don't have the chance to try their chicken rice ball.

carebear

hiyee gals

sort chance upon this topic which is COOL fo rme since i will be heading to Malacca next week.

Jen12, i missed out Hotel Puri co zi thought there was only 1 heritage hotel in malacca.

i booked "THE BABA HOUSE" , anyone tried it before..
i m stil racking to see where r the places to check out. like pulau besar. heard there's a hot spring. true ??

dun mind any kind of stuff in malacca
by teh way m driving there

eeing

Hi friends,

I intend to go to Malacca for a short trip. Can anyone tell me whether staying there for 1 nite is it enough to tour around Malacca or 2 nite is better?

Thks for your help

princessjen

Hi yeeyee,

my personal advise is just 1 nite should be more than enuf..me going on the deepavali holiday...bt my fave hotel is fully booked nw asking them to shorlist 3 rooms 4 me..so when wil u be going??

eeing

Hi princess, thks for responsing to my message.

I haven't decided whether shall I go or not cos don't know is it a bore place to go or not.

1 nite? Is it too rush if you wan to cover the place of interest and shopping.

Your drive there or take free and easy package? You first time been there? Which is your fave hote? Hotel Equatorial? I will stay at this hotel if I am going there.

deviant

I would definitely recommend Hotel Puri. stayed there for 2 nights last year and it was really a nice and cosy hotel!

nothing much to do there except shopping and eating; or unless u are interested in the histrical sites too.

So 1 full day shld allow u to go to most of the places already...

deviant

hi YeeYee,

Yep, Hotel Puri is very near to Jonker Street and the historical sites; walking distance in fact.

And if u are there, be sure to go to Capitol Satay for its delicious Satay Celup; similar to s'pore's version of Lok Lok....but only difference that it's very cheap! but be prepared to wait quite long for a seat as it is extremely popular...

princessjen

Hi yeeyee,

I think 1 nite should be more than enuf,just like wat Deviant has mentioned. Even u r interested to historical plcs..My fave hotel is Hotel Puri, love to stay there everytime, nice boutique shophouse hotel,most imp thing is clean..walking dist to everywher cos public transport in melaka can be quite lousy thou..
yup me n bf wil be driving there..

deviant

Hi YeeYee,

Capitol Satay is at 41 Lorong Bukit Cina, opens from 7pm to midnight. Each stick of meat/seafood costs from RM0.35...the last time I was there, each of us only spent about RM6-7 each for dinner and we were so full!

eeing

Hi princess, oic...both you and Deviant also like Hotel Puri.

Hi Deviant, so the address for Capitol Satay it is it very near to Hotel Equatorial?

wow, each stick only RM0.35. That is really very very cheap. Ok, I will go and try if I am there. Anyway, which are the place of interest do you recommend to go?

angph38

edksd,
me juz back from Malacca on a day trip last Sat (cos my PILs stay in Seremban, 1.5 hrs drive).

from what i see, the hotels are pretty close to each other (nearby) and is out of the heritage zone, which is abt 20-30 mins walk (cos we walked up & down a couple of time due to several reasons, e.g looking for carpark, went hotel to use toilet

can try this site http://www.malacca-hotels.com/major-hotels.htm

click on their website / locations links & they might hv the maps there

angph38

btw, dun need to try the Famosa Chicken Rice (u'll catch it the min u enter Malacca Town) cos it's not nice.

think the famous one is somewhere near the Satay Chelot shop. (did someone mentioned a street away from OCBC building??) it's a corner shop & looks pretty run down... that's why we din go in as we thot "shouldn't be that one".

anyway, i'll try the real famous chicken rice on my next trip

dora

Hi edksd

I frequent malacca cos I have relatives there. I haven't stayed in riveria (cos I stay with my relatives) but have been there a few times to eat. It is really quite far from town, about 20 min drive if you incl the town jams. But the hotel do offer free bus service to and fro town. It is more like a resort kind of thingy. The view is quite good, very serene... only thing is that the sea (straits of malacca) is very polluted (something like our east coast), so don't have that nice feeling even if it is by the seaside.

Angelia hahaha see you in this thread too!!

angph38

dora,
hahah.. ya lor.. after much "threatening" "temper throwing" etc.. i finally get a day-trip to Malacca during my last trip back to my ILs' place