M Hotel Singapore

jazzygal

Hi Zoeanne

Sound system is bad? Oh gosh... hopefully by then it's oki... My hubby was there surveying the place with me and he did mention to the coordinator the sound system maybe a problem... he was speaking from experience since he's in this line... he very very particular abt sound system.

He dun expect Bose kind... but really the system must be good and working and that the music on the air muz be soothing to the ears... there are those that really cannot make it cos not enough base or becos the sub woofer got problem...then the music that came out will really sucks....

Yummy... talking abt food... big portion will be good! Must feed my guests bao bao de.
But most importantly the taste must be good which the hotel should not have a problem unless it's a new green cook.. keke

Hopefully, the hotel will look into it......

snowflakes

I am also a M Hotel BTB in 2005. So happy to meet the rest here. Signed up with them during the wedding show somewhere in Aug04. My coordinator is Diana but heard that she's resigning soon. That's so sad to hear & nobody has gotten back to us with regards to our new coordinator. Abt the food, quite attracted by the fact that they have lots of varieties.

zoeanne27

Hi jazzy

so your hubby is experience.. Must take note and hope management got improvementlor

Hi snowflake
Me also sign up during show in aug.. when is ur AD diner? My dinner is 19 Sept 05

snowflakes

Hi Zoeanne,
My AD is on 30 July05. Very lost now, everything seems very faraway, so not knowing what to prepare currently. What are u busy with then? Have u signed up for any bridal package? Mine with J&M.

jazzygal

Hi Snowflakes

Welcome to the M hotel brides club! Hehe...am in the same boat as U... only hotel confirmed but am more lost than you cos have not sign up any package yet cos dun know wat to choose... worse rite? Well... I'll just try to find one in the next month lah... keke....

Hi Zoeanne

Yup yup.... have to remind the mgt... to look into this... keke... my hubby was jokinly saying... the mgt cld brainstorm a bit and get a jazz band to standby to play march in music in case the sound system produced unbearable music... but tat will defintely cost a lot.... keke... dun think we r tat lucky though... ;P

iblur

Abt the live band, my friend just hv it.
The violinist march in infront of the couple doing a solo.
It cost my friend $1k+ & sound system $300.
You will need to source for the live band and refer to the hotel for the sound system.

zoeanne27

Wah , $1K is real ex. I might as well get a friend to play guitar or I play the piano myself on the stage... Hee hee..but maybe i freak out and shiver.... Ha Ha..

Jazzy and Snow
Actually most impt is the dinner (hotel) , once settle, every other things are easier and could take your time. But of course not to drag too long as your BS might also need time to do your gowns, your album.

My married friends advice me , at least giving the BS 3-4months of doing your album b4 you collect. Cos we must give time for error and editing of the album..

Therefore, plus the "time for error", if BS offer MTM, it need another 2 months or more...Therefore, if we want to complete the BS stuff in a relax relax way and do not wan to rush into things, about 9-10 months b4 your wedding date should be fine..

This is my thinking la..

other things are like finding a photographer / videographer.. This need some time but no need to rush. But if your date is a popular date and the photographer is also popular, book him fast..
Thats it ...

Other GDL, AN Chung, guess we have to wait till pur AD is near lor.. I cannot think of what to do liao ... Hee hee..

snowflakes

Wow, thanks for all the responses.

Jazzy, when is ur AD? At least u have something to get urself busy with. It can be quite interesting sourcing for BS. Must negotiate for more things ya.

Zoeanne, thanks for the info. So u have signed up for ur BS oreadi? Me slowly flipping through magazines now. No idea on what kinds of gown I want.

Btw, who is next to hold AD at M hotel? Maybe can check to see how's the experience & whether the sound system working well oreadi. Just attended a fren's wedding at some other hotel & due to the poor sound system, most of the guests cannot make out what the bridegroom is saying, so quite disappointing.

So issit that there must be someone taking charge at the sound system eg what time to play what songs & things like that? It's a fren that will be in-charge or can get the hotel pple to do it?

Paiseh, I very blur, don't know how it shld have been, cos before that sound system never in my mind.......cos I not very techically inclined......kekeke........

zoeanne27

Hi Snow

I also not very experience leh... Ha ha..
sometimes I did events in my company.. so roughly can link abit la..

I found my BS, not in Singapore but in JB..
Hubby and I search for the whole day until we satisfied with their gowns, photography etc..Besides, I always have a dream taking PS overseas.. Therefore, no $$ for those Europre nor Australia PS, we went over to JB and Tioman PS.. Hee Hee...

You confirm need coordinators. Find a few friends or relatives who have the experience or instinct of coordination skill. This friend of yours can help you in charge of the PA system, to test the PA system, the photo montage etc a few hours b4 your wedding dinner.

This person should know the timing and coordinate when you start to march in, to know which song to play, play the montage, the lighting effect etc. Normally, the hotel people can also do it. But it is safer to have someone you trust more to supervise the Hotel stuff..

Let say for wine, you can get another friend of yours to know the number of wine bottles you are going open. Cos you never know how many bottles the hotel staffs might open, might take etc..

One thing you may wan to tell the hotel staffs to those waiters.. I realise if your guests are drinking wine, waiters often get a new glass for those who guests who already order. Instead of refilling the glass of wine, they pour away the balance and get a new glass. This is very very wasteful and in the end, you have to pay alot alot for the wine. My friend paid a thousand $$ over for wine bcos waiters just pour away freely..Something to take care of..

We got no time to take care of such nitty stuff during the dinner lor...I think they are also many stuff to take care and hand over to your friends and relatives, like the ang bao box, who to take care, what time for 1st and 2nd march in, timing to go for changing of gowns..if you have tables photo taking, your friend shd also coordinate and arrange to have everyone post and sit nicely b4 your reach the table for taking..

Hee Hee.. i m too lor soh..

snowflakes

Wow Zoeanne, I'm so envious of u. At least ur hubby still bothers to accompany u to search the BS one by one. Mine will accompany me to look ard but he will decide very soon, as long as the service is alright. Do show us when ur PS is done...looking forward to seeing them.

Seems like quite a lot of stuffs to be busy with. Thanks for the enlightenment. Do agree that on the AD, I just want to sit there & be pretty. My friend quite nice to volunter herself as my wedding planner. Must definitely give her a big angbao after that
. Really appreciate.

Me flipping through wedding magazines now. I like the Divine's gown being posted as advertisement, quite unique. Maybe shall ask the designer to come up with something like that. U have anything in mind already?

This thread quite quiet ah? Hope more M hotel brides can share in this thread.

babybluez

yeah. we do seem to be dying down. on my part, it's because I am really so busy with work. very tired and no time to check forum every 5 minutes already. haha. yes I used to do that. now i only check every few days.

Some more now I sick cos of being so busy. I had this stupid illness few months back that was rather serious. almost go hospital. take very long to fully recover and whenever I busy, it'll act up again so a bit under the weather too lah. Sigh... dunno how I die when I become bz over the bridal shop thing. I also haven't sign up yet. I feeling lazy plus go alone very sian. cannot depend on husband to go. he just sit there and give the look like why am I doing this instead of sitting at home and watching cartoons. then i will be pressured to anyhow take so he won't get fed up. might as well leave him at home.

So far, I think I quite like Yvonne Creations. but price a bit high... So still searching. used to like Graceful Image but heard feedback that they will slip in a lot of hidden cost so better not. Like their gowns tho. nice designs.The Divine's gown, I tried leh. the one in the magazine. that time I went they let me try cos heh heh, it can hide my tummy. but still i cannot fit. so depressing. the back cannot zip up. they must use string to hold together. that's why i really feel like bak chang when I go bridal shops. But quite ex. Divine. above my budget. some more that gown, they say is brand new so it's the most expensive package. over $5k i think. my budget is below $4k.

eh, wait a minute, is that divine? eh, no. sorry, the one i went to was ritz couture. sorry. their names I all mix up after a while. heehee

ling_ling

hi gals....

i'm extremely upset with M hotel....changed my coordinator from Anna to Fiona....and seems tat watever they showed us in the past didnt exist anymore....the centrepiece they have now is red in color like a broken glass with sharp edges....and tell us tats the one only they have.... if wana change gotta pay extra and liase with their florist.... Anna showed us a fake flower centrepiece last time...and this fiona make us feel so stupid like as if we were the blurr ones..and tat there is the red broken glass design centrepiece all along.....so upset....sob sob sob......

highness

that day i went to the style wedding bash.. the feline n Z wedding's gowns very nice leh..

ling ling, u taking the banquet room or function room? tot Anna still with m-hotel, y change coordinator leh?

ling_ling

hihi highness

the 10th floor ballroom....

ya....tats why lor...dunno wat their stupid management thinking man....gosh....

change liao...so many things like didnt exist lor....

zoeanne27

Hi ling ling

I am confused.. Which theme you are talking about? How come got red broken glass? Are u taking banquet or function room?

Fiona is like that la.. SOmetimes friendly, sometimes like that.. haiz..Dun like to talk much .. I think the M hotel BTB know what happen.. Ha Ha..

Confirm with them what they are giving you..
Cos i dun remember seeing the red broken glass design...Is your AD coming soon?
Dun be upset..

spring11

My AD is 3 mths from now. So shd i initiate to contact M Hotel to confirm the food tasting date, printing of wedding cards n number of tables?

Or should i wait for them to contact me?
Any ideas?

evangel

Hi ah mei,

Be pro-active. Should have you food tasting done by now. Printing of wedding cards takes 3 weeks have you confirm the no. of tables with them already. Cards will have to be ready before GDL

When will be your dinner?

mission

hi ling ling,

M Hotel also changed my coordinator to Fiona. I asked where's Anna and was told she's transferred to another dept. Ya, Fiona seems a bit blur when I asked her somethings, she would looked blur and then checked the contract. Otherwise, she's ok.

I met fiona the 10 floor banquent recently but can't recall about red glass centre piece. but I think the whole place still looked fine. It's not that bad lah, so dun worry!

snowflakes

Hi Nichole, do take care of ur health yah. Btw, 5k for the BS too expensive lah. I think Divine abt there as well. Anyway, my gowns all MTM for abt 3k only, so not too bothered, cos can copy abit here & there from wedding magazines....keke....very badz right! :p

Lingling, don't get upset ya, try talking to ur coordinator again. Think it's the way she brought it across lah, maybe not that tactful & diplomatic but not as bad as u think it is. They may have new arrangement or designs coming up. Anyway, my coordinator used to be Diana. Heard that she left already but I haven't called to check yet. Have to cfm with them who will be taking over my case.

Ah mei, think u better contact M hotel since ur AD is only 3 mths away. Think they have too many changes lately, may not be able to take care or remember all stuff. Better contact them soon. Wow, since urs is the earliest to come, do share with us ur experience yah. Looking forward.

drew_drew

Hi Lingling,

Err... that centrepiece hor is not what u call the red broken glass with sharp edges thing, it is a artistic centre piece which I find that it's special compared to what we normally see at other's wedding

ling_ling

hi Zoeanne

i'm taking the 10th floor banquet room. Umm...the centrepiece looks more like a broken glass.....which hubby and i both felt we cannot accept tat....

hi mission

i understand from another BTB that her previous co-ord was Diana and now they changed to Anna since Diana left. The red glass thinggy we saw during just before a banquet began....Anna showed us there. which my hubby, me and my wedding planner felt it is not suitable for wedding setup, inauspicious lor...

hi snowflakes

oh..they have new designs coming up? cos fiona said tat that is the one and only they have for now, if you dun like it, you may contact their florist to have your own arrangements done on a extra charge by per pc.

hi drew

umm...perhaps certain ppl can accept tat but ppl who are pantang find it unacceptable la especially the elders sure to criticise it lor.

Thanks for your advices gals....if worst scenario....i will bring it up to their uppper management to get it resolved.

babybluez

Yea, the banquet suite centrepiece is a red glass artistic container to put the tealight in the middle. I really liked it in comparison with other usual floral centrepieces. cos you know usually only VIP tables will have elaborate centrepieces and the rest have a measly single stalk flower. and i personally like red a lot lah plus it matches the lantern like lights in the banquet suite. Of course the way they told you, Ling ling not very well lah. If they changed the centrepiece then just say so lor. Don't need to pretend like you are the blur one. Sometimes we can accept changes if it's nicer. But if not, then they'll have to of course revert to what we based our agreement on.

ling_ling

hihi nicole

i agree with you lor...tat if they changed...just tell me they changed..and if they cancelled tat 2nd option of fake flower centrepiece they shld have told us nicely...and not make us to be the blurry one...tats wat annoyed us the most....and they are not being helpful in any way.....

zoeanne27

Hi ling ling

I can understand that feeling and agreed that they does not talk tactfully. When i ask questions, they sound to me that asking stupid qs lor..

My hubby abit fedup but you know guys la,, Say its ok, as long as not a serious problem.

Then, seem like we need to solve some problem ourselves lor. I am actually waiting when our AD is near, cos even now i tell them, its about still 11 months away from now.. Too early for me

For girls which AD coming soon, dun wait and ask them whatever you need. Supposingly, they should have call to remind you. But if no, then cannot wait for them la. Its better not to bottleneck everything bcos of it..

Lingling, dun be upset.. Be happy.

Talk to the management and see if they can do better for you..

ling_ling

thanks zoeanne

ya lor.... such service attitude hor.... really pull down the standard of the hotel lor.... haiz....really regret choosing M hotel...perhaps even hotel 81 service oso better ah...kekekekekeke......

agree with u lor..their service really sucks now man..... haiz.... hope they dun do funny things or forget my wedding date man...by then maybe fiona will tell us....oh..u booked this date meh? gosh....*faint*.....

sorry gals...but really super disappointed with their 1 star service attitude lor....
sob sob....

if really no choice...I will write in to the hotel General Manager to lodge a major complaint against this coordinator.

wish us both good luck gal. ;)

zoeanne27

Hi ling ling

U are welcome. I would not complain them now unless they are really bad lor.. I have to wait till my Ad is near. Just hope that their service will be better. I dun feel any "closeness" to them. My friend got married last year at other hotel, she became good friend to her coordinator after that. They even keep in contact now though sms after 1 year of my wedding. So envy her.

My coordinator abit DAO DAO one.. hahaha..

Nevermind, we wish all girls luck la..

snowflakes

Hi Gals, so sadz....to hear that u all have quite bad experience with the coordinators. Diana was fine that time when we approached her. She was partially why my FH decided to choose M Hotel over the rest. Cannot imagaine that the plus pt becomes a negative pt now. But don't worry, I sure things will get better. Sure they don't want pple who come attend the wedding have such bad feeling of them. Words of mouth can be a strong advertising tool ya :p

Btw, Lingling, is ur AD drawing very near? Usually, they will have deco change-over maybe yearly. When I went to view the ballroom in August, Diana did mention that it may change; not cfm, cos my AD is in mid '05.

magloo

Hi girls!Its been awhile since i 'gossip' over here..i called up the other day to look for fiona & this guy answered the phone, didnt even ask if i wanted to leave a message.just ask me to call back later?!i was stunned..there must be something wrong..

spring11

My AD is on 15 Jan 05. Have not done anything yet. Name list not even up yet, never contact hotel but believe can be done on time lar....not too worry yet.

MB Evangel & snowflakes are right. I will contact them by this week to find out more......

Ling ling
My personal view is that most ppl do not really notice details. To me as long the plc look okie, n service of the staff not too bad...i be very please liow. so try not be too vexed n stress up. take it easy if not not pretty liow. btw, when is yr AD?

jazzygal

Hi Ms (Magloo)

Nice to see you here. keke... I think the hotel mgt. is still in a transition... hopefully things will not get out of hand. I guess they are not proactive these days in putting customer first...

I hope by the mid of next year when I'm supposed to meet and go through the stuff and food tasting... things will turn up well... am keeping my finger crossed...

ling_ling

Hi Zoeanne

yups.... we wish all girls luck la.. ;)

Hi snowflakes

yups gal...my AD is on 8 Dec this yr. tats why i so pissed with them.
dun count too much on wat the past co-ords told u lor gal...based on personal experience..the new ones taking over might tell u no such thing...just as wat fiona told us lor....

Hi Ms Magloo

yups...u're definitely right gal...sad to say there is something very very wrong with their service attitude now.....haiz.......

Hi Ah Mei

thanks gal...keeping my fingers and toes crossed...hope things will turn out fine...My AD is on 8 Dec '04.

huggiez

ling ling try to look on the positive side lor. this is ur wedding ma. so don brood over the things that upset u. stay happy and be a happy bride ok

zoe i agree that rapport with the coordinator is kindda hard to build (esp wif our coordinator). hopefully by the time we need to have more interaction with her, she will warm up to us lor.

highness

Hello gals, would u like to update urself in the list:

M Hotel Brides:

05th Jun 04 - YL
28th Sep 04 - Drew - J&C/Tiong Bahru
27th Nov 04 - Mooee - Kai/Tiong Bahru
07th Dec 04 - Mission - Yvonne Creative / AMK
08th Dec 04 - Ling Ling - Bridal Concept/ AMK
09th Dec 04 - Manuka - French Bridal / Sengkang
11th Dec 04 - MTDT - Ballroom/Santiago/Sam Photography/Punggol
29th Dec 04 - Ah Hua - PM
15th Jan 05 - Ah Mei
12th Mar 05 - Fates - GHA/Punggol
03rd Apr 05 - jojo - Punggol
18/19 Sept 05 -Zoeanne27 - New York Classic Bridal at JB - Pasir Ris
01st Oct 05 - Jazzygal - Sam photography/Kevin Videography
12th Nov 05 - Lynn - Bridal Zone
23rd Dec 05 - highness - santiago

huggiez

Hello gals, would u like to update urself in the list:

M Hotel Brides:

05th Jun 04 - YL
15th Jan 05 - Ah Mei
27th Nov 05 - Mushloom - Function Room/ JB Elegance/ Bukit Panjang

evangel

M Hotel Brides:

05th Jun 04 - YL
22nd Dec 04 - Evangel - Ballroom / Milan
15th Jan 05 - Ah Mei

zoeanne27

M Hotel Brides:

05th Jun 04 - YL
15th Jan 05 - Ah Mei
18/19 Sept 05 -Zoeanne27 - Function Room/ New York Classic Bridal at JB/ Jon Keng Photography/ Pasir Ris

snowflakes

M Hotel Brides:

05th Jun 04 - YL
15th Jan 05 - Ah Mei
30th Jul 05 - Snowflakes - J&M / Serangoon
18/19 Sept 05 -Zoeanne27 - Function Room/ New York Classic Bridal at JB/ Jon Keng Photography/ Pasir Ris

snowflakes

Hi Ling Ling, I can understand why u are so angry, as it is really quite near to ur AD now. But gal, I'm sure things will turn out well. Maybe, get one of ur friends to help u out in coordinating with the hotel, so that u can be less tied down & channel ur energy to other things.

* Gd luck ya *

Wow, this thread getting very lively.

Going for chalet with my colleagues now, chat with u gals again.

ling_ling

hi mushloom....

tks gal....

hi snowflakes

yups....oh.... funny how come fiona suddenly called me and came up with 2 other centrepieces le...i asked her and she said...oh... one is using the level 2 setup...and the other one she just got to know from her florist only....

anyway..glad now tat finally i can settle this issue..... so altogether...there are 3 types of centrepiece hor gals....hehehehe......;)

huggiez

hee hee good for u la ling ling. don tink the hotel would wanna spoil their ratings over this issue. coz they know that many brides do read these threads lor

ling_ling

yups...hehehe...whether she is the one who is reading the forums or someone told her...just dunno why must let us kick up such a big fuss then finally come up with another 2 other options.....

anyway...now tat we know there are 3 options of centrepieces..and my problem is solved.....i'm happy liao..hehehehe.....;)

babybluez

M Hotel Brides:

05th Jun 04 - YL
15th Jan 05 - Ah Mei
7th Nov 05 - Nicole -?/Old Airport Road

highness

hi ah mei, update ur details liao.
hi ling ling, glad that ur issue had been resolved.
hope all of us have a good time in planning our BIG DAY n be a radient n beautiful bride.

M Hotel Brides:

05th Jun 04 - YL
15th Jan 05 - Ah Mei -J&C bridal / Jurong West

snowflakes

Hi Lingling, really happy to know that ur issue has been resolved.

Wow......from the list itself, there are many Dec04 brides. Just wondering if u gals doing anything additional for the ballroom? Will anyone be engaging ur own florist to do up the place?

vanice

Hi Lingling

Remember me, Vanice from Brdial Concept...really happy to know that ur issue has been resolved... well you must be nervous as your day is drawing near...
Dun worry k...just enjoy yourself in the process.....My oordinator also changes from Anna to Fiona.... so keep my finger cross too.... Ling Ling btw I had chosen my photo already, two thumbs up for Kit....

vanice

Just update myself.....

M Hotel Brides:

05th Jun 04 - YL
15th Jan 05 - Ah Mei -J&C bridal / Jurong West
28 May 05 - Vanice , Bridal Concept

mission

I have a question to ask and see what is the general comments. Currently, I'm planning the guest lists and seating arrangement, but there are some guests who can't confirm coming or not, or whether their spouses really coming too. There are some who also said they might not make it last minute e.g. to take care of baby.

Is it ok to put about 11 ppl at one table? Cos I may end up having about 3-5 extra ppl and it's not worth it to open another table. I'm also trying to avoid having tables of 8 or 9 ppl only.

Any advice? Then I'll also need to check with M Hotel if they allow for additional chair and cutlery to be placed at a table...

ling_ling

hihi gals

thanks highness, snowflakes & vanice

hihi vanice

wow....tats great....i getting my album next mth...how about urs?

Yups...totally agree with u tat kit is fantastic...plus point is tat he is cute too...kekekekekee....;)

hihi mission

oh...i remember my planner told me tat need to inform fiona how many tables having 11people and also the number of baby chairs required....

cheerios gals...happy planning....;)

zoeanne27

I remember M hotel said that, if there are 11 ppl at a table, they will charge by per head to that table. Example if per table is $650. Then the 11th head is $65...

But i think , who would have the time to go n check how many ppl at one table if there is no too much extra to a table...