Lightings

acid

when we sell our hdb flat, do we need to leave behind those expensive lights?
or we can replace with some reasonable lightings?

tbkiang

hi acid,
you can take away anything as long as you leave the house behind :D ... Well unless u tell the buyer u are giving the items to them lor..

tanlss

I wish to recommend buying lights from Light Zone at Balestier Rd, especially from Alan...a very sincere & helpful guy who gives very constructive suggestions as to which kinda lights will be suitable for which area...I personally find his designs are quite nice & his prices are very competitive as compared to the rest...I just got my goods delivered today & his man was very on time, or in fact 20 mins earlier than stipulated time...another plus point was that all his goods were there, no missing item...however be informed that he only uses Akira light bulbs (not Osram or Philips) but with Atco ballasts...he said that if any of his bulb is faulty within 1 year of purchase, we can bring it down for exchange...

tanlss

Another praise for Light Zone...after receiving my goods on wed, I realised some scratches on two of my lights the next day, so I called Alan up, who said he would send down his service guy on Sat to exchange for these items instead of us going down to his shop...& again, his guy arrived within stipulated time, exchanged the scratched items without even looking at them & also helped me to install them even though I didn't pay Light Zone any installation fee (as i got my own electrician to install the lights)...really thumbs up for its service!!

chng

My understanding is we are not supposed to take down the lights and fitting (include curtains) unless when yr buyer came to view yr flat, u already took it down. But u can opt to replace with reasonable lights so that u can take away the expensive ones.

chng

I dun think so, cos all fittings etc are sunken cost, meaning that whether u got a few hundreds worth of lightings or a simple ceiling light will not make any dif to your evaluation report. Same goes for toilet bowls, mirrors etc.

xiaowenzi

Hi all, anyone has bought stuff from Lightology, Lights N Lights or Euro Star Lighting? All of these are along Balestier Rd. Thanks!

winwin78

As far as I know, Do NOT Go to STRASS n DREAM lightings along balester Road.. Service SUCKS.. Poor service and moreover the lights they give are either damaged or blown.. When asked for exchanged, they give display set some more.

gnm

QUOTE:Carrot (winwin78)
As far as I know, Do NOT Go to STRASS n DREAM lightings along balester Road.. Service SUCKS.. Poor service and moreover the lights they give are either damaged or blown.. When asked for exchanged, they give display set some more.

what happened? can share?

I just bought some products from them, and the sale person that served us did quite a good job... oh no... waiting for delivery this week

winwin78

Strass has many stories? care to share with me?
Dream lights stil safer than STRASS.. my friend bought fr dream lights gave her broken lights n bulbs which is fused (totally black). So gotta chk properly. Than when asked for exchanged, they seems unwilling to change and stil can complain say you come earlier as I am closing soon. I dont want to waste my electric supply waiting for you.

gnm

really?
the guy that served us at dream lights... Joevin is very nice. He was patient and understanding when we made changes to our purchase. Will only know more when we get our delivery today.

as for STRAUSS, we read a few stories from various threads that they have issues with delivery... so we decided not to go with them :p

Their price is quite competitive though... IMHO, they are worth a look if you are doing a cash and carry

gnm

hmm... today's lights delivery are mostly a breeze
man, spent the most money this week... burnt a big hole in my pocket

Dreams Lights delivery was prompt, and the delivery guy was friendly and polite. Very helpful and patient waiting for us to check thru all the lights before he made his leave

Edison Lighting was also very prompt. Was surprise that the sales man (Tony) who spoke to us was the one who did the delivery. Some damages to the catch of the lights, and he is more than happy to send the replacement parts tomolo. Also very happy with their service.

Extreme Lighting was also very prompt. The sale person we spoke to was Alex, and he was the one who delivered the lights. He was also very polite... checked the crystals for us to ensure there are no defects before wrapping them up for us. Really good and friendly service.

Lightology... the sales man (Alvin) who sold the lights to us was also very friendly and chatty. Learnt lots from him regarding the different lightings in his shop. Was very obliging when arranging the delivery for us. The delivery man was also very friendly. Didn't get his name, but was really happy with his service. The lights we bought from them came in a pair, and they did not match, so he willingly took it back and promised to replace them for us this weekend. Good service as well.

Chelsea Lights was also prompt in their delivery. The delivery man was also patient with us and waited for us to check thru the lights. Sad to say though, had to return three of the five lights glass pieces to him cos the edges were all chipped. He also promised to replace them this weekend. Hope he will do a better QC the next time

case1234

hi folks, just to share...

for those requires lights, may try VLUX at 722-730 geylang road...opposite city plaza. i just bought mine lights from them... price very reasonable and alot of varieties. You can look for Andy.

faithe

Just wanna check if below purchases of lights for my whole house is exp, which cost me a total of abt S$1k:
16 downlights with osram bulb + australia balasts
3 rectangular glass lights with energy saving (acrylic)
3 hamburger lights
2 kitchen rectagular lights
1 hanging lights
FOC door bell....

criz

Hi faithe

Did you purchase from Pan Tech? Just guessing as I just placed order with them and also get a FOC door bell. But lighting price are pretty subjective, it depend on design. Well, I got 13 downlights, 3 diff. room lights, 2 design lights for Din/Liv room, 2 kitchen lights, 2 toilet lights and norm. light for store, all for around $1.2K. Hubby said very good worthy buy.

pipilili

Hello everyone,
I have a problem and hope you guys can help me. I am trying to get 12 downlight for my 5 room flat (living room only). Can someone advise me:
1) Should I get single/ double light holder?
2) How many watts do I need for a 5 room flat living room?
3) Anyone has got good quotation from any lighting shop?
4) Anyone know how many watts (normal round light) we should get for a normal bedroom?

rickho

Hi nicole,
1) Single or ddouble depends on individual, ask yourslf what ambiance you like, dim: single, bright: double.
2) Vary also, how big is your living? what kind of format is the dull lights? same as 1) dim or bright.
3) Cheap dont really mean good, example Balast from Malaysia or China is cheaper than those from Aust or Euro, lasting or not depend on luck. As in detail the price of the lights, make it where, what kind of balast and tube they supply you.
4) Do you mean dull lights or ceiling lights for bedroom? If ceiling lights, about 36 watts. If dull lights about 4nos 8 or 13watts, 2 tube each.

Hope my advise help.
Btw, mine from Galvin@Elite Lightnings@ Jalan Beasar.

jendave

Another thumbs up for Chelsea Lightings at Jurong East. I was served by this guy, San and I would say DH and I were really satisfied with his service in explaining his products. Price wise is pretty reasonable as well. He didnt show any black face even when we told him initially that we would prefer to look at the lighting shops around juz to get some ideas of what we want. We went back shortly and decided to get all the lights from him.

blurbaby

hi... from what i read here seems that u got to 'click' with the sales person.. before u will have a enjoyable experience of the purchase..

blurbaby

hi... from what i read here seems that u got to 'click' with the sales person.. before u will have a enjoyable experience of the purchase..

for me, id and eletrician will be coming over tomorrow... so not sure when they will bring me to chose the lights? hopefully not tomorrow... but is it difficult to chose the lights anot??

loveangel

I bought all my lights from Chan Huat...along Balestier Rd. My ID brought my FH & i to the main store and it's very big. We were spoilt for choice & took 2.5 hours before we picked all the lights for our flat. *phew*

kiera

Anyone bought or heard of Rad Son at Jalan Besar? Am thinking of buying my lights from there so wanna check out whether their after-sales service is good. Please help me!

hi Leia
may i know wat kind of after sales service you expect from those lighting shops after they install for you?

but i think you should know wat are your expecations on lights, ie design, location of lights (function), budget, color, energy saving needed before you go and search for lights, easy of cleaning?

kiera

Actually I think most lighting places are quite similiar. Im just looking for a lighting shop that will provide after sales service, in the sense that if the lights are not working after installation (my installation is done by my own contractor), they will be willing to change for me.

do_ra

i got mine through the yahoo auction wher one posted their ceiling light and they able to offer other lighting needs. i was so happy to get a gd deal with the same quality n design i wanted. tat is y i am sharing cos no much person would notice such deal n it's a waste to miss such gd deal for someone like us whom is already spending so much money for the setting of our hm.

pskin

Hi, i bought my lights from DK lightings at Geylang.. anyone purchased lights from there? How is their after service?

Went to many places.. it was the cheapest.. purchased total 16 lights for $700.

kenshare

hi pskin,
i bought my lights at DK too.
Derrick is very good! His service is tip top too.
I bought all my lights for 1K.
Bathroom lights x 4 , Kitchen x 2, Down lights x 4, Down lights for passage way x 6, Light tubes x 8 , one dining light, one outdoor light for balcony..
Very worth it!

pskin

We bought
1 dinning light
1 light with LED for mbr (3 tubes)
2 light for 2 bedrooms
6 downlights (3-U)
1 kitchen (2 tubes)
1 light for bombshelter
2 lights for toilet

opps its 14 lights only.. for $700.
the exact price i cant remember cos the invoice with my FH.

kyin

My experience with Strass Lighting (501 Balestier Rd #01-01) was really bad. I bought 5 bedroom lights from themlast month. They promised to deliver in the morning but nobody turned out. Wait till afternoon to call them, was told they will call back. Waited for another few hours but nobody called back. Called them again but this time nobody pick up. I have to drive to their shop personally to find out why it couldn't be delivered - was told the lorry broke down.

After all the hassle to get the lights delivered and installed, I found out 3 out of 5 having problems. 2 are flickering, 1 keep tripping my power supply. Informed Strass Lighting to fix but was told I need to dismount those faulty lights (froma 10 feet ceiling) bring down those lighting to their shop for inspection. They just refuse to come down to check. So either I climb up to unscrew and disconnect wires and bring over to them, or pay $35+$8+$8 bucks to get their contractors to do so.

Strass lighting price is cheaper compared to others - BUT AT THE COST OF QUALITY AND SERVICE. Thinking of getting better lights from other shops to replace all 5 Strass ones.

kenshare

andy, the invoice is at home.
But you don't have to worry about the prices, i think his prices are very reasonable.
I even bought my chandelier from him. Its 12 candle stick chanderlier for 600 plus only.
U can easily ard outside, the chandelier for 12 lights is at least 1K and above.

icebaby0

unfortunately, I went DK the other day, dun see many selections. Very disappointed (what's more was caught in a jam travelling from Balestier to Geylang and was RAINING). I was just looking for simple modern looking lights but either their design are old or it's not to our liking.

Guess the rest of you guys are luckier.

rachely

hi kenshare

do you get problem with your chandelier?? i bought most of my light from DK as well. Love their service. Great. But i get a serious pro. with my chandelier, it trips my main power whenever i on it, till i need to remove 8 bulbs...The tripping starts when i was unwrapping the crystals (i didn't even on the power of the light & it just trip the whole house)

Now the pro still hanging & my electrician said 12 bulbs chandelier too power comsuming & bills will be high at end of day (for HDB flat). Is that true? Are you experiencing the same pro? B/w I also bought my chandelier for 600bucks 2. very nice but now only 1/3 lighted onli....hiaz.

do_ra

Hi Kyin saw ur promblem wif those lighting... y don u change the component to some better brand if wat they provide u is of poor quality or if ur lighting r still new, u can trade in too... but of course not too much shop does it. if u wan, u can try email [email protected] i got my lights from them at a very gd price compare to the shops n wif tat price, i got all branded components bundle to the lights. i think they r wholesaler tat's y they can afford to sell at better price.