M Hotel Singapore

chere

i've got a qn on weekdays rate for weekends.
The package i received from the hotel states that:
Banquet Suite Wkday $788nett and Wkend $888nett, with the "weekday rate for weekend" promo, does it means i'll be paying $788 nett for a weekend dinner??

man_tou_bear

Uberrimae, ya i think so too.. cos my AD is just aft the 7th mth so he might want to give me the cards during my food tasting cos cannot print during 7th mth.. plus this yr got 2 7th mths.. :p he mentioned that my food tasting is in June or July even though my AD is in Oct..

Think i will have the same food tasting session as Huan as our ADs are 6 days apart!!

chere

thanks uberrimae,

Yup the promo is from Jan-Sep 2006. I received the package details from the hotel this morning.

But not too sure if must hold the wedding during this period or sign up with them by Sep 06 to enjoy the promo.

galnextdoor

Sorry reply u so late...didn't have a chance to login. Have PM you about the "negative" comment thingy. But can't remember all the details though...hope I didn't get it wrong.

merydith

Hi galnextdoor,
Would you mind sending to me too?

Hi antonia,
I was was there to sign the contract..have not done the food tasting though....

Yah..maybe should email Zul to ask abt it...I hope not too dramatic

jhoo

U mean we cant print during 7th mth?

anyway, i just happen to browse M-hotel website and din expect our bridal suite cost more than $1k per nite...

man_tou_bear

jhoo, it depends on ur family lor.. my MIL refuses to let me print, send or collect my cards during the 7th mths.. cannot order the cakes, cannot collect wedding photos, choose photos even cannot go to the BS.. everything to do with wedding also cannot... but me and my hb dun care.. we are gg to print and send the invites out behind her back at my place. cos my wedding is 2 wks aft the 7th mth ends.. where got time to do everything???!!!

jhoo

haha, reli..ya lor, think printing and send out invite shdn't be a problem, but things like take picture, GDL etc better dun..will ur MIL find out?

galnextdoor

Jen, you're welcomed

Btw, my friend who went for wedding at M-hotel last year Oct had similar comment abt food and svc...but not as bad one...I've seen worse service at reputable hotel in orchard.

Merydith, what's your email?

jhoo

when we go for food testing, we can note down the comments, feedback to them and ensure they cook what we have told them for our AD. but if we find the taste ok but minority of guests feel not ok, then we cant do much too

man_tou_bear

jhoo, it really depends lor.. my MIL is a Christian some more... funny right? i dunno how am i gg to hide it from her... guess dun tell her would be the best lor... my hb also very practical one.. in fact he was the one that suggested not to tell her..

galnextdoor, ur fren also got negative comment abt M Hotel? can PM me what she said?

yongee86

Realistically, food will taste much better during food tasting than actual day. After food tasting, the chef will come out to talk to you and gather your feedback. There is also a form on the table for you to comment on every dish. I spoke to the banquet manager on the negative feedback such as cold food and he reassure us it won't happen.

As for invitation cards, I guess it is up to the coordinator. mine was aaron, so he told us to do it on another day and just concentrate on food tasting that night.

bear, my wedding date is 06 June.

I'm now in shanghai for business trip and there are many bridal shops near my hotel. Their style is very different from Singapore. An eye opener...

jhoo

During my sis's wedding, they were able to cook what we have commented and the food taste even better than what we had for our food testing. not all hotels are like that and hopefully m-hotel can take it seriously

jhoo

i just rem zul told us we will come for food tasting when there's wedding going on (am i rite for those who has gone for food tasting?). so they will cook for addition table which is for us, and dun reli purposely cook for us on food tasting?

applerain

my ad is end of oct,been hearing nothing frm zul ever since i signed the contract.Normally food tasting,collection of cards is a few mths b4 the ad right?

junior22

hi jhoo,rachael

I got to no from Zul when i sign the contract that he will call us up for food tasting 3 mth b4 the AD and it will be on the weekday.

chantal

i am also having wedding at M hotel, does anyone know wat is the wedding favours this yr & how does the cards look?

are we suppose to do our own printing?

applerain

so will have a few months of silence lah cause ad end of oct which means only abt aug then will be starting all the preparations

man_tou_bear

Rachael, i emailed 2 twice liao.. u MIA??

Galnextdoor, i got ur PM.. hopefully things will improve before our weddings!!

Er, jhoo, Rachael, they will call u for food tasting one dun worry. Rachael for those getting married in Oct, we will be having our food tasting in June/July cos of the 2 7th mths... so dun worry ya?

yongee86

i didn't wait for aaron to call us to arrange food tasting. I called him instead to arrange as I used the food tasting session as dinner for parents to discuss GDL stuff as well. I traveled regionally quite often so we decided to do everything earlier so that we won't end up being very stressed and rushing everything nearer to the date. Plus we are busy with our new house as well. we actually planned out our schedule and have deadline for majority of the items to be completed. :p

jhoo, m hotel will arrange food tasting on weekdays and is specially for food tasting. It won't be during other people's wedding. Imagine if during your wedding, you have a table of strangers having food tasting. You will be unhappy with M hotel right? I don't think they practice that and incur wrath from existing and potential customers. :p

man_tou_bear

Ashlady, that was the impression i got from Zul cos i asked why the food tasting was in June/ July instead of Aug.. he said something abt the 7th mth i think.. really not sure... could be my faulty memories.. :p

Rachael mailed u back.. u must be very busy cos nv reply me...

jhoo

reli, but how come when we went over to neg, zul told me it will be the day when there's dinner going on? heard that we will each get a private room for the food tasting rite? but anyway, as long as the food dun reli taste that awful should be ok liao..haha..that time when we went rasa sentosa for my hubby's friend's wedding, and happen one of their guest is my poly friend, he went over to me and told me very common rite and expect my wedding to be special, so my hubby suggest getting a macdonald meal for him only, hahaha

ashlady

haha..jhoo, ur hubby is so funny
You are right that as long as the food doesnt taste awful can already. Some ppl asked how come i never try M hotel food then sign up with them. I've been to a few banquets and usually the food is abt the same, especially for those 4/5star hotels.

By the way, M hotel is how many stars?

Bear, i see..ok shall wait for zul to contact me then. Heh...

jhoo

Not so sure how many star, saw from different website rating it as 4 star and even 5 star....so its at least 4 star

man_tou_bear

jhoo actually to be honest, i won't be eating much of the food... heehee.. so i dun need it to be damn gd tasting.. get what ur hb says too... the story goes that the best food comes from restuarants!

M Hotel is consider business class, not 4 or 5 stars... like planes u know? first class and business class hard to compare...

Ashlady, ya if i get a call to go for food tasting i will also let u know... do the same for me can? ur AD is when again? oct?

jhoo

but m hotel is still a hotel, so there's rating rite, that's what indicate in the singapore hotel listing.

no, my hubby said the $6 meal, not restaurant lah, but no matter what its true the restaurant will taste better (not kfc or macd)

man_tou_bear

jhoo, i just said the rating is business class mah... depends on some business mags, business class is consider 5 stars while those leisure mags will say its 4 stars...
so it depends lor... the mags judge base on amentities i think..

smurfying

KPO abit. Yah M Hotel is more for biz purpose, not to much on the tourist leisure hotels u see along orchard rd. It's a 4 star actually. Orchard Hotel, oso a 4 star but caters more to tourists than biz purposes. Basically for the M&C group hotels, think only Grand Copthorne Waterfront is 5 star.

darbebe

I'm a M Hotel bride-to-be.

I have went for my food tasting already.
Don't worry, the food is acceptable.
The portion is huge..the 10 of us are very full after the dinner.

I have 1 other question.
So, will M Hotel automatically call me up regarding the wedding cards?
Or have to 'zi dong' can call them up myself?

Wedding in Sep, so will probably need to collect,confirm & collect before the 7th mth.

Pai sey if my question is dumb...cos i dont know whats next.

Thks thks

junior22

After reading all the posts,it some how sounded to me like Zul is telling or advice us very diff hor :S So confusing,haiz..

ashlady

hi bear,
heh..of coz! No prob! my dinner is 1 Oct
when's yours?

hi DarBebe,
wow..your food tasting quite early! Are u taking the banquet suite or function room? I'm not so sure abt the wedding cards..but i think it's better to be 'zi dong' esp if you want to print it according to your timing.

darbebe

Hi AshLady,

Ya, I brought forward my food tasting. I had my food tasting first before signing the contract.
Thats why so early.

I took the banquet suite. Like the interior as compared to the function room.

ashlady

hi DarBebe,
oh i see
Heh..me taking the banquet suite too! Hey, wat food did u choose from the menu? Me cannot decide on the dishes..since you've tried, maybe u can give some feedback

junior22

I heard from Zul that they no longer do the the name of the couple and put it on stage liao.

Personally i would still perfer to have our name up,does anyone where can i get the name done then i can ask him to help me put it up.

darbebe

hi ashlady,

I dont hve the menu with me right now..only able to recall afew dishes.

Have tried the shark fin soup with roe, sea cucumber with black mushroom,fried soon hock & crispy noodle.

The dishes tasted fine during the food tasting. Hopefully the standard will remain for the actualy day.

hope the above helps abit bit

ashlady

Hi DarBebe,
Oh..that's great! Ya loh, hopefully the food wld be nice & fresh on the AD
How many tables are u intending to have?

junior22

Hi Rachael

U mean Zul has a contact who do the name huh,$80 for the stylrofoam name on the stage too exp liao ley.

I wondering any shop at Bras Basah there got do ma,cos it where we can find alot of art stuff.

man_tou_bear

Gd morning!

Darbee, u did a clever thing man! had the food tasting before u sign... when's ur AD?

Oh ya Ashlady, i keep forgetting ur AD date! heehee... u keep me inform when u go for food tasting and i will do the same too...

Hrmmm may be its my faulty memory lah.. i can't rem things well aft my hospital stay. may be he din say the 7th mth thingy... heehee.. could be just my impression or something....