M Hotel Singapore

yongee86

hi bear.. it's always good to start early in designing your gowns.. at least not so rush mah...

hi ashlady.. so you more or less decided on flux already huh?
silverlining tied up with many photographers.. but the edge got different packages for direct sign up vs thru BS.. i chose his direct package.. have you chose ur AD photographer? mine is a fren's fren..

ashlady

hi antonia,
yeah..more or less...but I dont really fancy his albums. haiz...Robin's albums are much nicer. So it's a decision between albums or photography style. which will u choose? heh..
I'm in the process of meeting up with some AD photographers...seems very EX...considering we'll exceed the hrs stipulated & having it on 2 days.

man_tou_bear

Hiya gals,

Ashlady & Antonia, hrmm okok i was supposed to call my BS yesterday aftn but heehee.. i procristinated again... :p hrmmm i haven't chose anything either. in fact i have not gone back since my ROM last Sept.. aft seeing what u guys are doing, i think i better buck up.

I have gotten my AD PG but not VG... dunno who to get for VG leh... u guys got any to recommend?

yongee86

heyo...

ashlady, i can't remember how the album looks like for flux.. hmmm.. quite tough choice to choose between album versus style..no other photographers that you like? something like tat happened to me too.. i like tucky's work very much but FH dun like the album material.. in the end, we looked for another photographer instead tat meets both our requirements which is the edge..

bear, you cannot use my 'speed' to judge for yours lah.. coz my AD is in June but yours is in Oct right? but the earlier you start on your gowns, the better lah... :p

i got both PG and VG already.. my VG is mr chan, quite nice guy.. rates pretty reasonable too..

ashlady, who are the AD PG you have checked out so far? how much are the rates? if you want, i can pass you mine.. quite qing chai guy.. he do it as a freelance thingy..

piggydog

just to remind you gals, please check with the hotel on what the waiters are wearing on the day. For my experience, my husband was wearing a beige mandarin collar and they were wearing exactly the same thing. :)

man_tou_bear

Ashlady, my PG was the same one that did my ROM. he did such a great job that my frens also wanna engage him.. his name is yew kwang... we got great chemistry with him too...

Antonia, who is Mr Chan??? ya i m not comparing lah.. but i was just talking to some Oct and Nov 06 brides and they have already went to see the gowns or have already spoken to the designer abt their MTM gowns... i m the most relax one lor... anyway finally called my BS and the viewing cum discussion is supposed to be the 11th.. but just rem i got a wedding dinner so postpone again... heehee...

yongee86

bobbydog, thanks for the advise. will check that out too when i go for food tasting..

bear, mr chan is a freelance. i got the contact from this forum too.. you can find under the thread of videographers. his own website is www.icandovideo.com haha.. delay your discussion with your designer again huh? do you have in mind a particular design you want already? if yes, maybe it will be easier.

tonight i'm going for my first fitting with trial makeup. quite excited about it coz i can't wait to see the tea dresses that my designer created for me.

man_tou_bear

Gd morning... heehee yes Antonia, i delayed it again.. i dunno what i want... or rather i roughly know what i want BUT i scared when i try on the gowns i will change my mind again. get what i mean?? all the same, my BS only takes 2 mths to do up all the gowns.. i have some frens who did it with them and got their gowns in time...

Take photos ya and share with us! heehee.. me excited for u!

applerain

M hotel with all the sister hotels ( copthorne ) will be having a wedding show in mar,forgot the exact date.uob cardmembers have discount.

I went down yesterday to look at the ballroom,any of u guys requested 2 nights stay or anything more than whats in the package?

ashlady

hi bear,
Oh i've heard of Yew Kuang..but he's super ex..love his pics though

hi antonia,
I'm considering AD PG like segami, ron from eye-deas, beetles@work, lightedpixels.. who's ur AD PG?

chijmes

I went for my food tasting. Currently thinking of changing some of the dishes. Any advice whether the following is nice :

1) Cold dish - Gyoza or seafood roll vs otah roll
2) Black pepper udon vs Ee Fu Mee
3) Mango pudding vs Yam paste (Orr Nee)

Thanks !

yongee86

hey hey...

bear, try out the otr gowns available in your BS first to give yourself a rough idea what type of design and cutting you are suitable. For me, i went to my BS 3 times before i can decide on which gown i like. :p

rachael, i did not sign up during wedding show for M hotel, hence i'm not sure what you can bargain for.

ashlady, my AD PG is a freelancer and he did for 2 of my frens' wedding and feedback was pretty good. you can also consider tucky, i find his works quite nice too.. another fren of mine used sam, but i lost his website url.. sam is also quite popular i heard..

chijmes, not sure about the dishes as I have yet to go for my food tasting. but i heard mango pudding is good!

applerain

Hi antonia,

No i didnt mean the wedding show,i meant during normal times when u signed up the package,did u get anything extra?

man_tou_bear

Gd morning.. sorry MIA for the past 2 days.

Ashlady, Yew Kwang ain't that ex... less than 1K for AD PG. what is ur budget?? i like his pixs very much.. at first i was worried abt my ROM pixs cos i felt that he didn't take much photos of me and my hubs.. in the end, i was so impressed with the results! even till today, my hubby still picks up the album to flip through.. hahaha.. sounds like i m promoting him!

Antonia, i m not sure if i have so time to go down to my BS numerous of times leh.. i m now busy with my house reno (not using ID hence we have to do a lot of legwork ourselves) then have to move in... let's see the first try and see how.. if not i will just go down myself to look see look see...

ashlady

hi bear,
U had him for your ROM? Then perhaps it's less than 1K coz the hrs are shorter...my AD is a full day & still got dinner the next day..I guess
it'll be about 2k already.

Hey, does anyone know what color does the waiters & waiteresses wear? Also, what color choices do we have for the VIP tables? Thanks!

yongee86

rachael, nope, din manage to bargain for much during the signup.

bear, it depends on whether you wish to mtm or take otr your gowns. if you are going to mtm, you will probably go down to your bs less frequent as me. i'm also busy with my house renov now! but i'm only doing minimal changes. did you engage a contractor to do for you? what kind of legwork you have to do?

man_tou_bear

Ashlady, u got it wrong lah.. Yew Kwang's full day for AD is $980... if split to 2 days just add another $100 or so i think. so definitely won't hit 1.5K.

Antonia, MTM less fussy? U are doing minimal reno? i m doing the full works as my flat is 20 yrs old (got a resale)! hack all the flooring, change all 3 toilets, do up roofing at my balcony.. i m staying in an EM... we have a contractor but still a lot of legwork as we prefer to get the stuff ourselves and pay lesser... we go by ourselves to buy taps, basins, sinks, toilet stuff, get those big mirrors etc.. our contractor just instal them.. he didn't go with us nor recommend us where to buy... we look online liao then go and shop at jalan besar and bargain the prices ourselves.

ashlady

haha...Bear, so pai sei! Yep..i got it all wrong..i thought u were referring to another photographer Kuang from Pentaserve. *sheesh* :p

dv1adm2

hee the other animal is back... =P
been snooping on other hotels lately haha

ooh ashlady..so is eb couture good? how was it for u? yea got show for M hotel soon..
maybe can extend the weekday weekend thing for 2007.. =)

ashlady

hi froggie,
So which other hotels are u considering? heh..

Oh yes, I think EBC is good. They have lovely WGs. The package kind of fits what we want...unlike other packages with everything thrown in, which some couples find it more worthwhile. So it's up to individuals. Have u decided on ur BS?

man_tou_bear

What other animal? Froggie u ah?? heehee.... have u confirmed M Hotel yet? or still looking? what other hotels u seen? what is the top of ur list?

Ashlady, no probs... u can check yew kwang out too.. he has his own thread here and so far the reviews are super!! heehee...

yongee86

hihi..

bear, to mtm, you must have an idea/ design on what you want in your gown.. for some designers, they will want you to do 'homework' which is to show them what designs you want for your WG and EG.. tat will be at least 1-2 visits to bs, den first fitting which is more like the skeleton of your gown, 2nd fitting will be wif all the embrodiery and stuff n together wif trial makeup...

mine is oso a resale flat.. but the seller did very nice renov already so we don't have to do much basically. i totally love my kitchen cabinets which is very aussie style.. i only need to do painting and lightings.. where is your EM?

hi froggie, uob card has discount for the m hotel wedding show.. do check it out.. uob sent me the brochure which is pretty good.. free 1 bottle of wine per table...

dv1adm2

wahh u all v fast..
ok ok top of my reasonable list? there's a few
1)pan pac 2)marriott 3)M hotel 4)hyatt 5)gppr
since gonna take sunday instead of weekday..think cannot marriott already..so if M hotel got the weekday weekend thing it'd be great! but im looking at 2007 so slowly ha..

uob card yea i have ok!
BS..well im thinking of EBC, dang, flamingo..hai also gotta go visit then can decide.. =)

flat also...*dizzy*
wonder if the SERS for dover and commonwealth will be open for sale hee..

yea animal..the last time i came in..it was like farm got bear and dog and frog haha

man_tou_bear

Hi jhoo... i think u can go for ur food tasting in Oct-Nov this yr... dun go too early cos menu and chef might change..
hopes this helps.

Froggie, have u decided on ur hotel yet?

Antonia, i have some designs in mind.. but scared the designs i want doesn't suit me... that's why i would wanna wait for the BS to recommend me some designs to see first before i show them i have in mind..

Lucky u, dun have to do much reno... the past 3 mths have been super busy for me with all the reno stuff going behind my back.. but happy to say reno finally gonna finish this wk, so another busy bout to look for furnishing...

jhoo

Thanks Bear...yah, the reno stage is really very xin ku..maybe me and hubby is more kiasu & greenhorn, we reli ensure that the tiles are not hollow and got one stage, we got our contractor to hack some of the tiles and was being scolded by my dad for doing that when its not that bad at all...keke...and also i was grateful to my dad coz he's a carpenter and gave me a huge discount on my furniture. Now all my furniture is custom made, even my dinning table and chair.hehe

yurieve

i'm considering using M hotel for my wedding banquet in mar'07. however, i only hv 14-15 tables n i noe tat they need a min of 20 tables.

is there anyone who manage to hv their banquet there with less than 20 tables???

apprec if anyone can help... thks!

jhoo

Yurieve, y not u contact the wedding coodinator (look for aaron or zul) and tell them u only have 14-15 tables and see if they can made special arrangement...if weekdays maybe can try, but weekend may be abit of tough...my weekend at function room needs 25 tables...

but other hotel i can recommend is hotel rend..think they can accomodate 10 over tables...

applerain

hi yurieve,

Im holding my banquet at m in oct06,only having 18 tables & my coordinator said its ok.Look for Zul & ask him.Actually if you only have 14-15 tables,why not try Carlton which was my intial choice,their max is 16 tables,cozy ballroom & theres a waterfall view,rate is about $698 per table but that is 2006 rate.Perks not bad,u can go to their website to have a look.

Also can try copthorne waterfront,min 10 tables max 18 tables but a bit more ex,$700 plus per table

man_tou_bear

Hi jhoo,

lucky u man.. got cheap carpentry... me looking to custom make the TV console cos i m looking for a 2.4m long one that is flush with the floor. u know how much that cost? i already custom made my bed liao...

Yurieve, best u ask the coordinators themselves.. may be they are willing to help u.

applerain

hotel rendevous min 18tables max 24tables.I tried asking denny if i can have only 16 tables,he said can but will take out some of my perks like free flow of beer & need to pay for the seat cover,so I found not worth it

jhoo

yah, that time i was talking to eileen..find her ok..i did heard comment that denny not so good..we still choose M-hotel in the end..if u have opp on m-hotel, either aaron or zul are good...

applerain

yurieve,

U can go to their website,e hotel tel no is there,just say u want to talk to banquet sales.Cant spoonfeed u too much
cause we also found everything the hard way

babystarlet

hi all,i also quite interested in M hotel,i heard their bridal suite is quite nice
jus asking,will they give a different bridal suite for those who booked function room instead of banquet room?bec banquet room more ex.

babystarlet

hi ashlady,txs 4 e reply.
i also like their 10th floor banquet suite but i find it too ex lol.....if at that price,i might as well get somewhere else in orchard area.

btw who is more approachable for better deals???aaron or zul???den i go look 4 e right person 2 discuss,heeeeeeee

jhoo

both bridal suite will be the same, just that one will be facing city view and the other is not. to me no different, coz we are staying a nite, and who will be free to enjoy the view outside when we have more impt task to do..keke...

Both aaron and zul are ok..aaron is mgr, so he can make more decision..previously im liaising with zul, but when zul went for reservist, aaron took over our portfolio, so now is aaron...

yah, 10th floor is nice, but we dun want to lugi so much on the losses so we choose function room since its only a dinner that last no more than 4hrs, but only prob will be flashing of montage, but the march-in is better - st. and 10th floor is a u shape

applerain

the march in for 2nd floor is longer & cocktail area 2nd floor is bigger.But ballroom wise 10th floor is nicer,and theres a makeup room for u to change to your 2nd gown.

I found zul better as aaron very hard to bargain for extra things.Zul will just tell u what max he can give u

man_tou_bear

I only dealt with Zul so i can't give comments. but he is a nice guy... in the end they are answerable to their management anyway... gd luck!

ashlady

hi babystarlet,
depends on the date of your dinner...if you take their 888 weekend package then a bit ex la..but they having a promo now whereby it's weekend dates for weekday pricing. So a weekend table at the banquet suite is only 788nett..def lesser than what most 4/5 star hotels in orchard area give(esp on weekends). my 2cents worth