LASIK at TTSH

starfruit

Since there are no thread on Lasik procesure done at TTSh, i tot i'll just start one.

I am going for the first check up next week and i wanted to get some feedback from some of you who have done the procedure at TTSH.

I have been hearing a lot of feedback about TTSH lately, some postivite, some negative. I really hope that some of u can help me with my questions and also to feedback how the procedure went for you at TTSH. And also if there are any good doctors to recommend from TTSH.

pps

My colleague had lasik done at TTSH few years ago. Near to perfect eyesight with no side effect. The doc is Dr Fam

yingal

Hi Starfruit,
Will be going for my operation in 3 weeks time. My doc is Dr. Lee who has done for my sis-in-law as well. Will keep you posted after my op.

periwinkle

I'm told that only Dr Lee, Dr Fam and Dr Heng do Intralase Lasik at TTSH. Am hvg difficulty deciding which one to go to. anyone had their surgery performed by any of these doctors? any feedback?

pps

yeah, only these 3 docs do lasik at TTSH. If you are not confident, you can choose Dr Lee since he is the head of refractive surgery.

pps

hi, periwinkle
left eye is close to 400 and right eye is slightly over 500, no asti. Lasik only correct a low degree of asti, not sure how much, have to check with doc. you are interested?.

As for sneaky, it depends on what surgery like lasik or wavefront or intralase, have to consult doc

starfruit

Finally did my lasik at TTSH last week. Its fasntatic.. went for my checkup yesterday. Was told by the person who did my refraction test that my vision is now better than 6/6.. whoopee.. so happy.

I highly recommend thsi procedure if u all are still considering

yingal: Mine is also doctor lee. When is ur op date? and how bad are ur eyes?

poh: My left eye is 450 and right eye is 525 with minor astig of 25. I think ur degree is quite close to mine eh.

Sneaky: Fees for the 1st appt/eye test is about $170. Lasik is $1590 per eye. If u opt for wavefront its $1720 i think. The doc will advise u which procedure to go for depending on the condition of ur eye.

starfruit

Smurfy: Hi, well.. let's say i did not experience any pain at all throughout the procedure. The nurses were great, very friendly and attentive, and Dr Lee was great too.

Before the procedure, i had to do a refraction test.I waited about half an hour for my turn. When i was in the OT, the nurses started by dropping anesthetic drops on my eye. I also had to put on a surgical gown over my clothes and wear a cap to keep my hair away. Dr Lee did one more eye refraction test for me before starting the procedure.

I was then told to lie down on the bed. It is quite cold in the OT so dress warmly. They even gave me a blue turtle to clutch while Dr Lee perform the procedure. Dr Lee started by taping my lashes away from my eye before putting the lid clamp. No pain or discomfort at all while he did this. Next he put this piece on my eye to position my corea for the slicing. He then position the machine over my eye. At this point, u can't see anything at all. I only felt a little uncomfotable when he applied pressure to lock my corea in place.. kinda like being pulled tightly through a rope. Next i heard two swift slicing sound and before i know it, the slicing was done (about a few seconds). Dr Lee then proceed to lift my flap and do the laser correction. Which takes less than 1 min. During this, i could hear the laser sound and smell the smoke. The nurse will advise when the procedure is half done and when its completed. When its done, Dr Lee replaces my flap and swip it down. They will then put a transparent eye patch on ur eye and I had to rest for half an hour outside where they will serve u coffee/tea or milo. Dr Lee checked on me again after 30mins and then i am free to go.

Throughout the procedure, Dr Lee and the nurses will tell u what is going on and what they r going to do next.So i was not nervous at all.

The whole procedure took less than 20mins and then i am out already. Very very fast.

I hope the above helps

sorbet

Anyone going for the lasik at SNEC? I will be having the surgery there at the end of the year.

Can the eyes feel anything? Friends said they smell burning during the lasik....which terrify me. Will I be out of action after the surgery?

smurfy

Hi starfruit,

Thanks for your information. It's great. How many days after surgery do you think you r ready to go back to work?

pps

starfruit, how many days of mc do you have? you must be happy with your results

sorbet, not to worry. yes, you can smell something burning but should be ok. It's very fast, who's your doc?

yingal

Hi Starfruit,
Wow, you just had your checkup and now you already had your op....that's fast. Mine is next Thurs, very excited now.

My degree is 800 per eye with slight astig on my left eye. Hopefully I can achieve 6/6 vision.

pps

yingal, Dr Lee should be experienced, so you hope to achieve perfect vision. Good luck to you.

Periwinkle, so you chose Dr Fam. Good luck to you too. What is your degree?

starfruit

Smurfy & poh: I was told by the coordinator that u will be given 3 days of MC for the procedure. After that u will have to take ur own leave. I think the 1st week is quite crucial. Its best that u dun strain or injured ur eyes during this time. The after-op care slip advises u to avoid computer, reading or any activity that would strain ur eyes during the 1st 24hrs,.. however, i feel that its best to not strain ur eyes in the first week. So u should cut down ur computer usage, reading as well as watching TV time.I think u can resume normal work after the 1st week. I am still experiencing slight halo at night.. but was told thsi should go away after about 1 mth. It is improving as each day past.

poh: I am very very happy with the results.Only regret is that i didn;t do this earlier. Would highly recommend to ppl who r considering this procedure. I guess i am very lucky cos i dun have much side effect from the op except for the halo. So i guess my case was very successful

yingal: I am sure u will breeze through thr procedure with no problem at all.
And i am sure u will also get 6/6 vision after the op.
All the best
keep us updated on ur progress.

periwinkle: one of my friend was operated by Dr Fam too, His was also a very successful op. He was all praise for Dr Fam

periwinkle

Poh and starfruit, thanks for ur assurances. i've got 600+ shortsightedness and 300 astig on each eye. i just hope Dr Fam would be patient and reassuring enuff. am wondering....were u given sedatives prior to the op? did u opt for Intralase?

starfruit

Periwinkle: I was not given any sedative. I saw from thoisorum that SNEC gives them out before the op. I think TTSH dun practise this. However, i was given 2 mild sleeping pills after the procedure to help me sleep better. I did not opt for intralase, Dr Lee saw there is no need for me to go for that for my case.

smurfy

hi Starfruit,

thanks for the info. I am currently under Dr. Fam, will need to op with wavefront and intralase as advised by him.

I haven't book my op date yet.. most likely to be in dec, so can use up my leave

pps

periwinkle, have you gone for your consultation? I think the myopia is not too high but the astig is, better seek Dr Fam's advice. I believe he is quite experienced too.

pps

yes, periwinkle, I have done it last year at snec. Left was close to 400 and right was slightly over 500 with no astig. But after lasik, both have 50 astig as the shape of the cornea has been changed. I am coping well except that the eyes are very dry. When is your consultation?

periwinkle

Poh, my consultation's next wk, looking forward to it = ) sorrie to hear that u got mild astig after the op. but i'm sure u don't regret going for the op, rite?
Smurfy, can i know more abt ur experience with Dr Fam? Was he patient / reassuring? Any idea why he recommended wavefront and intralase for u?

smurfy

hi periwinkle,

I was initially diagnosed with sub-clinical keratoconus which is not suitable for lasik in KL. So I seek to see a cornea specialist in singapore which is Dr Fam for a second opinion. Initial checkup in July he advise me not to do lasik. Was very disappointed so he ask me to go for the orbscan again in Sep. He said the results seems favorable for a lasik but advise me to go for wavefront and intralse cos of my conditon lor..

so I am in dilemma whether to do lasik or not cos I have higher risk lor. But he said something like it depends on how desparate am I to do lasik and I find that I really hated my spectacles, so i am willing to give lasik a try..

He is okie lar, but he got too many patients to remember me from Jul checkup, so i abit worried he may not take extra care for my case lor..

periwinkle

Dun worrie Smurfy, i think the system they use has the iris-tracking feature, so even if Dr Fam does not remember u, the system would : )

pps

not to worry, smurfy, Dr Fam is a corneal expert, should have confidence in your doc. Good luck to you. As for periwinkle, I don't regret. Just hope that no regression

starfruit

Ya.. agree with poh that u all should have confident in ur doctor.

smurfy: yes.. Dr Fam should be very professional and since he is the expert in this area, u will be in safe hands. As ur case has a slightly higher risk, u should consider it carefully and see if u wanna go ahead with it. Why not meet up with Dr Fam again and reasses ur risk before deciding?

pps

smurfy, since the doc is in favour of wavefront and intralase, that means he is confident of treating you. If you are still worried, can do what starfruit suggested. If you find it troublesome to see him, can always call him or email him. That's what I do when I need advice from doc.

pepper

hi i have got a question, i heard that for some people their degree went back after doing lasik for 2 yrs. Does anyone know whether this is prevalent?

Don;t feel like spending this amount and still remain shortsighted after a while.

smurfy

Thanks for all the advice. I do think i will go ahead
all of you were right, i should have more trust in my dr. Maybe i was affected by wat some pple said about their lasik dr.

Going to see him again is a no no, got to take one more day of leave, appointment is hard to make and you noe gov clinics lar, i waited 1.5hrs just to do an orbscan and another 1 hour to see the doc. in the end my half day leave was extended to 1 day.

But you gals are reassuring. Thanks.

BTW, I have 275 deg for astig.. kinda high

Hi pepper,
I never hear of deg coming back. Even if it did, i guess it won't be much, i can still live with 100 deg or so..compare to being a blind bat now

starfruit

Hi Pepper... me too.. i have heard about such cases where their degrees came back after Lasik.

However, most cases were just hearsay from friends of friends of friends etc.

However, i did have a friend who mentioned that her colleague did it like 5 yrs back and now it came back..I am not sure by how much. But she do need glasses when she is driving at night. By day, she can still see fairly well.

I guess different ppl will get different outcome from the procedure.. so i guess its a case by case thingy.

periwinkle

Juz had consultation with Dr Fam. Felt that he wasn't too assuring and to a certain extent, even uninterested during the consultation. m having second tots.....how?
Smurfy, did u hv the same experience? any idea y they had to apply the eyedrops to dilate our pupils? i found it wierd 'cos they only carried out another eye-chart test on me after applying the eyedrop = ?
Starfruit, wat tests did they conduct on u on the day of the surgery, prior to the op? did they do another orb scan for u?

pps

hi, periwinkle
Did Dr Fam answer your questions? What do you mean he was uninterested during the consultation? Did u book any surgery date?

starfruit

Periwinkle: So what advice did Dr Fam gave to u? What do u mean by he 'wasn't too assuring"? did he still give you the "ok" to go ahead with the procedure?

Anyway they dilated my eyes on the day i went for the 1st appt.. the day where they gave me a full check out.. testing the pressure of ur eyes... mapping the of ur cornea etc.

Your eyes has to be in normal condition and cannot be dilated on the day of the op.. this means that they will not dilate it for u. I did a refraction test on the day of the op. Refraction test is kinda similar to an eyesight test. They put different lenses and then ask me to identify the number and dot charts at a distance. It was quite a detailed test and it took about 15 mins. After this, I was told to proceed to the operating theatre. Just before Dr Lee started the procedure, he looked through my records again and asked me to go back to the refraction room to be tested again. And so i went to be tested again...same thing, putting on the lenses and idetifying the numbers on the charts. Dr Lee then performed the op after this second test.

so how do u feel now? Do u still wanna go ahead?

starfruit

Periwinkle: So what advice did Dr Fam gave to u? What do u mean by he 'wasn't too assuring"? did he still give you the "ok" to go ahead with the procedure?

Anyway they dilated my eyes on the day i went for the 1st appt.. the day where they gave me a full check out.. testing the pressure of ur eyes... mapping the of ur cornea etc.

Your eyes has to be in normal condition and cannot be dilated on the day of the op.. this means that they will not dilate it for u. I did a refraction test on the day of the op. Refraction test is kinda similar to an eyesight test. They put different lenses and then ask me to identify the number and dot charts at a distance. It was quite a detailed test and it took about 15 mins. After this, I was told to proceed to the operating theatre. Just before Dr Lee started the procedure, he looked through my records again and asked me to go back to the refraction room to be tested again. And so i went to be tested again...same thing, putting on the lenses and idetifying the numbers on the charts. Dr Lee then performed the op after this second test.

so how do u feel now? Do u still wanna go ahead?

pepper

i have confirmed with a few colleagues who went for lasik and they said the docs all mentioned to them the possibility of the degree coming back. i read on the website saying that there may be a risk that due to the change in the shape of the cornea, one may not be able to wear contact lenses anymore. I am just worried that if that's the case, there is still inconvenience because cannot wear contact lenses if degree really deteriorate.

now really having 2nd thoughts....

pps

pepper, yeah, there might be regression if the degree is too high.
Starfruit, TTSH is really detailed. I only went for the refraction test on the day of the pre op. Why did Dr Lee ask you to be tested again?

periwinkle

Poh and Starfruit,
Wat i meant was that he didn't volunteer information. i had to probe and even then, his answers were curt, w/o elaborating. Juz told me to go for intralase and zyoptix and mentioned the risks (like he was reading off a script, while ticking off the patient questionnaire in front of him) to me. I mean, look, i only hv 1 pair of eyes and it is v impt tat the Dr appear to be reassuring in order for me to entrust my only pair of eyes to him, rite? so i didn't feel too comfortable w him lor.....
Starfruit,
so the testing of pressure and cornea curvature took place after they applied the eyedrops on u? mine took place b4 leh. the only test they did on me after applying the eyedrops was the refraction test leh. so now i scared he based his decision that i'm suitable on the orbscan results which were taken b4 dilation leh....

pps

most docs are like that, they only answer questions. can you imagine them repeating the same things to every patient, my doc is also like that

periwinkle

poh, thanks for ur concern = )
after some discussion with HB, i've decided to go for the op. will call TTSH to book a date soon. hope ur dry eyes are getting better!

smurfy

hi Periwinkle,

Same feeling as you for Dr Fam lor... like I said before, he seems to have too many patients that he forget about my case which he initially rejected for lasik..

But I'll still go ahead anyway. probably in Dec

pps

smurfy & periwinkle, gd luck to both of you, wait for yr gd news then. As for my dry eyes, I just hope it will not affect my vision and no regression

cheerio

me very tempted to go for lasik, coz I am like blind w/o my specs and sometimes wearing my specs does give me slight headaches, esp when the frame loosen up and doesn't fit as nicely. and the red mark on my nose ridge cause by the specs.. gosh! besides, contact lens are not a very good alternative too, coz of the dryness of my eyes and also the potential hazards of wearing lens for too long a time over prolonged period. then go swimming also got to wear special goggles, urghh..

so good to see so many tips and advices here