Lasik

decembermi

Has anyone done Lasik before? I've booked an appointment with The Lasik Surgery Clinic this friday and I'm a little scared "if the ops fail"... my dad keeps tellin me there are cases whereby ppl go blind... but clinic tell me lasek got "over-correction" but won't blind de....

There are 3 doctors in this clinic, not sure which is better also when they ask me got preferred doc not...

Can anyone share their experience with me pls?
Is it painful? Any side effects?

latino

there are some threads under Beauty section on LASIK. why dont you just read them up. i know there are some valuable info and experiences shared.

decembermi

oh is it? thanks for the info!

chubbycheeks

have a friend who went to the Lasik Surgery Clinic @ Paragon with their promotion gimmicks didn't get perfect eye sight. I did mine intralase @ Geneagle by Dr Lee Han Meng, i got better than 6/6, i got a 5/6 vision eagle's eye but again there are friends who work in the National Eye Centre told me that there are cases of Lasik done in private clinic end up with side effects coming to NEC.

lambshanks

Its Dr Lee Hung Ming not Han Meng. I had mine done by him last year Feb... he is very friendly and pro. you'll feel at ease with him. I had no discomfort or after-effects. The only after-effect is i see much much better, feel like a 6/6. But there is no such thing as failproof. whatever you do is at your own risk but i'd say most people have very good experiences with him.

luxelass

Hi, I've done my Lasik last May. My eyes was so dry that I couldn't wear contacts, and it was very inconvenient for me to wear glasses. My eyes were very dry at first, now it's so much better and I'm so relieved that I did it.

The thing here is this. If your degree isn't too high, then it's not worth the risk going through it. Mine was 700 for both eyes, so I'm really glad that I did it. Now whenever I travel, I no longer need to bring solutions, and stuff along.. and my glasses!

My Specialist was from Paragon, and moved to Camden. He's an eye expert, and doesn't only do Lasik. Dr Gerard Chua.

duck_duck

Hi, i've also done my lasik by Dr. Lee Hung Ming. I was at 1st intend to go to Paragon Lasik Surgery Clinic but was told by a friend that the skill was not so. It wasn't pain at all for the whole surgery and after the surgery. And takes just few mins to complete all.

vivicaleb

Hi dlver,
I had my lasik done by Dr Lee Hung Ming in 2006 and the result was awesome!!! He was highly recommended by my friend.
Dr Lee has voluminous experience in lasik surgery so you are in good hands

I did not regret undergoing the lasik surgery. it's so convenient and hassle free. I do not have to worry about infection from contact lenses.

tng

Hi all, i did my lasik op in 2005 dec at SNEC, Dr Wee Tze Lin, $2600 for both eyes. 6/6 eyesight now

Night vision dropped alittle as i see halos around lights, so driving can be confusin when the traffic is congested.

painful recovery altho im the only case since ALL my friends who have done lasik had not experienced any pain

mitzi

I did my lasik with Dr Julien Theng.. he was with SNEC then he moved out to open his own clinic, Eagle Eye Centre. They provide rather good after-sales service hehe..

Now 1 year after the op, so far so good.. hopefully never need to put on specs ever again.. :p

As for pain leh, actually not painful at all, but it feels like your heart is popping out ANYTIME! Cos it's done on an operating table, but seriously it takes only a few minutes. Its just the waiting time that is unbearable :)

Hope all these help.. all the best to you...

teo_gal

I had my LASIK done with Dr Wee Tze Lin at Singapore Eye & Vision. My LASIK was done abt 2 months ago. Seeing 6/6 now and absolutely painless, experienced minimal glare and dryness.

Can check out their website @ www.eyevision.com.sg =)

teo_gal

The package is about $2500 before GST. So I paid about $2700 in all. =) U comtemplating of doing LASIK too? =)

piggy_cheng

Hi Serene, just asking..what if my degree is really high? like 950 and 1050? Is it too high to undergo Lasik? Btw, what's the procedure like? Are u conscious when undergoing the operation?

vernwyen

andrea:
yes, you are conscious when the surgery is on. I did my lasik abt 3yrs ago when the old technique is used (cut cornea). The nurse will apply the eyedrop to dilate your pupil as well as to numb it. Before the process started i could see appratures flying above my eyes, felt the doctor prying open my lids and push this thing to cut the cornea.

Now there are more advanced technology which need not cut corneas. Depending which one the doctor advised you, since your degree is pretty high.

piggy_cheng

Oh I see... Thanks Spoiltbabe. Another question.. Does it last for the lifetime? Or do we need to go back again after some time?

coolqoo

hihi.... i have done my pre-check yesterday with Dr Lee HUng Ming at gleneagles.. quite excited abt this whole new experience... i made appointment to do my lasik asap.. will be schedule for ops on next thurs and fri... doing one eye at a time...

Since the degree between my both eyes is more than 300 (L 1024, R625) I am able to use medisave for both eyes... $800 for one eye and thus, total savings of $1,600 for both eyes...

though medisave is still my own money, i am still happy that i could save on my cash upfront...

the most exciting part will be i will not need to wear glasses after next week... had been wearing glasses since pri 4...can't wear contacts lens as eye are too dry....so after almost 20 years.. i finally can get rid of my glasses.... yippeee!!...

hope the results will be good. *cross finger**

ene

I did my lasik with Dr Marc at Lasik Surgery Clinic at Paragon. This was done last Oct and I haven't been happier!

Some of the side effects include dry eyes (esp at the end of a tiring work day of staring at the laptop!) and some "shan guang" at night. This means I have to drive slower at night.

But overall, I do not regret the surgery one bit!

mae78

I am also interested in going for lasik. Seems that Dr. Lee Hung Ming from Gleneagles is a popular choice here. What are the charges like?

kennyg7

Hi coolqoo, do keep us update after your lasik surgery ok? One thing is, I never heard of medisave can be used for lasik unless it involves medical condition?

jerly

I did my lasik in JB Optimax 4 years ago. Doc was Dr Yip. No complications or watsoever and still perfect eyesight now. Cost around $3600 ringgit.

minimint

Hi! I am also quite impressed by Dr Lee Hung Ming's experience. Am considering having lasik done by him. Can anymore tell me how much are the different types of lasik charges? Esp for Intralase.

What kind of laser technology as well? Thanks!

coolqoo

hi all... sorry for the late reply..I am able to deduct medisave as mentioned earlier. about 800 dollars for 1 eye. So total deducted 1,600 for both eyes. But the condition is that I need to do 1 eyes each on separate days in order to claim the full medisave of 1600. If i do 2 eyes on the same day, i can only claim 800.

So if the degree between your 2 eyes is more than 300 (including astig) then you are able to claim medisave!!!

so i did lasik for left eye(1025) on the 28 AUg(thurs) evening, then right eye (625) on the 29 Aug(friday) noon. Immediately, I have perfect version... really amazing.... I opt for Intralase customised for both eye, for left is tissue saving(cos power too high le), for right eye is wavefront... hehe...

28 Aug After ops on left eye
Immediately: can see well but keep tearing... best advise, go home and sleep... after a good sleep and follow the eye drop instructions, you will feel very good. Tearing will stop. Vision is clear. but cos my right eye still not yet done the ops, so i have difficulty reading, cannot focus on the alpabets cos my brain is confused :p...I was so scared and thought my left eye have failed.. but Dr. Lee explained that actually my left eye is perfect but cos right eye high power, so brain confused. Thus cannot see the wordings clearly.

29 Aug
Back to the clinic and checked on my left eye results. then prepare to do right eye.

29 Aug After ops on right eye
Immediately: PERFECT vision!!!... hahhah.. i can see Dr lee clearly after i step down from the ops bed. Amazing feeling.. neber had such good feeling before.... like my eyes have rebirth... i like that feeling... still will have a bit tearing also need to go home and sleep and follow the eye drops instruction closely....

29 Aug Night
Tearing stopped....Went to fetch my 2 year old gal back from my MIL place... night version: glaring of the street lights....its like the lights have extended from one point, feel like christmas... hhahah...all the lights looked like big big round balls hanging from the lamppost...hehe....

30Aug
10AM: Go to my bb childcare centre for entry registation. Then eat lunch at hawker centre. Wearing a bit of sunglass cos day light still a bit glaring
1PM: Go back clinic to check my right eye and left eye... perfect version.. 6/6.. Happy....

4pm: go to Chalet at Costa Sand!!!

31 Aug:
AM: Admire the nature with my "new" eye!!!.. the clouds, sky, birds fly, trees.. so clear!!. neber been so clear before.. really grateful of this
PM: Bring my gal and nieces go swiming... of cos i cannot go into the waters lah... i just sit at the pool side and watch them.... :p.. still a bit glaring for the sunlight....need sunglasses... and also every day follow the eye drop regime faithfully....
Night: BBQ!!!.. hehe... i bought a clear safety goggles from those hardware store to protect my eye. Cos abt $7.90. did the BBQ as normal lor...hehe...no one noticed it was a safety goggles.. they thought it was normal glasses... :p night version improved.. can see things clearly.. the x'mas effect reduced

1Sep
Back to work!!... can do without sunglasses le,,,,but deskbound facing my laptop is quite tiring for me for the first day.. so i didn't OT on monday... go home sleep. Can see everything clearly at work....just find that my office a bit too bright.. not used to it... told my collegue i feel like wearing sunglasses on my desk... :p.. but didn;t do it lor.. pai seh mah

2 Sep
accustomed to the office lightings le... stayed a bit OT. Night version: X'mas effect continue to reduce...

3 Sep
Worked till 10pm... eyes tired.. vision still clear.. I am able to tear on my own in the morning.. cos usually quite dry after wake up de... then natural tear came out...right eye more tear... left eye a bit nia.. but still feel good... still continue the eyedrop regime faithfully....Night version: i described the lights that i saw to my hubby(perfect vision he neber wear glasses b4). then he say he also saw he same thing... i was like wow.. i am normal le:p

alphinsis

Hi coolqoo

im so happy for u... im wearing glasses since primary school too. after seeing so many people going for lasik with successful results, i wan to go for it too.

How do i go about it?
Need how much $ to be set aside? besides able to deduct medisave (for medicine, checkup etc)

my degree for both eyes is very bad, with astig.

tansy

coolqoo, u mean now night vision also ok liow? i v scared getting the glare at nite. difficult to drive like taht.

love_blue

Hi Coolqoo,

Is the medisave applies in Gleneagles Hospital only? Or it applies everywhere with 300 degree and above.

coolqoo

hihi... you need to first go for checkup to see if your cornea is thick enuff or not....

medisave deduction is ONLY appliable for ppl with difference between both eyes is more than 300 degree. For example like me my left is 1025, but right is 625.. so the difference between my 2 eye is more than 300 degree than can claim medisave...er.. not sure is it applicable to gleneagles hospital only le.. maybe you should check out with your clinic....:p

checkup i nearly $200 inclusive of GST... then the ops itself i think different clinic charge differently depending on what kind of lasik you opted for lor.... they will do consuling for you during your checkup..then you can ask abt the pricing thingy and consider lor

i can see well at night le...i dun drive but i sit at the front sit of my hubby car can see well...:p

up to today.. still feeling good.. but i think different ppl's eye react and recover differently...

flyingstar

Oh! I thought medisave is for ppl with more than 300 degrees per eye...

I also tempted to do lasik...my eyesight also very bad, 1000+degrees...but for both eyes.

coolqoo, how's the recovery for your left eye? Is it very fast or takes longer than your right eye (lower degree)?

love_blue

Hi coolqoo,

Thanks for your reply.

Hi flyingstar,
at first, i also thought that ppl with more than 300 degrees per eye can claim medisave. (I felt so happy)

but after doing some research, i found out is what coolqoo mentions. Make me sad...

amethystc

hi i just did my lasik at LSC Paragon end last mth. now recovering stage. i dun experiece halos like some ppl do but sensitive to flashlight. nw take pics eyes will close. was told it takes abt 1-2mths for the eyes to recover depending on individuals.

vivaliciousviv

<font color="ff0000">anyone here please care to share COST n Doc chosen for their Lasik Done?? what will the package includes?? i wanan go too but duno which as there are so many Options! both eyes abt 350 ....astima..i cant recall....but difference is minimal, not more than 300 to use Medisave...sad!!</font>

thanks!!~

vballgirl87

does anyone here feel that ppl who have done lasik have rather dull-looking or expressionless eyes? im jus wondering if there are any changes to how the eyes looks like after the surgery

maro_wt

does anyone who have long sightedness had gone thru lasik surgery before, would like to hear anyone has any feed backs.
I have long sightedness at about R+600 to L+650 with astigmatism 175. Have book with LSC with Doc Jon Goh. Im kind of worry that i'll have blur vision after the surgery.

otelle

Is it true that there is new kind of lasik where the cornea does not need to be cut open? Is that PRK? Anyone has done PRK before, care to share your experience with me. Thanks v much.

veracity

I'm considering Lasik before my wedding at the end of 2009.

Hope tt those who've done it can help address some of my qns:

1. When &amp; where did u do it, &amp; who was ur dr?
2. How mch was it?
3. How was ur recovery process like - fast, slow, pain, etc?
4. Was there any pain at all - during &amp; after surgery?
5. Did u do both eyes at once? Why or why not?
6. What are some problems/issues u faced tt u did NOT have b4 Lasik? e.g. impaired night vision
7. What degree was ur vision b4 Lasik?
8. Did u go for enhancement? Why?

Personally, I am not sure if I should go thru the "risk" of Lasik. After all, my degrees' only like 250 &amp; 300.

While the glowing results often reported off the forums and Net are tempting, one cannot help but wonder really about the risks:

http://en.epochtimes.com/n2/health/lasik-eye-surgery-5238.html

The above is just an e.g. of the many articles out there.

I know I've many qns, but I just want to make an informed choice too. Hope the "advisors" on this forum share honestly about their experiences. Appreciate it!

P.S. In a way I find it funny tt even pple with affected night vision still do not regret Lasik? Even if now they have to drive more slowly, etc... ???

powderful07

1. April this year. Shinagawa Lasik Clinic
2. 2400 for both eyes
3. Fast. No pain.
4. No pain. Just some slight discomfort.
5. Both eyes...WHY not?
6. Night vision slightly affected due to "halo" effect
7. Right 450 Left 250
8. No.

Never regreted it...not one bit...

freeesia

powderful also right 450 left 250?? me too! find it troublesome when buying contact lenses..

i thought lasik is better for those with higher degree of short-sightedness. like above 800. at least that was what my colleague who got hers done this year august told me.

saggitarian

wah .. be careful when both eyes are not equally short sighted .. it means that you have lazy eyes .. tendancy to use one eye more than the other ..

try not to use the monitor, tv or read books . using one angle . always .. maintain it at a 180 degree

freeesia

qwerty.. i thought i got lazy eye also. but i sit straight and look straight when reading books, watch tv, look at computer and don't squint my eyes. maybe my brain choose to use the right eye to focus on things more often that's why right eye 450 and left only 250. hai...

cnelilac

Did mine in June 2008. Lasik is such a wonderful invention. I did mine with Lasic Surgery Clinic @ Paragon with Dr Marc Tay. Very happy with the result. Paid about $2200 for both eyes. Power: Right 500, Left 600. So far so good. No halos at night.

doveylove

Good to hear that. I am considering to undergo LASIK surgery too. So tired of wearing contacts/specs everyday. zzz.. However, I am afraid of the complications that may arise. Do you all know what are the possible side effects and is there any way I can prevent them from happening?

usually, nobody will eva regret doing lasik cos it's really very hassle free after that especially when u have gone through years of the inconvenience of wearing specs ... i'm very happy with mine !!!

as long as u dun belong to the small percentage of kork-ups during operation .. not many significant side effects loh .. hmmm eyes will become drier than before so loads of after care .. like eye drops .. no rubbing .. n gotta take care of that newfound sight foreva ...

the only thing is i'm amazed at whoever who said lasik is NOT painful ... i almost 'died' for that few minutes ... n i tell myself i will never go back to do it again even if my degree comes back hahahahha kudos to those can tahan !!!

tosamtan

Those who have gone for lasik, can you please advise how long I should lay off my disposal soft lens before I can go for the check-up to see if I'm suitable for the procedure? Thank you