M Hotel Singapore

xiaobai

Hi YK,

Thanks very much!.. Your emcee speech very helpful and it's very complete. Not much amendment needed.

shadow

hey yk..

dat is definately a much more better emcee speech..hehe..thanx for sharing ...n i think it benefit the rest of the members here

yewkim

Hey...
No need to thank me lah... I just copied it from somewhere... Hee Hee, maybe i should give Aaron this copy so that he can update it... His emcee script is definately too OUT-DATED...
I was thinking of getting my MUA to do my mum and MIL's make up. She quoted $80 per pax. Now i think that's rather steep... Does anyone here know the market rate?

xiaobai

Im printing my invitation cards.. Do you think stating 'Fuction Room' is better or 'Banquet at M-Hotel (Level 2)' is better?

My printer make a remark that it sounds "cheapo" to state 'Function Room' leh..

Please suggest.. Thanks in advance

shadow

xiaobai

i already printed my cards n did indicate "Function Room (level2)"
i guessed it depends on individual ? i dont find it cheapo..coz its really the hotel's function room mah..so i dun wan to give them an idea that its gonna be very grand but end up not so. U know what i mean ?

shadow

yk..wahh u online ah hehee
my actual mua is kenneth lee...but mua for photoshoot is leon...coz dat time kenneth in not available.
$150 is quoted by leon lor ...i dunno if u heard of them b4 ?
anyway...i think there r some mua who charged cheaper ? if not , can also go to hollywood secret to do?? should be ard $30

yewkim

Okay, thanks Shadow, i'll keep that in mind. However, do you have to worry about your MIL's make up? How about your jie meis? Do you have to pay for their make up also? Cause my jie mei sortof hinted to me that they'ld like me to pay for make up because so and so also paid for their MUA when they were doing receptionist for so and so...And so and so had 2 MUA on hand in the hotel to do make up for all the receptionist and jie meis...

Hello gals,my wedding is in 4 days time! Have settled my flowers as white lilies with champagne roses. would like your advice as there have been comments that the mango pudding is bland! Any feedback or suggestions for desert? Also,will the tables be too far to see the stage and projector screen?? I have 20 tables.

eillen

Hi emily,

Is your wedding dinner held on 18 June in function room? I'll be going down to M-hotel on that day to view the set up.

huggiez

emily congrats....i tink so long as u don open the fourth function room it should be quite ok for the ppl at the back to view the projector.

i always tot tat the mango pudding is good leh.. if u scare it will not turn out well maybe u can tell ur coordinator ur concern n see wat he can do for u.

must come back here to share share ok

zoeanne27

Hi Emily
congrats,,, So u choose the flowers liao..
Hmm... nice nice..

Gals..
Ask all of u ah? Is there a top up for Mango Pudding? I was told each table additional $10..
Did anyone top for it?

xiaobai

Hi Shadow,

Many thanks for your advise..
I get what you mean..

Zoeanne,
Not sure about Mango Pudding but Im changing mine to Yam paste & need to top $10.

lu_meihua

congrats emily! wish u happy and blissful marriage. rem to come back and provide updates after ur wedding.

enjoy ur special day! and rem to take a look at ur photo at the plasma tv!

babybluez

Hi all. haven't been to forum for a long time. Sorry ah. It's just my lazy bones kicking into hibernation. Haven't done much since. heehee. Anyhow, I guess it's time to panic. I haven't contacted M hotel since I booked and only received an email from Aaron that he taking over from Fiona. Well, Whatever. I dun mind cos me so relak.

Anyhow, I suppose I should do something since my dinner is in November. Oh, to update you gals, I picked Dang as my bridal designer. Photographer is uh... forgot already. haha. see! told you I damn relak. My photoshoot supposed to be in august. My tummy is still around! and I haven't even seen my gown. Heard they haven't even made the basic gown yet. well. i guess I have some chasing to do.

Oh yah, when should I give Aaron a call with regard to the menu and the invite cards. That's all I have to call him about right? Oh yah. and to let him know my no. of tables increase liao. Sigh. Shouldn't have made so many new friends. heehee.

About printing, I see this T Dragon and Hi-Tech names being mentioned. Are they good? Me want cheap cos don't believe in spending for cards which pple will throw away. OH shoot. I have to do church booklet too. oopsie. Ah well, I still have some time. ..

lu_meihua

hi babybluez, which day is ur wedding? wow u seems so relax with everything. good. cos' no stress no panic. u will look just great!! enjoy the process of preparation.

and yes, u got to start doing some chasing liao. shld have start getting ur cards ready, esp ur cards/booklets have lots of tying to do. I used T-dragon for my printer. For some friends I know, they all DIY their own church booklet.

have u fix a date for ur food-tasting? if u have cfm ur menu, perhaps u wanna fix a date and go for ur food-tasting, then u can strike 1 thing off ur to-do list. and settle on ur wedding favours too! perhaps they have new stocks and u may be able to choose them. urs in function rm or banquet suite?

share ur bridal design when u have them! = )

babybluez

Hi Meihua
I don't think I will use printing for my church booklet. Just ask friends to help lor. My husband and I actually wanted to take some booklets from a wedding we attended on saturday and we just blanko the names and write our own. haha.

I haven't fix date for food tasting. so early meh? I still have 5 months to go leh. I was thinking maybe september then do. Guest list, I still trying to confirm. But other than coming up with a list of possible guests, what else I have to do? Cos I ask friends abt whether they can make it, they always say, So early you ask me for what? Sigh.

Mine in Banquet Suite. Hope they haven't changed the decor so much. I liked the red glass candle holder thing they had previously.

As for my bridal design, it's more or less done. It's a heartshape neckline bustier top with A line bottom. Made with duchess satin. The top and bottom hem of the gown will have a matte gold border and the top border actually extends to the back like a ribbon train. the bustier part is to have some lace design. Hope you girls can imagine.

The evening is a modern lace cheongsam. A line again to hide my tummy and big hips. it's pink and is low back and has a cut out at the boobs areathat's why i said it's modern.

lu_meihua

wow...ur gowns sounds very attractive and very elegant! wow wow!! wish to see the picture. hee......

mine was at the banquet suite too. hmm...i guess u can always request for the red glass candle holder as long as they still hold on to it. unless the supplier change. = )

babybluez

I sent an email to Aaron yesterday but he hasn't responded. Is he the kind I must chase to get info and stuff? I don't really want to talk to pple unless it's urgent.

huggiez

hi nicole, i don tink need to chase after him ba.. so far he is quite prompt in his reply. perhaps after todae if he still no reply then try giving him a call.

babybluez

ok. got his email. he was on course for 2 days. Very good. He sent me pics of invite cards and wedding favours. But he says centrepeice changed to bubble glass with petals and tealight inside. Anyone has a picture of it? I really liked the red glass thing leh. sigh..

zoeanne27

Hi Nicole
U need the email of wedding favours n card? I have too.. I can email u also ma

About the glass, i do not have the pics. Sorry.

hI GALS,
I would like to check with you, do you know if function room dinner dish can be change.. without topping up any $$? Like one to one exchange? I am not very sure about this. I only have one menu in my contract

Hi Zoeanne ,

It depends on wat type of dish u want to change .

U can check with ur coordiator wat which dishes u want to change & wat other option u can choose w/o topping up any $$ .

so how's ur preparation ???

Hi Nicole ,

From my experience ... yes . Aaron need to chase ... else he will not response fast .

My coordinator changed from Anna to fiona to aaron

Hi xiaobai ,

ME too ! I also changed to Yam paste .

are u teochew ?? most of the teochews like Yam Paste when having dinner

babybluez

I have the pictures already. I see the wedding favours, quite sad leh. They look kinda cheap. I think if no choice, I'll pick the wedding bears and maybe buy something else in addition. Hope to have some idea in malaysia cos cheaper. heehee.

I want to have mango pudding on my menu. It wasn't on it. Anyone did that? I asked Fiona last time and she said no problem. But I scared Aaron won't agree.

man_tou_bear

Was wondering if 8 course in M Hotel's menu is enough? Is it necessary to ask for 9 course dinner instead?

hope some past M Hotel couples can give me some advice and feedback. thanks.

All the guests complimented the food and service! Some even wrote compliment letters for their waiters and they told me it was the best banquet dinner they attended. My mum's company colleagues also mentioned they had never tasted such good food for wedding dinner before! By the way,Nicole..dont be sad about the red glass thingy,as I had the bubble glass and it looked great!

Hi bear,is your wedding on a weekend as if it is weekday,I think 8 course is fine. I had 9 course cos mine was on 18th June (saturday),i added an extra scallop dish. Im happy i added cos by the time I reached the 7th course,i still had about 10 more tables of picture to take. But this also depends on your program for the night cos I had singing and all that. In addition,I had 3 change of gowns,so I needed the 9 dish. Moreover,few of my relatives are the "particular" type and their angbao is pretty big,so my mum wanted 9 dishes as thats pretty standard for weekends.

And nicole,for extra wedding favours...u need not go until malaysia to get. You can visit this website called duet forte,think the link can be found in the home page. Cos i didnt really like all of M hotels wedding favour,so I chose keychain and had extra wedding favours of a fridge maganet. Very reasonably priced,it was $0.80 per piece and paid flat $23 for customisation of our names. They are very good as I did 230 pieces but she sent me the wrong type of flower for 40 pieces of the fridge magnet but it was no biggie. However,she made another 40 pieces for me and in the end, she asked me to keep the previous 40 and no need to swap. Fantastic...2 thumbs up! Below is picture of my extra favour.
293854.jpg

And nicole,for extra wedding favours...u need not go until malaysia to get. You can visit this website called duet forte,think the link can be found in the home page. Cos i didnt really like all of M hotels wedding favour,so I chose keychain and had extra wedding favours of a fridge maganet. Very reasonably priced,it was $0.75 per piece and paid flat $23 for customisation of our names. They are very good as I did 230 pieces but she sent me the wrong type of flower for 40 pieces of the fridge magnet but it was no biggie. However,she made another 40 pieces for me and in the end, she asked me to keep the previous 40 and no need to swap. Fantastic...2 thumbs up! Below is picture of my extra favour.

293858.jpg

huggiez

wow emily glad to read your positive comments about ur wedding...

9 dish ah will it end very late huh? me wanted to add a dish and change some of the dishes.. but tink too early for me to speak to aaron now.

nicole: the favours looked cheap? is it? the other time i saw those favours quite alrite la juz tat very common amongst wedding nowadays. or diy favours? i saw some btb actually diy their own favours. add more personal touch. but to do for so many ppl u may wanna ask ur jie meis to help out

babybluez

the photos which Aaron sent me, they didn't look that good lor. I will check out the website. Your wedding favour looks good. Hey girls, later I wanto more feedback on the dishes. Which ones you picked and which are nice. If I don't take their wedding favours, do you think I can exchange for something else. I already not using their tealights. going to use my own scented ones.

Hi,for my wedding I chose the following dishes:
1) Cold dish
2) Sharks fin and crab meat
3) Baby abalone with mushroom and seasonal vegetables
4) Steamed Garoupa with Soya Sauce
5) Stir Fried Scallops with XO sauce
6) Crispy Roast Chicken
7) Live tiger Prawns with chinese wine n herbs
8) Fragrant rice with lotus leaf
9) Chilled Mango Pudding

Hi mushloom,hope the dishes will be a good guide for you as received many positive comments,especially the mango pudding!
As for having 9 dishes and ending late...hahahah....my wedding ended at 1am! Cos we extended another 2 hours but of course have to pay lah,cos we partied the night away. There was small disco after the dinner ended at about 11pm. We hired a deejay as my hubby is eurasian and so its a tradition to dance the night away!

Anyway,for all you gals who were wise and save money by booking the function room...you can improve the look of the banquet dinner. Speak to the florist personally and you can do certain upgrades. For me,cos I was worried that it may look "not grand enough", I spoke to Vanessa and paid slight fee for adding extra ribbon sashes to every alternate chair. Made a big difference and caused the whole room to look more grand. Cos the function room set up is abit colourless due to light coloured carpet and white seat covers. So I paid for extra ribbons for alternate chair...every chair may look too gaudy. They basically have 2 different colour for the ribbon sash: ivory or matte slight tinge of gold

Nicole,I spoke to aaron before and wanted to reject their wedding favours and you get an equivalent amount back but not in cash. For example,I had 20 tables,so he said my wedding favours were equivalent to $200 and I can use that to offset the bill. But not very advisable lor cos I think better to use their wedding favour and get some extra on your own. Do visit the duet forte website as my wedding favours costs me less than $200. For me,I chose M hotel keychain but they have limited quantities left lor.

babybluez

the keychain was not in the pictures of the wedding favours for me. Most probably cos no more already. I only had the photo frame, the bears, the wedding cake box and the plant card holder.

Emily, thans for your tip about duet forte. It really sounds and looks great.

Can I ask you, how come you have both the Scallops in XO Sauce and the Prawns. I have to make a choice between them. Sigh. Were the Scallops fresh ones? If you had to pick between the 2, which will you choose?

caitlyn

emily - did u have to top up for ur menu?? coz it looks quite diff from the menu they provided.. i had to top up $50 for baby abalone.. =(

Hi nicole,I had the scallops cos I paid for an extra dish. I had to make it 9 course as I changed 3 gowns! Wow..if aaron let you choose then...um...I dont know cos both is nice.

caitlyn

emily - so how much did u top up for the scallops and abalone? did they like give a better price? if we want to top up to 9 dishes? coz i'm thinking of topping up and i actually also have a wedding lunch so wondering if poss to neg for a better price? if not conv to say here, maybe can mail me at [email protected]? thx!

man_tou_bear

Hi thanks for your comments. I was just wondering if 8 course dinner, the food portion enuff? mine is a Fri wedding and only have 25 tables. thinking of adding one.

Emily i think i saw u last thurs if ur wedding was held at the function room. I wanted to peep into the room but saw that u were already at the recept thus Zul said better not... i like both rooms lei how?

xiaobai

Hi Emily,
So glad that your wedding turns out great.

And got many compliments about the food & service.

Hi 090301,
Yup..
Both me & hubby are teochew.. U teochew too?
But i dun like yam paste, he's the 1 that loved it.

babybluez

Dear Bear
If you like both rooms equally, then might as well go for the cheaper one right? Me I much prefer the Banquet Suite that's why I opted for that.

OH yah, girls. I have been told by designer to go look for low back corset. Anyone know where I can find one? I think not easy to find.