Lightings

turq

we bought ours from thomson lightings & most from ikea. like their sytlish designs...

they come up to quite a hefty sum so it's gd to scout around...

we made our rounds at balestier & jln besar

cat

yesterday we been to park mall's lightcraft n million lightings.

lightcraft - didnt find anything to our liking.

million lightings - not bad. got some tt we r considering.

both are on 2nd level.

mimosa

Hi Lights,

Henry Lightings no more. It used to be situated at Shaw Plaza at Balestier. I go to Shaw Plaza to buy groceries quite often and realised that it's closed in the early part of the year. Dunno where the shop shifted to. Anyway, now another lighting shop took over. Dunno the name, but they have got stylish lightings from Europe. They have less common dining lights like those stained glass ones, and sells lamp shades, and designer furniture as well.

I bought all my lights from Singapore Lighting Mart. Look for the top sales person, he's a friend of my designer. He's very experienced and would advice u on what kind of lights you should get to match the theme of the house. Not the types who ask u what u want, then hard sell the product. I got all the lights for my 5rm resale flat for $2000. Living and dining and door entrance is downlights as well as walk-in wardrobe. 1 picture light for feature wall. The rest are energy saving box types for the rooms, and 1 for dining table. Legrand doorbell also from there.

publishing72

You might want to consider getting your lights at Jalan Besar, near Lavendar Food Court. There is much more beautiful lightings and price are much more cheaper than Balestier with the same kinda of quality. The service quite good. I'm pleased with it.

Lighting Galaxy
195 Lavender St #01-17 Eminent Plaza
Tel : 62977526/7

Look for Mr Ronnie Khor HP 97688490.

Just say you are recommended by me will do.

eighteight

Hi Tigerlily

Mind telling me where your friend bought her $10 bathroom lights cos l am also looking for cheap bathroom and bomb shelter lighting?

hippy

hi eighteight,

i can recommend you to get cheap bathroom light you can try getting holder and normal bulb and it is just as bright la

anne

Hi Publishing72,

I would like to visit to Lighting Galaxy tomorrow.
I will look for Ronnie, BTW, how do I quote u? What is your name?

rabbitwsk

Hallrow pp

Tigerlily, I also bought my lights from Chuan Huat. Got friend working there. No doubt service is superb compare to other pl..... good choice.

Highly recommended other new house owner to go there.

fates

Anybody bought anything from 'Emphasis' lightings at Plaza Shopping Centre? We want to buy nice pendant lights for the kitchen, 2 bedrooms and dining room.

rabbitwsk

Hi Phoebe's,

They have 3 stores along Balastier road. U cant miss it! Jus pop into any of them. Staffs there can give u gd advise on what to choose from base on ur requirem and bgt. They have many lights... u go in, u see n u blur... thus gd advise is needed.

Happy shopping and cheers.

white_wine

Hi Gals, anyone been to Jurong East (near to lakeside mrt) that stretch to shop for lightings? How do you find them? I thot their dining lights variety are much more than those in balastier.

Thot it looks cheaper too. Anyone been there?

rabbitwsk

Good morning white wine
Hv not been to those but if u would tok abt variety, recommend Chuan Huat lightings. Service is good and sells good quality, value for $.

Pointer on selecting lights: look for quality of the plastic cos some will turn yellow after 2 years.

Happy shopping.

fates

I went to Chuan Huat......ok only leh. I think Lumiere (Balestier) got some good designer lights, if anyone of you are looking for it.

Cheerios!

pixen69

Hi Everyone!
I am new in this forum...i am looking at lightings for my whole house... has about 26 lighting points including downlights.
can someone advised me on the price range that is reasonable, so that i know how much should i bargain when go shopping? Thanks in advance!

demio

hi diane,

Got mine in Prima in Geylang.... I think regardless of which shop you go to you gotta know the "mkt price" and bargain real hard.. esp if you are buying large quantities...

I think geylang or balestier would be good places to go to since you can easily compare prices ==> more bargaining power!!

prices vary greatly... normal room lights is about $60 or $65... some can be as high as $200+... i bought about 20 lights for my house and it cost me like 1k...

i suggest you go to those fixed price stores to check out prices and that will be the "upper limit" of wot you would pay for... if the shop quote you higher for the same light you can be assured that that is not the shop you wanna buy from... bulb prices would be a good gauge too..

phoebe81

Hi diane

Better to get those lighting points from Singapore Mart (Balestier). I got all my plc and day lights from them. If you are getting alot of plc and daylights, ask them to give you a gd price. Bulbs they provide are osram brand.Better to check out all the prices from all shops and compare. Really a great difference. Maybe you can also try geylang's point 1. Heard it is also cheap.

dew

was recommended by one of the gals to go to Lighting Galaxy at Lavender (Eminent Plaza), at the 1st glance there wasn't many selection but as we went around the shop, we found wat we want at a cheaper price compared to those shops in Balestier. paid $900+ for all my lightings, 19 down lights, 4 made in Italy fiber glass light and a crystal light for MBR. Their service is also very good, very punctual in delivery. Can look for Ronnie or Nancy, they are hubby/wife business.

blunt

Hi diane,

I would recommend Chan Huat [look out for their prominent CH logo], think they have 4 stores at balestier, their lighting prices b4 bargaining are quite cheap as compared to other stores.

My ID brought us to buy downlights fm Spore Lighting mart...find the price abit steep BUT still have to buy lor~~~~ our wiring are also done by Spore lighting mart.
They gave us a door bell FOC (sort of we pay for it ourself since the price is abit higher :p)

Point 1 is cheap too but think they have problems with their lights. When we went to the branch at Jalan besar, saw a couple changing their ceiling lights & heard it's the 2nd time they're changing.
My ID also said point 1 lights are problematic.....Dun know how true?

blunt

I give more plus points to Chan Huat.
Juz went back to them to change our dinning light coz got some problems with the transformer & so told them we want to change to another light instead. They readily let us exchange & didnt even make noises and even do the delivery for us.

fairymoss

We got ours from Singapore lighting mart too. They didn't give us FOC doorbell, but charge us 40 over for the doorbell which we found was only 20+ at Carrefour during a sale. Our ID brought us there, so die die must buy from there. Although a bit steep, but we liked the lights a lot, it's worth the price to pay. got more exquisite and more European imports from there compared to Chan Huat. Chan Huat is more da zhong hua and their service also very good. If you can find the same lighting in CH, then buy from there coz CH is certainly cheaper. Light Craft lightings also very nice, but ex.

seabreeze

hi blunt queen,

can give more details why point-1 lights got prob? Cos we saw some lights which we like over there so need to find out more before i make my purchase =)

pixen69

Hi ladies!
Thanks so much for your prompt reply!!
I'll let you know how much am i quoted for the lightings..Chan Huat is also recommended by my ID but i just want to give myself more options..:>

blunt

hi seabreeze,
me also not too sure what's wrong with point-one's lights lor..hehe, but that day we went jalan besar branch & saw a couple changing their bedroom lights.Hear them telling the salesman this is the 2nd time they changing liao...the lights they choose is those rectangular cover types,with non-circular light tubes inside.
Dun know if it's the light cover faulty or the lights internal part{balas?} problem.

Anyway, u goin to the jalan besar or geylang?
Jalan besar 1 is called Point-One Lighting Pte Ltd. Geylang 1 is called Point-One Light Shop. Dont know if both r the same?

seabreeze

me went to the one at jln besar ... the service was quite good ... and my hubby saw a particular light which he like very much .... and the dining light there not bad too ... quite special cos i didn't see that design at other places ....

i think the light that they are changing is the one on sale ... $15 ... a rectgular white light ... isit??

Me haven't go to geylang to shop yet ... which part of geylang?

blunt

Hi Seabreeze,
er, dun remember how much is the light but it's at the 2nd storey towards the end, placed on the ceiling above the head with frosted glass cover.

Dun think it's on offer type...OR mayb now on offer liao? hehehe :p

nivedita

For lightings? Go to STRASS @ Balestier Road.
Look for the boss Roger and say you are SHaron's friend, sure got discount one.. Roger is my bro in law. They sell modern and nice lightings too..

501 Balestier Rd
Wai Wing Centre
#01-01
Singapore 329844
Tel: 6252 6249

(opp Sim Lim Towers that stretch of shop houses)

michellekoh

hi Niv,

even v don't know each other also can mention ur name? pei seh leh.. heehee

I going to buy lighting for my new house, but too many design make me confuse..

nivedita

michelle.... mention lor... he wun know one la... at times ... business can go for " bo li duo xiao" heard of that? means earn less but sell more... so why not... lol.. now i know ur name is michelle... if he ask i will say michelle lor... so easy ... =) really nice leh... how i wish i got new hse.. can get free lights from there.. all damn nice leh.. the design i mean... prices are reasonable also.. + the discount u will be getting... think abt it lor.. no obligations one.. hehehe =)

nivedita

hey guys... sorry ah... i mentioned OPP SIM LIM TOWER... not that one.. thats another of his shop... go to STRASS better.. coz he will be there..

white_wine

hi, anyone know what can I do if my house is rather dim. I do not have any down lights. Is there any way that I can do to brighten it up?

meijia

think someone mention abt the stretch of shops at lakeside mrt.

I bought all my lights there. Total 30 lights for $935. Can say it is the cheapest I can find.

The lady there is patience too

ziggy

Hi Meijia,

I know that stretch of shops, which shop did you go to?

I'm about to start shopping for lights and any advise or things to look out for would be greatly appreciated.

anniroc77

I bought my lights and paid $1380 for:

19 downlights (all wif light defuser);
1 track light;
2 halogens;
1 hanging light for dining area;
2 bathroom lights;
2 guest room lights;
1 kitchen light ( double ring & wif IC);
1 light bulb for store;
1 wall light ( for bathroom vanity top);
1 flourencent for walk-in-wardrobe
1 "cloth"light for master bedroom

Is it reasonable?

nyny

i just bought some lights for my house and it costs me about $500. they don't give delivery but no GST. and they oso give us light bulbs. it's at Jalan besar.

heard that there will be increased in price for lighting soon 'cos the steel price increases worldwide.

wenn

hi aquarius,
u might wanna go to Balestier to take a look. was there last saturday & saw more than 10 shops... definitely a wide range of choice

ohmig0sh

Balestier has a wide range...u can look at different shops & compare prices. We spent a whole Saturday looking at lights there! Some are "originals" from Europe, some imitations from Taiwan. Beware of shops that dun have price tags..they'll quote a very "vague price" (eg 100+)..or they'll quote a higher-than-average price.

In the end, we got most of our lightings from Eurostar & Balestier Lightings (recommendation from hubby's friend). Chan Huat (beside the 933 duck stall & golden pillow curry chicken stall) is also quite reasonable & the staff there quite helpful & no hardsell.

Another place to look at is Ikea. Good price...dunno abt quality though.

jo23

Hi, U can try a shop at Geylang named "A lighting Enterprise". There are quite a nos of nice design there with reasonable pricing. The salesperson there is very friendly too, giving suggestion and helping u to lightings which will match to create a theme for the house. Place is very near to Aljunied MRT station. I bought all my house lights + heater there. PM me for the address if anyone is interested.

seekay

agree with omigosh that you have to be very discerning when in balestier.

similar lighting (brand, model) we found in Parkmall can be half the price as the same ones in balestier.

aquarius_888

thanks all for the suggestions. really dunno where and what to get.
Am thinking of a hanging lamp at the dining area but dunno which are nice.

xyz123

hi, u might want to take note some of the hanging lamps are using halogen bulbs. halogen bulbs are small but bright, but can be very warm. The biggest disadvantage is the high electricity bill. Quoting my contr, if u use multiple halogen bulbs at home, you can see your meter running at high speed when you on the lights.

by the way, few of the shops belongs to same group: Lightology, Eurostar, Lumince, Vlux. These shops are selling more trendy lights and have more Europe imported products.

aquarius_888

hi xyz123

Thanks for the info. I will be having false ceilings and L-Box. Total needs around 12 bulbs. May I know if these are also consuming high electricity?