LASIK at TTSH

smurfy

For those who had done Lasik, I understand that there will eye shield covering your eyes after the operation. When can you take the shield off? Does your eyes looks swollen/red after the op and how long will this last?

The reason for asking is that I have a wedding invitation right after my op.. meaning first day for 1st eye op, 2nd day for 2nd eye and got wedding on 3rd day. I was debating whether to go or not because I am afraid my eyes will looks reddish and swollen.. any advice?

pps

they did not give me any shield. not to worry, yr eyes still look as per normal. nobody will know that u went for lasik unless u tell them. u can still go but try to go in private transport. avoid smoky/dusty places and take note not to touch yr eyes. remember to bring eyedrops along and apply when nec.

cheerio

harlow poh,
I am still thinking, haven't decided whether to go for it or not, but now very tempted to coz my eyes very sensitive, so wear contact lens not very convenient, hard lens very uncomfortable so seems like lasik is the only permanent and straight forward way out..

my degree ah, 900 per eye!!! like blind loh, so sad

I am considering TTSH, SNEC or Mt E, any recommendation?

pps

cheerio, it depend on yr budget. mt e is more expensive but the docs are better. if u want more attn from the doc, choose those that are less popular.

starfruit

<font color="aa00aa">Smurfy</font>:

I had to wear the eye shield after the procedure to go home and all the way till after i wake up from my nap. After that, the Doctor advised me to wear the shield every night when i go to bed for the 1st week. After that, u can stop wearing it if u want.

I remember I even wore it when i went to bath for the first 3 days to minimize water splashes onto my eyes and also accidental knocking of the shower head onto my eyes.. cos I can be quite clumsy lah.. so thought better be more careful.

smurfy

starfruit,

thanks for your information. the shields seems to be quite useful.. i was also afraid of rubbing my eyes during sleep (cos i always do that) and getting water into my eyes...

my op is tomorrow!!!! wish me good luck

pps

smurfy, is it dr fam? gd luck to u having 6/6, just relax and hope for the best. wait to hear yr gd news

smurfy

hi poh,

yup.. with Dr fam.. hope he still remember which procedure i am suppose to have.. :p

actually very excited to rid of my glasses..

smurfy

today is my third day of op.. so far, my eyes are quite okie except that my vision is still hazy.. i wonder if its the same for you.

The optician told me its normal and also that my near vision is now not as clear as far vision. But it will gradually be better as time goes.

The dr told me my flap is healing well but still need to continue with the drops every hour..

Well, thats all i have to said.

Wishing all of you a merry X'Mas

pps

smurfy, yeah, that's normal for most of us. u will only know yr vision on the 1st mth consultation. so just relax, by the way, how's dr fam?

smurfy

poh,

I went back to work and had a hard time with reading the computer..

Its about 1 week for me already but each morning when I wake up, my vision is hazy and unclear. It will only get better in the afternoon and night..

when I see Dr Fam on Wed, he said my eyes are good lor. When asked when my vision will stablise, he jst said it depends on individual, some few days, some few weeks, and some 6 mths

but he said mine should be okie.. Dr. Fam just as me to continue to put eye drops cos my eyes quite dry

So far, Dr. Fam is okie

jacko_wacko

i'm so glad there is a thread here for me to discuss my LASIK op. i did mine last tue and it's been 5 days and my vision is still hazy (like you wore your contacts to sleep and the next morning your vision is hazy with the lens in) in the night and when i'm in room with artificial lighting (meaning flourescent lights) on. it's perfect when i'm out in the sun. i really dread night falls cos' everything looks kind of blur. i'm starting to feel scared, that it may never heal and this evening, when i'm wiping my face (cos' can't splash water and risk it getting in my face)i clumsily rubbed the cloth across my eye and it hurts! now i'm even more worried that it'll affect my cornea and i may get infection! HOW?????

does anyone have similar experience? not the cloth one but at least the hazy vision except out in the sun wan. pls share and assure me that it's normal.

cute_buppy

hi Jacqueline

If you feel something is wrong, please go see yr lasik doctor immediately! Or at least call the place which you did the op to ask whether is it normal. They should be able to advise you. It's your eyes, so please please call them up to check. I think if possible, kiasu abit, ask them for an checkup appointment, so that you can have a peace of mind.

Hi Jacqueline,

i think its perfectly normal. Didn't your doc told u that it'll take about 6 months to a year for your vision to settle down. I experience hazy vision like u did when I did my op previously and worse since I had to be on the computer for many hours per day but now I'm fine. Never regretted it as I no longer need to rely on contact lens or spectacles. But as advised by my doctor, do put on sunglasses (get a pair of good ones - not those from pasar malam stall) when u're out in the sun especially when u just did your op...do that for as long as u can. I've stopped putting on sunglasses nowadays. Btw I did my op back in 2002

jacko_wacko

Hi cute buppy and celia,
thanks your all your kind advice. i'm healing really well now and i'm slowly getting better eye sight as the day passes. really grateful to technology n it's so good that sometimes i forget that i'm off lenses. hee hee...

Hi Jacqueline,

Glad u doing ok now. Dun worry too much as my doc said some people take about a year to fully recover. I totally agree with u that technology has made me feel fanastic since I did my ops and kiss good byes to lenses. No more worries about having to take off the lenses after so and so number of hours, no need to buy any of those solutions, etc....

angel31

Would like to check what is the rate for consulation to test whether my eyes are suitable for Lasik??

Any advices??

bluebellas

Anyone still reading this thread or have done lasik at TTSH recently?

I am going for my pre-op check and was wondering if MC will be given?

Also has anyone done lasik for more than five years?

bluebellas

hi sunny day,

thanks for the info. That will save me one day leave

How's everything for you so far and who was your doc?

bear

I just went for lasik at TTSH on 2nd June. So my new vision is only into the 2nd week now.

Hi bluebell, if I didn't remember wrongly, mc will be given.

Bluebell> I was given a few days mc. So far so good. Mine is a visiting Senior consultant, Raymond something. Got his own clinic in Glen E if not wrong.

bear

Hi Bluebell,

My doc is the same as yours. He is a very nice &amp; friendly doctor. But sometimes you have to be very patient to see him.
I still remember on my 1st appt for the pre-op review, my appt was in the morning but who knows he has operation and I have to wait till afternoon then get to see him.
But nevermind lah, he is good so its worth waiting.

bluebellas

Hi Sunny,

Great to hear everything's fine for you.

Hi Bear,

It's reasuuring to hear that Dr Lee is nice and friendly. I just hope I will be suitable for lasik.

But I am quite a chor lor person and I read that we have to take care of our eyes after the op to prevent infection. How did you manage that?

bear

Bluebell, did you watch the news recently? I think there was one night I saw Dr Lee appearing on the news talking about lasik.

Dr Lee told me so far none of his patients has infection leh. So you should feel very safe. Just follow his instruction and everything should be fine.

Tell you something, I am super chor lor ah. So I suggest :

1) although doctor says use the eye shield for the 1st two nights when I sleep when I use for 1 week as I worry I might accidentally rub my eyes.

2) they will advise you not to wash your hair on the 1st night but I cannot tahan not washing my hair so I wash my hair with my head bending backwards and standby one toilet so that whenever there is water droplet near my forehead, I can dry it immediately. Cannot let water go into your eyes.

3) Must wear sunglass in the day time as some people might experience pain when the sun is bright. I didn't feel any pain but I still wear sunglass to prevent dirt from getting into my eyes.

4) Try not to go oily and smoky places.

You know what, after the op (which is very fast) wen I was sitting outside the room waiting for Dr Lee to check my eyes again, my eyes feel so tired and can't really open big and its a little painful as it starts to tear.
So you better get someone to bring you home after the op. It would be better if that person drives as there is usually a queue at the taxi stand.

bluebellas

Hi Bear,

eh, haven been watching the news but hey, thanks very much for the tips and the reassurances.

ya, I was thinking, standby one toilet??? :p

melon

I intend to go for pre-lasik check at TTSH. I have sensitive eyes and cant tolerate contact lens for long period >6hrs cos my eyelids will get red and painful. My eyes feel dry even on days i am off contact lens. Maybe due to constant eye-strain fm pc.

I am considering Dr Lee HM. I am considering Intralse and wavefront cos this seems to be the 'best' customised option i found.

I hv a question: someone mentioned having xzoptic lasik at TTSH in this thread fm a 2004 post. I thot i read in news that it was recently available in SG?

Will yr eyes regain clear vision i.e. no glares, halos or hazy vision after the initial period till up to 6mths? what if it doesnt? hv to live with this 'sede-effect'?

yuki31

Hi melon,

I am considering to do lasik at TTSH too ...havent decide which doc to go to ...
we can choose the doc? Dr Lee is good?

dowellress

Hi Yuki,

I strongly recommend Dr Lee Hung Ming...
He's a friendly and patient doc. Most impt, he's dedicated. he treated my sis since 1999. Know him quite well.

Sad to say tht, Dr Lee had moved to Gleneagles. He's performing the LASIK in his clinic. If u wan his contact no, can email to me [email protected]

yuki31

Hi Iris,

any idea hw much he charges for lasik at Gleneagles? will degree come back after lasik.
i heard tat cannot wear contact len after lasik if ur degree come back, is it true?

dowellress

Hi Yuki,

The charges @ Gleneagles is abt $1K+ (have to call up for more details). As for wear contact lenses after lasik, I not too sure.

icygal

Of course cannot wear lens after lasik la... Cause your eyes are still recovering.... But you should be able to after recovering stage...

I have to avoid water for 1 week somemore...

hapimint

huh? no leh... from what i know, it is life time no contacts lens because your eyes cannot take contact lens le...
So next time when u old le, need to wear glasses...
The only consolation is that if lets say the degree comes back, usually can go for a second lasik to adjust...
thats about it....

yuki31

lifetime no contact len then i got to consider carefully ...i am afraid that degree come back leh ...then stuck with spec lor ..dun think will do 2 times lasik leh ....

so far how is ur eye?

yuki31

mindy, have u decided where to do lasik yet? any idea if there is any long term effect ... me still a bit afraid leh ...

if degree come back, not sure if still can do lasik again leh ...

yuki31

Iris, any idea if gleneagle equipment is as good as TTSH? anyone done under dr lee after he went over? actually the doc is important or the equipment?

dowellress

Yuki, this is a new clinic. i nv done lasik before. The equipment r pretty new. He's schedule is always pack. whenever i called him, he's in operation. there r numbers of patients frm TTSH followed him over.

Frm my personnal views, I think doc is quite impt. If the hospital has vry gd equipment, but do not have a gd and skilled doc, then it's pointless to have best equipment in the world - no doubts tht equipments r impt too.

I personally trust Gleneagles. I hate the long wait queues for folllow up check up @ TTSH.

yuki31

Iris, thanks a lot for the information.
Yap, i belive that doc is very important as they are the 1 doing the cut

hapimint

I done my lasik...at LSC.... okay... i asked 3 questions
1. can we wear contacts if degree come back?
Ans: yes, but wear disposable lens, cos the fit will not be perfect so maybe got big physical contact, it may drop out

2. If pregnant, will hormonal changes cause degree come back?
Ans: Yes, but it is only temporary... for the nine months....

3. Will the degree come back, if it comes back, can I do enhancement?
Ans: depends on the cornea, basically one time enhancement is okay....

yuki31

Hi Mindy,

u done already? was it good? u do both eye on the same daY? hw much is ur degree? is it done by Marc Tay?

so does it mean that we can still wear disposable lens, will it drop out too?

i was worry abt the pregnant issue too coz heard that it will affect eye sight ...was thinking to do soon or after having kids...